General Questions Thread v1
raul88
Aug 16 2010, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(megabyte @ Aug 16 2010, 07:33 PM) Hey guys, is jeans shorts yay or nay? It's been a long time since I've chasing up the fashion. Hope you guys can give me some tips. Oh yeah, I've saw one white shorts too. Thinking of getting the white one or the denim one. The white one would go well with shirts and glam look. The denim for that rugged look! Or should I get both? Hmm.. i vote nay in fact i pretty much against jeans except for jeans(pant) jeans jacket and jeans short are too weird for me
megabyte
Aug 18 2010, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(FusioneX @ Aug 16 2010, 08:06 PM) Denim shorts? I say nay. Go with the white shorts instead for more versatility. QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Aug 16 2010, 09:47 PM) No denim shorts. White shorts are very versatile but be careful where you sit, and how you eat. Avoid splashy food. QUOTE(raul88 @ Aug 16 2010, 10:22 PM) i vote nay in fact i pretty much against jeans except for jeans(pant) jeans jacket and jeans short are too weird for me Alright.. thanks for the tips.. i'll get the white one then!
raul88
Aug 18 2010, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(megabyte @ Aug 18 2010, 01:50 PM) Alright.. thanks for the tips.. i'll get the white one then! you're welcome
dun_panic
Aug 19 2010, 02:47 PM
Hi all, im looking for timberland PRO shoes. Where can i find it in KL?
pupjoint
Aug 31 2010, 11:08 AM

Hi all. I am from KL, but working in Indonesia now. I have actually registered in this forum in July 2008 and i forgot about it completely.
I have never been a fashion or stylo person, as my job never required me to dress up in any way. I wear coveralls all the time.
Now things have changed a little and i need to be wearing more appropriately for the office.
however, i am a long time shoe, watch and leather wear fan. i love most things leather. just never paid attention to clothes. all my jeans have always been Levi's, nothing fancy. I used to have a couple of LV wallets, but now just down to 1. LVs were cheap for me in the UK those days.
recently got some shoes for day to day office wear.
Since I am in Indonesia now, can anybody advise me on the places to shop for clothes and shoes?
Joey-kun
Sep 1 2010, 12:03 PM
hey guys
am wondering if there is any way to pull off the dandy style in malaysia. currently just going with checkered tee overalls, inner shirt and shorts.
i see some people wear tight short pants (that resemble working pants but the short version) and it looks...rather gay than dandy. Wonder if you guys have any input?
Zephyr_Mage
Sep 1 2010, 08:54 PM
PLAID OVERALLS??
What are you? A poultry farmer? A lumberjack?
Added on September 1, 2010, 8:56 pmOkay you probably meant a plaid shirt over a t-shirt.
Yes, do that. Better if it's a white crew neck. But shorts? Doubt that'd work. Wear some dark jeans or chinos.
This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Sep 1 2010, 08:56 PM
Cheenoo
Sep 1 2010, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 1 2010, 12:03 PM) hey guys am wondering if there is any way to pull off the dandy style in malaysia. currently just going with checkered tee overalls, inner shirt and shorts. i see some people wear tight short pants (that resemble working pants but the short version) and it looks...rather gay than dandy. Wonder if you guys have any input? Why the inner shirt? Do you sweat alot? or do you leave ur shirt unbuttoned/half-buttoned? I have those "gay" pants ur talking about. It might work for others, but it might not work for you, so it depends on the well-shapeness of ur behind. Overall I think shorts can work, but go 'sockless'. Also, the design of your checks is important. There are lots of ugly checks out there. What checks are good is another post..
Cotton Diesel
Sep 1 2010, 10:45 PM
Any recommendation of shops that is great to look this time at KLCC?
kotmj
Sep 1 2010, 10:56 PM
just get there and look around. its a small place.
Cotton Diesel
Sep 1 2010, 11:03 PM
Just wanna know if anyone have been going there lately and want to share some information.
Joey-kun
Sep 2 2010, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Sep 1 2010, 09:11 PM) Why the inner shirt? Do you sweat alot? or do you leave ur shirt unbuttoned/half-buttoned? I have those "gay" pants ur talking about. It might work for others, but it might not work for you, so it depends on the well-shapeness of ur behind. Overall I think shorts can work, but go 'sockless'. Also, the design of your checks is important. There are lots of ugly checks out there. What checks are good is another post.. mine is just somewhat of a flannel tee for now. i have a huge rump which means its gonna look odd  but long pants does feel really hot. I am thinking of those short safari pants. But in general, what should a malaysian dandy look like?
Zephyr_Mage
Sep 2 2010, 01:07 PM
I think you have mistaken what flannel means. Flannel is too warm for Malaysia.
Cheenoo
Sep 2 2010, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 2 2010, 11:48 AM) mine is just somewhat of a flannel tee for now. i have a huge rump which means its gonna look odd  but long pants does feel really hot. I am thinking of those short safari pants. But in general, what should a malaysian dandy look like?  Safari pants? That's like cargo pants and its not dandy, its leaning towards sloppy. Get a pair of shorts that fits you well (just nice to hide what you want to hide) and hidden pockets, non-patched (Google patch pockets if unsure). I don't know what a Malaysian dandy should look like..
Joey-kun
Sep 2 2010, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Sep 2 2010, 06:22 PM) Safari pants? That's like cargo pants and its not dandy, its leaning towards sloppy. Get a pair of shorts that fits you well (just nice to hide what you want to hide) and hidden pockets, non-patched (Google patch pockets if unsure). I don't know what a Malaysian dandy should look like.. hmm that does give me an idea. next part: where to get those pants: padini or club monaco or anywhere slightly more affordable
malayneum
Sep 3 2010, 01:21 PM
i am curios about something. is timberland yellow boots still in trend in Malaysia? i plan to get a new original ones, but since a couple of years ago i have noticed not many kids wearing them anymore.
malutapimau
Sep 4 2010, 07:17 PM
hiphop artistes stop wearing them------------------
malayneum
Sep 5 2010, 01:09 AM
QUOTE(malutapimau @ Sep 4 2010, 07:17 PM) hiphop artistes stop wearing them------------------ yeah thats what i noticed as well. what do they wear now?
streethype
Sep 6 2010, 08:33 AM

Hey guys I have some general questions to ask here:
- I tried Levis 501, waist 30 and its too tight for me but while I tried another one which is 522 model slim straight, I could fit on it and still have some space as well.. what confuses me here is the measurement in cm tag in both the pair features the same measurement which is 76cm/80+(forgot the exact) What is wrong here?
- Second question.. what is the difference between a levis slim straight and normal slim fit cuttings?
Thanks!
Zephyr_Mage
Sep 6 2010, 06:02 PM
1. Different cutting (or brand) may have different true measurements. That's why I don't buy jeans online anymore.
2. I don't really know for sure. Slim straight means the cutting is slim, but the legs are straight. People usually go for tapered fit (the leg opening is slimmer than the thighs) because their thighs are usually bigger than their legs.
The best thing to do is, try them on, if you like them, buy them.