Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread v3, Share your joy and your pain here

allvin
post Dec 14 2008, 04:02 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(blu3_apple @ Dec 14 2008, 01:50 AM)
ideas on what software to replace microsoft office ? im using iWork '08 but trial period is ending soon , grrr .. i need something free that is ! to create .doc files, open word files, and powerpoint presentation files... but i doubt theres anything good out there that is free !
got. neo office, opensource. http://www.neooffice.org/neojava/en/index.php
allvin
post Dec 28 2008, 11:52 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Dec 28 2008, 11:17 PM)
any recommend program such as winrar for mac?
wan something easy and lite..
try unrarx (google it icon_rolleyes.gif ) it is open source and i found it is better than stuffit. Some rar with encrypted password can't be extracted via stuffit but unrarx no problem
allvin
post Jan 2 2009, 09:53 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Jan 2 2009, 07:54 PM)
hoo tengs wink.gif
VLC Media player should able to play any kind of format.
except rm/rmvb whistling.gif
allvin
post Jan 4 2009, 09:51 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 4 2009, 01:48 PM)
Hmm. Can someone explain iWorks to me in more detail? Like how microsoft office documents can directly work with iWorks? And does iWorks documents work with microsoft office? And does it require any file conversions?
basically it just import and export. and besides, there some formatting issue. so for serious work, i would suggest go for microsoft office instead. wink.gif
allvin
post Jan 5 2009, 02:00 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 4 2009, 11:11 PM)
Just for normal college usage should suffice right?

I will be ordering my MacBook Pro tomorrow. Woot. Joining the bandwagon.
err if the formatting run-off, please rmb don't sceam lo tongue.gif i think u can try NeoOffice (open source office or ms office better) *just my suggestion wink.gif
allvin
post Jan 6 2009, 09:27 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 6 2009, 09:25 PM)
I mean i expected it to suck the CD in when i insert part of it into the disc slot. But it doesnt seem to. Need me to push the CD all the way in. I dint push it all the way in. Scared later its stuck.
err of cos you need to push bah. sleep.gif
allvin
post Jan 7 2009, 10:39 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Jan 7 2009, 10:13 AM)
I know that taking out the battery is a myth but my mbp's MAH is dropping very fast w AC on. Most people i know their MAH is quite good with the normal battery care.. Maybe my battery is faulty sad.gif

Jialat, i changed it before summore..
huh.. u should go apple store and have a checkup. Seriously, if you everyday using AC, the battery last longer.
allvin
post Jan 8 2009, 08:44 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Hinika @ Jan 8 2009, 03:12 PM)
Intel GMA X3100 can handle photoshop or illustrator cs3  ? or it's depend more on ram ?
YES. even adobe cs4 run without problem. and YES again, it depend on ram unless working on 3D application
allvin
post Jan 9 2009, 05:03 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 9 2009, 11:29 AM)
I see. I think i will stick with XP. Vista nothing that much also. Hehe.

Added on January 9, 2009, 11:39 amUmm. What does it mean when it says my startup disc is full?
it means your current partition is almost full. ask you to clean some space up wink.gif
allvin
post Jan 9 2009, 09:10 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 9 2009, 05:34 PM)
How can that be? Its not remotely full. And it asks me to delete stuff halfway through downloading iworks09.
Of cos, it is not full la (else i dono how your system will be lulz) but your diskspace very little. It just give 'warning msg' to you. wink.gif

QUOTE(Hinika @ Jan 9 2009, 07:32 PM)
hey all macbook users,
the macbook white 2.1 was come with 2*512mb stick rite.
then wat about the 2.4 version? it come with 1*2GB or 2*1GB of ram stick ?
of cos it is 2x 1GB ram. Cos you need two sticks of RAM.
allvin
post Jan 11 2009, 02:20 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Jan 11 2009, 03:47 AM)
I have bad connection with uTorrent. Can't even download at all. Port forward seems all done but still not working.
Discover that certain users had this problem too. They did mention "Transmission" apps for Torrent.
I download it and try, walla! everything seems fast. I think there's a problem with beta uTorrent.
Why don't you give a try on Transmission.
nope i don't have problem with utorrent (mac version). i bet it must be your screamyx problem. rolleyes.gif
allvin
post Jan 12 2009, 11:36 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jan 11 2009, 02:46 PM)
bro.. what's the speed you normally get?
hmm 20-40kbps is my normal speed. due to screamyx, that why i seldom use torrent. normally use rs rolleyes.gif

allvin
post Jan 13 2009, 10:16 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(calibre @ Jan 13 2009, 05:42 PM)
When I try to surf the AIA website, what I get is :

"  Currently AIA Corporate Web does not support web browsers other than Microsoft Internet Explorer."

I have tried FireFox but to no avail.
Guess there are sites that is not compatible with Mac Os but it's a small matter.

I seem to have no problem assessing the DHL Malaysia Website.
well, the website is using m$ activeX. That's why.. even in firefox(win), it also can't load unless install 3rd-party plugin. Sadly activeX only for windows. And i found that majority of our gov or local site using active X. sleep.gif

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jan 13 2009, 09:58 PM)
today is the day for "special 1-day shopping event"
Would hope Apple online store provide good surprise!

Anyway if i would like to use bootcamp...am i able to use "ahem" cd to install? or do i need original windows XP/vista?

thanks mate!
of cos can use aherm la. lulz. why can't le? whistling.gif
allvin
post Jan 14 2009, 09:25 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(d3lia5 @ Jan 14 2009, 04:44 PM)
sorry for the number 5 - it supposed to be VLC smile.gif
btw, i like i use to do with my current lappy, i download the cracked all the games from torrent like.. diner dash or any..

i use adobe photoshop and dreamweaver a lot. sometimes doing codes with php. i just wanna ask can i just simply install the mysql and apache?

definitely not going to use ASP.Net environment with MAC but PHP more friendly. help me on programming side, is it ok with MAC
Well, seems like noone here tell you that you CAN'T RUN windows app/games (.exe) on the mac os. Mac os is abit like linux, using its own software. So whatever you dl those .exe, it can't be run. UNLESS you install windows lulz (via bootcamp or some virtualization software), which defeat the whole purpose here. Have a deep thought about it. If you 90% time on windows, better stop get a mac.

back to your topic, adobe? no problem, it just like normal app in windows. But you need get Mac version of Adobe (usually in .dmg). For setting up mysql, you can use MAMP software if you want to avoid tedious manual installation.

ASP? Sorry. Just keep in mind that ASP.NET is only for windows. No other platform support. If you work with ASP, you just need windows for that.

The only thing you need to worry about are gaming and software development side. Those two areas won''t support in mac os.
allvin
post Jan 19 2009, 10:37 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jan 18 2009, 09:10 PM)
Finally managed to install the BT drivers. The drivers are in the Mac OSX DVD which comes with the MB. You can't update the driver via the Windows automatically detection method. You have to manually access the DVD (probably via window explorer) and select the BT driver manually. It's an .exe file and upon executing the file, the BT driver is automatically installed.
really? huh, i have no problem with that. just install the driver from dvd 1. that's all.
allvin
post Jan 24 2009, 12:10 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 23 2009, 11:52 PM)
Is there an option to set the macbook so that it doesnt shut down when i close the lid?
err shut down? huh.. it never shut down, just sleep mode when u close the lid.
allvin
post Feb 6 2009, 02:50 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Feb 6 2009, 12:09 PM)
hey guys..

My WD book 1TB is always connected to PC..
Now that i got my mac..in my mac i can't delete any files..
I check "get info" and i see my permissions is read only..
From what i googled..its because its in NTFS format right..
I have to format to FAT32 right..

But the data inside so much ler..
I can't seem to back them up..1TB ler..

Any other choices?
go find paragon NTFS for mac (not Free)
or
using macfuse + ntfs-3g. open source

@dvlzplayground, yes the macfuse + ntfs-3g work in leo as well, just that u need dl macfuse for leopard version. that's all wink.gif
allvin
post Feb 23 2009, 01:27 AM

4,506 posts

what you mean can't boot? err the apple boot menu got a X icon? do you know u can choose which partiton to boot by press and hold 'alt' key when you boot up your mac.
allvin
post Feb 23 2009, 09:10 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Feb 23 2009, 02:23 AM)
Can't boot into Mac OS X once i press the power button on my machine.

I don't see any screen like safe mode with Shift button pressed ... Just grey apple logo wif spinning circle like normal.
I need someone do it in real-life. So, i can catch the exactly timing.

yes... that one i know... Alt key to choose HDD  ..haha..

Anyway, i solved the bootcamp issue. I guess it is the kaspersky AV making the whole XP startup loading like turtle.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Just now, i entered Mac OS X installation setup , and tried with the First Aid/Verify Disk.

These are some of the info i got.

"Volume Header needs minor repair."

"The Volume Macintosh HD need to be repaired."

"Error : File System verify or repair failed."
--------------------------------------------------------------
Does it mean i need to format my Mac OS X?
ok. so you got use the Mac OS installation disc to repair the disc?

If it fail, i suggest u use this software
http://www.alsoft.com/DiskWarrior/index.html

Last year ago, my mac partition was corrupted. Don't ask me why, it just 'happen'. I manage to shut down my mac as usual, then the next day i switch on, it fail to boot sweat.gif I use DiskWarrior to repair the partition and it success. Mac OS installation disc fail to repair the disk
allvin
post Feb 23 2009, 08:29 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Feb 23 2009, 07:19 PM)
wrong way!

if you din use your battery for week, the potential for store the charge will start to go down

Added on February 23, 2009, 7:24 pm
your first question, i cant answer any further cuz i nv try.

mac do have adjustable panel, for color basically. But i not sure it affect the external screen or not

In mac, the life cycle wont waste just like that, the machine will only charge once your battery life drop below 96%, then it charge, but this charge nv waste a single cycle. It has its intelligent to control the cycle of battery. Don;t worry

this is one of the impressive design from apple.

Added on February 23, 2009, 7:25 pm

combo of iWork and neoOffice
it will be great like this
yep. i suggest this issue should be pinned up or what. this issue has been discussed ton of times sleep.gif macbook charges the battery in an intelligence way. So stop thinking your macbook as normal laptop whistling.gif

0.0547sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:47 PM