The Suiting Thread V1, Suit/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer
jarodr9
Oct 24 2009, 04:07 AM

I have a few Zegna coats that i bought when I was in London. sadly. its a lil too hot to wear it here. i like the coat and i dun plan to just leave it in my closet. any one can help me with it?
jarodr9
Oct 24 2009, 05:34 PM

cant do anything about it.. its a complete different weather in M'sia. guess its time for me to make more suits
jarodr9
Oct 25 2009, 02:39 PM

its not about sai meng. actually i'm thinking of how to alter the suit for me to wear it here. i heard there's some lightweight suits out here. yet i like those suits that i have right now.
will the cost to "declimatize" the coat higher than making a new one?
how do u declimatize the suit?
jarodr9
Oct 28 2009, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 26 2009, 11:20 AM) The cost i'm not sure. But one thing for sure they would have to take apart the whole suit and then cut new lining for it. And the lining may be lighter material or half lining. And the sleeve linings would be changed too. Also if there are heavy padding inside, maybe changed to lighter one or removed altogether. Thinking of the job involved, i think make a new one would be better. Even if you want to retain the original one because of sentimental value. hehehe. Declimatize is just a term i made up which came from some hardware related stuff. I do not thnk there is a term for re-engineering suits. From what u are saying. if i bring my coats to the tailor shop and ask for alterations. how much will they charge me? (maybe u guys can enlight me with some rough figures) especially from what i see from what u wrote. it seems to be a big work just so much alteration. please advice.