Using US Wii Console in Malaysia

TSmyremi
post Dec 22 2008, 02:05 AM, updated 17y ago

1,846 posts

Just wondering, is it possible to use a US-version Wii Console in Malaysia? If I used it with a power converter from 110V to 220-240 V?

Bought one one day and it's great. smile.gif Will be heading back to Malaysia in another couple of days.

Hmm...also, how do you guys shop on the Wii channel if you don't have a US Credit Card? Where do you buy the Wii points for it?
TSmyremi
post Dec 22 2008, 02:52 AM

1,846 posts

Thanks Guys. smile.gif

I actually bought the Wii from Amazon.com. Xmas marketing gimmick of having only 1 hr to decide if I wanted to buy it or not. >.>

Yeah, took a shortcut from reading the FAQ but it was also only a very small and brief mention about the power box. Ouch.

Ramchyld, what do you mean US NEMA Keyed plug? U mean that the stepdown converter has to have one of the sockets for it, is it? Hmm...maybe post up a picture? Easier for me to visualize it.
TSmyremi
post Dec 22 2008, 05:30 PM

1,846 posts

Ram : Thanks. So it's the socket adapter that needs to be bought then. Shouldn't be a problem. I just need to look out for one that looks like the one I'm currently using when I go travelling outside of Malaysia. http://www.target.com/Embark-All-in-1-Adap...20travel&page=1

Hopefully shouldn't be a problem.

TSmyremi
post Dec 23 2008, 10:07 PM

1,846 posts

In the end, I bought a stepup converter in the US. I got one of those travel step down adaptors as they are small and portable. So hopefully it'll work when I head back. Here's hoping. smile.gif

Thanks guys.
TSmyremi
post Dec 26 2008, 08:30 PM

1,846 posts

Ah thanks. I'm back in Kuching now but got nasty cold bug and sorethroat.

I didn't use the one I bought from the US because it wasn't quite correct one. It's for 50 Watt devices and the Wii was 52 Watt. heh! Oh well. Planning to head out to an electronic shop nearby and get one of those step down converters.

Wah! Measles! So old and still kena. Hee hee! Anyway, hope u get better. Ciao!

0.0156sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:51 AM