24 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 >Bottom

The Watches Thread V1

patryn33
post Apr 17 2010, 06:31 PM

3,940 posts

Christopher Ward C600 -- price paid for a nearly new item US$380 (with shipping) original price US$595 + US$20 for shipping
http://www.christopherward-usa.com/product_info_c600.html
I have to apologize for not able to get u nice pics when I unbox it. the best i cold do is to give U lume pics

- worn over 2 days accuracy is +6sec, +5sec deviation is +1sec
- not used to ETA 2824, but with SW200 its irritating that when i adjust the date the hour starts from the morning. should I adjust the hour 1st to nite 7pm and adjust the date to the next day, it sucks that the 7pm I just set is 7am.
- Box do come with a polish cloth.
- bezel turn nicely, not like DOXA or high end diver watches it only takes 60 clicks to go around. Higher end Dive watches usually takes 120 clicks.
- nearly new item, didn't find any scratches.
- signed crown and buckle
- its a long time since i wore a rubber band, takes awhile for me to get used to. The length is really nice for those who go diving.
- I get the same 60:60 warranty as with new watches.
- took them 2-3days to ship order. takes about 5 working days to reach me.

Added on April 17, 2010, 9:45 pmmore pics

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 17 2010, 10:26 PM
patryn33
post Apr 17 2010, 10:25 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 17 2010, 10:04 PM)
it's the same with my miyota. if i wanna set to today's date, i start from a day before, and wind the clock to current time and until the date changes.

if its a ETA 2824 clone, i would expect the same behavior in ETA 2824
patryn33
post Apr 17 2010, 10:33 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 17 2010, 10:26 PM)
wow the lume pics really impressive.
Im able to see clearly the time 935am/pm is much better than mine....smile.gif
thanx! those GTLS gas tubes like ball watches.. can expect sweet lume.
maybe the cheapest swiss auto watch with Tritium gas besides these brands Luminox , KHS, Traser, UZI, KHS, FBI which made quartz watches.
I think a quartz Luminox today would at least US$200.
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 08:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Apr 17 2010, 11:08 PM)
looks cool...only their diver series got this kind of lume?
only the diver series from Christopher ward has the gas tube.

Added on April 18, 2010, 8:32 am
QUOTE(ngfamily @ Apr 17 2010, 10:44 PM)
Heyz guyz who r expert in watches. Im planning to buy either tissot or seiko watch. Well, im planning to go to singapore in this june. So, do the price (after convert) and model of watch in s'pore better than m'sia? anyway, seiko or tissot? im 22 years guyz. Thanks anyway. -)
got to agree with Jr.Koh, prices in malaysia is better if U going thru AD.
Seiko or Tissot.. ask yourself which model/design and your budget?
are U getting a quartz or mechanical? FYI some seiko5 are made in Singapore.
when U looking at Tissot, U may wanna look at Hamilton, maybe Orient (part of Seiko group) or even Christopher Ward (today's online Tissot/Hamilton).
http://www.christopherward.co.uk/nearly-new/nn-men.html

U can check out the below, they (base in SG) do carry affordable and well build value for money watches.
http://www.gnomonwatches.com/index.htm

some believe Seiko mechanical can run forever very robust. nice thread on it.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=145004

I like Seiko Spirit design and yes they are japan only model. some may not like it as its on the small size just 37mm 22yr old guy may not like it. usually they want a chrono or something that look sophisticated.
http://www.seiyajapan.com/product/S-SCVS01...15-SCVS013.html

I am guessing maybe u like this?
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient/Orient_Watches-3.htm

Added on April 18, 2010, 8:57 am
QUOTE(Jr.Koh @ Apr 18 2010, 12:42 AM)
terence: you can see the lume on ur watch? I can't even see the lume when I'm in the dark for my carrera. Tags' lume suck biggrin.gif
Tag lume cannot last, I get them to relume after 2yrs or so... its like not having any lume.
Super-LumiNova lume can glow brightly for like 1-2mins.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 18 2010, 11:18 AM
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 10:20 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 18 2010, 10:14 AM)
Just curious how much you pay for the relume and any such service available here in Malaysia?
I went thru TAG to do it that time, it cost me and arm and a leg... hehe
the truth I didn't just relume that time, i also change battery and they did overhaul service too. so its really costly.

i am pretty such place offer relume service. u may have to dig around. getting a job done nicely is hard.
http://www.tscservice.my/index.php?option=...&id=8&Itemid=15

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 18 2010, 10:22 AM
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 11:17 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 18 2010, 11:05 AM)
Sorry, but what's AD?
authorized dealer
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 07:44 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 18 2010, 02:10 PM)
I found out Ball does have awesome n bright lume pics [it could be the UV light claim by miaopurr]
I think U and miaopurr are confuse with Tritium gas. They are self powered and do not need UV light unlike your Tag or most watches.
why they get get lume pics? the glow is constant and its easier to get great pics.
unlike superluminova the lume decay with time fast.
http://www.abouttime.com/abouttime/ball-wa...tubes.page.html

Added on April 18, 2010, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(ngfamily @ Apr 18 2010, 07:20 PM)
ooo... Thanks guyz for the info. Probably will buy in singapore since it has more choices of models available. =) I think Seiko are more well-known in m'sia.
issue with pp around the region.. Seiko is well known but its often associated with cheap watches.
ppl on the streets may not know U are wearing a US$2-3K seiko watch (FYI iirc movements are will be used in TAG Heuer).
http://www.seiko-watch.co.jp/bz/phoenix/concept/ph_mecha.php

Added on April 18, 2010, 7:51 pm
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 18 2010, 02:10 PM)
Personally, i love this design of seiko. Yes Spore do have wider varieties for u, as many Singaporeans are wearing Seiko/Hamilton/ Ellesse
I think their design is very Macho/masculine, lots of subdials very cool. Casio Edifice gold are gaining popularity too. cool gold and black carbon.
value for $$ for young adults wo only care about complications and super accuracy anyway, I love their Spring Drive gmt, but it cost ~us$4k.
http://www.seiko-ananta.com/jp/index.html#/collection
eg

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 18 2010, 08:29 PM
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 08:25 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Apr 18 2010, 08:15 PM)
hi guys, my friend has this jaeger le coultre watch where he accidentally broke the glass. Where can he get it fixed and how much would it cost? I think servicing will be required too since the watch is exposed.
JLC.. glass??? thats Sapphire crystal. be must have knocked it really hard.
go thru AD, I think maybe close to 1k.
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 08:37 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ky-l @ Apr 18 2010, 08:30 PM)
Is it possible to get the local AD to bring it in?

Am only a student and online purchase is not an option.

How much would i be expecting to spend? Direct conversion using google gives an estimate of RM1310.
No possible, those Japan model are not for export. AD cannot carry them in.
only way is online (U can pay with paypal.com, U can tap into your funds in bank no need credit cards)
which watch are u looking? U'll be paying ~2-3% more than RM1310 for sure.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 18 2010, 08:42 PM
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 08:45 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Apr 18 2010, 08:41 PM)
Hit the wall i think. Just for the glass or with the service?
come on.. the wall?? I bang into steel rails so many times on my tag and its still clean. Wall and broke..
not sure what JLC model he have, but ~1K is for the full service including glass.
not done in Malaysia, just guess as Rolex cost RM$500 to service I read here, JLC may cost about the same + cost of sapphire and labor.

go to agree with ck77, be cheap and just replace the sapphire crystal, U may end up replacing parts and that may cost U 2-5X the amount to fix!

Added on April 18, 2010, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 18 2010, 08:33 PM)
btw, went to klcc today. since i was there, i checked out the latest price of omega PO. an omega PO with bracelet is now rm12.75k. old price was rm11.7k. despite the plunging euro n usd, local price still goes up. local ADs are the real cut-throats.

i went to cortina but there were no hot chicks! terence, u sure it was the cortina? but emotus sure have one really cute leng lui...  wub.gif got her card too.... again  wub.gif tried on a fortis marinemaster, the cute babe commented it was too bog for my wrist. cute babe really knew her stuff  tongue.gif
no AD will bring the cost b4 today's selling price.. the Brands wouldn't allow that either. They have to consider what if USD/EUR become strong again for this yr how? they are not willing to lose out on profits, thats Biz for U.

so are u calling the hot babe to get her out on a date?? brows.gif

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 18 2010, 09:00 PM
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 09:08 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Apr 18 2010, 09:01 PM)
Actually we checked out 2 shops in Subang Parade, both said they don't service and don't know any shops. The Watches of Switzerland shop said they can repair but the technician has to check first. My friend wanted an rough estimation but the guy could not tell so he did not leave it there.
even if U take it to JLC service center, U need to leave it there to get a est. They wouldn't give U a unreliable quote.
I have not met any watchmaker that will give me a quote without taking a closer look. don't wanna leave it and worry, just go to AD and get it done.
customer wouldn't be happy, when they quote price A and later upon closer examination its A+X.

Added on April 18, 2010, 9:12 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 18 2010, 09:03 PM)
only if she can give me 50% discount
wow! like that she don't have any commission..
I think U have to pay without discount to get her on a date.... haha... or hint that... go date then U'll buy without discount from her. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 18 2010, 09:12 PM
patryn33
post Apr 18 2010, 09:16 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 18 2010, 09:14 PM)
i think, if the watch is still under warranty, send it to local JLC outlet. if the warranty has expired, i think sifus here can recommend some reliable watchmakers. my boss sent his tag to a well-known service centre for a service, but a week later the watch went kaput
warranty will not cover this.. U'll be paying FULL as if watch is out of waranty

patryn33
post Apr 19 2010, 01:49 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 18 2010, 11:45 PM)
zenith..interesting brand.. is it considered a top tier brand along the likes of PP, VC, JLC, Breguet etc.?
according to this watch magazine. they are top tier.. like those brands they do have watches in the US$300K range. i owned a 1960s vintage zenith and the winding on the movement felt like winding an expensive watch such as my JLC reverso. I have a vintage Mido running on AS movement, it felt like my CW C600 watch running on SW200 or my spouse Oris running on a ETA movement. although the feel on my Zenith Defy didn't felt like any of the above.

http://www.europastar.com/europastar/magaz...t_id=1003545084

Added on April 19, 2010, 1:54 am
QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 18 2010, 11:45 PM)
service should always go through AD.. i feel.. you go to outside watch makers..they might take out your original movement and put a china replica in and you wouldn't know if it doesn't have a display case.
In malaysia that may happened.. In USA, SG those registered ones no worries..
even with a display case u can tell??
anyway.. around 49% of those ETA movement parts also made in China.. watch maker replace with these chinese parts also nothing wrong.

Added on April 19, 2010, 1:56 am
QUOTE(Jr.Koh @ Apr 18 2010, 11:44 PM)
From far you can notice the dude wearing ball in the cinema haha. especially like night train and spacemaster.. I would love to get my hands on a Port 7 days in near future, but the accuracy just shunts me off. IWC claims their watches are all within COSC limits, but my friend's BP is running + 11 sec a day after servicing it shakehead.gif
if its COSC rated they should be at the time b4 the movement is cased!
after that no guarantee.
after servicing thru AD and still so bad, can get them do again so long the guarantee in the warranty manual stated so in black and white. without that, all claims are empty.

Added on April 19, 2010, 2:03 am
QUOTE(ky-l @ Apr 18 2010, 10:48 PM)
I'm asking for a relative. Any recommendation for a small diammeter watch of say 37mm or less? Plain and simple design.

Would it be possible for an in house movement of <RM2k and available locally?
small 37mm or smaller.. thats not easy to find if its a men's watch.
< RM 2K inhouse.. swiss not possible.
China, Russian, Japanese is possible.

simple.. Seiko Spirit fits the bill perfectly, its right on 37mm.
http://www.seiyajapan.com/product/S-SCVS01...15-SCVS013.html

Seagull classic
http://www.usseagull.com/categories.asp?cid=1

russian try Vostok, buran etc.. not sure if U can find 37mm cause ppl there not small size
http://www.smirs.com/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 19 2010, 02:18 AM
patryn33
post Apr 19 2010, 06:57 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Apr 19 2010, 11:45 AM)
I'm eyeing the following watches:

1) Tag Heuer Link Calibre S CJF7110.BA0587
2) Tag Heuer Link Automatic Chronograph CJF2110.BA0594
3) Tag Heuer Link Calibre 36 CT511A.BA0564

I'd like to ask if you guys know the price range of the above models, if they're available in M'sia and if it's worth the money. If you know of any other watches of similar design but better value for buck, would appreciate if you could recommend to me. I'm looking at a budget between 5-7k (not going to spend more than 8k on a watch, not just yet anyway  sweat.gif )
1. retails at ~RM10.5K
2. retails at ~ RM11K
3. retails at ~ RM18K

tag typically give ~25% off. U are looking to spend closer to 8K on item 1 and 2.

patryn33
post Apr 20 2010, 11:03 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Apr 18 2010, 09:51 PM)
I am a fan of Ball's lume, impressed with its bright gas tubes.... owns ball firemen and a night train .
currently eyeing the Engineer Diver II....

but first of all, thinking of selling my 4 month old Ball Night Train (leather strap)...
RRP RM4100 after AD discounts...  still with 2 years + warranty  any one interested ?

plan to sell at RM3300... (neg)... pm me if interested...  thumbup.gif
alot of ppl selling Balls these days..
saw one one http://visiotime.com.sg/index.php?page=ProductDetail&id=3655
selling for SG$1700

Boltstorm on forums.hardwarezone.com.sg also selling a similar Ball (bought in 2007) only thing is condition not as good as VISIOTIME.
patryn33
post Apr 20 2010, 12:02 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 20 2010, 11:46 AM)
Thanks for the recommendations.  Saw a couple of interesting Seiko 5s, designs are bit too plain but worth checking out.  Saw some bad Amazon reviews on the accuracy and time-keeping, but I guess should be all right with warranty?  Orient info is harder to find sad.gif

Anybody has any idea how much this Orient FD0E003W is?  Only 2 results from a Google search sad.gif

looks like this? however this cost ~US$580
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=226799

no idea how much it may cost but it may start at US$200
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient/Orie...CFQ8eDQodZ1JVJg

patryn33
post Apr 21 2010, 09:04 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Apr 20 2010, 12:46 PM)
Thanx for the tip. I generally like the design of the above models, big with large face (I guess this is what it's called). Don't like large borders and prefer all white color.
Thank you for the price quotations. Will have to start planning budget now  sweat.gif  smile.gif
if U got a bit to save, these prices are b4 this yr increase if i am not wrong.
it may push your budget above 8K.

Added on April 21, 2010, 9:13 am
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 20 2010, 10:41 PM)
Saw a Citizen watch online that I fancied, went to a Citizen AD, gave them the SKU, but they couldn't find it.  Sigh...

NJ2167-01A

order from Singapore! US$180
http://www.skywatches.com.sg/watches/produ...21cbc2e8f4fbb4d

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 21 2010, 09:13 AM
patryn33
post Apr 21 2010, 09:47 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Apr 21 2010, 09:36 AM)
From what patryn quoted, I'd definitely think the same too..so will have to cross that off my list, sadly  sad.gif
But thanx for the recommendation, will look those up  notworthy.gif
Thanx again, as long as it doesn't hit 10k, I will reconsider them.  sweat.gif

Do prices for watches fluctuate much?
they do.. omega price increase by a good 9% this yr. Tag may do the same 9-10%.. with that it may hit hit 10K soon.
anyway U do know resale value for Tag isn't good.

eg:
Tag Heuer / Grand Carrera GMT Calibre 8 per-own warranty by Tag until Nov 2011
onwer paid SGD$4860 (new b4 discount SGD$6100), pre-own price SGD$2850.
http://www.jwwatch.com/showpro_details.asp?id=76&cat=210

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 21 2010, 09:48 AM
patryn33
post Apr 21 2010, 10:01 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Apr 21 2010, 09:53 AM)
All I remember is going into the shop to see the prices a few weeks ago and come out thinking, "what the eff with those crazy prices". Only after I read about the discounts did I think it isn't that bad then. Can the discounts be haggled?  blush.gif
these discount are controlled by Tag Heuer, if AD are discover giving more discount than allowed. they removed, cannot carry their watches anymore.
thus many AD are very reluctant giving discounts.
sales person wanna make commission and may offer U 20%, U can huggle but usually it only hit their max allowed discount (too bad sales person only can make min commission).

if U wanna sell your new watch after few months.. U got to know brands like Tag value depreciate alot.

U should watch out for LVMH friends and Family sale. Not sure when is this yr.. last yr
http://trailsshoppers.blogspot.com/2009/04...ery-family.html
LVMH Watches and Jewellery Family & Friends Sale offer op to 40% OFF Retail Price!

When: 18 April 2009
Time: 10am - 4pm

Brands offered:
Tag Heuer
Fendi
Dior

Where:
LVMH Watch & Jewellery Malaysia Sdn Bhd
28th Floor Central Plaza
34 Jalan Sultan Ismail
50250 Kuala Lumpur
This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 21 2010, 10:12 AM
patryn33
post Apr 21 2010, 06:29 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 21 2010, 01:10 PM)
patryn33, which of these do you have experience with?  Never bought watches online before, not quite sure which to trust.

http://watchesgifts.com/
http://www.skywatches.com.sg/
http://www.skywatchdealers.com/
http://www.modbazaar.com/
http://www.trendstylewatches.com/
never bought watches from them. there are reviews on skywatches.com.sg
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=12645
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=298968

24 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 >Top