AKPK, debt issue, anyone got a question to ask them?
Sim On
Feb 25 2012, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(ptit @ Feb 8 2012, 04:00 PM) yes true....from my experience with HSBC you cannot get discount for lump sum at all....what number left on the screen is ultimate what you need to pay.... How about Hong Leong Bank? Anybody know if they will give discount upon full settlement on credit card debts ?
Sim On
Jun 27 2016, 11:00 PM
Dear all Sifus,
I'm trying to help one relative with his Hong Leong CC debts. Here are a bit of history how he got into this situation :
- Around 1996/97 he bought an Iswara Aeroback with loan from EON Bank. So the loan come with a CC, with credit limit RM3k.
- Used the CC for few years. After that he decided to cancel the card with some unpaid balance.
- Paid the balance on/off until his last balance is around RM1.8k.
- He contacted the staff in EON Bank telling the officer he was unable to pay the balance. Funny thing is the statement from EON Bank didn't come on regular basis & after sometimes it stopped coming altogether.
- When EON Bank was taken over by Hong Leong bank, sometimes in 2010/11 he started receiving the statements again, and that time the balance on the statement was already around RM15k.
- Last year he started receiving calls from the debt collector agents and he believed his debt is around 20k or more now.
- He is now on Socso pension around RM1.3k a month and I think it is going to be difficult for him to settle his debt in full.
My question : 1) should he go to AKPK? He is already 51y.o with low income, barely enough to cover his expenses.
2) some relative are willing to pool some RM8-10k to help him with the debt. U sifus think HLB will accept 10k to clear his debt?
3) any chance for him to negotiate for lower full settlement?
This post has been edited by Sim On: Jun 28 2016, 12:21 PM
Sim On
Aug 22 2016, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(fastlambo @ Jul 29 2016, 05:48 PM) I m on akpk program for few mths dy. Actually I was asked to go apply akpk by tis local bank next to swiss garden since they declined my application to convert the outstanding to term loan Or installment or split payment to them. 1) no service charge for their service 2) no phone calls claiming they r akpk & asking you to apply akpk until you go to their office to meet up. But..... 1) repayment of your outstanding will be prolong 2) thus making the mthly minimum repayment much lesser 3) not actually totally free...akpk interest charges is included Cheers. Hope it helps. Btw, you will nid to apply online FiRST. Make appointment date. Bring all necessary documents. Please access akpk web for full detail. Hi. If u don't mind sharing, may I know how much you owe the bank? Also what kind of installment repayment u offer to them? Coz most of the stories I heard the bank will try their best to collect the debts themselves, rather than collect it thru AKPK. Or was I wrong?