9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Watches Thread V1

ck77
post Jan 14 2010, 10:05 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Jan 14 2010, 09:28 PM)
The omega Speed master professional my father gave it to me 10 years ago since he bought in 1982...
Great watch you got there, more so the sentimental value rclxms.gif
Mine saying hi thumbup.gif
ck77
post Jan 15 2010, 04:23 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Jan 15 2010, 04:10 PM)
biggrin.gif yup...its 30% discount.
Congrat on new haul, do share some pictures rclxms.gif
ck77
post Jan 15 2010, 09:59 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 15 2010, 09:33 PM)
46mm, how does it feel on the wrist?
Depend your size of your wrist. My 47mm is on the way tongue.gif
ck77
post Jan 16 2010, 07:13 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 15 2010, 11:26 PM)
what did U order? 47mm? thats huge!
well, also depends on how the lugs sit. I wonder how heavy is the 46mm Ball since its 13.5mm in height.
Is the Pam 3646/249 homage from Getat. Have tried the 47mm MM before, look ok on my wrist tongue.gif

Added on January 16, 2010, 7:18 am
QUOTE(jcleoch @ Jan 16 2010, 01:45 AM)
Here is some pic of the ice shark.... smile.gif

Nice sweet black PVD, and cool packaging as well thumbup.gif
Thanks for sharing notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ck77: Jan 16 2010, 07:18 AM
ck77
post Jan 16 2010, 09:36 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 16 2010, 08:04 AM)
oh.. went is it arriving? do share some pics!

@ khopl, didn't know uses 2 type of clasp

http://forums.timezone.com/index.php?t=tre...o=4883948&rid=0
Probably next week and I certainly will post some pics tongue.gif

The second clasp is nicer, IMHO smile.gif
ck77
post Jan 18 2010, 03:08 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Jan 18 2010, 02:43 PM)
i think he got a Panerai hommage....ck, dont forget to post pictures and write review when it land on your doorstep...

Ya is Pam3646/249 homage, sure will share pictures biggrin.gif Hopefully can reach by this week rclxms.gif

Added on January 18, 2010, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(khopl @ Jan 18 2010, 10:30 AM)
47mm? Is it a Ball too?
My 46mm feels funny at first cos my old watch is less than 40mm i think!

This post has been edited by ck77: Jan 18 2010, 03:08 PM
ck77
post Jan 18 2010, 04:31 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Jan 18 2010, 04:26 PM)
http://www.passions.com.sg/v2/watch/omega-...nometer-steel-1

anyone can comment if this pricing is good? anyone deals with Passions before? the web state that they do give 3% discount if pay by cash.  Can the price advertised on the web be negotiated?
Price seems ok for a pre-owned PO. Went to their Bangsar Village outlet before but no deal. Perhaps you should pay them a visit there.
Good luck rclxms.gif
ck77
post Jan 20 2010, 12:58 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(Daymon @ Jan 20 2010, 12:05 PM)
sorry, what is AD means?
Authorised dealer
ck77
post Jan 21 2010, 09:02 AM

2,591 posts

patryn33, show us some of your collection brows.gif
ck77
post Jan 21 2010, 01:47 PM

2,591 posts

patryn33, nice reverso thumbup.gif Thanks for sharing rclxms.gif
ck77
post Jan 21 2010, 10:02 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(Daymon @ Jan 21 2010, 08:34 PM)

Added on January 21, 2010, 8:38 pmbtw, can i know the meaning of day-nite reverso duo? i mean, what is its function?
Daymon, Jaeger-Le Coultre Reverso is one the iconic watches in history. thumbup.gif
http://basepath.com/watches/Reviews/JLCReverso/JLCreview.htm
ck77
post Jan 23 2010, 02:23 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jan 18 2010, 03:08 PM)
Ya is Pam3646/249 homage, sure will share pictures  biggrin.gif Hopefully can reach by this week  rclxms.gif

Added on January 18, 2010, 3:08 pm
Received my first homage watch on Thursday 20 January 2010 from Getat.
Watch was ordered and paid on 24 December 2009 and the shipment was stuck in HK post office for some times due to some issue. Communication via email was ok but reply often delay by 2-3 days, he is trying his best to answer all my quiries.
The spec:-
Movement: Asian Unitas 6497 manual winding
Case: 47mm without crown 316L polished steel with doom plexiglass, California sandwich dial.

This homage watch is base on Pam3646 and Pam249.
For more history and story, please refer to this link (great blog by the way):-
Jake's Rolex Watch Blog

Following are my simple review and impression.

Outter box

Inner box secured by bubble wrap (+1)

Simple watch case with bubble wrap and plastic to protect the watch (+1)

The watch, look good? Read on,

Back view (6497 or 6498 movement?)

My finding,
1. The most importantly thing is accuracy test. I do not have professional training (like William Hung whistling.gif ) and any tools to measure. As a simple measurement, I set the watch same time with my Astro decoder's time and wait for it to run for an hour.
The watch is running approximately +4 minutes faster blink.gif I thought the movement need some times to 'break-in' or 'run-in'
Patiently I waited for it to run 24 hours and ridiculously it ran +1 hour 30 minutes faster doh.gif This is absolutely unacceptable.
I don't expect the accuracy to be perfect for mechanical watch and -1 or +1 minute per day is ok for me, but not until such variant.

2. Uneven paint on 4,5,6 o'clock indexes, especially number 4

3. Bad lume
4. Hard to screw and unscrew the screw-in crown
5. Movement is loud
6. Strap is good, I can smell the genuine leather smell (+1)
6. From the clear back, I have noticed it is a 6498 instead of 6497 as listed on his website.
This is the 6497 shown on his site.

I can accept other flaws in view of the price I've paid for, but not for the accuracy. The most basic function of a watch is to tell corret time, 1 minute variant per day for me is ok for any mechanical watch.

I've email him the above issues and he replied that the watch might be magnitised during the shipment (is it possible? rclxub.gif) and he agreed to return and refund for me. I will get the watch to regulate and maybe demagnitise by local watchmaker and to ask for reimbursement from him.

What a bad experience for my first online purchase watch cry.gif

Lastly, wrist shot.

Thanks for reading notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ck77: Jan 23 2010, 03:08 PM
ck77
post Jan 23 2010, 10:15 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Jan 23 2010, 06:30 PM)
congrats ck77...nice looking watch you got there!
how much did you pay for it?
err....what does a homage watch mean?
and what do you mean by the homage watch is base on Pam3646 and Pam249??
QUOTE(nando @ Jan 23 2010, 07:05 PM)
if not mistaken, a homage is when a manufacturer follow a very famous design or something like that....i think ck 77's is a homage to 2 Panerai models...

got homage to Bell Ross square dial, Rolex's submariners...etc..

fake or replica will still label it as Rolex, Panerai, etc..but homages dont...

http://forums.watchuseek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=71  (i learned from here wan....)

all sifu, correct me if i am mistaken
khopl, PM me if you want the link, I don't want to do free advertisement for his site tongue.gif
nando has explained the summary of homage. thumbup.gif In another word, they are the copycat of certain manufacturers but won't put on their name. Very often they will go brandless or put on their own brand name, i.e. Orang Watch Company, Ocean 7, MKII etc.

ck77
post Jan 23 2010, 10:19 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(silverstan @ Jan 23 2010, 10:18 PM)
congratulation, ck77.

nice watch!
Yea but not the accuracy doh.gif
ck77
post Jan 23 2010, 10:53 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 23 2010, 10:34 PM)
is that a swan neck regulator? 1hr already running so fast, must have gone thru huge shock. the last time my vintage roamer did that is because I took it golfing!
iirc, u paid 100-200 for it.
I lost faith with hongkong/chinese homages, I paid us$50 for 1, after 6mths that darn thing started running fast (30mins every 24hr), next few mths it started running irregularly at times fast at time so slow. I threw it away.
What movement is that? Not even regulation or servicing could help?
I don't expect top notch Swiss quality, what you get is what you paid. This is to me more like a wear-spoil-and throw away watch.

This post has been edited by ck77: Jan 23 2010, 11:01 PM
ck77
post Jan 24 2010, 11:16 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 24 2010, 07:13 AM)
heck knows, some chinese. paid us$50 for it, send in for regulation + servicing would cost more than the watch.
I expect it to be the kind wear and throw thingy. thats why I am very reluctant to get a seagull. I know there QC not really there.
although ST-1812 if done right is decent, if paying us$200-300 is it really worth the trouble to get it done right the 2nd time round?

if i pay us$200, I expect swiss quality. since I can get a swiss mechanical online at around us$200-300 mark.

Added on January 24, 2010, 7:15 am
The watch is sent for regulating by my friend's watchmaker, let's see how it perform after that.
What you think about OWC, since they are using ST21 in their Mil Sub homage with a whopping price of USD299 unsure.gif
Cheapest Swiss mechanical is definately Swatch, as far as the movement is concern. One can always swap the movement to other homage or modified watch laugh.gif
ck77
post Jan 25 2010, 10:05 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 25 2010, 08:31 AM)
+1 on that!!! chinese QC really... unpredictable!
I wonder how many actually return to give a review after 6mths.
when I 1st got my cheapo its running great! +5secs.
with time... sign...

ck77 purchase at ~us$100, guess can't be helped
http://www.siswatch727.com/index.do
Yes, QC is totally depend on your luck. Not much complain based on price vs quality, but the accuracy is ridiculous doh.gif

QUOTE(nando @ Jan 25 2010, 08:54 AM)
yeah, i had same thoughts...most of the review are immediately after receiving..with photos and all that...was searching for after 6 months or 1 year ownership experience...
well, hopefully ck77's one will turn out to be alright!
Hopefully after return from 'treatment', the watch could keep 'correct' time for few years sweat.gif

Apart from my simple review here, following are the detailed technical review by my friend.
http://tamhk.com/mwf/index.php/topic,761.msg6665.html#new
You can clearly see how good is the QC of Chinese movement sweat.gif

Update. Getat has refunded some cost to me, +1 to him thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ck77: Jan 25 2010, 02:52 PM
ck77
post Feb 1 2010, 12:56 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Feb 1 2010, 12:38 PM)
Just got myself a Seiko Sportura Dual Retrograde Chronograph for everyday wear.

When I first saw the pics of this watch it looked pretty weird to me but it was love at first sight IMO when I saw it at the shop. Pictures don't do this watch any justice.

- Stainless Steel Case / Hard Coating
- 10bar Water Resistant
- Sapphire Crystal Glass
- Three-Fold Clasp with Push Button Release
- Solid Stainless Steel Bracelet
- Screw Crown
- Screw Case Back

Will post real pics when I'm home from work  brows.gif

Still looking for an all black watch though  sad.gif
thumbup.gif and do explain the functions of the watch, I am eager to know biggrin.gif
ck77
post Feb 1 2010, 03:25 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Feb 1 2010, 01:35 PM)
Haha sure, to be honest I'm not too sure about the functions myself LOL Haven't had the time to go through the manual. Will have a look at it and post it up when I post the pics.

Btw does anyone know if Seiko's warranty cover poor workmanship? A colleague of mine bought a Seiko the same time as I did which was around last Saturday but after just a day wearing the wording on the watch's crown is already chipping off. Poor lad IMO. I have examined the watch myself and everything is in pristine condition apart from the chipped wording. Couldn't have been caused by impact or anything because if any impact is strong enough to chip off those wordings there is bound to be a mark or two or maybe even scratches. Wordings as in for example the word "Tachymeter" on the crown with an alphabet or two with a part missing.
Don't think it cover for poor workmanship. Try to bring to the shop and demand for an exchange.
ck77
post Feb 3 2010, 09:28 AM

2,591 posts

My one and only G-Shock, standard DW-6900. My cheapest, toughest, most function watch rclxms.gif

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Feb 3 2010, 02:04 AM)
any1 collect G-shocks ?

I have few model wit me at the moment..tend to collect more in future

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:25 AM