123 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Bottom

The Suiting Thread V1, Suit/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer

BrotherBilo
post Nov 13 2009, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Nov 13 2009, 07:52 PM)
Hi, didnt wanna open a new thread to ask this so I'll just ask it here..

Any idea where got sell Casual buttoned shirt but with sleeve until the elbow?

Normal casual formal clothes sold are either short sleeve or long sleeve, I'm finding one that have sleeve a couple inches longer than the short sleeve.

Please don't suggest me to buy bigger size of the short sleeve..
you can get it done for around 250+ from a good tailor. depends on material. why not just buy a long sleeve shirt and fold it up? haha.
shirley_andy
post Nov 14 2009, 12:21 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

Long sleeve shirt fold up is still very hot, Merehsyen weather so hot..
LinctusForte
post Nov 14 2009, 12:29 AM

103 posts

yo guys... for those looking for affordable tailor to make ur suits, i have 1 to recommend. it's Gent's Attire at Sea Park PJ.

they charge about RM850 for mixed blend wool (mostly from jap fabric) and RM 1250 for high quality wools imported from england or italy.

you have a wide variety of fabric to choose from. and i'm currently making my 2nd suit there.

for sure the materials used are not like those u get in granoff or lords or watever famous one, but this tailor has more than 25 years of exp in making suits so just bring the photo of the suit u want and tell him to follow. i asked for slim fit for my first suit and it turned out exactly what i wanted.

they also offered to alter my first slack as i feel it's a bit too tight after 3 months. FOC yeah... that's y i am happy and i feel thier after sales service is good.

IMO, you don't necessary have to go for those super duper famous suit makers to make ur suit, but some lower budgets ones can deliver just what you wanted provided u give the right instructions and be certain of the changes you need when you are doing the 2nd fitting.

cheerios....
TSjind86
post Nov 14 2009, 01:35 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Nov 13 2009, 07:35 PM)
Jind86, I use language with great precision. Please read my description again.
i just wanted to re-confirm buddy.. or you could take it as my english isn't that good.. you didn't have to give me that kind of answer..

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Nov 13 2009, 09:23 PM)
May I know why?
because a short sleeve should be short and a long sleeve should be long.. it just looks weird with three quarter shirts.. my advice is to buy a long sleeve and fold em up..

QUOTE(LinctusForte @ Nov 14 2009, 12:29 AM)
yo guys... for those looking for affordable tailor to make ur suits, i have 1 to recommend.  it's Gent's Attire at Sea Park PJ.

they charge about RM850 for mixed blend wool (mostly from jap fabric) and RM 1250 for high quality wools imported from england or italy.

you have a wide variety of fabric to choose from. and i'm currently making my 2nd suit there.

for sure the materials used are not like those u get in granoff or lords or watever famous one, but this tailor has more than 25 years of exp in making suits so just bring the photo of the suit u want and tell him to follow. i asked for slim fit for my first suit and it turned out exactly what i wanted.

they also offered to alter my first slack as i feel it's a bit too tight after 3 months. FOC yeah... that's y i am happy and i feel thier after sales service is good.

IMO, you don't necessary have to go for those super duper famous suit makers to make ur suit, but some lower budgets ones can deliver just what you wanted provided u give the right instructions and be certain of the changes you need when you are doing the 2nd fitting.

cheerios....
cool.. mind sharing some pictures of you in your suit? =)
kotmj
post Nov 14 2009, 02:42 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Jind86, as uncomfortable to you as my comments were, you have no idea how inadequate your question about a "dimple" was. How far out it was; how stupid. Maybe you'd like to analyze why that is.

I believe the phrase I used was "many small dimples on the underside of the lapel". Not only did I use the plural form of the noun, I even used the adjective "many" to amplify the plurality. I am hinting at a sea of dimples. Not one single lone dimple. For you, "many small dimples" became "Where do I find that dimple?"

Two, I was talking about the underside of a lapel. Take hold of the lapel. Go on, do it. Which is the top side, which the underside? Is the lining of your jacket the underside of a lapel?

Do you see now how inadequate your response was, and why my curt response is far too generous? I wouldn't last one month in my job if I answered emails from colleagues or customers the way you did.
TSjind86
post Nov 14 2009, 03:50 AM

1,507 posts

ok thanks for the english lesson.. ive no time to argue here..
terencetoo
post Nov 14 2009, 03:18 PM

3,246 posts

yo guys... for those looking for affordable tailor to make ur suits, i have 1 to recommend.  it's Gent's Attire at Sea Park PJ.

cheerios....
wow i was thinking to hop around for suits where i have visited Bespoke 1u..1 set of suit cost around RM2k i think is slightly exp....
n i dont have options to see the design that i like... coz most of the time i browse through the magazine and though i was able to be nice on the suit...but u never know how does it look on u....headache...

So, anywhere theres some sample of suit i can try before i decide the design of the suit..?

Gents Attire @ Sea Park not that far away..i could pop down n have a look bro...do u have the address? how long does it take to complete the suit?

I really have no idea where i should do my suit.... rclxub.gif
Sparkmanshop/Bespke 1U?......im loss
LinctusForte
post Nov 14 2009, 03:56 PM

103 posts

3 weeks to a month. they will ask u how urgent u want it.

remember, just bring the photo of the suit that u want and show. dun go without the photos.

yah... will post a pic of my suit after i get it.
babytensai
post Nov 14 2009, 04:39 PM

191 posts

Well, I'm actually looking for something 2 wear for a wedding dinner. Can any1 suggest something besides a suit?
LinctusForte
post Nov 14 2009, 04:56 PM

103 posts

pick one.. not the most right one of definitely.... rclxub.gif

Attached image(s)
Eisenmeteor
post Nov 14 2009, 05:29 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

First and 2nd..
babytensai
post Nov 14 2009, 05:44 PM

191 posts

Hmmm... suggestions plz? I have no idea in mind. lol
shirley_andy
post Nov 14 2009, 06:23 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Nov 14 2009, 01:35 AM)
because a short sleeve should be short and a long sleeve should be long.. it just looks weird with three quarter shirts.. my advice is to buy a long sleeve and fold em up..
But then a long sleeve looks too formal, while a short sleeve look too boyish..
hymo
post Nov 14 2009, 08:27 PM

cheerios....
I don't know about the others, but I am very visually-oriented. How about a few pictures?

Added on November 14, 2009, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(jind86 @ Nov 14 2009, 03:50 AM)
ok thanks for the english lesson.. ive no time to argue here..
I can't believe a college student with reading deficiencies would suspend me for 1 week because I pointed that out. My posts were all within the boundaries of good public discourse.

That was unwise, Jind86. You've just made yourself an enemy.

This post has been edited by hymo: Nov 14 2009, 08:31 PM
hymo
post Nov 14 2009, 09:06 PM

So I had quite a trip today interviewing tailors.

I drove to Town A. Had a nice lunch, and found the one and only tailor in that town. Hopeless. Sends everything to KL to be made. Fused to the eyeballs, doesn't know what horsehair is, never heard of floating canvas. I gave him a fully canvassed suit in Scabal wool; he didn't even know how to inspect the suit. "It's like mine," he said. I almost puked. Showed him my Ah Loke suit, he said "That's very nice".

Went onwards to Town B. I always thought of it as a backwater, but in fact it is a prosperous Chinese town. Went from tailor to tailor -- there were so many there -- and eventually one said to me, "Ah, a non-fused suit. You'll have to go to the sifu. He works from home." He gave me his address, and I went there. Knocked on the door, and a short guy with a beer belly without shirt looked at me. Early fourties, well-preserved. I went in.

It's an apartment on the first floor, and the workshop was in the living room. Wife sewing away in the corner, the cutting table faces away from her. Both were immediately next to the balcony for the light. I showed him the Scabal suit. He inspected it furiously. "Wah, look at this. Everything is hand-sewn."

Talked to him at the cutting table for 30 mins. He said he could do a fully-canvassed suit, in fact that's how he started out, but it would take him several suits before he gets it right because he is out of practice. So, no. He said once you stop doing it this way, it's difficult to do it again without lots of warm-up practice. The first few suits will be junk. He said he didn't know anyone who still makes it this way. Says the collar alone takes 2 hours to sew. About 3 days per suit.

I inspected a suit of his. Junk. Fused, lousy workmanship, no handwork. He says he gets paid RM100 per suit jacket.

He says my best bet for a fully canvassed suit is KL.

Drove home and found Jind86 had me suspended A WEEK because I pointed out his reading comprehension is lousy.
calvinloke
post Nov 14 2009, 09:28 PM

383 posts

No handwork? Did you see any buttonhole or fusing machines around in his place?

This post has been edited by calvinloke: Nov 14 2009, 09:29 PM
hymo
post Nov 14 2009, 09:32 PM

Well OK the buttonhole was hand-sewn, but if Ah Loke's buttonholes were watered down versions of the original, his are downright crude. A slit is cut, then the edge is just looped with thread. Just loops.

I didn't see a fusing machine. I didn't see much; I was absorbed in conversation with him.
calvinloke
post Nov 14 2009, 09:45 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(hymo @ Nov 14 2009, 09:32 PM)
Well OK the buttonhole was hand-sewn, but if Ah Loke's buttonholes were watered down versions of the original, his are downright crude. A slit is cut, then the edge is just looped with thread. Just loops.

I didn't see a fusing machine. I didn't see much; I was absorbed in conversation with him.
That's pathetic. In fact, I believe I have had enough practice to sew buttonholes with Ahloke-like results.

This post has been edited by calvinloke: Nov 14 2009, 09:47 PM
hymo
post Nov 14 2009, 09:54 PM

Well, practise more and beat the Attolinis and the Brionis of the world. Then I'll tell AL not to bother with the buttonholes. I'll send it to you.

I don't think I'll search for tailors in small towns anymore. I'll concentrate my search on locating the one or two in KL to which Binwani, for example, sends theirs to when the customer pays RM1350 for labour for the jacket.
TSjind86
post Nov 14 2009, 11:23 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Nov 14 2009, 06:23 PM)
But then a long sleeve looks too formal, while a short sleeve look too boyish..
then you could say three quarters look too girl-ish.. a long sleeve shirt is not formal, in fact there are so many kinds of long sleeve shits, some more casual looking - military style shirt?

QUOTE(hymo @ Nov 14 2009, 08:27 PM)
I don't know about the others, but I am very visually-oriented. How about a few pictures?

Added on November 14, 2009, 8:31 pm
I can't believe a college student with reading deficiencies would suspend me for 1 week because I pointed that out. My posts were all within the boundaries of good public discourse.

That was unwise, Jind86. You've just made yourself an enemy.
is this a threat? i PM-ed you and i'll clarify again, it was not me who removed your post and it was not me who proposed the suspension.. looks like someone reported you or another staff found you out of line as well.. besides, i just came online.. if you're not satisfied kindly report at the Help Desk or email helpdesk@lowyat.net..

123 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:29 AM