The Watches Thread V1

patryn33
post Apr 9 2010, 06:44 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 9 2010, 11:27 AM)
yeah.. i've been looking hard at the Stowa Antea 390.. and you don't get the crocodile straps! argh
at US$700+ how to get genuine Croc straps. Stowa wanna keep the items they source in Europe, those croc leather already cost US$200 and up.
that would mean for all the neat blue hands its just around the price of a regular Antea.. unlikely.
but u could get the watch and swap the band including all the metal parts on the band. brows.gif

Added on April 9, 2010, 6:46 pm
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Apr 9 2010, 11:43 AM)
having oris big crown and classic, omega speedmaster now...in order for me to upgrade...i think it may be time for me to part with my oris
2 oris! don't think those resale value are high..
anyway.. 1 Graham beats 2 oris right! thumbup.gif

Added on April 9, 2010, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 9 2010, 11:33 AM)
i like the Pilot A auto. Miyota brown...you?
I like this design too! without logo is better

check those lume and review out
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=286470

pics of type A
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=285566

Added on April 9, 2010, 6:59 pmpics of movement of the original B-uhr
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?p=1368614&page=7

Stowa

ALS

Wempe

IWC

Laco

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 9 2010, 06:59 PM
patryn33
post Apr 10 2010, 07:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Apr 9 2010, 10:34 PM)
BTW...what are the recommended reputable ONLINE watch dealer ??
I dealt with thewatchery.com, ashford.com b4 they are fine.
i had fren here that dealt with watchseller.com

Added on April 10, 2010, 7:58 am
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Apr 9 2010, 10:49 PM)
bro patryn, of cos, Oris is far to reach graham ...just like me...far to reach my dream graham! d prices for pre owned are  sweat.gif , almost can get cartier santos!

d collectorstime's watches just made me  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
cartier U are buying the name, they use regular ETA movement that may be found in your Oris. they just make U pay for the brand.
Graham at least mod those ETA movement.
get Cartier might as well get pre own rolex.

just for kicks.. Tag Heuer fans
Tag Heuer / Grand Carrera GMT Calibre 8 per-own warranty by Tag until Nov 2011
onwer paid SGD$4860 (new b4 discount SGD$6100), pre-own price SGD$2850.
http://www.jwwatch.com/showpro_details.asp?id=76&cat=210

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 10 2010, 08:31 AM
patryn33
post Apr 10 2010, 09:56 AM

3,940 posts

saw checking out chronoshark.com and spot this Claro-Semag CL-888 swiss made movement.
after digging around found that its a copy of Seagull ST 16. with ETA cutting back, 1st Tag uses Seiko design, and Claro copying china movements.
a nice thread on the diff with lots of pics
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=312588

@ nando, U asked me this b4, have U forgotten?? No, they are also ebay seller.. u can check their ebay reviews. i think they are fine, didn't someone post an Omega listed SG forum that was bought from them?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 10 2010, 09:58 AM
patryn33
post Apr 10 2010, 06:35 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 10 2010, 01:20 PM)
just one thing i need to ask you guys. if i buy online from let's say sinnwatches.com, when i want to make a warranty claim, can i send the watch to hour glass malaysia or do i have to send it back to sinnwatches.com? i don't really understand the meaning of 'international warranty'. hour glass say that sinn is their house brand. what does that mean?
sinnwatches.com are AD, so if you wanna make a warranty claim U send it to their authorize service center or even Hour Glass to make to claim.
House Brand, by my understanding in is Brand that is carried only by a particular company in a country. No other company in the country will be carrying that brand. Hour Glass is the house brand for Sinn and Glycine .

Added on April 10, 2010, 6:38 pm
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 10 2010, 12:45 PM)
My hands getting itchy...again.... Wish i could get some nice watch for my bro b'day on August "he wearing a Seiko dono what model already" should pamper him with slightly better watch below rm5k

Anyone have any idea where to get watches that are cheap?
US
Bangkok
Japan
UK
Spore
Msia
AD talk.. exchange rate and tax refund... Bangkok maybe a little cheaper. else maybe Singapore.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 10 2010, 06:38 PM
patryn33
post Apr 11 2010, 06:10 AM

3,940 posts

@ miaopurr, personally 2nd watch looks alittle big..

Added on April 11, 2010, 6:21 am
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 9 2010, 10:46 AM)
i think for past 3-4 months...anyone set on buying their piece with USD/Euro would have seen lower pricing...heck...even collectorstime Jean Richard Bressel i was saying...when i first saw it ...it would have cost about RM6500..today its only RM 6010 (although i must say..its already sold...)...
for omegas, rolexs..or buying from local AD...yeah...price go up, no down one!  more stronger that those pills meant to make 'things' go up
there is another JR listed I think design better than the Bressel that was sold.
Jean Richard Paramount Sebring MB Limited only 500 pcs. @ RM$6340
- date
- pwr res
- 30m
- 10JR base on JR1000
http://www.collectorstime.com/new-watches.php

pic taken from http://www.righttime.com/rt/jeanrichard/62118-11-11c.htm

more pics here but its not a LE version
http://www.cannla.com/Auctions/Jewellery-W...nt-Sebring.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 11 2010, 06:53 AM
patryn33
post Apr 11 2010, 06:55 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Apr 11 2010, 02:25 PM)
the smaller U200 SDR then? only 37mm but the price is approaching the U2 ...
[attachmentid=1522090]
37mm feels like a chick watch

patryn33
post Apr 11 2010, 07:57 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Apr 11 2010, 07:39 PM)
depends..nowadays i see chicks also wear >42mm!!...

but i think the design and height of this Sinn....should be okay although its 37mm..darn expensive too.. doh.gif
ya chick today love super big watches.
most chicks still go for the smaller watches. 37mm is like boy size or "Unisex".
typical men's watches are like 39mm.

anyway.. sinn U series sizes is either 37mm or 44mm...
patryn33
post Apr 11 2010, 09:53 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Apr 11 2010, 09:12 PM)
i wonder if Swatch group (Omega) or Tag (LVMH) service center in malaysia still able to service vintage watch? how much it will ammounted to?

I had my seiko 42 mm watch for my small wrist. But still i find that 40mm or smaller watches more nicer...
vintage omega/Tag?
Omega its going to cost U.
http://www.omegawatches.com/customer-servi...r/repair-prices
http://www.omegawatches.com/fileadmin/cust...e_list_2010.pdf
patryn33
post Apr 11 2010, 11:50 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 11 2010, 11:32 PM)
don't say like that lah...  blush.gif my seiko actually is 37mm, and has served me for 8 years now. u see those veins on my knuckle? nothing like a chick's right? hahaha!

seiko chrono i dunno what model already, 37mm diameter (actually 36.5mm), 43mm lug-to-lug, on a 6" wrist
Oops.. blush.gif
today its kinda hard to find men's seiko chrono at 37mm. many are at 40mm.
I have to agree during those times watches tend to be smaller even my old 15+yr Tag is small at around 36-37mm... chick watch by today's standard.
leaving it for my baby gal when she is older.. tongue.gif

patryn33
post Apr 11 2010, 11:53 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Waachaaa @ Apr 11 2010, 11:44 PM)
Any recommendations for my 1st watch
Brand:Tissot
Criteria: Stainless steel bracelet
Chrono
Elegant and professional look
Easy to read time
Budget: 1k
PRC 200 Chronograph

not a Tissot
http://www.christopherward.co.uk/nearly-ne...n/nnc3skkr.html

Swiss Army
http://www.overstock.com/Jewelry-Watches/S...77/product.html

bernhardt watch
http://www.bernhardtwatch.com/chronograph.html

Added on April 12, 2010, 12:04 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 11 2010, 11:52 PM)
went to pavilion today, saw some doxas. but none of those doxas are available on doxa's website. hmm??? normal dress watches. no divers
Doxa? like these?
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=369981

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 12 2010, 08:20 AM
patryn33
post Apr 13 2010, 09:47 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 12 2010, 08:54 PM)
but very limited choices. now, the cool ones usually are big in size
thats very true. only few brands make boy/unisex watches today.
patryn33
post Apr 14 2010, 05:47 PM

3,940 posts

its a warranty claim its only natural they take care of the shipping cost.

Added on April 14, 2010, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(FlayerZ @ Apr 12 2010, 02:52 PM)
what's on your wrist today?
no pics yet... Christopher Ward C600, just arrived yesterday.
at ~40mm, sit on the wrist nicely. rubber band is long suitable for ppl going diving.
the PVD finish is really nice. Great packaging didn't feel like one is buying a cheapo watch.
Great Lume I have to say..... loving the blue glow.

the only 2 issue I have is the deign of the hands, a little to long and broad. for US$385 its good value as a beater watch.
not own a ETA 2824, so can't compare with SW200 inside this watch.
2nd issue is the screw-in crown, maybe I own a Zenith so I pick on it. it just didn't give me THE FEEL. hey can't help right since its more than 10X diff in price. will pay with it for a few days and report how much time it gain/loss.

to add: even its a nearly new item, I didn't find any scratches or dints.
CW still offer the regular 60days return and 60 mths warranty

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 14 2010, 06:54 PM
patryn33
post Apr 15 2010, 06:43 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(deathscyther @ Apr 15 2010, 04:42 PM)
hi guys, where can i buy screen protector like this in kl/slgr:

can i get it @ any watch shop? issit expensive?
why do U need it on a Sapphire crystal? that ad is silly...

Added on April 15, 2010, 6:46 pm
QUOTE(Rishy @ Apr 15 2010, 11:16 AM)
Really interested in getting this Mont Blanc

They call it the Mont Blanc Summit...

Wonder how much it goes for...
expensive not worth the money... Summit collection all QUARTZ..
retail at ~RM$3K, U may get 20-25% off.

Added on April 15, 2010, 6:49 pm
QUOTE(twom @ Apr 14 2010, 08:51 PM)
CW the most advanced diver watch. Where did you buy it from? My hand a bit itchy to get hold onto one.
only online, direct thru CW... will find time to post pics and reviews.

Added on April 15, 2010, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 14 2010, 10:47 PM)
anybody checked out omega's price tags recently? after the supposedly price increase? is it for real? specifically the planet ocean, anybody has the latest price?
wow... increase budget! now eyeing on Omega!!! get it soon.. the increase would come sooner or later..

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 15 2010, 06:50 PM
patryn33
post Apr 16 2010, 08:20 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 15 2010, 07:46 PM)
won't the AR coating on the outside of the crystal get damaged in the long run if we don't have the protector?

i've been eyeing on a seamaster since high school, all because of james bond. budget increased, but fund still insufficient. i'm torn between doxa n omega. ok here's the situation:

Doxa
- rm5.6k
- only option is to buy online
- any warranty claim & servicing/regulating the first 2 years will have to be done in switzerland. must send the watch there
- limited production
- have never seen nor tried the actual watch
- ETA-2824-2 grade? elabore?
- 42.7mm slightly smaller than Sinn U1. i can't wear U1 as it is too big for my wrist
- read some complaints from doxa owners on WUS forum

Omega
- rm12k. insufficient fund (like red alert). will have to be patient and keep on saving
- can buy from local AD
- warranty claim & servicing can be done locally
- availability is not a problem. just that the price goes up and up and up
- co-axial technology, chronometer grade movement
- size 42mm, perfect for my wrist
- nothing but perfect reviews
generally its Elaboré grade for Doxa, Mido, Guinand.. eps watches that cost US$1K. under US$1K generally its Standard like my CW.
depending on brands some do a better job at regulating the movement. anyway standard and Elabore diff is how well its regulated, I think I can get a local watch maker to get it done nicely..
Standard and Elaboré:
Mainspring - Nivaflex NO
Shock protection - Etachocs
Pallet stones - Polyrubies, Epilame-coated
Balance - Nickel gilt
Balance staff - Epilame coated
Collet - Nivatronic
Hairspring - Nivarox 2
Hairspring heat treatment - Etastable

Top and Chronometre:
Mainspring - NivaflexNM
Shock protection - Incabloc
Pallet stones - Red rubies, Epilame-coated
Balance - Glucydur gilt
Balance staff - Epilame coated
Collet - Nivatronic
Hairspring - Anachron
Hairspring heat treatment - Etastable

The performance differences are the big differences between the various grades: ("The limit values are subject to interpretation: 95% of the pieces delivered in a lot must be within the specified limits.")

Standard:
2 positions (CH, 6H)
daily rate: +/-12 sec/day
Maximum positional variation: 30 sec
Isochronism (between 0 and 24 hours): +/- 20 sec

Elaboré:
3 positions (CH, 6H, 9H)
daily rate: +/-7 sec/day
Maximum positional variation: 20 sec
Isochronism (between 0 and 24 hours): +/- 15 sec

Top:
5 positions (CH, FH, 6H, 9H, 3H)
daily rate: +/-4 sec/day
Maximum positional variation: 15 sec
Isochronism (between 0 and 24 hours): +/- 10 sec
limited cash.. only option is Doxa, unless u can find the cash to get the OMEGA b4 next increase else.
its hard to compare... Omega is 2X the price of Doxa. have the money of course Omega.
anyway both brands has a nice history. Doxa started back in 1889, Omega in 1848.

AR coating damage can always sent in to get it coated.
putting a plastic over it, it just dorky.. might as well don't wear and put it in a safe.

Added on April 16, 2010, 8:22 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 15 2010, 11:28 PM)
they only export. local customers will have to buy from local AD. i guess they have an agreement with local AD
where did U get the info? can share?

Added on April 16, 2010, 8:24 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 15 2010, 08:51 PM)
without warranty huh? so the warranty is provided by the shop? kinda like underwater phones?
U cannot say its like underwater phones... many of these phones can be stolen goods/export model only or those that "fell off a truck during shipping".
its unlike watches.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 16 2010, 08:39 AM
patryn33
post Apr 16 2010, 10:36 AM

3,940 posts

Doxa diver watch design didn't really change much. very classical design 40yrs
http://www.thedoxabook.com/

I still like the classic Omega Seamaster, OP are nice today if they keep making big changes from time to time its resale value would be like TAG.
with that getting a Pre own is value for money. although some love the feeling of new fresh box.

patryn33
post Apr 16 2010, 06:44 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 16 2010, 02:40 PM)
Then you should get a submariner instead of PO  tongue.gif
couldn't agree more! even the book it referred to Rolex Sub.
patryn33
post Apr 16 2010, 07:22 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 16 2010, 07:11 PM)
true, if too afraid of scratches, might as well don't wear them. apart from how well elabore movements are regulated, correct me if i'm wrong, i thought they decorate it and put extra jewels to make it last longer?

i sent an email to the collectorstime owner asking for a quotation on the PO. i told him where i'm from. he replied saying that they only export.
no extra jewels.
only decorations and regulated.

no matter which grade U get, U'll get the same number of jewels. The diff are the spring, balance, shock protection
http://www.eta.ch/d/produkte/Mecaline/pdf/..._decors_eta.pdf

a nice chart I found
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=323391
patryn33
post Apr 16 2010, 07:28 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 16 2010, 07:25 PM)
true, rolex used to be on bond's wrist, but omega has always been tied to bond character. why huh?
no idea, Omega is sponsor $$ goes into the movie as advertising.
Rolex not doing it..
patryn33
post Apr 16 2010, 07:34 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 16 2010, 07:32 PM)
thanks for sharing. very informative
for the doxa U looking at which model?

patryn33
post Apr 17 2010, 09:29 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 16 2010, 07:39 PM)
1000T or 1200T orange face.
Doxa 1000T --- summer discount now at US$1490
1200T - also having special at US$1690

I think those 5000T and 800 are using ETA 2892.

if i were U just get the 1000T. wonder long is the sale going to last.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 17 2010, 06:32 PM

24 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:26 PM