Perfumes for Guys V1

Clavicus
post Apr 8 2010, 04:02 PM

765 posts

No offense, but aquatic frags are kinda boring after the first bottle. More so when Ahmad, Ali, and Ah Chong all smell alike. Clone army ftl.

Just came back from Isetan KLCC, got Paco Black XS Livesound Edition. Its the same as Black XS, but it comes with some bracelet. Looks good from the outside, but its some cheapo synth leather, definitely gonna tear after a few wears. Feel quite cheated, should've gotten the one with the shower gel instead. sad.gif Just a word of advice for potential Black XS buyers.
Don't get me wrong, Paco makes good perfume, but they're waaay too gimmicky. Paco One Million anyone? To me its just a milder version of Black XS, with a gimmicky gold bullion lookalike bottle.

Tested Kouros and M7 at Parkson, KLCC. kotmj was right, it DOES smell like urine. HAHA! jonny's favourite M7 is great for anyone who likes spicy perfumes. To me its just the right balance, not too overpowering unlike the Arabian Oud smell.

Oh and, Isetan > Parkson in terms of service. Way friendlier, and they actually took me seriously, unlike other places with sales reps giving me the "Dior? Meh, go get Adidas instead, boy" look.
Clavicus
post Jun 22 2010, 09:13 AM

765 posts

I suggest you try Bvlgari Aqva if you haven't already, one of the better aquatic fragrances around for your casual use. Beats the crap out of CK <insert name here>.

Might i suggest Versace The Dreamer as well? Kinda spicy-ish, then dries down to a sweet vanilla scent. Just got myself one bottle recently, definitely replenishing when its finished. smile.gif Oh and, quite long lasting too.

This post has been edited by Clavicus: Jun 22 2010, 09:13 AM
Clavicus
post Jun 22 2010, 06:05 PM

765 posts

DailyPerfume. It was a total impulse buy, didn't even bother testing it beforehand. Only relied on your recommendation and good reviews on the net. smile.gif
Clavicus
post Jun 25 2010, 05:26 PM

765 posts

Perfumes for Guys

We have an existing thread. Direct your queries there please?
Clavicus
post Jun 26 2010, 03:42 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jun 25 2010, 08:42 PM)
i was planning to giv him surprise.
how am i going to ask him to go to try?
haha....
but previously he mentioned that he tested 1 Burberry cologne and is very nice.
but he was not very confirm of the name.
he just said probably is The Beat.
but i surf around internet, and found many feedback stating that The Beat is too peppery.
tat's why i also not dare to buy.
wana ask for more feedback from lowyat forumers.
Not a fan of The Beat either. Too bad perfume ain't an exact science. My friends and I bought perfume as a gift before, luckily the recipient liked it. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sickboy @ Jun 26 2010, 07:48 AM)
Any Christian Dior male fragrances to recommend, the only i tried is Dior Homme Sport.

Can be of any type
+1 to Fahrenheit. smile.gif
Clavicus
post Jul 10 2010, 09:01 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(izam7 @ Jul 5 2010, 11:26 PM)
clavicus/naughtyz,

which version of bvlgari aqva that you guys refer to?
pour homme or marine?
did try both of them during my vacation in Singapore last weekend.
finally decided on pour homme for casual use bcoz of the smell..  thumbup.gif
bought at Mustaffa Store...@ heaven of perfume...
currently using Le Male based on sifu Johnny recommendation  notworthy.gif
I prefer Aqva PH over Aqva Marine. Smells like what an aquatic/blue perfume should. I should get a bottle (?) for myself soon enough. smile.gif

QUOTE(Knisse @ Jul 10 2010, 02:25 AM)
Hi guys,

I could use some great summer evening fragrances, and for the bars.

Im definitely more interested in something sophisticated that is a bit settle.

Right now i have;
Gucci Pour Homme + PH II,
YSL L'homme
Armani Black Code
Burberry London

I like them all very much, so if you have others you are sure that i like, please let know! Also if they dont fall in the above wanted categories, please just post away:)

Great forum by the way smile.gif
I sound like a broken record here, but do try Versace the Dreamer. I tried it after reading jonny's recommendation and i'm a believer ever since. It's smells kinda oriental with a smooth vanilla-ish drydown. How much i love it? Lets just say its my default perfume for now. smile.gif

Say, how is YSL L'homme? Not too familiar with YSL's line of fragrances.

Clavicus
post Aug 25 2010, 05:01 PM

765 posts

Tried Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche the other day, the opening smelled like something you'd get from a dispenser in a public toilet. I'm not saying its not good, it's must've been something in its day for everything scented to smell like it. :S

Anyone here using Paco Black XS? The opening is super cloying to me, but the drydown is super nice. I'm not sure how to put it in words, but if anyone knows of any other perfumes with a similar scent, i'm all ears. smile.gif
Clavicus
post Aug 26 2010, 03:28 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(mrbs84 @ Aug 25 2010, 09:03 PM)
drakkar noir is a classic.. maybe that smells awesome on that years lol..

yeah i'm using black xs (in the past), i think it's depend on how u spray and the weather to make it not so cloying.. i'm not yet encounter something similar to this black xs smells.. synthetic strawberry.. Still looking for other alternative..  unsure.gif ..
Its not the amount, its the opening note that just doesn't agree with my nose. Besides, i use a little more (3-4 sprays) to eke out a little sillage after a couple of hours.

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Aug 25 2010, 11:06 PM)
I'm using Black XS right now, I've never really thought of it as cloying before.

As mrbs84 says, the synthetic strawberry smell is unique, and I love it very much.

My main complaint is that it has weak sillage. It smells good, but it's hard to get a whiff of it unless the person is really really close to you, and I mean REALLY close.

A girl once hugged me and didn't want to let go cause she said I smelled so nice haha
Synthetic strawberry. I never came across this term till mrbs posted it. Have always been looking for the words to describe XS. laugh.gif And yes, the girls fancy XS. *hint hint*

QUOTE(candleprince @ Aug 26 2010, 10:13 AM)
Hello. I never wear a perfume before.

anybody expert on perfume can introduce me to perfume that smell clean and like I bath a lot with hygenic soap?? last longer la...if can one week also still last one..people said notes with liquorice?  whats that?

where do i find ysl live jazz in KL?? how much??

thank you.
Try Dune Pour Homme (For Men) by Dior. I just tested it on paper today at Parkson, and it smells very clean, without the usual aqua/fresh notes which are overdone nowadays. But err, no idea on the sillage and longevity. And i've never heard of frags that last up to a week. Don't you take a bath? laugh.gif Even Azzaro Chrome, with superb longevity, fizzles out at 14 hours or so.

YSL Live Jazz, I reckon Isetan Pavillion? Or any Just Parfum outlet. I think they have stock, but no testers. Never tried it before, do let us know once you find it.

Clavicus
post Aug 26 2010, 08:34 PM

765 posts

Oh? Sounds good. HAHA.

Since you mentioned that its rare, any pointers as to where i can test/purchase it? smile.gif
Clavicus
post Sep 18 2010, 09:40 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Sep 17 2010, 02:44 PM)
the one I find most effective in turning your girlfriend or gayfriend's hormone go crazy is Dunhill Desire Red.
IMO, it was rather pedestrian when i tested it. I'll definitely give it another shot when i have the chance.

QUOTE(fruxano @ Sep 17 2010, 09:57 PM)
thanx bro. i tried the cologne just now. unfortunately, despite all those positive comments about SJ Unforgivable, I don't think the scent suits me. For me I think it's a little on the 'strong' scented side. I prefer something lighter.

My current choice for purchase is Bulgari Aqua Marine. I like its soft and sweet smell. Can someone give me some views on this cologne or perhaps give other recommendations for soft and sweet scented colognes. Many thanks in advance.
Not a fan of Unforgivable either. Rather boring scent. To me SJ I Am King and Unforgivable are rather safe frags, you won't go wrong with them, but you wouldn't stand out, either.

I wouldn't describe Aqva Marine as sweet. It's more of a fresh scent to me, and as jonny4 never fails to mention, it's one of the best fresh/aquatic frags around. And i agree with that. Miles ahead of other aquatic frags, IMO. If you like it, get it!

QUOTE(mrbs84 @ Sep 17 2010, 10:56 PM)
i forgot the SJ scent smells like, but i remember it's not tht gr8 on my nose..  sad.gif ..

aqva marine quite light n fresh.. i prefer tht one over the original aqva.. atm in my collection the sweet scent i have is paco rabbane blaxk xs.. sample it first b4 buying  thumbup.gif ..
+1 to this, make sure you try out the Black XS before buying it, it took me a while to get used to the overwhelming sweet scent.

QUOTE(abcdegf @ Sep 18 2010, 01:28 AM)
can you guys recommend me a great smelling perfume with high sillage and longevity?
Azzaro Chrome. It's more of an everyday perfume, those fresh/aquatic types. Sillage is decent, but it's a marathon runner when it comes to longevity. 10+ hours, no problem.

QUOTE(Space @ Sep 18 2010, 01:36 AM)

Thank you for the informative post. Added a few frags of your recommendation to my to-try list. To answer your last question, Paul Smith Rose. I wouldn't mind Paco Rabanne Ultraviolet either. Not too big a fan of Escada frags, waaaaaay too sweet for me.

Clavicus
post Oct 27 2010, 08:15 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(k2anthrax @ Sep 29 2010, 10:10 PM)
yup i heard aso spore give u good price;-)
Really? Mind to illustrate how much savings would one get? I like the idea of travelling and hopefully trying (and buying!) frags not available here.

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 3 2010, 08:38 PM)
Someone took the bait LOL

Thanks for playing.
I saw what you did thar. laugh.gif

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Oct 9 2010, 05:06 PM)
Out of all the colognes that I have used, these are my top 3 favourites in no particular order:

Somehow showing images has a really profound effect, as opposed to just making a list. heh. can't blame them fragrance houses for investing so much in packaging.

QUOTE(DailyPerfume @ Oct 10 2010, 01:01 PM)
I love the smell of Salvatore Ferragamo and drakkar noir although its kinda musculine for drakkar. But not Polo Double black as it's too generic and boring. hehe
Drakkar Noir just reminds me of handwash. Pity, considering what a great fragrance it is to so many people. :\

QUOTE(Draculaz @ Oct 14 2010, 10:35 PM)
Hi Jonny4. Can u describe Versace Pour Homme EDT, Aqva Pour Homme EDT, Gucci II Pour Homme EDT and Burberry London for Men. I would like to pick one among this 4 but i have no idea on it. Hope ur professional opinion helps me. Perfume uses on work and outing. Thank you.
I've never tried any of the above, but i'd reckon jonny isn't a fan of Gucci II PH? I've read somewhere too that it's just an average fragrance, with lousy longevity (4-6 hours?). Advice from the same site? Get it only if you NEED to have a bottle of Gucci in your collection (and tell people about it).

QUOTE(gOOsebeRRy @ Oct 19 2010, 11:21 PM)
hi all! i just wanna ask....
i did noticed someone is selling their
rejected perfumes at low price.... claimed to be ori product....
is there anyone bought it? is it real items?
when i go to danau kota i also saw someone is selling it too....
im a perfume fan and i do checked the bottle, label etc etc and
i found it same like ori.... but i need extra explaination
before proceed to buy.... thanx all biggrin.gif
Joey-kun's words of wisdom. +1 to them. DailyPerfume is a good seller, albeit being a little busy sometimes. I have nothing to gain from this, just sharing the truth. biggrin.gif

0.0559sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:01 PM