Why is there a Buy iPhone link in the MY store?
TSblogjunkie
Dec 20 2008, 11:09 AM, updated 17y ago
If Apple is not selling / planning to sell the iPhone 3G in Malaysia, then why is there a "Buy iPhone" link in the Malaysian Apple Online Store? I saw it yesterday and got excited. See it for yourself: http://tinyurl.com/5ydho3This post has been edited by blogjunkie: Dec 20 2008, 11:13 AM
kevler
Dec 20 2008, 11:13 AM
need to wait until next year , to see the effect
Esqandare
Dec 20 2008, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(kevler @ Dec 20 2008, 11:13 AM) need to wait until next year , to see the effect yeah WAIT...i hate this word WAIT..hahaha
TripleH
Dec 20 2008, 12:36 PM
You guys still WAITING???
Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait Wait and keep waiting. Again we are enjoying the splendor of iphone now.
ckfcuk
Dec 20 2008, 02:12 PM
Why ppl can't wait? I love to see there are lot of ppl waiting for the iPhone official launch in M'sia. Why? If the demand is strong enough and make Apple Inc. come in to attention, is good for Apple user/fans in M'sia.
TSblogjunkie
Dec 20 2008, 02:13 PM
i agree waiting is damn sh*tty, but my feeling is that it's a mistake
stringfellow
Dec 20 2008, 02:26 PM
Waiting is good, wise even, if you're getting a better deal than those who chose not to wait. But is all that waiting worth what's coming at the end of that wait? What you may get is just an officially warrantied iPhone, you may still be shacked by contract subscription, iPhone being locked to a single carrier, and what's worse, you may even get shafted on the price! All that in vain hope of getting one locally. In the meantime, for the past TWO and a HALF YEARS, myself and the rest of the guys who already have the courage to take that plunge, have been enjoying our purchase already. Your time spent on waiting could have already been put into good use if you'd have the guts, effort and time to get yourself one. Be a YES man, don't blanket yourself with excuses.
TakanoKyohei
Dec 20 2008, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 20 2008, 02:26 PM) Waiting is good, wise even, if you're getting a better deal than those who chose not to wait. But is all that waiting worth what's coming at the end of that wait? What you may get is just an officially warrantied iPhone, you may still be shacked by contract subscription, iPhone being locked to a single carrier, and what's worse, you may even get shafted on the price! All that in vain hope of getting one locally. In the meantime, for the past TWO and a HALF YEARS, myself and the rest of the guys who already have the courage to take that plunge, have been enjoying our purchase already. Your time spent on waiting could have already been put into good use if you'd have the guts, effort and time to get yourself one. Be a YES man, don't blanket yourself with excuses. wow, stunning.....yes, bro string your way of thinking same as mine, thats why i bought 1 already...  , cannot tahan to wait anymore~ p/s: iphone is nice, and its really good to have one~  Added on December 20, 2008, 2:32 pm just surf the weblink for iphone and i think its pretty soon and its just a matter of time only, but when it will sell in here, no idea at all. Added on December 20, 2008, 2:33 pmand for the store there, i guess they just sell its accesories only~~~ This post has been edited by TakanoKyohei: Dec 20 2008, 02:33 PM
stringfellow
Dec 20 2008, 02:36 PM
Don't get me wrong, I'm as excited as the next person, but only for the reason of it being available here officially. I may be able to live with the "want it official locally" excuse, for a year at the most, but waiting for TWO and HALF YEARS and possibily THREE years or more, is delusional to say the least. If you're talking about budget, then that may be a viable excuse, but waiting for 2.5-3 years? If that is the case, then you probably dont put the iPhone as your top priority things to get. If that is the case, then you probably have other options other than an iPhone to begin with, so the wait was not much of an issue to you. If you're a fan, then you wont be waiting for that long to get one, in the first place. Logic?
ckfcuk
Dec 20 2008, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 20 2008, 02:26 PM) Waiting is good, wise even, if you're getting a better deal than those who chose not to wait. But is all that waiting worth what's coming at the end of that wait? What you may get is just an officially warrantied iPhone, you may still be shacked by contract subscription, iPhone being locked to a single carrier, and what's worse, you may even get shafted on the price! All that in vain hope of getting one locally. In the meantime, for the past TWO and a HALF YEARS, myself and the rest of the guys who already have the courage to take that plunge, have been enjoying our purchase already. Your time spent on waiting could have already been put into good use if you'd have the guts, effort and time to get yourself one. Be a YES man, don't blanket yourself with excuses. You've pointed out my concerned, this is one of the main points I choose Apple product.
TripleH
Dec 20 2008, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(ckfcuk @ Dec 20 2008, 02:48 PM) You've pointed out my concerned, this is one of the main points I choose Apple product. You can get the 3G iPhone waranties from S'pore also. But, if the distance is a problem, perhaps waiting for the iphone to be available here works for you. Until Apple agrees to have iPhone available here, you're in for a long wait. Well, i hope is first quarter of year 2009. If not, then play the waiting game lor. This post has been edited by TripleH: Dec 20 2008, 03:13 PM
stringfellow
Dec 20 2008, 03:16 PM
Warranties, unless extended by ACPP, only lasts a year. And look at the history of the iPhone when manhandled by our members here, have you heard of anything that worry you enough that warrants worrying about warranties? The horrors you read on iPhones turning into bricks is due to uninformed folks who decides to meddle with the iPhone's software side, and turning it into paperweights. So, even if you have the peace of mind of a warrantied officially launched iPhone here, once you decides to poke around with jailbreaks and such, your warranty is gone.
If you chose NOT to meddle with jailbreaking and that sort of thing, the iPhone endurance and history has pretty much proven that it is a resilient product, therefore NEGATING your point of needing a warranty. But if you're really paranoid about it, then you're welcomed to wait, just that most of us here have already experienced and well-versed with our iPhones while you, IMO, wasted much of that waiting time when you can already be using it already. Plus, I reckon you fall in the group of people who don't really have the iPhone as the top of your priority right now, since you choose the waiting game.
TripleH
Dec 20 2008, 03:28 PM
Totally agree with you Stringfellow. Well, they are old enough to decide what's best for them.
To wait or not to wait, only they can figure out..
I think a reason why Apple Malaysia points to S'pore site just to tell Apple fans that they can go S'pore n make a purchase. Maybe..
g3n0c1d3
Dec 20 2008, 03:36 PM
hoho...., for the people who wanted to wait..., hope u'll be happy when iphone launched in malaysia...., like bro string said...., even with officially launched iphone in malaysia, one have to wonder if its going to be contract locked or out in the box unlock... if its in contract locked, i wonder how many people will enjoy the benefit of the iphone? and what about the price? if its going to be cheaper than the people tht have enjoyed using iphone in malaysia or its going to be higher? if u look at the bright sight of the iphone coming to malaysia is the warranty... and we still have to wonder about the T&C for the warranty.... just hope im wrong in these matter.... waiting is good, if its worth it....
stringfellow
Dec 20 2008, 04:39 PM
The pros of waiting is only beneficial up to a certain amount of time, once that time period have lapsed, it is no longer worthwhile waiting. IMO, it has past waaaaaaaaayyy beyond the beneficial period of waiting. Not when you have the "carrot" dangling infront of your face, yet up until after TWO and HALF YEARS, you still cant get to that "carrot" and "eat" it.
ckfcuk
Dec 20 2008, 04:50 PM
hehe..., never expect my reply will get lot of responses. Actually I can get an new locked iPhone 3G with very cheap price. But I don't want to worry about the firmware upgrade, turbo sim, and warranty issues. Of course, I'm not that eager to get an iPhone, that's why I can wait. If all my requirements and the conditions are met, sure I will get one. I'm a Apple user, can consider a fans also, but not that fanatical. **If I'm not wrong, iPhone 3G was introduced by Apple on 9 June 2008?? http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2008/06/09iphone.html
TripleH
Dec 20 2008, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(ckfcuk @ Dec 20 2008, 04:50 PM) hehe..., never expect my reply will get lot of responses. Actually I can get an new locked iPhone 3G with very cheap price. But I don't want to worry about the firmware upgrade, turbo sim, and warranty issues. Of course, I'm not that eager to get an iPhone, that's why I can wait. If all my requirements and the conditions are met, sure I will get one. I'm a Apple user, can consider a fans also, but not that fanatical. **If I'm not wrong, iPhone 3G was introduced by Apple on 9 June 2008?? http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2008/06/09iphone.htmlActually, is not your reply. This has been discussioned in another thread. We are telling the same thing to you and others again. That all.
stringfellow
Dec 20 2008, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(ckfcuk @ Dec 20 2008, 04:50 PM) **If I'm not wrong, iPhone 3G was introduced by Apple on 9 June 2008?? http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2008/06/09iphone.htmlMy bad there, it should be ONE and HALF YEARS, not TWO. I'm taking into consideration the first iPhone Edge as well.
Clarencerx
Dec 20 2008, 05:46 PM
haha...