The Watches Thread V1

ryansia
post Jul 15 2009, 12:39 PM

316 posts

hi guys, need to get some info from you guys here.

a friend of mine owe me couple of thousands and i received an used omega speedmaster as part of the repayment. i want to know how much does it worth and if it is easy to sell this off. i have not decided it's value but i was told at least RM 4k. another issue is NO BOX & NO PAPER. a watch by itself.

a quick search from the net, here is the details.
Omega Speedmaster - Michael Schumacher

Watch ref number 3810.12

Movement:
The movement for this watch is an Omega cal.1141, 45 jewel, rhodium plated, with Geneva stripes on the topside of the movement and perlage on the outside.

Case, Crystal and Crown:
The case is the familiar Speedmaster design, with the familiar faceted lugs, tachometre bezel and acrylic crystal.It does have an Omega logo embossed on its centre, though. Crown has an Omega logo embossed on the surface.

Dial and Hands:
The eye catching dial is done in deep yellow enamel. All markings are black enamel. Hands are black, for the main time display, hours minutes and seconds, while the chronograph hands are a deep blood red. the whole outside surrounded by a distinctive white minutes track, which is bears a distinct resemblance to a checkered flag. The whole dial has a very racy feel.

Date of release 1996
Launched at Kerpens Karting Curcuit in Michael Schumachers home town

thanks guys in advance. if this is something good to keep i'll use it myself. thanks again.

This post has been edited by ryansia: Jul 15 2009, 12:42 PM
ryansia
post Jul 16 2009, 03:27 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jul 15 2009, 09:47 PM)
if I were U, I will get a watch maker and open the back to see the movement.
Omega plenty of fake around. Not like its a 1960s vintage.

if its a real watch, no box no papers... resale value very low.
my take is get the retail value and give it a good 75% down from there. Thats how much it worth if U do sell it to preown. (if the watch does have plenty of scratches, U are losing more value)
thanks guys for the assistance.

okie dokie... i'll get that check asap, any watch shop will do?

there are couple of the same models up for grabs on the net asking sgd1800 (no box& paper), usd1199, gbp1000...
if the watch is real can i conclude that it is worth only rm3K max? not likely that the bugger will accept if i will only take its worth for rm2k.... pity the fella also la...

well, if i sell at rm3k how would be the possibility to find a willing buyer? my concern is to recover my money as the bugger is drying up fast with his valuable.... not to mention cash...

btw, i'm wearing tissot now and this 'omega' is quite something to me. for the value of rm 3k, assuming i'm buying from someone, worth to buy or not?
ryansia
post Jul 16 2009, 12:32 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jul 16 2009, 03:39 AM)
if I were U, if its real and U don't need that RM3K today, keep it and wear it!
wait a few yr when the Econ bounce back then consider selling it, might fetch a better price.
thanks again. i think i will keep it lo...

this speedmaster seems too casual to wear to work.. the yellow a bit too striking for attention, me paiseh.. on weekend maybe. what say you guys?

Added on July 16, 2009, 2:24 pmjust got it open up in my neighborhood watch shop... looks good and according to the guy they, it's genuine.

here are some shots of the movement

how is it?

This post has been edited by ryansia: Jul 16 2009, 02:27 PM

0.0159sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled