wah... omega is really worth the price tag eh?
The Watches Thread V1
Apr 8 2010, 09:42 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
wah... omega is really worth the price tag eh?
Apr 8 2010, 10:08 PM
6,354 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 8 2010, 09:42 PM) worth is relative to the person paying the money...to me omega is worth it. rolex isn't when you compare to the omega. simple example (and opening a can of worms). rolex submariner vs omega seamaster co-axial. the omega is cheaper, and if you compare both of these watches side by side, and imagine both were rolex.. which would you choose? on feature alone, the co-axial movement, case, the better bracelet/clasp.. I would choose the seamaster. of course, some people pay for the brand.. |
Apr 8 2010, 10:44 PM
178 posts Joined: May 2007 |
sorry for the noobness but isn't rolex an inhouse movement?
Apr 8 2010, 10:51 PM
115 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
anyone here knows how much to change a tag heuer bezel??
Apr 8 2010, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(-_- @ Apr 8 2010, 10:44 PM) all current Rolex that I know of uses inhouse movement. submariner uses the robust cal. 3135. usually compared to ETA 2892-A2. both are robust, both are proven, but both are also, well, dated. the Co-Axial by Omega is a big step forward, but the robustness of it remains to be seen over time. but on paper its definitely more "advance".earlier Daytona used Zenith chrono movements...which have now rise in price due to collector status, as current daytona uses Rolex's own movements. This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 8 2010, 11:35 PM |
Apr 9 2010, 12:21 AM
178 posts Joined: May 2007 |
er ok i am lost isn't co-axile is made my eta which isn't inhouse?i thought in-house movement is always more expensive then eta movement?
and why zenith chrono movement is more expensive then the now daytona movement? this means zenith movement is better then the current rolex movement? |
Apr 9 2010, 12:24 AM
71 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Apr 9 2010, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(Jr.Koh @ Apr 9 2010, 12:24 AM) that's too fast! must poison him more!Sinn U1 Stealth, Tempus and U1W ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Apr 9 2010, 12:45 AM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
the tempus definitely is in my list
Apr 9 2010, 01:57 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 9 2010, 12:45 AM) then you better be fast. Tempus is a Singapore only piece limited to 250 pieces sold by The Hour Glass. not sure if its carried in Malaysia.i did some reading, and if you are comparing the Ball Mad Cow Hydrocarbon to the U1, for around similar price on bracelet, I think the Ball will come up tops, as the U1 lacks many of Sinn's technology, no special oil for extreme temperature operation, no Ar dehumidifying technology, and only TEGIMENT coating on the bezel. The Ball has the special oil for extreme temperature operation, full titanium construction, and shock resistance. brand and design aside, ball wins. for nando: Ball Hydrocarbon Spacemaster Glow http://www.sg-roc.com/showthread.php?t=38245 |
Apr 9 2010, 04:56 AM
526 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Apr 9 2010, 06:28 AM
1,441 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: *Gadgets world* |
Hi new to this thread.
iWC , get it from singapore, is much cheaper. Anyone here know about Graham watches? |
Apr 9 2010, 08:11 AM
3,940 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Apr 9 2010, 04:56 AM) patryn33 - sure you can find these IWC pilot and portofino watches for under RM 10k from an authorized dealer? pay cash bargain hard shouldn't be much of a problem. esp some of them are mid size 36mm, how many ppl today go for 36mm.. ladies? how many gals buy IWC.. have 10K some rather get a pre-own datejust.Added on April 9, 2010, 8:14 am QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 8 2010, 09:40 PM) patryn33: thanks for the heads up, so I guess that 0.30 minute market not so vital.. that way I can justify getting a watch with second time zone without minutes hand... Oris Artelier Complication anyone? looks a bit small on the wrist though, even at 40mm Oris Artelier Complication? my dad has the older half gold version maybe 15yr old. very light watch.QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Apr 9 2010, 06:28 AM) what do u like to know... iirc 20yrs ago its was as hot as Pammy today.Added on April 9, 2010, 8:23 am QUOTE(-_- @ Apr 9 2010, 12:21 AM) and why zenith chrono movement is more expensive then the now daytona movement? this means zenith movement is better then the current rolex movement? the new movement is better. Read all about it herehttp://www.watchtime.at/archive/wt_2001_05...2001_05_042.pdf Added on April 9, 2010, 8:54 am QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 9 2010, 01:57 AM) i did some reading, and if you are comparing the Ball Mad Cow Hydrocarbon to the U1, for around similar price on bracelet, I think the Ball will come up tops, as the U1 lacks many of Sinn's technology, no special oil for extreme temperature operation, no Ar dehumidifying technology, and only TEGIMENT coating on the bezel. The Ball has the special oil for extreme temperature operation, full titanium construction, and shock resistance. brand and design aside, ball wins. Ball Mad Cow Hydrocarbon not all are constructed in titanium right?as for special oil for -40C, not sure how often will one get to use it. I am living in mid west temps do drop -40C with withchill but temp on the watch is certainly not at -40C. I read on WUS/Timezone on some complex reason with heat equation. only way to get it at such temp is to leave the watch out in the cold. anyway for servicing definitely must go back to AD to get the oil. the shock resistance, I had been googling hard a number of times. that high shock resistance is certainly not at GShock level. yet to see anyone swing their golf clubs using it without damage I think. read somewhere some one accidental gave it a hard knock on the rails and it got damaged. anyone know how much real shock can Ball take? eg drop from how many meters on what kind of floor and still running well.. This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 9 2010, 08:54 AM |
Apr 9 2010, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 9 2010, 08:11 AM) Oris Artelier Complication? my dad has the older half gold version maybe 15yr old. very light watch. the complication black one looks nice.. got the moonphase..great can tell when my lycanthropy kicks in.what do u like to know... iirc 20yrs ago its was as hot as Pammy today. Added on April 9, 2010, 8:23 am the new movement is better. Read all about it here http://www.watchtime.at/archive/wt_2001_05...2001_05_042.pdf Added on April 9, 2010, 8:54 am Ball Mad Cow Hydrocarbon not all are constructed in titanium right? as for special oil for -40C, not sure how often will one get to use it. I am living in mid west temps do drop -40C with withchill but temp on the watch is certainly not at -40C. I read on WUS/Timezone on some complex reason with heat equation. only way to get it at such temp is to leave the watch out in the cold. anyway for servicing definitely must go back to AD to get the oil. the shock resistance, I had been googling hard a number of times. that high shock resistance is certainly not at GShock level. yet to see anyone swing their golf clubs using it without damage I think. read somewhere some one accidental gave it a hard knock on the rails and it got damaged. anyone know how much real shock can Ball take? eg drop from how many meters on what kind of floor and still running well.. Ball Mad Cow is titanium case and bracelet.. the internals probably not titanium as it is a fully assembled ETA movement. as for dismissing its features, how many of us really go beyond 100m water depth? how many of us actually use the chronograph? a feature over the U1 is a feature over the U1. whether you use it or not is a different story. I merely compared the Ball to the Sinn objectively. Ball claims the shock resistance is 7500Gs (I don't know what 7500Gs are in real life) and its antimagnetic. It doesn't seem the U1 is antimagnetic..another win for Ball. |
Apr 9 2010, 09:40 AM
1,441 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: *Gadgets world* |
thanks bro, i saw a very nice graham, guessing the price may range above RM50K, cos it looks like its ltd edition range.. i understand that there is a watch boutique in bkt bintang selling graham and price ranging from RM30k and above, am i right? compared with pammy, i think the later shud hv higher value... still thinking of the cool graham! wonder what is its second hand value |
Apr 9 2010, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 9 2010, 09:24 AM) as for dismissing its features, how many of us really go beyond 100m water depth? how many of us actually use the chronograph? a feature over the U1 is a feature over the U1. whether you use it or not is a different story. I merely compared the Ball to the Sinn objectively. Ball claims the shock resistance is 7500Gs (I don't know what 7500Gs are in real life) and its antimagnetic. It doesn't seem the U1 is antimagnetic..another win for Ball. as for 100m is water going into still water without movement. when U swim it adds additional pressure to the watch. or at 100m and U be moving around no guarantee the watch can take the pressure. thats why its recommend to take watches rated 100m to go for your swim in the pool iirc. how deep is the pool certainly no 10m.U don't use chrono, but some joe here use it freq to time his fart or how fast he pee man.. I? don't really use it freq, besides timing the interval of my spouse last contradiction when she is giving birth, else its timing my every day shot of expresso from my machine. anyway, I didn't say Ball lose or Sinn win. anyway Sinn U1... according to here if info is correct http://www.sinnwatches.com/proddetail.php?prod=si002 QUOTE The watch has an automatic mechanical movement, operating at 28,800 beats per hour, shockproof according to DIN 8308 specification and anti-magnetic according to DIN 8309 specification. finally found something on shock. thats a +1 for ball for sure. http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread....=198518&page=84 QUOTE The Ball Hydro is rated rated up to 7,500 Gs. Form the Ball site: "According to the International Standard (ISO 1413), the shock resistance test is conducted using a pendulum impact-testing machine. The mechanism sets off a circular movement which brings the pendulum to hit the watch from 1 meter. The first shock is directed against the side of the case, parallel to the plane of the watch, on the 9 o'clock side. The second shock is directed against the glass, perpendicular to the plane of the watch. At Ball Watch Co., we go beyond the above standard by hitting with a tougher 1.5 meter hammer strike and adding a third shock directed against the relatively weaker 3 o'clock crown position of the watch. The Hydrocarbon must pass the test without any damage. Finally, the sapphire glass used in the Engineer Hydrocarbon collection is specially made 4mm thick for better protection." Added on April 9, 2010, 10:09 am QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Apr 9 2010, 09:40 AM) thanks bro, i saw a very nice graham, guessing the price may range above RM50K, cos it looks like its ltd edition range.. 2nd hand value today not there unlike Pammy.i understand that there is a watch boutique in bkt bintang selling graham and price ranging from RM30k and above, am i right? compared with pammy, i think the later shud hv higher value... still thinking of the cool graham! wonder what is its second hand value U can see from some online store.. prices are like the below (click on those links) http://www.interwatches.com/graham-swordfi...17a-k32b-p23342 http://www.bernardwatch.com/Graham http://www.collectorstime.com/other_EH.php#graham This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 9 2010, 10:20 AM |
Apr 9 2010, 10:25 AM
2,591 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Movement aside, technology aside, features aside, second hand value aside. At the end of day, is how much you fancy the watch and how much joy the watch will bring to you.
So guys, buy whichever that you LIKE My RM0.02 This post has been edited by ck77: Apr 9 2010, 10:27 AM |
Apr 9 2010, 10:29 AM
1,650 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
My goodness...left you guys alone for a while and all kinds of poison and temptations comes in..
anyway... but honestly, when it comes to the pictures and those advertisements....i've seen them ALL.....yeah....even the famous Prof Harry Tan's review when it first arrived in Singapore Been browsing plenty of Sinn pictures and forums myself....I also checked regularly at the Singapore Rolex forum (other watches for sale...)..yeah...they have Sinns for sale almost every day... the funny thing is the price higher than buying new online! Not keen to spend more....i know the higher range of the Sinns offer higher technology...but hey...i am not deep water diver or a man needing chronograph every day.....perhaps only need a 2nd time zone.......but quite big price difference...the U2 and U1....I guess Argon is expensive eh...(hahaha) Anyway.Jason......thanks for the tips on the Ball Spacemaster..but not really keen on the design for now...(or maybe i need to learn and read more about it...)...the only reason why i considered the Ball Aviator Dual time strongly was that there is a less than 1 year old good conditioned piece for sale at reasonable price....RM4.7k But since all the sifus here seems to think that even that is too much to pay for a watch with dual time and lots of lume...i guess it make sense... Here are some of my poison photo collection...as of now...still not sure yet of getting the classic U1 or the U1 SDR.....also...Ringgit still gaining against Euro...so still greedy...hehehe yeah....agree 100% with ck...buy what you like...that is why after so long....still havent make the kill.....want to make sure am really happy with it loooooog time! This post has been edited by nando: Apr 9 2010, 10:33 AM |
Apr 9 2010, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 9 2010, 10:25 AM) Movement aside, technology aside, features aside, second hand value aside. At the end of day, is how much you fancy the watch and how much joy the watch will bring to you. couldn't agree more... at the end of the day its your money, your life! the owner is happy is whats most impt.So guys, buy whichever that you LIKE My RM0.02 |
Apr 9 2010, 10:36 AM
bro nando, the Ball Mad Cow is ~RM5.8k iirc. brand new.
patryn33: what i wanted to point out is that I was making an objective comparison between the two. whether the feature is used or not is another story and that should be left to the person actually buying/using the watch. can we agree on that? |
| Change to: | 0.0291sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:09 PM |