Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread v3, Share your joy and your pain here

myxery
post Dec 23 2008, 11:04 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

hi, a new ALU MB user here, there are lotsa thing need to know, wer can i refer to?
myxery
post Dec 23 2008, 03:45 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

as far i notice there is some dock icon add-on called "Float" which be use with candy bar to change the icon appearance make the blue/purple ring underneath. Can i use the Float without Candy Bar?. Is it any manual mod without the existence of Candy Bar? Mind to enlight me?

This post has been edited by myxery: Dec 23 2008, 03:46 PM
myxery
post Dec 27 2008, 01:46 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

me too just bought my new alu mb few days ago... now still learning... 250GB seems not enough since mac osx apps mostly come in big size. Now 133GB left after install iWork, Office08, PS CS3, etc2.
myxery
post Dec 31 2008, 04:42 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 31 2008, 03:34 PM)
The beauty of aluminium unibody, besides being carved from a single block, is also it helps dispersing heat from conduction through its body to the surrounding air via convection. Your unibody shell acts like a giant heatsink, and wrapping it with any kind of plastic or layers of thin plastic negates this capability or severely degrades it. Sure, everyone wants to protect their beloved purchases, but do so at a common-sensical approach. The white plastic Macbook, you can wrap it with whatever casing, or Invisibleshield, it does not affect its heat dispersal method, since plastic does not conduct heat away, and its main approach towards conducting heat away is via the vents.

All I'm saying it I know we all want our beloved portable to be protected from scratches, but sometimes dont realise that by doing so, has detrimental consequences on its intended properties, in this case, its heat dispersal properties.
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 31 2008, 03:44 PM)
It may not kill it, but it degrades its heat dispersal efficiency. Your fans will work harder to disperse the heat via convection from the vents due to the trapped heat unable to excape from your wrapped Macbook.

People complain that their MBPs are hot when put on the lap while they work on them, but that heat, IMO, is good, because it is a good sign that your unibody shell is WORKING in conducting the heat using the unibody shell to the surroundings. Just make sure the "surrounding" hereĀ  is not your delicate thighs/skin. The heat conduction from the metal shell will convect to the volume of air around the shell, and with moving air (either house fan or air conditioning) moving this convected hot air away, the continuous cycle of cooling air helps bring the temperature down.

You see, heat is not a problem to those in temperate countries in the US or Europe, so InvisibleShield works for them without detrimental effects. Here in the tropics, it is already hot and stuffy, and you want to wrap your already hot and stuffy MBP with more stuffier material? Imagine wearing leather jackets in Malaysia, that is how your MBP is feeling right now.
you sounded pretty much like an engineer thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by myxery: Dec 31 2008, 04:43 PM
myxery
post Dec 31 2008, 05:11 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 31 2008, 04:50 PM)
Nope, I still remember my science and physics class lessons in high school. tongue.gif

Although I do deal with heat dispersal and heat induction during my days at work.
high school mana ada ajar conduction / convection heat transfer... tu blajar kat U.. especially for engineers n science students... bleh jd eng la plak string
myxery
post Jan 5 2009, 04:59 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Jan 5 2009, 01:54 PM)
wat keyboard protector u used there?

This post has been edited by myxery: Jan 5 2009, 05:00 PM
myxery
post Jan 5 2009, 10:41 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 5 2009, 06:06 PM)
Ello peeps. I just got my MacBook Pro. Very new to this Mac experience.
welkam to MY Apple community bro
myxery
post Jan 5 2009, 11:27 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 5 2009, 11:05 PM)
Thankz. I'm only using it for only a few hours and i am already loving it. Love the trackpad.

BTW, whats a good .rar uncompresser program? And what BT client do you guys recommend? I saw someone say uTorrent before. I am downloading it. Going to use it. But its in beta. Want something a bit more stable. Anyone any recommendations?
try UnRarX, i tot Transmission quite stable for torrent oso, but never use before. For download manager use Speed Download.

This post has been edited by myxery: Jan 5 2009, 11:28 PM
myxery
post Jan 10 2009, 11:30 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

my MB keybod n track pad suddenly not working after boot, green led on cap lock failed to lights up, i just cant login. any1 experienced this before? what shud i do? xternal mouse oso not working rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by myxery: Jan 10 2009, 11:31 PM
myxery
post Jan 12 2009, 11:05 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jan 11 2009, 08:33 AM)
Yes, I have the same problem when I tried to install a certain "Fix/patched" software.
At first, I thought its a hardware problem, but when I use my DVD to boot the Mac, it seems all the functions are working fine.
Tried to reset the PRAM but still unsuccessful.

Since I'm using a Time Machine, I restored to the last backup (which works).
It wasted the whole night to restore the Mac but *phew* I managed to get my Mac working back.... thumbup.gif
i just "Install And Archieve" this morning, its took abt 30 mins to complete, so far everything seems OK. In summary, pls dun apply that particular "Fix/patched". Using external USB hub will be better. laugh.gif
myxery
post Jan 12 2009, 04:52 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jan 12 2009, 12:56 PM)
Are you using TC or have a complete backup on a normal HDD?
i'm using Mac OSX Install DVD

Added on January 12, 2009, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 12 2009, 12:29 PM)
Whats RS?
it's Rapid Share

This post has been edited by myxery: Jan 12 2009, 04:53 PM
myxery
post Jan 13 2009, 08:17 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jan 12 2009, 07:40 PM)
Is that a fresh install or via a backup?
it is new install (re-install) but your old data, settings, apps will remain/untouched. All u need to do is update your system again, thats all, everything working great after that.

This post has been edited by myxery: Jan 13 2009, 08:18 AM
myxery
post Jan 13 2009, 02:24 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 13 2009, 01:41 PM)
the only source i have is from the battery thread hehehe tongue.gif. as for myself, i hate to plug out the battery bcuz of magsafe. too easy to get accidentally detached tongue.gif. happened a few times before
congrats on your new machine! biggrin.gif. for your PC games, bootcamp is the way to go. just install windows xp and strip out all the useless stuff. use winxp JUST to play ur games. and its a bad idea to mention ur rm7 games here on the internet tongue.gif i dont know about the AIA website, but did u try firefox for that?
according to string, DHL Malaysia website oso not Safari friendly.. laugh.gif
myxery
post Jan 14 2009, 09:15 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 14 2009, 12:13 AM)
haha yeah worry ~ before deciding which to get MBA or MBP haha
No worries will do~
THanks for the info smile.gif
fast2 get a Mac! thumbup.gif
myxery
post Jan 15 2009, 10:18 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(d3lia5 @ Jan 15 2009, 09:29 AM)
how i'm going to find the torrent source for mac. i'm not a serious downloader but if i need something, i will go for torrent. before this, mininova is my favorite. i know there will show some mac files to download at mininova but perhaps it would be easier if we have the website torrent source dedicate for mac. (if it doesn't, maybe mostly mac user download it there)

Added on January 15, 2009, 9:48 amquestion again, how to use file .rar or .zip with mac?
*.zip files are automatically extracted upon completion of download but for *.rar files u need UnrarX
myxery
post Feb 6 2009, 04:05 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Feb 6 2009, 12:09 PM)
hey guys..

My WD book 1TB is always connected to PC..
Now that i got my mac..in my mac i can't delete any files..
I check "get info" and i see my permissions is read only..
From what i googled..its because its in NTFS format right..
I have to format to FAT32 right..

But the data inside so much ler..
I can't seem to back them up..1TB ler..

Any other choices?
i'm using NTFS-3G, works flawlessly
myxery
post May 4 2009, 10:29 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ May 3 2009, 06:36 PM)
having the same problem.. mine is especially noticeable on the "spacebar".. sad.gif
hahaha.. me too, normally i just wipe it off with clean cloth
myxery
post May 11 2009, 12:19 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ May 10 2009, 10:43 AM)
i switched at the end of feb. got the alubook, at that time i installed boot camp (just in case). to be honest, i only booted in vista to play games and update my E71's firmware. other than that, never did. when i upgraded my hard disk recently, i never installed vista or xp. i guess i got used to Mac OS already. you just need to spend a couple of days playing around with it and you will get the hang of it. now when i use windows, it feels alien to me.hahah
wah ur lucky if your wife does not read thisĀ  smile.gif
when i use windows laptop, alway scrolling using 2-fingers n nothing happen, becomes habit ade doh.gif

This post has been edited by myxery: May 11 2009, 12:19 PM
myxery
post May 12 2009, 08:18 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

hapa,

IINM --> If I Not Mistaken
myxery
post May 13 2009, 09:34 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(eliyazar @ May 12 2009, 06:21 PM)
can someone explain about the battery cycle and the battery life ?? currently my battery cycles is 14 and my battery life is 98%..can someone help me ? thx a lot
i tot this issue has been discussed before, pls search around the forum icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(diners @ May 12 2009, 08:17 PM)
yes! i'm facing the same thing! my college's computer all running Windows XP with a stupid mouse. I can't really use the mouse and the system.
Like for example :
1, the scroll ball not as sensitive as apple's (or maybe its already old?)
2, i wanna see all apps in one time also cannot. need to open tab-by-tab. damn mafan.
3, the command key (windows' CTRL key) is not located at the same place. so everytime i press, i'll press ALT =='
4, overall its not as efficient as Mac OS X. so everytime in student lounge (where i use the school computer) also got hear ppl nagging one, which is me ==' like "why so slow one?", "eh! why lag liao ar?", "shit, i forget how to use this ler"
yeah, i kinda facing the same problem too. shut down abit slow if on too many days. and start up also abit slow than last time. but i check liao the startup applications, only iTunes helper is going to run when startup. others apps not runnig wor.
hmm, i'm not facing this problem. maybe is the workmanship. that day the better working man off day. haha. jkjk.
futhermore, in Firefox (windows) always tend to use Alt+T to open new Tab laugh.gif

0.0371sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:39 PM