Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread v3, Share your joy and your pain here

Mizo
post Apr 17 2009, 03:38 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 17 2009, 01:33 PM)

Unibody construction on Macbook Air helps it survive a plane crash.

This is for all those doubters who think that the Air is fragile and/or easily snap in two just because of its thin looks. Suck it! rclxms.gif
Wats!!!!!!
Unbelievable!!
MBA surviving from a plane crash
i bet PC will be broken in pieces already

is the MBA urs?
Mizo
post Apr 18 2009, 10:48 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(Lipyueng @ Apr 17 2009, 08:44 PM)
Hahaa... if the MBA is his, then he is the survival... then will be bigger news compare to the MBA.. right?

Added on April 17, 2009, 8:46 pmGuys... i have question... i heard something about the student discount thing... how can it be done? Because my brother wan go to Taiwan study already... i might buy him a Macbook...
Yea, Breakin News in forum
But juz nw i found out
tat tis macbook belongs to one of the passenger onboard turkish airway
Tis incident happen on Feb 2009
The passenger suffer from broken neck n nid serious surgery to be able to walk again

Mizo
post Jun 17 2009, 08:24 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(yukhim @ Jun 17 2009, 07:25 PM)
Guys,
I bought my macbook  for 2-3 months now.
I noticed that there's two small dots of dead pixel on my screen...can i actually bring it back to Mac and  change a new set or something?
Thank you.
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=832238
u may go here for more solution
Mizo
post Jun 17 2009, 10:12 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(yukhim @ Jun 17 2009, 09:44 PM)
Just notice that last 2 days.
Not sure thought.Bought it at malaysia but i'm at bangkok now.
here ar a link to a list of Apple authorized service provider in Thailand
http://store.apple.com.au/asia/FMPro?-db=a...x=57&-find.y=14

hope tat tis list can help u
Mizo
post Jun 19 2009, 12:12 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(yukhim @ Jun 18 2009, 11:25 PM)
I see...So nothing much the different between macbook and macbook pro right?

from externally, u dun c much different as the case is still the same
but from the left, u c some difference, such as A FW800 and a new SD card slot
From bottom u c no removable battery

from the screen, u will notice, A word "Macbook" followed by "Pro" and a 60% better color gamut screen

Internally, u hav a faster processor, can support up to 8gb of ram, better battery like (up to 7 hours),

QUOTE(yukhim @ Jun 18 2009, 11:25 PM)
Apple store itself?I don't know whether they got it here in bangkok or not =S
I worried that when/if i send my macbook to the workshop or something,they might scratch my mac badly  cry.gif
Every authorized oso can, the best is send it to apple store if ur country hav one,

This post has been edited by Mizo: Jun 19 2009, 12:13 AM
Mizo
post Jun 20 2009, 10:49 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 20 2009, 10:40 PM)
for late 2008 macbook pro, it is possible to somehow upgrade to the new battery? tongue.gif i know its unlikely, but juz wondering if anyone found a way
for the mean time, its a No, unless apple upgraded its Late 2008 MBP battery tech
but u may visit tis site
http://www.hyperdrive.com/HyperMac-Externa...harger-s/91.htm
this site is a external battery seller for All MB, MBP and MBA
u may refer to the info their for further information

Mizo
post Jun 21 2009, 12:02 AM

291 posts

[quote=nimrod323,Jun 20 2009, 11:51 PM]
have you seen the MBP's battery? its humongous,its a flat no man.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/richardlai/2944086815/
link to image
Mizo
post Jun 21 2009, 12:41 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(chypher @ Jun 21 2009, 12:36 AM)
oh, i bought from this guy.. the mouse is assembled in malaysia. thats why its so cheap, it written on the mouse i bought
An original mouse from Apple Store Or resellers cost 269
so u save 150
Any difference between the mouse purchase from store and tis one??
Mizo
post Jun 21 2009, 01:08 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 21 2009, 01:01 AM)
yeah i know the battery is big. juz wondering if there's a way to remove the battery holder to make room for the new batt
For day to day user, the answer is no
unless u ar pro at mod-ding then is different thing u might succeed or fail , but so far, I think nobody has yet to hav a the battery holder removed for a bigger battery
Mizo
post Jun 21 2009, 01:36 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(plokoon @ Jun 21 2009, 01:35 AM)
I believe the mouses are assembled here. Cheaper labour for sure. 'Designed in California, assembled in Malaysia' smile.gif
i think better than "Designed in California, assembled in China" tongue.gif
Mizo
post Jun 21 2009, 01:42 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jun 21 2009, 01:38 AM)
for sure ... unlucky for us the factory here lost to the china factory for the iphone 3g sad.gif ... if not  sweat.gif
by then, we can hav cheap iPhone, iz better to hav the whole apple line in malaysia
then we can hav our stuff faster n cheaper
Mizo
post Jun 27 2009, 08:26 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(cixo-cixo @ Jun 27 2009, 05:53 PM)
can just ask a reseller to upgrade it. It seems that its USD29 bucks upgrade if you bought it in 2009 or something. Cant wait.
U cant ask the reseller to upgrade..
USD 9.95 if u purchase ur mac after June 8
USD 29 for Leopard User
USD 129 for retail pack

Mizo
post Jun 27 2009, 11:51 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(chypher @ Jun 27 2009, 10:32 PM)
If I buy the retail pack how many times can I use it?
As many times as you like
but the license is only Valid to 1 Mac for single user Pack,
n valid for 3 comp if u buy the Family Pack

Mizo
post Jun 28 2009, 01:21 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(cixo-cixo @ Jun 28 2009, 01:01 AM)
then how n where to upgrade then?
http://www.apple.com/asia/macosx/uptodate/
here the link
Mizo
post Jun 29 2009, 07:51 PM

291 posts

http://www.orbicule.com/undercover/mac/index.html
here's a software invented by Orbicule tat a application is installed in ur mac, when ur u realize ur mac is stolen, they can trace ur macbook back
n its works anywhere in the world
cost around 49USD per comp
Education discount is applicable for students
and Cheaper price if u purchase multiple licenses for coporate
Mizo
post Jun 29 2009, 08:05 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 29 2009, 08:02 PM)
hmm there have been reports in the sun,of a device that can detect laptops i car,i suspect the thieves use this on you.
heard from my frens
they uses a device tats detect electric pulses emitted by electrical devices
how true it is i dunno yet, will provide some info on it later

This post has been edited by Mizo: Jun 29 2009, 08:07 PM
Mizo
post Jun 29 2009, 10:45 PM

291 posts

Electric fields

1. An electric field can be present even when a device is switched off.
The higher the current, the greater Electric fields

Electric Fields
The higher the voltage the stronger the field produced. Since the voltage can exist even when no current is flowing, the appliance does not have to be turned on for an electric field to exist in the room surrounding it.

Magnetic fields
Magnetic fields are created only when the electric current flows. Magnetic fields and electric fields then exist together in the room environment. The greater the current the stronger the magnetic field. High voltages are used for the transmission and distribution of electricity whereas relatively low voltages are used in the home. The voltages used by power transmission equipment vary little from day to day, currents through a transmission line vary with power consumption.

Magnetic Fields strength is measured in amperes per meter (A/m). Commonly, EMF investigators use a related measure, flux density (in microtesla (µT) or millitesla (mT) instead.

AND
the devices tat used to detect is reveal on tis website
http://www.lessemf.com/dcgauss.html

One of them is the

HALL EFFECT SEMI-CONDUCTOR
Sensitive to Magnet Polarity

This component can be used in a circuit to open and close a contact when exposed to alternating N and S poles of a magnet. Will also work if exposed to the same pole on alternative sides of the sensor.

Many uses including:
Counting revolutions, oscillations, or sequences
Turning LEDs, alarms, or other devices on/off
Detecting presence of magnetized materials
Intruder/theft alarms
Monitor start/stop of a moving process
Robotic effects and magic tricks!
Schematic of an example circuit included. Part number may vary from picture. Very unique!
Hall Effect Semi-Conductor Sensor (Cat. #A402) … $2.00 each

This is the cheapest one tat looks like a conductor size tat allow u to solder it to a circuit board
there ar more devices there for u to view

Added on June 29, 2009, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(cRazYee @ Jun 29 2009, 10:35 PM)
i think should be some magnetic stuff detect your battery ( this is what i heard)
Gratz, ur hypothesis is correct..

This post has been edited by Mizo: Jun 29 2009, 10:49 PM
Mizo
post Jun 29 2009, 11:01 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Jun 29 2009, 10:55 PM)
ok... how about car battery and some advance car's circuit board??? lol??
haha, no idea about it at the mean time, will do further research then..

Added on June 29, 2009, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(hapa @ Jun 29 2009, 10:55 PM)
ok... how about car battery and some advance car's circuit board??? lol??
there was a thread in LYN forum on tis type of devices
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/502790

This post has been edited by Mizo: Jun 29 2009, 11:29 PM
Mizo
post Jul 2 2009, 07:39 PM

291 posts

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/07...ract_fight.html

http://www.9to5mac.com/apple-gpu

Apple "Might.." drop Nvidia Chips...
as the Lawsuits between Intel and Nvidia..

read through the news 1st to understand the situation

If u dislike it pls dont flame as this a news solely from Apples rumors site

Added on July 2, 2009, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(Mizo @ Jul 2 2009, 07:39 PM)
http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/07...ract_fight.html

http://www.9to5mac.com/apple-gpu

Apple "Might.." drop Nvidia Chips...
as the Lawsuits between Intel and Nvidia..

read through the news 1st to understand the situation

If u dislike it pls dont flame as this a news solely from Apples rumors site

everyone ar welcome to share their thought here

This post has been edited by Mizo: Jul 2 2009, 07:43 PM

0.0266sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:26 PM