122 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

The premium selvedge jeans & raw denim thread V1

post Feb 7 2010, 11:28 PM

271 posts

awesome fade mate ! especially those honeycombs .

never miss out undercover, yohji, n9 at aoyama !
denim heads must visit ueno for cheaper and wider range in 1 stop.

ujoewong
post Feb 8 2010, 02:09 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Feb 7 2010, 06:28 PM)
yea i get my tee's and work shirts from uniqlo too...man u should have gone to uraharajuku when u were in tokyo...i bsacially spend one whole day there going from one shop to another...went to their APC store...the supreme store...man...u could have visit kaihara and buy your own roll of selvage denim hehehe
Aisk. Miss out a lot.

Anyway bro, need your help here. My waist is 32.
Let's say I'm buying a Raw pair of jeans.
What size should I get?
It will expand itself as I use it right?

So, should I size down 2 to size 30??

Example this pair of Japanese Evisu No.1 in this website. They do have size 30 available and do ship to Malaysia.

http://blueingreensoho.com/site/index.php?...emart&Itemid=28

And then they have something like this listed,

Shrink to Fit
Expected shrinkage is as follows:

Waist
Front Rise
Back Rise
Upper Thigh
-0.75 (total)
Knee
-0.75 (total)
Leg Opening
-0.5 (total)
Inseam

What is the shrink about? I thought it will expand? But, here listed shrink. The shrink will occur after washing or what?

Please enlighten me. If I'm right, I may just get it. smile.gif

hedonkop
post Feb 8 2010, 03:07 AM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

shrink mean the jeans measurement will reduce after an initial soak, this usually happened to an unsanforized denim. But, the denim will stretch again after several wear.
ahtiven
post Feb 8 2010, 09:14 AM

1,185 posts

if your true waist is 32, its better to up 2 size, 34.
jind86
post Feb 8 2010, 10:45 AM

1,507 posts

my aunt's coming down here from canada and i'm thinking of getting a nice pair of selvedge jean (i've not owned one yet).. i dont want something too hardcore and am thinking of apc or naked & famous.. i'm open to other brand suggestions..

i don't think my aunt knows how to search for jeans so purchasing online would be the best method.. any recommendations for e-shopping in canada?
r3kahsttub
post Feb 8 2010, 11:03 AM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

this is definitely not everyone's cup of tea, but these started out life as unwashed (not raw). 4 years of wear later...

hedonkop
post Feb 8 2010, 11:24 AM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

it's definitely not my cup of tea... i like levis very much but not the fenom..

the design is too over and overhyped. i think many people wearing it coz many celebrity rocking it.
doom_eulogy
post Feb 8 2010, 11:25 AM

180 posts

i just bought evisu lazy S jeans.
planning to alter the length to make it shorter.
it says on the description of the jeans, it will shrink 1-2inches after the first wash.
so, shud i alter the length 2 inches more from my usual length?
hedonkop
post Feb 8 2010, 11:34 AM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

is it a raw one?

why not try soaking it first before you send it to the tailor? so the denim will fully shrink and it will be safe for you.
doom_eulogy
post Feb 8 2010, 11:47 AM

180 posts

im not sure whther its raw or not.
its evisu no.13.

hedonkop
post Feb 8 2010, 12:02 PM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 8 2010, 10:45 AM)
my aunt's coming down here from canada and i'm thinking of getting a nice pair of selvedge jean (i've not owned one yet).. i dont want something too hardcore and am thinking of apc or naked & famous.. i'm open to other brand suggestions..

i don't think my aunt knows how to search for jeans so purchasing online would be the best method.. any recommendations for e-shopping in canada?
how about 3sixteen?
http://www.selfedge.com/shop/index.php?mai...=index&cPath=82

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ Feb 8 2010, 11:47 AM)
im not sure whther its raw or not.
its evisu no.13.
i'm not sure too either this one is raw or not. the only thing that i know was this pair is a sanforized denim, so it wouldn't shrink too much.

goldlion
post Feb 8 2010, 12:15 PM

105 posts

much kudos to treflip for his post on premium denimz. i'd have to concur with him in every way.

let me add something on top of his post. with raw denims, u'll also get mad fades~ distress marks, whiskers, honeycombs which are uniquely done by the person wearing it. so the pair tells the story of your lifestyle, sweat, blood and tears. no other pair of faded jeans will be the same as the one u've worn the hell out of for 1-2 yrs.

as compared to getting a pair of pre-distressed denim from a boutique where u'll probably see another douchebag wearing the same pair around the corner. u can proudly say that this pair is molded and worn with your own soul that contains memories and sentiments that holds true to youself.

as they say, pics says a thousand words -
here a brand new pair of raws:

and here's how it'll look like after rocking them for more than a year:

hedonkop
post Feb 8 2010, 12:32 PM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

nice post goldlion... very informative..

i think we should flood this thread with more denim pic... the pic alone can explain everything rather a 5 paragraphs explanation

This post has been edited by hedonkop: Feb 8 2010, 12:32 PM
ahtiven
post Feb 8 2010, 12:55 PM

1,185 posts

levis fenom denim is no no for me. though some are raw and selvage.

only for sneakerheads, high street fashion guys (nhbd, mastermind,fragment, etc etc) then it looks cool.

but there are fakes in the market, unlike denims there are no fakes.
doom_eulogy
post Feb 8 2010, 03:08 PM

180 posts

im planning to buy another pair of jeans.
can someone recomend?
i xwant evisu because i already have 1.
max RM1k.
hedonkop
post Feb 8 2010, 03:13 PM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ Feb 8 2010, 03:08 PM)
im planning to buy another pair of jeans.
can someone recomend?
i xwant evisu because i already have 1.
max RM1k.
what's cutting that you prefer? slim? skinny? regular?

how about the color? indigo or black?
doom_eulogy
post Feb 8 2010, 03:26 PM

180 posts

regular and indigo.
hedonkop
post Feb 8 2010, 03:44 PM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

1) Real Japan Blues 105BSP - http://www.selfedge.com/shop/index.php?mai...products_id=394

2) The Flat Head 3005 - http://www.selfedge.com/shop/index.php?mai...products_id=335

3) Iron Heart 634S - http://www.selfedge.com/shop/index.php?mai...products_id=205
This one is a 21oz, i don't know if this pair is suitable with the weather in MALAYSIA

below is a one-wash version denim

1) Sugarcanes Okinawa - http://www.selfedge.com/shop/index.php?mai...products_id=189

2) Sugarcanes Hawaii - http://www.selfedge.com/shop/index.php?mai...products_id=280

Since your budget is around rm1000(that's a lot man), I think there are a lot of brand that you can consider such as Samurai, Pure Blue Japan and others. You can check on the blue in green website or other japanese denim online shop on rakuten which offer more choice with more lower price.

This post has been edited by hedonkop: Feb 8 2010, 03:49 PM
doom_eulogy
post Feb 8 2010, 04:03 PM

180 posts

ive check rakuten and prices all around rm800.
so ive set my max rm1k.
what do u mean rm1k is a lot?
i tot all denim are all around that.
i wud prefer cheaper if i can get one.
what are the normal range prices for denim?
six-four-three-M
post Feb 8 2010, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(treflip @ Feb 7 2010, 03:11 PM)
dude seriously...you'd rather spend a thousand on a pairi of pre-wash distress jeans rather than spending it on a pair of brand new, un-treated, non-distressed jeans that wont last as long compared to a brand new raw? its like u spend more on a second hand car which is already worn out rather then spending less on a brand new one..its like buying a second hand BMW which has not been taken care off, that is falling apart waiting for the days to crumble rather then buying the latest brand new BMW model fresh from the show room or may be the factory...

why i would rather spend more on a pair of raw that would not 'fit me at first' which will be snug fit and would loosen up a week after is the way it should be coz...u would buy a jeans that would fit you rather than buying a pair that would not, i.e that is loose...coz buying raw jeans that is tight or fitting at first would result in a perfect fit that would confirm to ur body shape...imagine if u buy a pre wash fit that is in the beggining fits u slightly loose...would be even more looser as u wear them? would it not fit u perfectly on ur body after a few wear? and it being pre wash how can u ever possibly make it fit u again by washing the jeans as it wont shrink down at all?? plus if you buy a raw pair it would last you a life time rather than buying a pre-washed distressed jeans that has a lesser life span of may be half or more than half compared to a brand new raw pair...

Oh come on pal.. gimme a break. Lookin from your buy-sell history, you had bought then sold some pre-distressed / pre-treated LVCs. Only recently you turned into a holier-than-thou deadstock-raw-rigid denim freak!

To all newbies, just visit the goddamn "Superdenim" forum!!!

Added on February 8, 2010, 5:02 pm
QUOTE(goldlion @ Feb 8 2010, 12:15 PM)
...and here's how it'll look like after rocking them for more than a year:
Those are some sickest fades-honeycombs-whiskers-stacks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by six-four-three-M: Feb 8 2010, 05:02 PM

122 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:46 PM