Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION?, Ver.7, Nokia, SE, Motorola, Samsung, etc!

TheWandererX
post Feb 1 2009, 08:55 PM

1,862 posts

1. Brand. Any brand, preferred Nokia.
2. Budget. RM1k, more or less.
3. Specs. Wifi, good battery life, 3G, good to use, sensitive touchscreen (if touchscreen)
4. Type/Size. (Candybar, Clamshell etc...) Any, as long as it has Wifi.

I'm searching for a phone to take over my W580, preferably a Nokia 5800 XpressMusic, but I don't think it's the only Wifi phone that is priced around RM1k, so I want to source more choices.

I hope someone's able to help.

Thanks a lot.
TheWandererX
post Feb 1 2009, 09:40 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 1 2009, 08:58 PM)
For your budget, there's Nokia E63 and Nokia N81.
I don't like the style of the E63 - fat, and QWERTY keyboard for a candybar... doesn't suit my taste.

N81 looks appealing though - how much is it?

Anyway, any other models that will fit with my budget?
TheWandererX
post Feb 1 2009, 10:13 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 1 2009, 09:42 PM)
The N81 is around RM1000 for an AP set and RM1300 for an authorized set.
... I prefer original sets, warranty's good - if something goes wrong, can send it back to Zitron/Nokia to service for free, instead of some APs which won't repair small defects. Experienced it once - my W580 left and right softkey broke because I left it in my air-cond room, and they said:"Sorry, we don't cover these things, but if you want us to fix for you, ok, RM100 for new keypad."

Ridiculous, ain't it?

If so I'd go for the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic, RM1.3k for a original set just like the N81, but with more features...

Is there no more other WiFi phones I can choose from?

My apologies if I seem to be pestering/asking for too much from you.

Thanks once again.
TheWandererX
post Feb 1 2009, 11:58 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 1 2009, 10:47 PM)
For your budget, I can only think of Nokia 5800 and N81. If SonyEricsson's G series is fine with you then you may want to consider that too. smile.gif
Heh, went to research about the G series, and you know what - forget them. I am a SE fan, but it disappoints me to see the G series - failure..

So which one is a better one to get, the N81 or the 5800? Personally I'm weighed on the 5800, as my cousin owns one and I've molested it and done so much with it, but I hope you can weigh me back onto making this a fair comparison.

TheWandererX
post Feb 2 2009, 01:44 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Feb 2 2009, 11:38 AM)
Get N78. within ur budget and requirement. smile.gif
Old already - and yes, I am a music fan, so I need most music formats-compatible phone to cater to my needs =/

I think I'll go for the 5800 then...
TheWandererX
post Feb 3 2009, 06:24 PM

1,862 posts

Hey guys, I just want to know - which Wifi equipped phones are below RM1500?

If you're able to help to list out all possible models, that would be good.

Thanks in advance.
TheWandererX
post Feb 4 2009, 10:05 PM

1,862 posts

I'm currently stuck i. a decision - get the Tube (5800) or the N82 or any other keypad phone with WiFi. Does anyone use a WiFi phone below RM1.5k here? Mind to share? How does the inbuilt browser work? How does it work with Opera Mini?

I hope to get feedback as I'll be going to buy the 5800 if no other phone can contest it. If I get it I have to wait 2-3 months before getting one because the price will surely drop to the 1k mark... and I don't have enough money now...

TheWandererX
post Feb 5 2009, 10:44 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Feb 4 2009, 10:09 PM)
I use a n82, the in built browser is good for simpler pages like google and/or viewing youtube videos

opera mini is good and loads faster for complex pages like facebook or lowyat
How does Opera Mini display on your N82 screen? How's the scrolling done? I'm afraid of buying it because of these problems - I've never used a tiny screen to view the Web before =/

QUOTE(booooster @ Feb 4 2009, 11:12 PM)
for that budget (plus extra needed) try p1i or g900 are yr only choices
How much is the RRP for both?
TheWandererX
post Feb 5 2009, 04:29 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Feb 5 2009, 02:23 PM)
It is fine just gotta zoom in at appropriate places

G900 and P1i original sets around Rm1300+
...then that means the Tube is a better choice compared to the two SE's.

I'm still doubtful, have to get a hands-on to compare.

Thanks again.
TheWandererX
post Feb 6 2009, 11:22 PM

1,862 posts

Hey guys,

One last question - is there any other Wifi phones priced below RM1500 excluding the Tube and N82?
TheWandererX
post Apr 22 2009, 06:39 PM

1,862 posts

Need help again guys. Now I can't put my budget too high - I'm trying not to rely on credit.

Brand: SE, Nokia
Budget: RM750<
Specs: Style?
Type/Size: Any as long as it is eye-catching and hot.

Looking for a lifestyle phone, but I'd like to have Nokia's dynamic standby/SE's simplicity. Any of them.

Currently, i have W595, W980, W890, K770, N81, N78 and 5610XM in mind. Any idea on which should I get? Any suggestions?

Also please don't suggest Samsung LG all those to me please, I really dislike those kinda phones, to me it's 'no style'....
TheWandererX
post Apr 23 2009, 04:35 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Apr 22 2009, 06:51 PM)
N78 and W595 is good..

but i recommend you to go for N78
-WiFi
-S60V3
-GPS+A-GPS
-good speaker,average sound quality
-HSDPA
-nice black phone
-Fm transmitter
-totally awesome thumbup.gif
QUOTE(kae7 @ Apr 23 2009, 02:07 PM)
N78 keypad is good and suitable for people who has big finger and small fingers

if w595<< its okay but a bit uncomfortable for people who has big fingers

i had tried both handphone before..

and n78 quite impressed me ...

texting using n78 is easier and faster
Small-fingered kid here. laugh.gif

How much is the N78 AP around now? I'm worried - I don't have enough money to buy it maybe blush.gif cry.gif
TheWandererX
post Apr 30 2009, 12:59 PM

1,862 posts

If you're a heavy user then the plans won't be so ridiculous to you. nod.gif

I'd suggest you go get a SingTel iPhone and subscribe to an internet plan over Maxis or something, that'd be good.
TheWandererX
post May 28 2009, 05:10 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 27 2009, 03:23 PM)
Hey, i heard that Sony G705 is discontinued?? is it true?? should my mom buy it??
No, it's a new model, lols.

Anyway, guys, help me make up my mind.

1. Sony Ericsson/Nokia.
2. Below RM1000, most preferably RM500+.
3. Only one, style.
4. Any.

Currently I have the W980, the N78 and the W890 in mind.

If I would want the W980/N78 (weighed more on W980), I'd have to tebal muka a bit to ask my parents to help me pay a bit first, but I can get the W890 now, so guys, help me make up my mind, should I settle with the W890 or go for the W980?
TheWandererX
post May 28 2009, 05:55 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 28 2009, 05:51 PM)
Nokia 5800XM tongue.gif
Get N78...u wont regret after u got it...like my bro, he bought it and untill now he is still happy with his phone tongue.gif
I'm going for a stylish phone though, and I'm afraid the N78 looks a bit too sleek instead of stylish for me... just stated it because I previously considered it before getting to know about the price of the W980 which has already plummeted.
TheWandererX
post May 29 2009, 07:11 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ May 28 2009, 05:10 PM)
No, it's a new model, lols.

Anyway, guys, help me make up my mind.

1. Sony Ericsson/Nokia.
2. Below RM1000, most preferably RM500+.
3. Only one, style.
4. Any.

Currently I have the W980, the N78 and the W890 in mind.

If I would want the W980/N78 (weighed more on W980), I'd have to tebal muka a bit to ask my parents to help me pay a bit first, but I can get the W890 now, so guys, help me make up my mind, should I settle with the W890 or go for the W980?
Bumping my previous question.

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 28 2009, 09:12 PM)
So, u r not considering w980 or 5800??? for me, i will go for 5800 if i have to choose between them....hope that helps u
5800 is RM1.3k, totally out of my budget. The W980 is around RM675++, I've been quoted and that's why I'm considering it.
TheWandererX
post May 29 2009, 08:58 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ May 29 2009, 07:28 PM)
even the ori 5800 also only RM1200++
AP  - RM 1000++

SE W980 is good phone.. but it lack of wifi ..
so better go for N78..

N78 has better specs than SE W980

overall - N78

sound - W980

software - N78

GPS,A-GPS - N78

Wifi -N78

and so on..

but it depends on what you need ..
if you like flip phone.. go for W980
Budget can't go over RM800 lah, even my parents already start heating up when I mention RM800< phones... cry.gif

Well, as I've mentioned previously, yes, feature-wise the N78 wins over the W980, but what I'm considering as my main factor of buying this phone is style.

So which one do you think has more style, the sleek flipper W980 or the brushed metallic W890?
TheWandererX
post Jun 27 2009, 05:32 PM

1,862 posts

Hey guys, need to make up my mind, getting another new phone soon...

Should I get the Sony Ericsson W508, T707 or the W980? I'm really into SE phones, clamshells and style, so I have narrowed down to these three. Feel free to add your recommendations in too, if you like, but I already own a slider so I don't think I'll get another one.

Budget, preferably below RM1k.

Be waiting for your opinion.
TheWandererX
post Jun 28 2009, 09:23 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jun 27 2009, 05:32 PM)
Hey guys, need to make up my mind, getting another new phone soon...

Should I get the Sony Ericsson W508, T707 or the W980? I'm really into SE phones, clamshells and style, so I have narrowed down to these three. Feel free to add your recommendations in too, if you like, but I already own a slider so I don't think I'll get another one.

Budget, preferably below RM1k.

Be waiting for your opinion.
Bump, hmm.gif

0.0206sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:54 PM