Super Noobs Help! [Thread V3], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

kimimaro_kun
post Sep 2 2009, 10:44 AM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

wow... just finished read all the post here. lots of new info. thx sifus
~~93pages... sweat.gif

my noob q : planning to get 9800gt green edition @ a very attractive price.
: do i need to change my cap ayam psu? using icute 450w for now. prefered CM, if u can suggest me

thx rclxms.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 2 2009, 03:56 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(nkarul85 @ Sep 2 2009, 01:49 PM)
wat spec u got?

if normal spec
proc(no oc)       - amd athlon 64*2 3800+
mobo                - m61sme-s2
ram                  - 2gb corsair xms2 ddr2 800 ram
1 dvd
hdd                  - 1*80gb sata
                       - 1*160gb pata
                       - 1*160gb ext. hd
2*120mm fans

sure can go wit 450w icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 1:51 pmeh before u buy 98gt

i suggest u go wit 4850
meaning with current spec, i dont need to waste on psu? nice to know that.
mm... 4850 much better than 9800? does it need to connect with psu?

sorry for the questions.. blush.gif

and thanks for the responded thumbup.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 4:30 pmfound this website, for the Graphics Card Ranking..

graphics card ranking <------------- click

This post has been edited by kimimaro_kun: Sep 2 2009, 04:30 PM
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 2 2009, 08:58 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Sep 2 2009, 06:23 PM)
Recommend you getting a new PSU, a customer of mine had his 9800 GT burnt due to insufficient power. Your total power consumption at full load with 9800 GT is almost 380W and taking the 450W PSU with roughly 60% efficiency into account, your rig is underpowered.

HD 4850 is definitely better than 9800 GT, also requiring an external PCIe power, and most importantly, consumes more power than your current PSU can provide.
what do you think bout this card??

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1060017&hl=
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 2 2009, 10:03 PM

669 posts

either way, i need to change my psu.
so, the psu hunting begin..

~~is cm extreme power plus 500w enuf??
and what about with this huntkey psu... some said good, some said cap ayam

kimimaro_kun
post Sep 2 2009, 11:18 PM

669 posts

yes, its price is very low compared to another branded psu..
ok, thx bro.. still have lots of noob q. no wonder mod had created this thread blush.gif

btw, my currect rig wont bottleneck the 4850 or 9800,right??
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 3 2009, 06:57 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Sep 3 2009, 12:21 AM)
No problem, and this is where we share and learn happy.gif
notworthy.gif
if only every person in this world can be helpful, surely there will no war

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Sep 3 2009, 12:21 AM)
Your processor, at 2.00 GHz stock speed, will bottleneck the HD 4850/9800 GT. Try overclocking if possible
upgrading the proc also on my list.
but for now, maybe i'll learn how to OC. meaning that stock hsf need to be replace right??
any recommendation?
icon_question.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 3 2009, 11:38 AM

669 posts

refered to giga website, those cable should include in the accessories.
plz correct me if im wrong
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 4 2009, 07:02 AM

669 posts

guys..
which one of these psu is better??
silverstone st400 or CM extreme power 500w
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 4 2009, 07:23 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Sep 4 2009, 07:20 AM)
No doubt Silverstone ST400 is better wink.gif
wow.. i though CM better as it has 500w meanwhile SS only 400w
rclxub.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 4 2009, 07:37 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Sep 4 2009, 07:33 AM)
Well, the eXtreme Power has peak power of 500W, not continuous 500W except Real Power Pro and so on while the Silverstone has true power of 400W. Both have similar amperage but the Silverstone is slightly more power efficient.
owh.. thx bro. u help me a lot thumbup.gif

kimimaro_kun
post Sep 7 2009, 08:56 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 4 2009, 05:03 PM)
the CM extreme power would be able to support more total wattage from your setup.

BUT overall the Silverstone ST400 is better not because of the max wattage support but rather
1. build quality
2. power efficiency
thx for the respond mr GF and GenX rclxms.gif

another q : will the SS ST400 enuf for the hd4850?
not a hardcore gamer. still in blur which gc to pick between hd4770, hd4850 or 9800..

thx in advance.. notworthy.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 8 2009, 07:00 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Sep 7 2009, 10:12 PM)
No problem, ST400 would be sufficient. Take HD 4850, you won't regret it wink.gif
orait... thx bro.
planning to get my hd4850 after raya.. hopefully the gc prrice will drop as hd5xxx will be officially launch on 10sept thumbup.gif

kimimaro_kun
post Sep 28 2009, 02:38 PM

669 posts

sifu, got few noob q here... icon_question.gif

1. is it possible for me to change the psu's fan?
using silverstone SF40..

2. can 120mm fan fit with CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 CPU Cooler?

3. i'm using an old gigabyte mobo GA-M61SME-S2 and planning to change the proc to AMD Athlon II X2 250 True Dual-Core AM3@ 3.0ghz or AMD Phenom True Triple Core AM2 8650 @ 2.3ghz.. will the mobo bottleneck the proc? which 1 is better?
changing mobo is out of q

tq notworthy.gif

kimimaro_kun
post Sep 28 2009, 09:16 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Sep 28 2009, 02:38 PM)
sifu, got few noob q here...  icon_question.gif

using silverstone SF40..

3. i'm using an old gigabyte mobo GA-M61SME-S2 and planning to change the proc to AMD Athlon II X2 250 True Dual-Core AM3@ 3.0ghz or AMD Phenom True Triple Core AM2 8650 @ 2.3ghz.. will the mobo bottleneck the proc? which 1 is better?

tq  notworthy.gif
whistling.gif

QUOTE(zeckt @ Sep 28 2009, 06:16 PM)
this upgrade seems nice  rclxm9.gif

Added on September 28, 2009, 6:18 pm
No worries, my father said i can buy anything.But not more than 20k

Still wanna save money. OK, Budget not more than 4.5k
*cough* *cough*
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 29 2009, 01:17 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Sep 28 2009, 02:38 PM)
sifu, got few noob q here...  icon_question.gif

using silverstone SF40.

as for this one, is it ok for me to use the 92mm to 120mm fan adapter?
like this?

3. i'm using an old gigabyte mobo GA-M61SME-S2 and planning to change the proc to AMD Athlon II X2 250 True Dual-Core AM3@ 3.0ghz.. will the mobo bottleneck the proc?

tq  notworthy.gif
kimimaro_kun
post Sep 29 2009, 04:28 PM

669 posts

with 1 is better in cooling?
cm hyper tx3 or gelid silent spirit.. neglect the price differ

thx
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 14 2009, 08:41 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(GaryCCW @ Oct 14 2009, 01:48 AM)
hi everyone.... i got some problem about the dell lcd monitor..
Recently i just bought the dell st2310 from ALL IT hypermarket...., yesterday  I found a short hair trapped inside the Lcd panel.... is there any solution to solve this problem ?? It is very annoying! Can i just bring the lcd for warranty? or I have to diy to get the hair out from my LCD? anyone ? This Lcd just bought 2 weeks ago
i hope it doesnt because of this!!!

hehe.. jk jk.
u only realize the hair after 2 weeks u bought it?

0.0455sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:54 AM