Difficulties on starting up, Windows XP Professional SP2

TSyOuNg$tEr
post Dec 11 2008, 10:19 AM, updated 18y ago

728 posts

I'm not sure when this started to happen as I don't turn off my computer that often.
Until recently , when i wanna boot... the booting will stop at the page where it will ask me to choose to open with safe mode and other options, if its not that then after the windows xp loading part, it will start the whole process again and again... sometimes it will hang halfway and i'd press the restart button. the process will continue until i get in to windows..

upon reaching the "There is a problem bla bla...it is highly recommended to check disk" or something and windows will run chkdsk that part, it shows some segments cannot be read.

can a reformat solve the problem?
mantiz125
post Dec 11 2008, 10:26 AM

I'm a future Licensed Aircraft Engineer
1,168 posts

reformat sure can solve the problem..
ericpires
post Dec 11 2008, 10:52 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

reformat + clean install...

after that, dun install 2 many programs 1st.. little by little.. see what program actuall cause the problem in the 1st place..
de4thscythell
post Dec 11 2008, 04:54 PM

in progress
1,941 posts

Yup. reformat will sure help. nod.gif
But after that, make sure u install antivirus first, before installing other software, just for precaution wink.gif
I always do that thumbup.gif
TechnoDude94
post Dec 11 2008, 07:13 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(yOuNg$tEr @ Dec 11 2008, 10:19 AM)
I'm not sure when this started to happen as I don't turn off my computer that often.
Until recently , when i wanna boot... the booting will stop at the page where it will ask me to choose to open with safe mode and other options, if its not that then after the windows xp loading part, it will start the whole process again and again... sometimes it will hang halfway and i'd press the restart button. the process will continue until i get in to windows..

upon reaching the "There is a problem bla bla...it is highly recommended to check disk" or something and windows will run chkdsk that part, it shows some segments cannot be read.

You don't need to reformat Windows XP. Just boot from your Windows XP disc and select the "Repair" option. But I recommend that you reformat just in case the problem that is causing unreadable segments are viruses. Once you reformat, you must run "Check Disk" and try to detect upcoming bad-sectors.
dylanchan1688
post Dec 11 2008, 07:40 PM

PuLu™
125 posts

QUOTE(yOuNg$tEr @ Dec 11 2008, 10:19 AM)

definately can
TechnoDude94
post Dec 12 2008, 02:09 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(dylanchan1688 @ Dec 11 2008, 07:40 PM)
definately can
[Out of Topic]
Managed to install Hackintosh yet? TS, sorry for OT...
karLz
post Dec 15 2008, 04:28 PM

741 posts

ive oso get this prob 2times... duno why its happen... when i try to boot with window cd i see all the drive c of mine is empty.. mean all are free space.. rclxub.gif
reformat it then the prob solve..
unknownsubject
post Dec 16 2008, 02:53 AM

form blazing sword...
895 posts

format,reinstall windows and latest drivers should fix the problem
BrotherHoe
post Dec 16 2008, 03:01 AM

1,302 posts

since u choose format as a solution
i would recommend u get a new rig ....

create a boot disk , run chkdsk till it finished on all drives or try repair it
u may also try restore
Derrick Cherry
post Dec 16 2008, 10:54 AM

23 posts

I'm using genuine windows. Lastly time, when I let my computer auto update to Windows XP Pro SP3, I am having problem to boot into Windows too.

It take "forever" to load at the "Windows Logo (Loading) Screen" ...

I have to restart over and over again... Just like trying to my luck to get into windows.

Once I thought it was my hardware problem, but..

Finally, I have decided to reformat it.(I just ghost it back to very very earlier version). Everything is ok now.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 16 2008, 01:57 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(BrotherHoe @ Dec 16 2008, 03:01 AM)
since u choose format as a solution
i would recommend u get a new rig ....

create a boot disk , run chkdsk till it finished on all drives or try repair it
u may also try restore
Does that mean that every time your format your computer (HDDs), you always purchase a new computer? doh.gif If yes, can you format for me and purchase a new computer for me? brows.gif

0.0182sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:01 AM