FOREX Corner v 5.0, FAQ|Technique Sharing|News|Broker

bulkbiz
post Jan 9 2009, 05:36 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Jan 9 2009, 03:48 AM)
My younger brother's account that i manage for him. Zero losses in 4 weeks, flawless trades. WITHOUT EA; one month return of 30%

Initial capital: USD 985
And no, I am not MADOFF.
Some interesting fact, the power of compounding, if you compound it 30% every month, you will get MYR61,784.77 by end of 2009, see below:

Compound 30% per month from forex.
month1=985
month2=1280.5
month3=1664.65
month4=2164.05
month5=2813.26
month6=3657.24
month7=4754.41
month8=6180.73
month9=8034.95
month10=10,445.44
month11=13,579.07
month12=17,652.79
Total: USD17,652.79x3.5 = MYR61,784.77

Added on January 9, 2009, 5:53 pm
QUOTE(joeee85 @ Jan 9 2009, 07:29 AM)
My trade journal

GBP/USD Buy
Entry : 1.4571
Stop Loss : 1.4541

-30pips  hmm.gif

GBP/USD Sell
Entry : 1.4567
Stop Loss : 1.4587
Trailing Stop : 20pips

+41pips  rclxms.gif

Added on January 9, 2009, 7:33 am7.1.2009

GBP/USD Buy
Entry : 1.4945
Stop Loss : 1.4915

+77pips  rclxms.gif
8.1.2009 (2 trades)

GBP/USD Sell
Entry : 1.5022
Stop Loss : 1.5052

+17pips  smile.gif

GBP/USD Buy
Entry : 1.5263 
Stop Loss : 1.5138
Target : 1.5308

+45pips  rclxms.gif
What is the point of this thread? Show off?

This post has been edited by bulkbiz: Jan 9 2009, 05:53 PM
bulkbiz
post Jan 11 2009, 12:13 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

Hello LYN traders,

Just to share my reading on "Day Trading the Currency Market" by Kathy Lien.

---------------------------------------SNIP-------------------------------------------------------------
FADING THE DOUBLE ZEROS
One of the most widely overlooked yet lucrative areas of trading is market
structure. Developing a keen understanding of micro structure and dynamics allows
traders to gain an unbelievable advantage and is probably one of the most reliable
tactic for profiting from intraday fluctuations. Developing a feel for and
understanding of market dynamics is key to profitably taking advantage of short-term
fluctuations. In foreign exchange trading this is especially critical as the primary
influence of intraday price action is order flow. Given the fact that most individual
traders are not privy to sell-side bank order flow, day traders looking to profit from
short-term fluctuations need to learn how to identify and anticipate price zones where
large order flows should be triggered. This technique is very efficient for intraday
traders as it allows them to get on the same side as the market maker.
When trading intraday, it is impossible to look for bounces off of every support
or resistance level and expect to be profitable. The key to successful intraday trading
requires that we be more selective and enter only at those levels where a reaction is
more likely. Trading off psychologically important levels such as the double zeros or
round numbers is one good way of identifying such opportunities. Double zeros
represent numbers where the last two digits are zeros—for example, 107.00 in the
USD/JPY or 1.2800 in the EUR/USD. After noticing how many times a currency pair
would bounce off of double zero support or resistance levels intraday despite the
underlying trend, we have noticed that the bounces are usually much bigger and more
relevant than rallies off other areas. This type of reaction is perfect for intraday FX
traders as it gives them the opportunity to make 50 pips while risking only 15 to 20
pips.
Implementing this methodology is not difficult, but it does require individual
traders to develop a solid feel for dealing room and market participant psychology.
The idea behind why this methodology works is simple. Large banks with access to
conditional order flow have a very distinct advantage over other market participants.
The banks' order books give them direct insight into potential reactions at different
price levels. Dealers will often use this strategic information themselves to put on
short-term positions for their own accounts.
Market participants as a whole tend to put conditional orders near or around the
same levels. While stop-loss orders are usually placed just beyond the round
numbers, traders will cluster their lake-profit orders at the round number. The reason
why this occurs is because traders are humans and humans tend to think in round
numbers. As a result, take-profit orders have a very high tendency of being placed at
the double zero level. Since the FX market is a nonstop continuous market, speculators
also use stop and limit orders much more frequently than in other markets. Large
banks with access to conditional order flow, like stops and limits, actively seek to
exploit these clustering of positions to basically gun stops. The strategy of fading the
double zeros attempts to put traders on the same side as market makers and basically
positions traders for a quick contra-trend move at the double zero level.
This trade is most profitable when there are other technical indicators that
confirm the significance or the double zero level.
Strategy Rules
Long
1. First, locate a currency pair that is trading well below its intraday 20-period
simple moving average on a 10- or 15-minute chart.
2. Next, enter a long position several pips below the figure (no more than 10).
3. Place an initial protective stop no more than 20 pips below the entry price.
4. When the position is profitable by double the amount that you risked, close
half of the position and move your stop on the remaining portion of the trade to
breakeven. Trail your stop as the price moves in your favor.
Short
1. First, locate a currency pair that is trading well above its intraday 20-period
simple moving average on a 10- or 15-minute chart.
2. Next, short the currency pair several pips above the figure (no more than 10).
3. Place an initial protective stop no more than 20 pips above the entry price.
4. When the position is profitable by double the amount that you risked, close
half of the position and move your stop on the remaining portion of the trade to
breakeven. Trail your stop as the price moves in your favor.

-------------------------------------------------------------SNIP--------------------------------------------------

Regards,
BULKBIZ
bulkbiz
post Jan 12 2009, 05:28 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(atrocitines @ Jan 12 2009, 04:09 PM)
hi guys, i am interested to be a forex trader. so far i have read a few things but i couldnt understand some of them. how did u guys manage to get to feed on the knowledge and how long did it take to u guys to get into live account? =D thanks in advance for the advice/s.
It takes ages....decad...joking!!!!!

Just go to www.babypips.com and start learning!! Take the quiz and understand all the trading concept. Trading with real money is not a problem as long as you have money.

Added on January 12, 2009, 7:26 pm
QUOTE(xloklokx @ Jan 12 2009, 05:15 PM)
Hi people, any idea about GBP/JPY ?
no idea

This post has been edited by bulkbiz: Jan 12 2009, 07:26 PM
bulkbiz
post Jan 13 2009, 08:42 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Jan 13 2009, 03:21 PM)
last year, i did go to a forex course .. cost me 7k ... and they just teach u the very basics and trading method based on a simplified Elliot Wave..that i already used.. their FX clinic (advance course) are located either at SG or penang for 15k .. sweat.gif

Whitelighter is right .. most of the stuff that they teach already available all across the web. just need to be found .. thumbup.gif
You should go for the courses that will teach you their tested trading strategy...not those teach you how to use indicator!!! Choose carefully!!!...I never go for any courses, but I have a few friends attending forex courses in singapore...the instructor teach them some strategy to profit in forex...and it really works...but the course fee really sweat me....
bulkbiz
post Jan 14 2009, 09:17 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(jubilee_trader @ Jan 14 2009, 03:42 PM)
i represent broker www.nordmarkets.com  . anyone interested in managed account, email me edy@jubileefund.com . i will send audited track record.
GTFO

Added on January 14, 2009, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(jubilee_trader @ Jan 14 2009, 08:05 PM)
tak main bucket shop....standard account linked to currenex..... call me if need help...just chit chat  014-9100623

start februari ada demo contest....prize usd100k
you too GTFO.....damn, moderator take action lar

This post has been edited by bulkbiz: Jan 14 2009, 09:18 PM
bulkbiz
post Jan 16 2009, 02:41 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(jubilee_trader @ Jan 16 2009, 07:17 AM)
nordmarkets is applying for a banking license..dont worry about the regulations...we are regulated... we will stay for long long time..

average monthly profit last year 51.85%
wahhh scammer....scary man....eh u know what is candlestick
bulkbiz
post Jan 17 2009, 11:39 AM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

What is this chart telling? A support line at 1.4470, a scalp line at 1.4980. When the EMA5(red) cross EMA10(blue), put TP at 1.4600 or 1.4500(double zero round number) as your TP1(first take profit). Getting profit should not be a problem here, just watch out for news event.

This post has been edited by bulkbiz: Jan 17 2009, 11:51 AM
bulkbiz
post Jan 17 2009, 07:03 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Jan 17 2009, 12:22 PM)
dont forget, obama is taking office next week. that'll be a mover.
Yeap that is FA, that is why I said watch out for news event..

Added on January 17, 2009, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Jan 17 2009, 04:11 PM)
Pay me RM 1000 and i will tell you WHAT You need to know to be a successful trader. biggrin.gif
If I am good in both TA and FA...then I am a good trader. As simple as that???? I don't know:)..ok lah...read your blog in order to become a sucessful trader, hahaha. Finally you have a blog...U give a lot of information in chatroom but no one jot down...with this blog, huhu...good good

Added on January 17, 2009, 10:51 pmDamn boring, cannot trade.

This post has been edited by bulkbiz: Jan 17 2009, 10:51 PM
bulkbiz
post Jan 18 2009, 09:53 AM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Jan 18 2009, 12:24 AM)
I willl be off during CNY.

Beside, who are fxcm user here? Who know what time fxcm open trading by monday?
I am using fxcm, but I don't know what time the market open for fxcm. How to check?
bulkbiz
post Jan 19 2009, 01:16 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

My scalping on GU

bulkbiz
post Jan 19 2009, 11:57 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Jan 17 2009, 11:39 AM)

What is this chart telling? A support line at 1.4470, a scalp line at 1.4980. When the EMA5(red) cross EMA10(blue), put TP at 1.4600 or 1.4500(double zero round number) as your TP1(first take profit). Getting profit should not be a problem here, just watch out for news event.
As you can see, the EMA5 cross EMA10, the price hit the support line at 1.4470 and bounce back to current 1.4518/19. Both round number TP I suggested hit. To bad I didn't catch this move.

bulkbiz
post Jan 20 2009, 11:22 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

Shorted UJ@90.24

Added on January 20, 2009, 11:55 pm
QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Jan 20 2009, 11:22 PM)
Shorted UJ@90.24

Close everything, obama giving speech

This post has been edited by bulkbiz: Jan 20 2009, 11:55 PM
bulkbiz
post Jan 22 2009, 09:59 AM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(jong52yuara @ Jan 22 2009, 12:06 AM)
backtest only, forward test is unknown
EA?
bulkbiz
post Jan 22 2009, 12:35 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 22 2009, 11:19 AM)
ea cannot be trust
LOL, nola you cannot judge like that, I believe there are a lot of people out there using EA. But EA is not my cup of tea, and I hate EA.
bulkbiz
post Jan 22 2009, 05:10 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Jan 22 2009, 05:07 PM)
whats the difference between backtest and front test ?
One is front and another is back? I don't really understand because it sounds complicated. Sigh..
bulkbiz
post Jan 22 2009, 06:14 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Jan 22 2009, 05:42 PM)
Backtest mean u use the tools in mt4. try to run the EA from something like 20Jan08 until 20Jan09. Mean you test all the data since the past.

While forward testing mean you attached the EA to your mt4 and run it from day to day, it is time consuming and quite a hard work.

But backtest result always vary from forward test result, and it can vary alot especially those scalping, martingale based EA.
bulkbiz
post Jan 23 2009, 10:38 AM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(xblade123 @ Jan 23 2009, 04:04 AM)
Do you guys have issues logging in to FXCM or Thinkorswim to trade? My connection using streamyx sucks at my home when trading, I hate it when I trade. Is jaring better or Maxis wireless better to log in these accounts? By the way, I haven't tried other brokers yet, which one works very good in west malaysia?
I can login to fxcm without any problem
bulkbiz
post Jan 23 2009, 10:51 AM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

Fibo expert out there, can I say the price is testing 23.6 fibo level??

bulkbiz
post Jan 23 2009, 11:05 AM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

GBP/JPY

bulkbiz
post Jan 23 2009, 12:26 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Jan 23 2009, 11:27 AM)
Based on image 1: yup, it is testing Fibo 23.6 fibo level. Just that.
Image 2: Signal more clearer if drew TL and it is forming symmetrical triangle. Just wait for breakout.
Fibo 61.8 will serve strong resistance. retracement may occur at fibo 31.8 & 50. Just watch for stoch indicator biggrin.gif
Thanks! rclxms.gif

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:06 AM