The Watches Thread V1

lwb
post Aug 13 2009, 08:27 PM

1,504 posts

here's a discontinued victorinox ground force chrono (#24786)..
eta 251.26 quartz movement (appeared in more expensive make such as tag heuer).. keeps very accurate time.

This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 13 2009, 10:07 PM
lwb
post Aug 13 2009, 09:01 PM

1,504 posts

how about a china movement? this is a parnis (automatic with a power reserve indicator at 6)..
not as accurate as my victorinox or my other quartz. just received it today though..
sorry about the fuzziness of the pics.. (the second pic was probably focused on my hand instead doh.gif *lol*)

This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 13 2009, 09:06 PM
lwb
post Aug 13 2009, 09:37 PM

1,504 posts

yes, accuracies are on the poorer side.. that goes for my 7s36a too. i'm now setting the watch down and see how far off it goes at the next morning. maybe the best mechanical movement is still the 7750? (but it's very expensive to have a valjoux.. i'm thinking of the asian 7750. see how smile.gif )

yes, these pieces are inexpensive (but not pasar malam/lelong cheap). build quality wise, i'd say it's above average. i've got another fren here who's waiting for his parnis unit..

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:16 PM)
My fren own a similar watch, after about 3mth+ its losing alot more time! like 1-2mins every few hours when worn, off the wrist it perform a little better. lucky he paid US$50 for it. not really worth it.
lwb
post Aug 13 2009, 10:58 PM

1,504 posts

it's a seiko 5 and it's more than 3 years now (my 1st auto watch then)..

actually i only felt the "kecacatan" of mechanical watches when i start comparing them with quartz (with an atomic time as sync), otherwise i'm not so particular about them..

any good recommend on an affordable valjoux 7750? i know victorinox and tag heuer has one.. (i'm not someone who's going to spend a 5-figure on a watch, ya)

actually the asian 7750 has a few renditions.. earlier versions were terrible, but the later ones show promising results.
here's a good read about asian 7750 (it's not about replica watches, although it's hosted/writen at that site)
http://www.replicawatchreport.com/articles...e-eta-7750.html

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 13 2009, 10:41 PM)
how old is your 7s36a? on a Seiko or Seiko 5?
hmm... 77XX series maybe 1 of the best design Chrono Mech.
ETA 289X series maybe 1 of the best date/day mech used by many brands.

not tried any Asian 7750, QC not good, no regulated well etc.. even a Rolex can sucks.
This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 13 2009, 11:10 PM
lwb
post Aug 13 2009, 11:26 PM

1,504 posts

i think at the beginning stage.. all name/no-name factories will try to produce them (some even at cottage/home-based level too).. until perhaps things stabilizes and more established name emerges (imho, seagull and hangzhou have potentials to be established movt makers).. i guess it also depends on eventually how many external vendors use their movements in their brand as well.. will probably give miyota a run for their money as well.

thanks for the hamilton suggestion.. a quick check at ebay, i picked this up; a 7750 hamilton with a day/date (this is the ideal type of combo that i'd like to get someday).. neat dials, easy to read.. a tritium would be a bonus *lol* it's bidding for usd$355, used..

or perhaps similarly like this.. at ebay for about us$1,400 shipped.. a custom made 7750 (set in germany). but a bit expensive already biggrin.gif

for me, a 7750 would be for keep.. and perhaps to pass on as legacy.. i doubt the effectiveness of a quartz going further than 50 years..

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 13 2009, 11:10 PM)
I wonder those Asian 7750 are from which factory.. Hangzhou or Seagull or some unknown factory. Difference source, different quality.
getting something Asian.. I think hard to gurantee anything.

the most affordable Val 7750 I guess is the Hamiltion watch I am wearing!
paid around RM$1800 for it then. Today maybe need to spend RM$2000 on grey market.

regarding your seiko, maybe time to get it clean and regulated esp its around 4yrs.
This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 13 2009, 11:54 PM
lwb
post Aug 14 2009, 12:42 AM

1,504 posts

i would be surprise myself too if i've not read around on miyota.. they do make mechanical and even put into some well established names like invictar too. here's a write up on miyota mech movt. http://www.17jewel.com/two.html

i guess it's fair to say that quality comes with cost.. perhaps only when china improves on it's payroll.. then we'll be able to see improvement in quality (taiwan or japan also started out liddat wat.. kolek or not?)

oh, not all valjoux 7750 shows day/date.. here's one of my other favorite valjoux 7750 (it's a swiss army f-18) as you can see it only shows date(no day).. a bit potong stim lo (otherwise, the blue dial looks stunning!)

i think you've grossly misunderstood what i've said.. i never asked for a high-end watches (i asked for affordable, remember?) so don't have to go 'high-end' attitude with me here.. take for example, ball (there're cheaper alternative to a tritium h3 watches.. such as traser, for example)

thanks for the links.. i've been reading those forum (e.g watchuseek) regularly..

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 14 2009, 12:24 AM)
i though miyota supply plenty of quartz.. not much of mech.
china "begining" stage will last how many yrs to weed out the competitors?
from what i read, even establish brands like seagull produce a good number of Lemons.
of course u do find Lemons here and there with swiss brands as well. good service can exchange will be just fine for me.
guess it boils down where u buy your watch.

aren't 7750 movement day/date.. hmm.. guess they can removement parts to fit into their design like the eariler Panerai.

not many watches have tritium lah.. pay more for a Ball watch!
or get your local watchmaker to Mod it!
This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 14 2009, 12:46 AM
lwb
post Aug 14 2009, 01:28 AM

1,504 posts

i smell a whiff of arrogance in your reply.. do you expect me to bow to your standard or your definition of a standard?

say whatever you want.. you've just being condescending.
lwb
post Aug 15 2009, 07:14 PM

1,504 posts

patryn33,

say, would you happen to know of any service places that provides re-lume on watch dials and markers?
i thought about getting a bottle of lume-tec c3.. but i don't have the tools or expertise to do it myself.

(note - my bad at not nailing down the specifics previously.. anyway, anything above rm2k is considered expensive to me. i don't mind plonking down rm200k on an investment that i'm familiar with, but i still have difficulties grasping the investment pov for watches, let alone if it's just for the kick!)

This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 15 2009, 07:17 PM
lwb
post Aug 16 2009, 03:13 PM

1,504 posts

waa.. the amount of money involved here.. i think i can retire comfortably (than having some clunker on my wrist *lol* no pun intended!)

i think this perfectly reflects the epitome of "time is money"
lwb
post Aug 17 2009, 07:31 PM

1,504 posts

very techie looking.. nice rclxms.gif

not cheap la.. if you convert it into how many boxes of chap-fan.. i think it can feed you for +1 month le, ngam bo?
btw, how often do you use the stop watch function?

QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Aug 17 2009, 03:25 PM)

my cheap watch..
but nice though tongue.gif

im students..not afford to buy expensive watch like u guys cry.gif
lwb
post Aug 17 2009, 11:03 PM

1,504 posts

quite clearly that you don't understand cantonese.. *lol* at least something i know about you.
why don't you learn how to speak for yourself? instead of masquerading via a 3rd-party reference?

how well do you know obama? perhaps he uses his chrono to time his couming during lfap-time? (to see if he breaks yesterday's record) or perhaps to see how long can he put out a stream of fart via his single-valve, s.o.c.h tummy? there're lots of possibility what one can do with a chrono.. otherwise it would be a disincentive to get a 7750, don't you think?

at least i use the compass function on my watch more than your laboo would admit.. the barometer would confirm if rain is imminent on it's way too.. rclxms.gif now how's that for practicality?

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 17 2009, 09:13 PM)
feed? is very relative? feed as in buying food?
or more.. like paying for a roof, electric, transport, all kinds of bills plus food?

few ppl actually use the stop watch feature. even if 1 use it how many do use it to read the Speed/Rate?
maybe midwivies get to use it more often than Astronauts, granted they need to time contractions.
President Obama also own a Chrono don't think he timed anything.
His vulcain watch maybe more useful, but as President.. Don't need a alarm to keep him in his schedule. LOL

today how many ppl get a watch for practical reasons, aesthetic reasons more likely than anything.  sweat.gif
This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 17 2009, 11:06 PM
lwb
post Aug 18 2009, 11:56 AM

1,504 posts

hhmmnn.. probably this time around you've "over-read" into what i've said?
it's not what makes me happy by what others do for me.. but you're plainly pigeon-hole(stereotyping) others based on some pretext..

based on your own pretext, then you might as well rip off the sub-dial hands, replace the dial to a more sterile dial on your 7750? what's the point, right? vanity speaks louder at the end of the day for you, right?

i now have a clearly idea that you're not even chinese *lol*.. (don't worry, refugeez86 probably understand it clearly!)
note - cantonese is a dialect, henceforth it has no written format.. pinyin, on the other hand, is a mandarin form of writing. (you're definitely trying to shoot in the dark here *lol*)

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 18 2009, 12:11 AM)
well, I hardly use my 7750, besides timing how fast I can ans exam qns in the past and timing contractions LOL.
didn't wanna spend the time to think that way.
Thanx you for speaking out for yourself. I should have learn to do that 1st. Didn't know ppl are interested in nobody use of his Chrono watch.
masquerading? abit harsh man...

I believe a good majority of the ppl out there are doing a disincentive to a Chrono watch. I am 1 of them sign...  sweat.gif
I seriously doubt ppl like sembilan (getting a Sinn ), Apple_Wannabe (thinking of a Tag Chrono), bengang13 (own a Tag F1 Chrono), hako (getting a IWC Top Gun), andrew1st (own seiko Criteria) use their chrono much. or perhaps they didn't think of all the possibility like U did. Love to see their input.

To those ppl who had done their watch a disservice or disincentive to their watch, what would U like them to do to make U happy?

I only attempted a silly/stupid guess base on the fact he is a president in a bad time. U can think of the possiblily he will be doing despite all the hell the news is reporting he is getting. Well, DO know Obama more than me! Can PM me his direct line to his mobile?

ya don't understand Cantonese "pinyin", "laboo" also Cantonese? forgive me, but is there official Cantonese pinyin out there?
I wonder if refugeez86 understand Cantonese.
lwb
post Aug 18 2009, 12:02 PM

1,504 posts

i'm happy that you're proud of your chrono ownership..

hhmmnn.. i doubt that there will be much difference in accuracies when it comes to quartz-analogue vs. quartz digital. if both movement are set by the same maker..

it's still a quartz (and quartz are very accurate) the display (analogue vs digital) is just the output.. and i think your engtao quartz chrono is also those 0-jewel type, right? so friction is not a major issue? unless you want to factor in strong gravitational pull (high g) on those marker hands..?

QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Aug 18 2009, 09:35 AM)
hoho..thanx smile.gif

dat the most expensive watch i ever bought..
maybe after works i upgrade another expensive a bit tongue.gif

i seldom use stopwatch for diz chronograph..
if want use stopwatch i use my another casio watch hehe..
digital watch more accurate for stopwatch rite..
use stopwatch only during workout excersice..

i bought diz watch cuz of the looks only hahaha laugh.gif
looks nice and suit to me..
This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 18 2009, 12:03 PM
lwb
post Aug 18 2009, 12:06 PM

1,504 posts

you sound like you've put alot of effort at trying to make a statement here.. (but i don't really get your point here at all)
sound also as though your life is dictated by "others"..

QUOTE(Apple_Wannabe @ Aug 18 2009, 01:23 AM)
after watching video i decided to buy Tissot Le Locle , it's design plain, simple, big enough for my wrist and cheap considering it uses Valjoux 7750
check this out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3jJMG46DP0
tag is too expensive for me >..<

some say that they can check time using their phone but if you use your 5 figure watch to check it, it will make a difference for sure
i'm not saying expensive watch is a thing you should go around boasting
even if i'm very rich and there's a watch that can really let people know that i'm DAMN rich but the look/quality sucks........i won't even take a look at it

to me a watch is a symbol of status + an accessory
lwb
post Aug 18 2009, 01:20 PM

1,504 posts

moving parts in a watch create frictions.. and thereon, wear-&-tear from the frictions over time.

oil/lubricant can dry up over time (hence a periodic service is recommended)

so the best alternative for an mechanical watch (correction - some quartz do have jewels too) is to install jewels on those moving parts so that the metal(e.g brass) will rub against the jewels instead on another metal..

metal + jewel = less friction (relative speaking)

you don't need to worry as your casio don't have such problem.. it's like a electric prius that don't even need engine oil *lol*

This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 18 2009, 01:21 PM
lwb
post Aug 19 2009, 12:29 PM

1,504 posts

it looks great on your wrist.. sterile dial and the size of it.. can command some respect (would be perfect if it can stop bullets!).. it wears comfortable on your wrist? how's the accuracies?

QUOTE(us3raff @ Aug 18 2009, 10:51 PM)
My Parnis is hot!! Can you feel it from the pics? brows.gif
lwb
post Aug 19 2009, 01:03 PM

1,504 posts

you mean the edges are sharp on the case? thankfully it's not a canteen crown!! otherwise it'll poke your hand @3 o'clock each time you move your wrist upward.

my parnis was a little sharp on the lug-end of the watch, where the strap meets. fortunately it's facing inwards.

QUOTE(us3raff @ Aug 19 2009, 12:57 PM)
ya...it filled more than half my palm. i might hurt someone with it. must be careful.
This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 19 2009, 01:04 PM
lwb
post Aug 25 2009, 08:09 PM

1,504 posts

if i have to choose one word to describe victorinox.. it's quality.
their style are not loud or overbearing and their finishing/material is indeed value for money. i recently got a victorinox ground force chrono titanium (the pic was posted here in this thread.. further back)

i think you can safely get an eta automatic victorinox for about rm2k.. get intouch with a user, DAViS (if you wish to have malaysian prices on victorinox). or if you'd prefer, you can shop online elsewhere.

have you checkout the;
1. dive master 500 (ref#241356) pvd, automatic and beautifully made. (more expensive than the quartz variant)
2. ground force (ref#25792) automatic and solid block of steel.
3. maverick 2 chrono (ref#24143) quartz.. about rm1.6k(local reference)

QUOTE(kornflake @ Aug 24 2009, 10:01 PM)
what u guys think of victorinox?
actualy my budget is around rm2k.
looking for something metal bracelet.
preferbly automatic but with that budget i doubt can get?

currently comparing vict classic crono and tissot prc200.
which one would be a better bargain?? or any recomendation?

thanx in advance
This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 25 2009, 08:32 PM
lwb
post Aug 31 2009, 06:20 PM

1,504 posts

my my.. you mean, you guys can't tell bombercycle's monaco is a fake/replica?!

the pvd is badly done and it's too shiny.. (it's like the electroplating is on steroid!). of course there're other tell-tale signs as well.

rm350 for that replica?!? that's a rip-off..
lwb
post Aug 31 2009, 06:25 PM

1,504 posts

i have reasons to comment that what you've lamented is just full of shit..
there're good samples of genuine watches that sells for less than rm300..

seiko for example, automatic, day-date, good lume, real water resistant, etc..
i seriously think you've been conned by whoever gave you this idea (there're way cheaper replica with a better quality than your monaco's sample)..

QUOTE(bombercycle @ Aug 31 2009, 01:18 PM)
depned on what u want
as my advise,pls compare prices and don;t compare the brand
if RM 400 u buy replica u may get automatic watch with stainless steel case
if RM 400 i got no idea what u will get in branded watch
maybe Puma , Polo etc , but confirm u will only get battery movement

I have fren who hv original rolex also get 1 replica rolex for daily use, and his staff alway say his rolex very nice

some want to show off then get the original 1, once they buy the original watch they will start pointing ppl who are wearing replica ,they alway like to compare and point out the the mistake of the replica, but they forget 1 thing is they only hv 1 original watch

i wear replica, but alway hv ppl want to c my watch , don'y know y  ?

0.0530sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:02 PM