The Watches Thread V1

nando
post Mar 29 2010, 01:50 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 29 2010, 12:35 PM)
less talk.. more pictures..
white face + blue hands really make it for me..
the grail..

the simplistic modern classic..

the seiko beauty.. superb value for money..sadly its "only" 37mm, else i would have jumped on one

anybody got examples for white face + blue hands? something 40mm and above maybe?
Ball Trainmaster Power Reserve?
from
http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/bal...er-reserve.html

or the classy Nomos?

or cheap cheap Parnis?

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 29 2010, 01:56 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
nando
post Mar 29 2010, 05:01 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(romeolee @ Mar 29 2010, 12:17 PM)
waoh.. then that makes me a wife steal if the orange wife you meant is his Tag F1.
heheheeh..dont forget..he `offered' to divorce first...hehehe

ck....to watch lovers...the phrase `kay po kaypo' in a watch shop will always lead to something...

Added on March 29, 2010, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 29 2010, 12:35 PM)
less talk.. more pictures..
white face + blue hands really make it for me..
the grail..

actually, do you guys find a `half' Arab numerical (as in the number being `eaten' up by a sub dial) disturbing? i read that to many watch lovers, this is a no-no..

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 29 2010, 05:03 PM
nando
post Mar 29 2010, 06:06 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(romeolee @ Mar 29 2010, 05:47 PM)
haha.. here is a wrist shot i took this morning..  brows.gif

nice pic..! suits you very well..

(although i dont like your avatar)..hehehhe
nando
post Mar 30 2010, 09:33 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(zajun80 @ Mar 30 2010, 08:10 AM)
Hai guys, anyone knew the current price for this tag heuer F1 model
and where can I buy with very very best price in K.L

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

p/s
the best offer right now I get is rm28xx
from Wxxx Txxx.
if you're willing to try out online purchase..you can save 400-500 ringgit maybe
check out this site...
http://www.authenticwatches.com/tag-heuer-...113-ba0850.html

i got no personal experience on authenticwatches.com..so you might need to google yourself to search for buyer experience...
.also got several sites selling Tags...

i guess if you buy from local AD, the RM400-500 ringgit gives you the opportunity to see, touch, try and check the watch extra carefully before committing....

nando
post Mar 30 2010, 02:42 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 30 2010, 09:23 AM)
well... shock protection does not protect against such drop lah.. at most it a drop at waist level on oak floor, not teak.
Drop a Rolex and U may find the same thing happening! heck.. even Rolex's famous steel do rust!

BR3-51 - US$5K (very likely ETA 2893 but according to their website its adjusted to 4 position guess its Elaboré grade but they do more regulating)
IWC Portuguese Chronograph - US$6.8K on caliber 79350 (mod 7750)
Omega PO - ~US$3.9k

my vote goes to Omega for $$, value, design.. if $$ not of concern... IWC

IWC resale value not that great... preown sold for ~SGD$5K.
http://www.visiotime.com/index.php?page=Pr...tDetail&id=3735
omega for me too... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 30 2010, 02:47 PM
nando
post Mar 30 2010, 08:11 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 30 2010, 06:31 PM)
its temporary for 1 yr, then its going up again next yr... haha... biggrin.gif

Added on March 30, 2010, 6:36 pm
interesting looking watch, sure catch ppl attention, forgive me some ppl might kind SWATCH looking... even if it retails at ~RM$17.5k

Added on March 30, 2010, 6:41 pm
well.. some say no need licensed as the copyright more accurate patent to ETA 2824/2892/7750 has expired (iirc only last 20yrs) and anyone can make it.

indeed i still got much to learn in horology..
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Attached ImageAttached ImageAttached ImageAttached Image
nando
post Mar 31 2010, 01:43 PM

1,650 posts

dont think its ck..

look similiar to this ...no? hmm.gif
http://www.sg-roc.com/showthread.php?t=37833

watch is purchased from authenticwatches.com it seems (can see on the warranty card)

and if same person, he is offering it for sale in Singdollar 2850, which is about 6600...

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 31 2010, 01:46 PM
nando
post Mar 31 2010, 10:04 PM

1,650 posts

100 pages people! We've come a long way in poisoning, sharing, discussing, asking, !!

Added on March 31, 2010, 10:08 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 31 2010, 09:06 PM)
interesting debate....

i think lume war shouldnt be generalised but categorised..

what shines brightest may not be the longest,
or what shine the longest may not be the brightest...

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 31 2010, 10:09 PM
nando
post Apr 5 2010, 11:52 PM

1,650 posts

congrats, wear in good health..

when it comes to timepiece..everyone has different strokes...which explains why there are so many themes and designs out there...

most important..you...the owner will still gets excited and pleased when looking at it!
nando
post Apr 6 2010, 08:21 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Jr.Koh @ Apr 6 2010, 12:46 AM)
terence, I'll let the picture do the talking and poisoning tongue.gif Its not chrono though.
[attachmentid=1513391]
wooooh......... brows.gif brows.gif
mind telling me what's the damage after discount?
nando
post Apr 7 2010, 09:19 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Apr 7 2010, 09:16 AM)
tot of seamaster b4,, thats planet ocean rite?? bt omega is like a "i-have-this-too" watch... that corum is sumthing... keep it coming. poison me~ btw, thx patryn33
i think omega is `i have this too---do you have one? brows.gif brows.gif ' kind of watch.... biggrin.gif
nando
post Apr 7 2010, 02:09 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Apr 7 2010, 09:22 AM)
lolz.... i dont... dad has it... im here looking for a watch as my graduation gift.... nando.. any sugg?
if i were you? depends....i assume this is college graduation? what will your next job be?
if it involve active lifestyle, outgoing, adventure...
15k can go for 2 Sinns...great value for money, great technology....
Its not a rolex, IWC or Panerai...but its a good brand...German technology at its best...

Sure gain attention without being too wacky....people see sure say `ACHTUNG!'

A Sinn diver..U1, U2, and the other U series
http://www.watchandclockforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=3157

A Sinn Flyer..
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=158765

A Sinn dressy..
http://forums.watchnet.com/index.php?t=tre...to=353609&rid=0

check out Damasko too...

nando
post Apr 7 2010, 05:45 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(staticxtreme @ Apr 7 2010, 03:43 PM)
hi guys, wanna check. who brings in TW Steel to Malaysia? Or which brand to recommend for big faced watches if budget from 2-5k ?

IF your `big' is >42mm, then quite plenty of choices...

The Sinn U1, 44mm is slightly below 5k if on line

Many of Oris big diver watches will also be below 5k...Oris also has a limited edition Hunter Aviation watch 47mm if not mistaken...

Ball Aviator 46mm is < 4k

German Pilot watches Steinhart, Archimede also has 44mm and above versions, for less than 4k...

Added on April 7, 2010, 5:46 pm
QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Apr 7 2010, 12:21 PM)
where can i find Louis Erad watches in Klang Valley? Seems like they belong to the affordable Swiss luxury group..and their designs are not bad
yes, patryn showed one couple pages back...retrograde modern design..still drooling over it till today...

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 7 2010, 05:53 PM
nando
post Apr 7 2010, 10:21 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(staticxtreme @ Apr 7 2010, 09:44 PM)
wah look expensive man..
where to get the sinn in malaysia?
also for oris any nice model to intro around my budget for big face? around 45mm ish there la.
btw i prefer clean cut ts steel like watchse, not too cluttered on the face like that kinda design  actually.
you quoted 2-5k?? all the models shown is less than 5k i believe...

sinn in Malaysia is sold by After Hours..you can take a look and check it out...but much cheaper to buy online...

Oris? check out yourself on oris website or oris grey sellers...plenty of photos...

nando
post Apr 7 2010, 10:30 PM

1,650 posts

guys...need your advice

which one will you go for?

Brand New Sinn 857

43mm...about RM 5200-5300

vs a used Ball Aviator Dual Time,
Brand New Retail RM9500, i think after discount 30% brand new is RM 6200...found out from a friend someone willing to let go a piece...almost one year, condition very good, no scratch, at RM4700

If lume, sure Ball will win...
But the Sinn looks very fierce also...
both got 2nd time, although use different mechanism
Appreciate advice and input...

pictures from
http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/ori...-dual-time.html

http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/ger...sinn-857-a.html

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 7 2010, 10:31 PM
nando
post Apr 7 2010, 10:33 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 7 2010, 10:31 PM)
where is After Hours located? can't find it in yellow pages
Lot 10 has one...heard that they have Sinns for display there...

Oris can get 30%, some even top another 5%...if interested, pm me, i let you know a shop in KL can give such discount..

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 7 2010, 10:33 PM
nando
post Apr 8 2010, 07:48 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Apr 7 2010, 10:30 PM)
guys...need your advice

which one will you go for?

Brand New Sinn 857

43mm...about RM 5200-5300
vs a used Ball Aviator Dual Time,
Brand New Retail RM9500, i think after discount 30% brand new is RM 6200...found out from a friend someone willing to let go a piece...almost one year, condition very good, no scratch, at RM4700

If lume, sure Ball will win...
But the Sinn looks very fierce also...
both got 2nd time, although use different mechanism
Appreciate advice and input...
pictures from
http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/ori...-dual-time.html

http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/ger...sinn-857-a.html
'

all experts..especially those already in watch hobby for long time....any comments/advice...

(i only recently got interested in watches...no real ownership experience of major Swiss brands yet...)..

Added on April 8, 2010, 7:50 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 7 2010, 10:31 PM)
where is After Hours located? can't find it in yellow pages

i'd go with Sinn. only because of the looks. i don't consider technical aspects. my preference is a tool watch or a military or a diver. i don't like the ball logo on the second hand but the tritium sure looks yummy. final vote, Sinn

BTW, not sure about the technical side of the Sinn. read somewhere that the U2 (with the GMT) has argon gas in it. IF, this Sinn has similar feature (i'm assuming this since both have a GMT hand), then i think it will be a problem to service it, right?
thanks.....good point...

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 8 2010, 07:50 AM
nando
post Apr 8 2010, 07:55 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 8 2010, 07:34 AM)
they are in fact within your budget.
oh.. didn't know u looking for clean dial TW Watch as they are mostly chrono and all chrono tend to cluttered the face.

Sinn???  not sure U can get it at your budget with 45mm size. iirc they have nothing beyond 44mm.
sinn U1 is within your budget but its 44mm, sinn 656 are small at 39mm, 657 is at 41mm also small
856 is also small at 40mm
http://www.watchbuys.com/store/pc/sinnwatches.asp
http://www.sinnwatches.com/products.php?cat=3

ORIS FLIGHT TIMER is small at 42mm, the chrono is very cluttered.
the diver below is at 44mm. else this ORIS TT1 DIVERS DATE is also at 44mm
I was thinking of Oris Aviation Hunter...Limited Edition...
but its slightly larger....47mm...and not sure if you'll fancy the 9 marker being half eaten up by second dial..

patryn..would love to hear your opinion on the Ball vs Sinn i posted 1-2 pages ago....but knowing you, you'll probably ask me to consider the movement...

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 8 2010, 08:04 AM
nando
post Apr 8 2010, 08:29 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 8 2010, 08:15 AM)
clean dial.. 46mm... fits his budget very nicely. only thing is its base off 2836... mode the date/day thing for the GMT hand. cheap way of doing it.
http://www.authenticwatches.com/oris-swiss...YEk+index.html+

Ball vs Sinn? Sinn of course... even without the Diapal escapement the innovations put into the case is more value for money.
of course entry level Sinn u don;t find much tech in their Case for that.. maybe a Ball cause of light tubes
else for entry level sinn without fancy Case design I would go for a Guinand, since they did make those basic Sinn watches at 1 pt.
thanks...one more question

the second time zone in the Ball Aviator Dual time i posted...the minute hand is redundant right? meaning the minute hand of the 2nd time zone will always be the same with the minute hand of the main dial right? hmm.gif I check all pictures of this watch and find that the minute hand of both time zones are same...

Which is why normally for dual time zone watches, they have 2 hour hands and share the same minute hands right?

nando
post Apr 8 2010, 10:55 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 8 2010, 08:43 AM)
the subdial on the left is the seconds.
timezone also differ by the hour never by the minute. thats why they always have a hour hand.
yeah, the Oris second dial on left is for second..i was refering to the Ball..

thanks...so we can say that the minute hand in the 2nd dial of the Ball Aviator Dual Time is redundant right? I mean GMT watches shouldnt need 2 separate minute hands?

anyway, the summary on technology of the Sinn 857,,,
Stainless steel case and bezel with TEGIMENT technology
Dehumidifying technology
Second time zone on a 24-hour basis
Nickel-free case back
Magnetic field protection up to 80,000 A / m
Captive pilot's bezel with minute ratcheting
Sapphire crystal glass with anti-reflective coating on both sides
Pressure resistant to 20 bar (= 200 m water depth)
Resistant to low pressure at high flight altitudes

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 8 2010, 11:17 AM

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:18 PM