upgrading Wii firmware, want to ask

TSDark NT
post Dec 14 2008, 10:51 PM, updated 17y ago

1,006 posts

i just bought a modded wii from one of the forumer here.

the firmware is 3.1J

i do not know the modding method since the seller also not sure about that.

now i would like to upgrade to the latest firmware (and to english).. i plan to bring to a shop to do but want to ask if u any sifu know whether i can DIY ? or roughly how much do i expect to pay for the upgrade?

my main purpose is to play latest jap+english games. and some gamecube games too.
i am not interested in the Wii internet / download thing.
greyshadow
post Dec 15 2008, 10:50 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

upgrade to latest firmware, which is 3.4j right now

just enable the wiiconnect24 and look for the update under the option menu

for which button to click if u can't understand japs, just look for the menu translation online.

and for upgrade to english... this is a forbidden subject here... no one can and will help u here, n please ask elsewhere wink.gif

TSDark NT
post Dec 15 2008, 11:36 AM

1,006 posts

as far as i know.. modding is not forbidden but piracy is.

modding from Jap menu to US menu does not mean piracy in my opinion...

btw thanks for the instructions too.

This post has been edited by Dark NT: Dec 15 2008, 11:37 AM
evilhomura89
post Dec 15 2008, 12:22 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Dec 15 2008, 11:36 AM)
as far as i know.. modding is not forbidden but piracy is.

modding from Jap menu to US menu does not mean piracy in my opinion...

btw thanks for the instructions too.
well...moddin can easily lead to piracy related discussion..
as long as u knw where to stop, i guess it's ok to continue discussion since many of the forummers here mod their wii in order to play games from diff region as wii games are region locked...
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Dec 17 2008, 02:17 PM

263 posts

Aiyooo..for heavens sake, he just wants to translate to english menu lah.......
J_Vansen_S
post Dec 30 2008, 04:35 PM

314 posts

Can anyone help? i too have a similar problem...
Bought a 2nd hand Wii Jap modded, but cant play certain games like WiiSports..my firmware showing 3.4J now..

helpz
pikacu
post Dec 31 2008, 12:06 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

use custom IOS /cIOS

try refer to wiibrew.org
TSDark NT
post Feb 14 2009, 07:55 AM

1,006 posts

thanks all..