for those who have purchased or surveyed ML prices.. i know they have very deep discounts.. typically how many % in KL?
The Watches Thread V1
Apr 1 2010, 11:23 PM
6,354 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
for those who have purchased or surveyed ML prices.. i know they have very deep discounts.. typically how many % in KL?
Apr 2 2010, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 2 2010, 08:19 AM) Omega movement isn't base on the regular ETA 2824 or 2892. technically you could say that Omega movements are in-house.Ya they do leverage on the manufacturing facilities to make their movement. As of today, they are the only company getting those Co-axial movement. u don't have to spend 5X the base price of a B&R to get a inhouse movement. B&R prices at US$4k could get U a inhouse movement already. even Cartier uses ETA for their entry level watches. and yes.. for less than the price of the B&R you can get very very good in-house movements, Nomos is one great example. ![]() the nomos tangomat, full in house automatic movement, way more sophistication and substance than a B&R any day. but it requires a person with exquisite taste and appreciates the finer details in life to enjoy it. for majority of the population, show is more important than go, style over substance. who cares if the inside of a B&R is exactly the same as a Tissot and costs 10x more? not like you can see the movement or tell the difference. |
Apr 6 2010, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 5 2010, 11:52 PM) congrats, wear in good health.. and sound advice from nando. as always, get the piece that smiles at you, regardless of what other people say.when it comes to timepiece..everyone has different strokes...which explains why there are so many themes and designs out there... most important..you...the owner will still gets excited and pleased when looking at it! QUOTE(Jr.Koh @ Apr 6 2010, 12:46 AM) terence, I'll let the picture do the talking and poisoning crooked retrograde GMT hand..unique! breguet hands. not my cup of tea but its a beautiful piece.[attachmentid=1513391] |
Apr 6 2010, 10:23 AM
Apr 6 2010, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 6 2010, 10:26 AM) in his sentence, he said "it's just like owning another citizen. wise choice would be to save up more money and get a proper swiss watch, right?"why is it not a wise choice to save up more money and get a proper japanese watch? Grand Seiko? Seiko Spring Drive? Seiko Spirit (>$300) i don't see how a swiss watch is more "proper" than a japanese watch. japanese watches don't get enough respect. technically every Citizen and Seiko piece is in-house movement. lol. |
Apr 6 2010, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 6 2010, 11:33 AM) i didn't say japanese watches can't be proper ones. i own a timex, a casio, a seiko and a citizen. i would like to add a swiss to my collection. i was looking at helios and helson, which use miyota, a citizen's movement. so indirectly, it's like owning another citizen. since i already own three japanese watches, i'd like to own a swiss watch with a swiss movement. now I understand what you meant. i apologize for taking your post out of context. you could get a german watch with swiss movement, stowa maybe? you get the goodness of a swiss movement and german finish, not to mention it is an independent watchmaker.majority of the watch companies are owned by the 3 luxury brands.. Swatch, LVMH and Richemont. and as much heritage, history and pedigree the brands may have, we wouldn't know how much of it has been eroded by corporations whose sole purpose is profits. Added on April 6, 2010, 11:59 am QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Apr 6 2010, 11:37 AM) do u guys think ODM watch worth to buy ?? depends on what its "worth" to you. to me its just a toy watch. mass marketed for the consumption of the masses. ODM is like Proton, Rolex is like Ferrari and Patek is Bugatti.why & Reason ?? Added on April 6, 2010, 11:38 am nice 1 ... cost you how much ??? a funny quote i came across.. Rolex is the Rolex of watches. This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 6 2010, 11:59 AM |
Apr 6 2010, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 6 2010, 12:04 PM) no prob jason. i have now enough money to get an american watch with swiss movement, but i think i'll save more money till i have enough to give me more options be it german or swiss. having local ADs and service centre is a plus, but that also depends on the quality and level of service. keep in mind just because they have a service centre here doesn't mean it will warrant good service. its just more convenient, but may not render the service you expect. i've read of horrible service experience by Tag Heuer. the Stowa for example, uses a common ETA2824 workhouse, and any knowledgeable watch repairmen would be able to service it.independent watchmaker eh? a friend advised me otherwise. find a brand that has an AD here; easier when it comes to warranty issue and spare parts. do u have experience getting a watch u bought online and not available here in malaysia serviced or repaired here? by the way, anybody knows where to get a maratac strap here in KL/selangor? ODM, too fancy for my taste. correction: halios uses seiko's 6R15, not citizen's miyota |
Apr 7 2010, 03:34 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 6 2010, 06:58 PM) ok, understand. just as advised by patryn. the movement will not be a problem as it's a common engine. what about the parts like the glass/saphire, bezel, face, hands, etc? need to order online ourselves and have the watch fixed by our local repairmen? its very rare you need to fix glass. bezel, face, hands. the face and hands probably deteriorate after decades. of course, if its a glass replacement, you can either send it back or order the parts from the independent watchmaker you purchased your watch from, and have it replaced locally by a repairman. Tag Heuer definitely won't sell you just the glass. think about it. IMO it is better to buy from independent watchmakers, cause to them every watch piece is a statement of their company and they want to see every one of them worn and in working condition. tag? they'd probably ask you to buy another one and profit from it or ask you to send it back to them and charge you an arm and leg for it.. my personal 2 cents. think about it and come to your own conclusion.Added on April 6, 2010, 7:06 pm he's bought a watch online before, can't remember where from. but so far no problem, since his is a quartz. only thing is, when the time comes to change his tritium tubes QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Apr 6 2010, 08:53 PM) any unique watch that stands out in a crowd??? range bout 15k? i mean RM... something other that that azimuth space pvd pieces from IWC or Maurice Lacroix maybe, or independent watchmakers such as stowa antea 390 definitely stand out from the crowd. picture in the previous pages. silver face (pictures can't tell you how cool it looks and how it reflects light), blue hands, proven eta workhouse movement, hand made German silver rotor that you only find in the highest end of watches such as A. Lange & Söhne - even used prices start at USD$15k and up.getting a Rolex, Tag, won't make you stand out from the crowd. its common. in the world of sportscars, a Ferrari or Porsche won't make you stand out, but a Zonda or a Noble will. basically that's how I will draw parallels. Rolex=Ferrari, Tag=Porsche. going with a Zonda, just says you're sophisticated, likewise with a Stowa for example. Sure, you can afford a Ferrari, but thats like "me too". Rolex, Tag and major brands are just mass manufactured consumer goods. An insight on Tag's mass manufacturing here: http://www.calibre11.com/calibre-1887-story/#more-2189 The Stowa on the other hand, every piece is made after you've make your order, and they have a waiting list and a watchmaker actually sits down and assemble your watch, and you can even put in custom requests, maybe one with a blued hours hand and black minute hand. This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 7 2010, 03:42 AM |
Apr 7 2010, 10:31 AM
stand out from the crowd can mean 2 things... the watch brand, heritage, way it was put together etc. or how it looks. i wouldn't want it to stand out from the crowd looking like this
![]() that's like... standing out from the crowd for looking like alien..but that's just me. if you want to look different, i think Ball watches do it without being looking too "special" |
Apr 7 2010, 10:53 AM
Apr 8 2010, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 8 2010, 10:55 AM) yeah, the Oris second dial on left is for second..i was refering to the Ball.. second time zone on 24 hour basis, what if there's a second time zone which is off by +3:30 hours?thanks...so we can say that the minute hand in the 2nd dial of the Ball Aviator Dual Time is redundant right? I mean GMT watches shouldnt need 2 separate minute hands? anyway, the summary on technology of the Sinn 857,,, Stainless steel case and bezel with TEGIMENT technology Dehumidifying technology Second time zone on a 24-hour basis Nickel-free case back Magnetic field protection up to 80,000 A / m Captive pilot's bezel with minute ratcheting Sapphire crystal glass with anti-reflective coating on both sides Pressure resistant to 20 bar (= 200 m water depth) Resistant to low pressure at high flight altitudes correct me if i am wrong, but resistant to low pressure at high flight altitudes..isn't it the same as pressure resistance to 20 bar? bar isn't a resistance to water depth but pressure.. the pressure at high altitudes and deep sea diving is the same force and what is TEGIMENT? This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 8 2010, 11:27 AM |
Apr 8 2010, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 8 2010, 04:04 PM) i got 2 poor man's Tissot only ..3-4 years old...quartz....if paste here all the sifus laugh..hahaha.. least you got Tissot, still swiss mah.so i consider my coming purchase to be the first `luxury' item..... too bad...no-one giving me 15k present..haha! Interesting you mention price....that's one of the reason why i am debating on the Ball...the original price is RM..9500..AD will give 30% discount, so it will be selling at around RM 6600. Someone is selling his 1 year old good condition Ball Dual Time for RM4700..if i consider in terms of value....this looks live value for money... Of course the Sinn brand new is about RM5000..... Or is it a case of Ball pricing already too high in first place....i thought Ball watches always value for $? QUOTE(nando @ Apr 8 2010, 05:31 PM) hehehe....at present..the Sinn U1 and 857 impress me..... Out of the choices you mentioned.. I'd lean towards the Sinn U1 SDR on bracelet. In my personal book I'd rank Oris below Sinn and definitely the Omega as a brand, and in terms of case/build/technology & innovation, also below both Sinn and Omega. between PO and U1.. that depends on how much $ you wanna spend. I say go for the Omega and call it a day if you have the cash. if brands don't bother you that much. then Sinn is fine.i also kind of like the Oris i posted..the Limited Edition Hunter although i am also keen on the PO Seamaster.... thought long and hard about the Jean Richard Bressel...decided no for now.... patryn33: thanks for the heads up, so I guess that 0.30 minute market not so vital.. that way I can justify getting a watch with second time zone without minutes hand... Oris Artelier Complication anyone? looks a bit small on the wrist though, even at 40mm This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 8 2010, 09:41 PM |
Apr 8 2010, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 8 2010, 09:42 PM) worth is relative to the person paying the money...to me omega is worth it. rolex isn't when you compare to the omega. simple example (and opening a can of worms). rolex submariner vs omega seamaster co-axial. the omega is cheaper, and if you compare both of these watches side by side, and imagine both were rolex.. which would you choose? on feature alone, the co-axial movement, case, the better bracelet/clasp.. I would choose the seamaster. of course, some people pay for the brand.. |
Apr 8 2010, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(-_- @ Apr 8 2010, 10:44 PM) all current Rolex that I know of uses inhouse movement. submariner uses the robust cal. 3135. usually compared to ETA 2892-A2. both are robust, both are proven, but both are also, well, dated. the Co-Axial by Omega is a big step forward, but the robustness of it remains to be seen over time. but on paper its definitely more "advance".earlier Daytona used Zenith chrono movements...which have now rise in price due to collector status, as current daytona uses Rolex's own movements. This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 8 2010, 11:35 PM |
Apr 9 2010, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(Jr.Koh @ Apr 9 2010, 12:24 AM) that's too fast! must poison him more!Sinn U1 Stealth, Tempus and U1W ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Apr 9 2010, 01:57 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 9 2010, 12:45 AM) then you better be fast. Tempus is a Singapore only piece limited to 250 pieces sold by The Hour Glass. not sure if its carried in Malaysia.i did some reading, and if you are comparing the Ball Mad Cow Hydrocarbon to the U1, for around similar price on bracelet, I think the Ball will come up tops, as the U1 lacks many of Sinn's technology, no special oil for extreme temperature operation, no Ar dehumidifying technology, and only TEGIMENT coating on the bezel. The Ball has the special oil for extreme temperature operation, full titanium construction, and shock resistance. brand and design aside, ball wins. for nando: Ball Hydrocarbon Spacemaster Glow http://www.sg-roc.com/showthread.php?t=38245 |
Apr 9 2010, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 9 2010, 08:11 AM) Oris Artelier Complication? my dad has the older half gold version maybe 15yr old. very light watch. the complication black one looks nice.. got the moonphase..great can tell when my lycanthropy kicks in.what do u like to know... iirc 20yrs ago its was as hot as Pammy today. Added on April 9, 2010, 8:23 am the new movement is better. Read all about it here http://www.watchtime.at/archive/wt_2001_05...2001_05_042.pdf Added on April 9, 2010, 8:54 am Ball Mad Cow Hydrocarbon not all are constructed in titanium right? as for special oil for -40C, not sure how often will one get to use it. I am living in mid west temps do drop -40C with withchill but temp on the watch is certainly not at -40C. I read on WUS/Timezone on some complex reason with heat equation. only way to get it at such temp is to leave the watch out in the cold. anyway for servicing definitely must go back to AD to get the oil. the shock resistance, I had been googling hard a number of times. that high shock resistance is certainly not at GShock level. yet to see anyone swing their golf clubs using it without damage I think. read somewhere some one accidental gave it a hard knock on the rails and it got damaged. anyone know how much real shock can Ball take? eg drop from how many meters on what kind of floor and still running well.. Ball Mad Cow is titanium case and bracelet.. the internals probably not titanium as it is a fully assembled ETA movement. as for dismissing its features, how many of us really go beyond 100m water depth? how many of us actually use the chronograph? a feature over the U1 is a feature over the U1. whether you use it or not is a different story. I merely compared the Ball to the Sinn objectively. Ball claims the shock resistance is 7500Gs (I don't know what 7500Gs are in real life) and its antimagnetic. It doesn't seem the U1 is antimagnetic..another win for Ball. |
Apr 9 2010, 10:36 AM
bro nando, the Ball Mad Cow is ~RM5.8k iirc. brand new.
patryn33: what i wanted to point out is that I was making an objective comparison between the two. whether the feature is used or not is another story and that should be left to the person actually buying/using the watch. can we agree on that? |
Apr 9 2010, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 9 2010, 10:48 AM) i was talking about the SpaceLume...is it same like MAd Cow? (sorry, am only familiar with Aviator series in Ball...).. the price is after discount. spacelume is ~Rm6.8kMAdcow...5.8k retail before usual AD discount right? to be fair...always hear Ball is quality..although never owned one...always praised for finishing, design, quality.. i posted a link earlier..someone selling pre-owned ball sm-lume in singapore.. QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 9 2010, 11:06 AM) Bro that's not all, when you log in with your details (outside EU), price will shown after VAT, so is only EUR166++ yeah.. i've been looking hard at the Stowa Antea 390.. and you don't get the crocodile straps! arghArghhh, why no stock now!!! The problem with Stowa is they included VAT for Malaysia and Singapore buyer |
Apr 15 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 15 2010, 10:43 PM) omega. but more importantly..which watch speaks to you? put them on your wrist and find out.though i prefer the classic SMP w/skeleton hands over the PO.. Daniel Craig still makes me cringe.. Pierce Brosnan This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 15 2010, 11:59 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0440sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:33 AM |