An Eee!ktomorph's quest, huffing n puffing ..

yongbn
post Jan 1 2009, 09:20 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Jan 1 2009, 09:35 AM)
Woke up to a new day in a new year. Feeling happy because its another 365 days of opportunity to better myself and achieve some things i have been dreaming of.

Today i weighed myself & am at 60kg which is my intermediate goal & this years resolution is :

- To reach 65kg soon
- To go bigger from there
- To feel good & be a more confident person

There are others too, concerning career & some too personal to say out, but there is a year's chance for me to make things work.

Maybe i'll add some more wishes on CNY, which is another new year haha..

HAPPY NEW YEAR everyone !
Hello mrPOTATO,
With regards to "- To feel good & be a more confident person", here are some info that I would like to share with you. It's from an article that I read previously:

1. Change the way you describe yourself especially when you are under certain circumstances - stop apologising for yourself and giving yourself negative labels. Share positive information of yourself with friends around you
2. Be kind to yourself when your feelings are dented or hurt to recover your confidence - do not punish yourself repeatedly for your mistakes. Rewards yourself not just for achievements, but also when you know that you've tried hard
3. Take good care of your body - follow good eating habit, do exercise regularly, and give yourself adequate sleep and rest. Remember to go for your periodic medical check-ups so that you are aware of your current health status
4. Stimulate your mind - do crosswords, reading, take up new language or courses
5. Learn to relax - do exercises or any other activitites that you enjoy doing regularly to release tension
6. Adopt self-protection strategies - in terms of home security features and your own financial protection for old age, sickness, or unexpected disasters
7. Continuously improve your self-presentation/appearance - you may ask feedbacks from friends or seek advice for the best appearance which suits you the most
8. Utilize the power of body language - voice projection and eye contact
9. Be prepared - make contigency planning as a habit so that you are always well-prepared for the worst. Do rehearsal before you are going for speeches or presentation
10. Become a calculated risk-taker - don't be afraid of changes which are good for improvement. When you make a mistake, note the lessons you've learned
11. Be assertive in your requests - be calm and polite even when you are dealing with the people you don't like. Be direct and persistent. Offer compromise if you can. Do not get carried away with your high confidence level. Being confident does not mean that you always get your own way!

yongbn
post Jan 2 2009, 12:31 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Jan 2 2009, 11:35 AM)

I went through your blog & there's quite a lot of advanced workout concepts there. Thanks. Btw, r u the guy in the banner ? He looks chinese.
You are welcome. No, the guy is not me. Long way to go for my back to be like his. He he.
yongbn
post Jan 9 2009, 01:28 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Jan 9 2009, 12:06 PM)
Arnold drank lots of milk. He drank beer after workout too !

So i'm gonna follow in his footsteps & increase my milk ! Hahaa.. no beer for me though. Full cream milk is full of goodness but i dun wan those saturated fats so i'm ordering a casein protein blend & gonna make that the mainstay of my supplement. Milk throughout the day without more fats to my waist. Will it work ? Can't wait to see the effect.. 

Will add the casein to my postworkout too, a bit worried how it gels. At same time changing my exercise to 4d/wk - 1,2,4,5. My legs r progressing with 3 workouts / week but other parts lagging & i always feel itchy on non workout days, so 4d/wk shld satisfy my hunger. Will add sth to my shoulder routine, which is currently my worst body part cos with the bloated stomach adding thickness to my body, i look even narrower.

Please let the casein arrives faster..
Milk is fine as your alternative source for protein, instead of just relying on eggs and meat. For less fat %, get Low Fat milk. The one by Dutch Lady is good if you are OK with vanilla taste. HL milk has higher protein % per servings relatively, so you can opt for HL as well.
yongbn
post Jan 9 2009, 10:52 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Jan 9 2009, 04:18 PM)
Hi yongbn, doing some reading up juz now & ya.. seems like lots good abt milk. Heard HL milk a bit more expensive. I haven't tried it b4, mayb buy 1 pack try. For taste i like Nestle better than Dutch Lady cos its creamier even though both r low fat type.

Daily reading
Milk is very good to complement whey & has lots glutamine.
http://www.bodyactive-online.co.uk/supplem...ents/casein.asp
As a good basis for hypothesis combining both whey and casein in a sensible ratio would provide the positive benefits from both of these proteins. In all honesty many people are already doing this without actually realising. They mix 25 - 30g of good quality whey protein with about a glass to a pint of milk and have created a drink with an extra 8 - 16 g of slower acting casein. Where whey lacks the amino acid phenylalanine, casein is rich, and where casein lacks BCAA's, whey is rich, making a very good combination ..... Casein comprises 20.5 % glutamine, higher than whey, soy or egg proteins, especially in the peptide form.

However, surprisingly milk is not good for sleeping as often said rclxub.gif  hmm.gif
Interesting to note that casein contains a 5:1 ratio of tyrosine to tryptophan and could be considered to be one of the highest 'stimulating' proteins available. Tyrosine is an amino acid that signals the brain to be awake and alert..

Anyhow also read abt milk causing many problems in a health & fitness thread. Going to find out more.
Correct, HL is more expensive. The easiest way to compare the fat or protein levels is true it's foods label. So, spend a few minutes looking at it.. smile.gif
Certain people are milk-intolerant too, so you may want to take note on this if you seldom take milk that frequent. Cheers.
yongbn
post Jan 11 2009, 02:42 PM

110 posts

Agree. Unless you have the proper equipments at home, it's safer to workout at gym if you want to go heavy. As I quote, "Do it Safely, or Don't Do it At All".
yongbn
post Jan 15 2009, 12:03 AM

110 posts

Agree. Though it's a good exercise but when it's too taxing, it does not turns out effective as well. Perhaps you can change one or two of your exercises, for example using dumbbells instead of barbell, swapping the order of exercises, imposing dropsets, supersets.. these might just help to get you back into the rhythm and perform even better! Eventually, as you progressively exercise, I am sure you will be able to understand what's best for you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by yongbn: Jan 15 2009, 12:03 AM
yongbn
post Jan 20 2009, 09:49 PM

110 posts

I think it is normal to see yourself being plump a lil' bit especially while your are in training period. Unless you are saying that your tummy looks like "alchoholic belly".. haha.. Anyway, Happy CNY folks!
yongbn
post Feb 7 2009, 02:06 PM

110 posts

Don't be so calculative on your foods consumption la dude... mana shiok like tht... just try to keep things moderate and well-balanced... and enjoy yourself!

This post has been edited by yongbn: Feb 7 2009, 02:07 PM
yongbn
post Feb 13 2009, 10:42 PM

110 posts

Good to hear that your lateral delts are improving. Be extra careful during execution of deadlift. If done wrongly or you feel too taxing, it could damage your back wink.gif
yongbn
post Feb 20 2009, 09:17 PM

110 posts

Summor u've uploaded 2 of your benchmarked photos.. paiseh we compare is it? haha..
yongbn
post Feb 22 2009, 11:10 PM

110 posts

Can see your traps building too... nice picture hanging on the wall at your living hall btw.. haha
yongbn
post Mar 25 2009, 09:18 PM

110 posts

mrPOTATO... u r taking whey protein rite? not sure u are aware of this or not, actually there are supplements called L-glutamine which is good for post-workout recovery.. L-arginine and BCAA are well-recommended too..
yongbn
post Mar 25 2009, 10:22 PM

110 posts

realli?? haha... then it's abt time for u to pay a visit over here again!
yongbn
post Apr 9 2009, 11:37 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Mar 31 2009, 07:51 PM)
Thx for the advice .. but too late cos i jus did my exer haha.. I read some bodybuilders say they never miss their workouts in yrs even when sick so I wanna b a man too  laugh.gif Anyway, i'll stop if i really can't go on, till then..
tht's the way, bay-beh!
yongbn
post Apr 9 2009, 11:41 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Apr 9 2009, 10:20 PM)
Aaa.. this tongkat got magical powers 1. If i can remember, it gives feelin of wellness, encourage blood flow, promote testosterone, makes zz more syok.., ya other type of syok too haha.. lots more, jus can't remember. Actually i hope it can make me feel more energetic b4 workout lah, cos body + mind tired after 5. Wil report on effect, c got or not.
haha.. similar to Ginseng.. tht's y we can see Ginseng is actually one of the ingredients in Nitrotech Hardcore.

0.0224sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:17 PM