lex
post Jan 4 2009, 01:47 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(izglory @ Jan 4 2009, 01:17 AM)
Well im either going for C2D e8400 or C2q6600.
hmm, 4GB, lol i guess it isnt enuf for the future.
Depends on your usage... I'm using 2GB and hardly fully utilize the RAM when browsing, downloading, playing multimedia (video and audio) and running other desktop stuff at the same time. The only time 2GB will be utilized are usually games, as newer ones use quite a lot of memory. 4GB would be considered very adequate for a long time.. tongue.gif

Anyway, if i insert 4 x 1GB ram into the 4 respective slots, would the performance faster than inserting 2 x 2gbram into 2 of the 4 slots?
IMHO.. 2 x 2GB would be faster. nod.gif

Oh ya, I just checked my cpu temperature, it was like 73degree, 27 more to boiling point, is it my cpu cooler problem? im still using a pentium 4 processor with its heatsink, is intel's heatsink good? or people usually go buy a better heatsink?
Word... Clean your heatsink.. its probably clogged at top (under the fan).. You only buy a better heatsink if you want to overclock, or your room environment is hot (not much air movement). wink.gif

around what price range for a affordable yet good heatsink??
Around RM100 to RM200. cool.gif

and whats the average normal temperature for a cpu?
Around 29C to 49C on average or idle, on load can reach up to 75C depending on processor. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 4 2009, 01:48 AM
lex
post Jan 8 2009, 12:42 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Agultiamat @ Jan 6 2009, 12:54 PM)
can amd athlon x2 7750+ work with am2 mobo?
Depends on the motherboard. Is it the one in your siggy? hmm.gif

QUOTE(cashboy @ Jan 6 2009, 04:37 PM)
hi, im getting high graphic cards 9800gt , core 2 duo processor, is it necessary to get a cpu cooler fan?
You mean 3rd party HSF (heatsink and fan)? Not necessary unless you want to overclock.. wink.gif

QUOTE(aii @ Jan 6 2009, 11:55 PM)
which mobo is worth to buy it.
and what processr?
icon_question.gif
Depends on your budget or how much you are willing to spend.. whistling.gif

QUOTE(cashboy @ Jan 7 2009, 06:32 AM)
is getting a bigger size LCD a must if i getting good graphic cards like 9800gt or hd4850?
cuz im using 17" Lcd, use smaller lcd and high end graphic card  will affect gaming peformance?  or just purposely for the vision,.?
Usually yes... The bigger the LCD the higher the resolution (more pixels to render). It also depends on the game.. whether its very demanding or not.. nod.gif

lex
post Jan 17 2009, 07:22 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(syafix @ Jan 17 2009, 12:13 AM)
ST50F can power up HD4850??
Yups.. More than sufficient.. nod.gif

lex
post Jan 25 2009, 08:12 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Jan 20 2009, 02:10 AM)
Uber noob question:

Can a CM Extreme 500w juices up ...
* Xeon E3100
* G31M-S2L
* PowerColor HD4850 Play
... ?
Just enough only... The CoolerMaster Extreme 500W PSU real power is 450W. Usually for HD4850 I do recommend (real power) 500W PSU.. You can try and see your luck... sweat.gif

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 21 2009, 02:28 PM)
I have no choice to post a noob question here, it is LGA775 processor cooler still can use on LGA 1366 motherboard??
Nope, if its the stock one... Unless its a 3rd party one, then you can check their website and see if they have LGA1366 mounting kits for that cooler. unsure.gif

QUOTE(ctkoo1985 @ Jan 21 2009, 02:30 PM)
i have a noob question, what graphich card can support this motherboard 945GZ Micro 775 SE? If want to play smooth on Crysis, GTA4 and Red alert 3
That Biostar 945GZ Micro 775 SE motherboard does not have a real PCIe x16 slot, if I'm not mistaken.. notice the word "1 x PCI-E x16 Slot (Compatible)", because the 945GZ Northbridge chipset itself does not have PCIe x16 connections. Thus instead the connections for the "PCIe x16 slot" comes from the ICH7 SouthBridge chipset which runs at slower x4 mode only. You can use a number of "compatible" graphics card but will not run at full (x16) speed. For the list of "compatible" cards, check this list. You may need to change the motherboard... hmm.gif

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jan 22 2009, 12:18 PM)
Nobody?
Already answered in the other thread here wink.gif
Try.. Samsung SAMSUNG 2333SW 23" widescreen LCD monitor around RM684. brows.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 25 2009, 08:14 AM
lex
post Jan 25 2009, 08:58 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 25 2009, 08:26 AM)
I just bought a new graphic card which is Palit 4870 sonic 512mb

can mobo: nf-m2pv /
Should be able to... Refer to ABit NF-M2PV wink.gif

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 25 2009, 08:26 AM)
psu: 600watt compatible with the graphic card?
What brand and model is that PSU? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 25 2009, 08:58 AM
lex
post Jan 25 2009, 09:12 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 25 2009, 09:04 AM)
it is CoolMax USA
If its this one, then should be fine.. wink.gif

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 25 2009, 09:04 AM)
and what is pcie -express kinda wondering that kind of things..

do hdmi really help much interms of quality display on monitor?
HDMI and DVI should be the same... nod.gif

lex
post Jan 26 2009, 05:39 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 25 2009, 09:32 AM)
Looks OK to power up the HD4870... smile.gif

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Jan 25 2009, 04:45 PM)
may i ask,for ram...1x2gb or 2x1gb performs better?
Of course 2x1GB is better, since its going to run as dual channel. nod.gif

lex
post Jan 26 2009, 08:35 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(syafix @ Jan 26 2009, 04:57 PM)
i want to open my PC 24/7 coz many things to download ..
but i afraid about the electrics bill..
any experience from the 24/7 user?
any side effect?
need to disable/enable something?
Depends on your PC hardware. Gaming PCs eat a lot of power even when idle... sweat.gif

If afraid of high electric bills then get a dedicated low power PC... like those Atom based desktops (a.g. ASUS EEEPC, MSI Wind, etc), or build one yourself. wink.gif
lex
post Jan 29 2009, 04:43 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(double_agent @ Jan 27 2009, 10:38 PM)
I've been wondering,how come a Quad-Core CPU sometimes has a lower clock rate than a Duo one?I thought having more cores makes it faster.
Having more cores can do more work (single thread per core, thus 4 threads for 4 cores simultaneously)... that is if the application has been designed to take advantage of many cores. wink.gif

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 28 2009, 08:48 PM)
recently bought a graphic card 4870 sonic 512mb Palit and now it is equiped to my computer but the problem is it keeps making a "tttuuuuuutt...tttuuttt" noise and to top it all, the computer can't start

So anyone can help me? Thanks in advance to whoever does notworthy.gif

This is my spec to whoever wonders

mobo: nf-mp2v
proc: phenom x4 2.1ghz
Ram: 2gb 800mhz
GC: Palit 4870 512mb
PSU:600watt coolmax usa
Did you try re-plugging it in? unsure.gif Other than that, it could be motherboard compatibility issue (may require BIOS update)... hmm.gif

QUOTE(slier81 @ Jan 28 2009, 09:53 PM)
Just wanna ask..

I got psu branded Powerlogic 450w

is this psu consider cap ayamz
Yes, that one is considered cap ayamz... wink.gif

lex
post Jan 30 2009, 01:14 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Aresz.com @ Jan 29 2009, 11:59 AM)
Means that any USB peripherals entering USB slot will make the PC shut down instantly....any...u name it...keyboard,mouse,pendrive etc..i suspect the mobo itself...how bout u bro??
The front USB.. or the back ones on the motherboard? hmm.gif

lex
post Jan 31 2009, 06:42 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(pr0t0typ3 @ Jan 30 2009, 01:28 AM)
e8400 vs q6600 which is better?
i know e8400 can oc high like 4++ghz, but q6600 have two extra core.
the price is almost the same rite?
IF you are not going to overclock the Q6600, then the E8400 would be a better choice. Usually people get the Q6600 for overclocking.. means that if you aren't going to overclock the Q6600 to 3GHz+ (reaching QX6850/Q9550 performance levels or higher) then its a big waste. By the way the Q6600 is considered a legendary (best bang per buck) processor with overclocking. brows.gif

QUOTE(noprob @ Jan 30 2009, 08:19 AM)
i planning to setup a new rig. still undecide to get vista ultimate or just go for promotional vista home premium. daily usage mainly for surfing , photo editing and gaming. anyone can give suggestion ? thx
For simple stuff.. even XP or Vista Home is enough. However if your machine has more than 4GB, then its Vista Ultimate.. Still up to your choice.. wink.gif

QUOTE(Aresz.com @ Jan 30 2009, 05:46 PM)
same...back and front...
Could be either motherboard or PSU.. Anyway, what brand/model and wattage is your PSU? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jan 31 2009, 06:53 AM
lex
post Feb 5 2009, 04:42 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(LVSeiZai @ Feb 4 2009, 08:48 PM)
My current pc spec are

AM2 6000+
M2A-VM
2GB RAM 800MHz
450W - P4 PSU
250GB HDD

how to determine what GC my PSU can support? Range will be from HD3650 - HD4830. Im nt certain how to count the watt required.
Just show us the PSU label (take a snapshot)... Most probably from the specifications, it looks to be cap ayam PSU.. hmm.gif

1. Does GC brand has any difference if its for normal usage? Manli/Palit did sound cheaper?
All brands more or less the same.. Just price difference. wink.gif

2. I need a cooler and lower power usage GC as my house is quite hot n I prefer the thing to be silent'd.
Then you have to look at either low end graphics card (with passive heatsinks), or NVIDIA ones like 9600GT or 9800GT.. nod.gif

lex
post Feb 7 2009, 10:34 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(LVSeiZai @ Feb 7 2009, 07:52 PM)
act the price list are from lyn seller. So i should get cheapest GSO vers? or GT ver?
The GT version is always better... At RM400 and above, better get 9800GT instead. The 9600GT is best value at around RM340 to RM360.. wink.gif However for these graphics cards, you will need a true power 400W to 450W PSU.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(LVSeiZai @ Feb 7 2009, 07:52 PM)
should i get better GC (cool, low power consumption, reduced noise n performance wise) RM250-RM350 from 2nd hand seller?
If you want performance with low temperature and low power consumption, its hard to decide... can't have both. The 9600GT and 9800GT runs cooler despite slightly higher power consumption, while the HD4670 has lower power consumption but higher temperatures. tongue.gif

Source: http://techreport.com/articles.x/15752/8

The 9600GT is (almost) the best of both.. Higher performance and lower temperatures than HD4670... however slightly higher power consumption than HD4670. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Feb 7 2009, 10:36 PM
lex
post Feb 8 2009, 12:00 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(LVSeiZai @ Feb 7 2009, 11:21 PM)
The thoughts of having to change a new PSU sets me back away  cry.gif 
More powerful graphics card always requires better PSUs... Cannot be avoided. tongue.gif

Anyway can i take HD4670 while using my current capalang 450w - P4 PSU?  hmm.gif
Should be able to run... No gurantees though (depends on PSU build, hardware configuration). wink.gif

Been trying to play PCSX2 but nt sure which GC would meet the requirement  icon_question.gif
Yups those graphics cards will meet the requirements.. However since its an emulator, processor power is most important as well.. brows.gif

lex
post Feb 8 2009, 12:16 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(LVSeiZai @ Feb 8 2009, 12:06 AM)
PSU build n hardware?

PSU 450W-P4
AM2 6000+
M2A-VM
2GB RAM 800Mhz
HDD 250GB
DVD writer
Altec Lansing speaker
n minor things (mouse,modem,webcam)

is this what u meant?
Looks OK, not much extra hardware in there... You can try and see... wink.gif

lex
post Feb 11 2009, 06:41 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(ahliang100 @ Feb 11 2009, 04:56 AM)
i plan to buy a new or used agp gpu... any advice at budget around rm300?
using p4 3.2ht, 1gb ddr400 ram, albatron px865pe pro, 2x 40gb hdd, and silverstone st400 psu....

currently 4 choices at garage sales is hd2600xt , 6800gs, 7800gs or x1950gt..
which one will be the best and worth??

how to determine that gpu is good or not?? izzit the highest bandwidth mean most good??

below is the link of gpu-z of 7800gs and x1950gt
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=713848
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=797541

within this 2 card which one better?
The X1950GT of course.. wink.gif

lex
post Feb 12 2009, 06:10 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(panafone @ Feb 11 2009, 11:51 PM)
my mobo is the gigabyte g31m-es2l and cpu is e7400. when i check my spec using cpu-z, it shows that my cpu is only running at 1600 mhz with only 6x multiplier. I think this is speedstep in action but when I run prime95 cpu-z only shows the multiplier increasing to 9 instead of 10.5. what's going on?
First check the BIOS settings and see if the CPU clock ratio is set correctly. Sometimes it isn't set properly until you have used the "Load Optimized Defaults" function.. wink.gif Also check your BIOS version and compare with the one on this CPU Support List. The E7400 requires BIOS version F4. Sometimes if the BIOS does not recognize the processor properly it might set the maximum mulitplier lower than default. hmm.gif

lex
post Feb 13 2009, 05:29 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Daltonsama @ Feb 12 2009, 11:05 PM)
Is it worth it?
Check this example... IMHO its a luxury item. tongue.gif
lex
post Mar 7 2009, 05:04 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Mar 5 2009, 10:50 PM)
thanks notworthy.gif sorry i use too much wrong terms
Usually electrical leakage occurs at the power points such as the wall socket, power extension, strip plugs, etc.. Sometimes it can also occur if the Earth connection is disconnected or missing. wink.gif

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Mar 6 2009, 09:16 AM)
WTA, does 945G that comes with Atom support widescreen for both XP and Vista?
Yups. nod.gif You'll have to use the Intel drivers usually instead of default Windows drivers for more display resolution modes. icon_rolleyes.gif

lex
post Mar 15 2009, 01:26 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Mar 12 2009, 10:50 PM)
if play games.
use which one good ?
trilinear bilinear
Usually trilinear (or "brilinear" as nowadays many GPUs use that "shortcut" to get better performance, true trilinear have better image quality than "brilinear"). If your processor and GPU can handle better, then choose Anisotropic. tongue.gif

QUOTE(slier81 @ Mar 13 2009, 11:30 AM)
so that mean 32M is faster lah?
Usually.. nod.gif

QUOTE(bleu_huh @ Mar 14 2009, 12:04 PM)
can someone explain to me whats the meaning of real power,xtreme power etc for psu..bcause i notice got regular 500w psu, got real power 500w, got extreme power 500w..
Regular power? You mean the generic (cap ayam) brands that costs below RM100? Xtreme power is model name for one of CoolerMaster series PSUs. hmm.gif

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Mar 14 2009, 07:38 PM)
then why ppl need to buy the full hd monitor ?
since the monitor not support full hd also wont effect the quality.
Not sure which monitor you are comparing to... The "HD" monitors have 16:9 screen ratio while normal widescreen have 16:10 ratio, also the non-widescreen monitors have 4:3 and/or 5:4 ratio (almost square). unsure.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0449sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:43 AM