Business Premise License, Do I need to apply for this??
TSexploda
Dec 12 2008, 09:55 PM, updated 17y ago

Hi All,
Would need some clarity on this issue. I've set up a company and planning to have an office in PJ. It's a corporate office with no sign boards and it's not a retail. Do I still need to apply for a business premise license from MBPJ? I'm confused coz some of my frens (corporate office) did not apply for this whereas some did. Please advice.
mtsen
Dec 12 2008, 10:29 PM
if u want to put up a board then u need. else no need.
Added on December 12, 2008, 10:30 pmjust to be sure, you still need a proper license from SSM
This post has been edited by mtsen: Dec 12 2008, 10:30 PM
TSexploda
Dec 12 2008, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(mtsen @ Dec 12 2008, 10:29 PM) if u want to put up a board then u need. else no need. Added on December 12, 2008, 10:30 pmjust to be sure, you still need a proper license from SSM Thanks for the feedback. I already registered with SSM.
Canon_Ixus
Dec 12 2008, 11:51 PM
Even if its an office, don't you need a small signboard showing your company name? Not sure if you need a license for this though
TSexploda
Dec 13 2008, 01:16 AM

QUOTE(Canon_Ixus @ Dec 12 2008, 11:51 PM) Even if its an office, don't you need a small signboard showing your company name? Not sure if you need a license for this though That's the thing. Some of my frens said it is not needed since we are not conducting any transaction on the premise. My business is advertising and promotion. All transaction via bank and not cash. Some said I still need it since I put that so called signboard outside my office floor. So I'm somewhat confused. Worst case is I storm down MBPJ office and ask them once and for all. These things should be up on their website as reference man. Wasting my time. So called E-government. Government with grade E got la. Haha just venting up my anger. Sorry.
Canon_Ixus
Dec 13 2008, 02:21 AM
QUOTE(exploda @ Dec 13 2008, 01:16 AM) That's the thing. Some of my frens said it is not needed since we are not conducting any transaction on the premise. My business is advertising and promotion. All transaction via bank and not cash. Some said I still need it since I put that so called signboard outside my office floor. So I'm somewhat confused. Worst case is I storm down MBPJ office and ask them once and for all. These things should be up on their website as reference man. Wasting my time. So called E-government. Government with grade E got la. Haha just venting up my anger. Sorry. I know your frustration. Even a call to them would make you puke blood. But i see small signboards do not have the license number below them. Perhaps not needed to register, and placed by the doorway, not on the main external wall.
TSexploda
Dec 13 2008, 03:24 AM

QUOTE(Canon_Ixus @ Dec 13 2008, 02:21 AM) I know your frustration. Even a call to them would make you puke blood. But i see small signboards do not have the license number below them. Perhaps not needed to register, and placed by the doorway, not on the main external wall. I certainly hope so. Retailers must have a business license, that I know. Anyway, once I find out the answer, will post here for reference. Thanks.  Added on December 18, 2008, 9:23 pmHi guys, Just want to re-affirm this. So as long as you do not have a sign board, you don't need to apply for the premise/iklan license. If your company (even just a corporate office) wants to have the signboard display outside the building, then have to apply. Else, it is not necessary. This post has been edited by exploda: Dec 18 2008, 09:23 PM
hyumi
Aug 11 2015, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(exploda @ Dec 13 2008, 03:24 AM) I certainly hope so. Retailers must have a business license, that I know. Anyway, once I find out the answer, will post here for reference. Thanks.  Added on December 18, 2008, 9:23 pmHi guys, Just want to re-affirm this. So as long as you do not have a sign board, you don't need to apply for the premise/iklan license. If your company (even just a corporate office) wants to have the signboard display outside the building, then have to apply. Else, it is not necessary. Hi, do you have any reference from the municipal to show that if there is no display of signboard then its not necessary to apply for a license? Recently, MPSJ is going around checking on offices stating that we need a License Pejabat Pengurusan. We dont have a signboard outside the building and have not heard anything bout such license.
straw
Mar 15 2017, 03:53 PM

Hi, any new rule from MPSJ to renew lesen perniagaan dan iklan.
"Salinan / Lakaran Pelan Lantai Premis" = Do we need certified arkitek to draw the plan? Those must see arkitek chop?
Recently nearby shop want go renew lesen, the runner said need certify arkitek for shop floor plan. The fees to draw the plan = RM2K. So they come ask see can get group price.
Earlier month, we renew, we used those plan copy from developer floor plan.
This post has been edited by straw: Mar 15 2017, 03:54 PM
ywk12345
Mar 15 2017, 06:03 PM
Hi all, my office is in Second floor of the shop lot, and we do not have any signboard, do we still require to register MBPJ premise license and signboard license?
NightHeart
Mar 15 2017, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(ywk12345 @ Mar 15 2017, 06:03 PM) Hi all, my office is in Second floor of the shop lot, and we do not have any signboard, do we still require to register MBPJ premise license and signboard license? I'd say yes, apply under the category of "Pejabat Urusan" aka office. It's inexpensive, should be less than RM2k per year i.e. RM100+ per month. So just apply la, at least can sleep & work peacefully.
ywk12345
Mar 16 2017, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(NightHeart @ Mar 15 2017, 06:05 PM) I'd say yes, apply under the category of "Pejabat Urusan" aka office. It's inexpensive, should be less than RM2k per year i.e. RM100+ per month. So just apply la, at least can sleep & work peacefully. Well my office kena sport check by MBPJ, kena Saman d  before i was in KL and no need to register business license. now otw to register license
NightHeart
Mar 16 2017, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(ywk12345 @ Mar 16 2017, 03:54 PM) Well my office kena sport check by MBPJ, kena Saman d  before i was in KL and no need to register business license. now otw to register license You did something to piss off your neighbor ka?  2nd floor & no signboard, they usually won't bother going up to check...Unless they receive tip-off or really actively la lately. As far as I know, those carpark officers are the really active la these recent years. Our govt memang no money already, need to saman to earn a bit. Sorry for your loss though, but you mind sharing how much is the saman?
ywk12345
Mar 16 2017, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(NightHeart @ Mar 16 2017, 04:24 PM) You did something to piss off your neighbor ka?  2nd floor & no signboard, they usually won't bother going up to check...Unless they receive tip-off or really actively la lately. As far as I know, those carpark officers are the really active la these recent years. Our govt memang no money already, need to saman to earn a bit. Sorry for your loss though, but you mind sharing how much is the saman? Maybe I keep complain First Floor owner too dirty  (1st floor is Kitchen, they open mixed rice in Ground Floor), and then revenge to me  Saman RM1000, jst now go to appeal, they said will contact me within 2 week, hopefully at the end no need pay single cent
NightHeart
Mar 16 2017, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(ywk12345 @ Mar 16 2017, 04:59 PM) Maybe I keep complain First Floor owner too dirty  (1st floor is Kitchen, they open mixed rice in Ground Floor), and then revenge to me  Saman RM1000, jst now go to appeal, they said will contact me within 2 week, hopefully at the end no need pay single cent  Lol, already operating illegally should lay low la...don't be so fierce  Usually appeal leads to discount only, not fully write off.
babychai
Mar 19 2017, 12:57 AM
QUOTE(RO Player @ Aug 26 2015, 10:32 AM) if online biz...do i need to apply to SSM??  but with postal physical product...i notice many doesnt apply for that... online biz also need to register with SSM and declare in your income tax
cataluna2k
Sep 5 2017, 07:28 PM
Apparently there is a new ruling in DBKL that all premises need to be licenced. All these while, BP licence only for those that has frontage, not for those having signboards in a building. This starts on Oct 1st 2016 and now wants to saman everyone who didnt know about such ruling. May I know if anyone received such saman?
GC 2014
Mar 25 2019, 11:54 AM
anybody familiar with Lesen perniagaan application with MPPJ ? i am wonder what types of activities can be conducted in : 1) Loft office 2) office
any web-link can advise ? thanks
doremon
Mar 20 2024, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(cataluna2k @ Sep 5 2017, 07:28 PM) Apparently there is a new ruling in DBKL that all premises need to be licenced. All these while, BP licence only for those that has frontage, not for those having signboards in a building. This starts on Oct 1st 2016 and now wants to saman everyone who didnt know about such ruling. May I know if anyone received such saman? DBKL is now giving out fines in Mont Kiara office area. Just got fined RM2k for not having a Business Premise License but we didn't even know we needed one. My boss really upset and won't pay the fine because DBKL didn't tell us about it officially. Can they do that? What happens if we just ignore the fine? Could they shut down our office, even though it's my boss's personal property?
Rinth
Mar 20 2024, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(doremon @ Mar 20 2024, 02:09 PM) DBKL is now giving out fines in Mont Kiara office area. Just got fined RM2k for not having a Business Premise License but we didn't even know we needed one. My boss really upset and won't pay the fine because DBKL didn't tell us about it officially. Can they do that? What happens if we just ignore the fine? Could they shut down our office, even though it's my boss's personal property? every businesses need to apply with the local authorities for business license..where can say DBKL no inform....is like Sdn Bhd need to do audit, does SSM come and tell business owner and give briefing? tell your boss fined RM 2k is cheap edi because if example the office was setup 20 years ago, license average RM 500 per years your boss would have paid RM 10k over 20 years edi...now just fined RM 2k is worth liao loh..... This post has been edited by Rinth: Mar 20 2024, 02:14 PM