[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership

selinix
post Nov 6 2009, 11:11 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Nov 6 2009, 10:59 AM)
hihi............

just want to ask, can Iphone view words, excel file ? like in windows mobile??

you can view, edit and create too.

Just check out quickoffice at apple store
selinix
post Nov 8 2009, 10:06 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Nov 8 2009, 09:59 PM)
Considering the iPhone 3GS (among other phones)  smile.gif

Now using 012 number but already switched to DIGI, and planning to buy from Maxis reseller at full price, no contract. Need some help with these questions:

1. As the phone is officially unlocked, there shouldn't be a problem using it with DIGI's data plan right? No Problem
2. Will there be any problems obtaining and installing apps (with a DIGI sim and digi data plan) No Problem

selinix
post Oct 28 2010, 12:45 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 28 2010, 12:32 PM)
my gf said this blue dot thingy only applies to 32gb, hence my gf's set is a 16gb and she dont have this problem.

Anyone having 16gb that has this problem?
Tested various 32GB / 16GB before... 9 out of 10 got de blue spot.
selinix
post Oct 28 2010, 05:08 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(ivan1128 @ Oct 28 2010, 04:49 PM)
Your picture only shows a dot of yellowish spot. Mine is WHOLE SCREEN!!  doh.gif
Click on the source he gave. There is a picture that shows whole screen in yellow
selinix
post Oct 28 2010, 05:23 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(ivan1128 @ Oct 28 2010, 05:11 PM)
if u see there's whole screen yellow, then that's my screen too cry.gif
Hahaha is okay I've seen more than 10 units with yellowish screen tongue.gif so far only see 3 units with the screen that i consider as perfect
selinix
post Oct 28 2010, 06:09 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 28 2010, 06:02 PM)
Matter of fact its the situation right now.

Just because they kind of monopolize the market for it, they can do what they wanna do.. even to the extend of treating "defect" goods as normal goods can forcing consumers to just "eat" it up.
I think they really have no choice because at the end of the day it is still Apple who are responsible with the stocks. Till now i also can't fathom what's with the yellowish screens and blue spot camera. I'm rather disappointed with the 4 this time.
selinix
post Oct 28 2010, 06:57 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(sposh @ Oct 28 2010, 06:49 PM)

Added on October 28, 2010, 6:46 pm
hey hey, saw my previous post the picture?
you got the same problem as mine??
If compare yours with the 3GS, yes yours are really yellowish. But take note that IP4 screen is really generally warmer than 3GS.

but the one you compare with the demo unit what I can see is the demo unit is yellower than yours or is it because of the angle problem?

I personally think that your yellowish problem is not that serious and is more towards the acceptable level but yeah I understand some people don't feel comfortable looking at a screen that is yellow.
selinix
post Oct 29 2010, 10:36 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 29 2010, 09:21 AM)
well.. it has nth to do with comparing the units, i just want my money spent on something that is not defect. The thing that i brought this up here @ registration/buying guide is that to alert others to try the sets with a demo b4 purchasing. Because we wont know it has defects and the only process for u to fix that problem is let Maxis claim the warranty for you which will take 2~3weeks. If your lucky after 2~3weeks the phone comes back with problem solved, but what if the problem still there? another 2~3weeks claim again?. Its so ridiculous that buy the phone for 1month but its all the time send into factory.

Added on October 29, 2010, 9:22 am

The reason why we compared 3gs is that we dont have another ip4.

The 2nd pic is two ip4s. one is ours and the other is from sunway MCs. The picture is abit blur, hard to see.
This weekend i will snap another picture comparing mine and a fren's

Added on October 29, 2010, 9:27 am

I really dont know how to tell the maxis guys that its has a problem.
They claims that its no difference. I showed pavillion Mc and they say no problem after comparing for some time, they finally realize.. but refused 1 to 1 change. We then went upstairs to EPI center to buy a casing, i also ask the staff there to compare.. some say no problem some say its yellowish and the colour is warmer.

The cashier guy from EPI said that its like that, you will never find any units that has the same colour display. He said that if you take 10 ip4 to compare, u still see 10 different colour display, and none will be 100% the same. Well, how well its true? not sure...
I can confirm to that. I've compare 4 iphone 4 side by side before and all 4 of them have different brightness level and different level of yellowish ....
selinix
post Oct 29 2010, 10:49 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(ivan1128 @ Oct 29 2010, 10:44 AM)
The one with yellow tint is yellow, no matter what it is compared to.
and it will be VERY obvious, if your ip4 is with the yellow tint issue. mayb i'm damn unlucky to have serious discoloration on my ip4 that i can see it clearly without comparing with other white screen.  cry.gif
Yeah i understand how it feels like cause I've seen those with super yellow screen. It is so dark even at full brightness the clarity is not there. Kinda spoil retina display
selinix
post Oct 29 2010, 02:56 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy1314 @ Oct 29 2010, 12:16 PM)
Do Digi sets have the same problem like Maxis?
yes... they all come from Apple anyway.
selinix
post Nov 3 2010, 12:44 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(S4a @ Nov 3 2010, 12:19 PM)
You can buy an app called: Blue Tint Cleaner for iPhone 4 in AppStore. It can somehow help removes the blue tint from the picture taken by iphone 4. Hope that help you from wasting your time travelling to MC and they will tell you stupid answers and wait for ages to get a replacement. About the yellowish screen... Don't worry, the longer you use your phone, it'll automatically fix by itself. Cheers!
You are sure with this?

I got 2 friends who used for more than 1 month + the screen had no improvement at all.. They couldn't stand it and sold the phone off.
selinix
post Nov 6 2010, 01:11 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(cloudeen @ Nov 3 2010, 02:41 PM)
they never try to claim warranty from maxis?
Maxis won't entertain at all besides is not guarantee they can fix it also because I don't think there is a solution or answer for all the yellowish screens
selinix
post Mar 29 2011, 07:23 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(laucheehon @ Mar 29 2011, 06:56 PM)
I wanna ask, everyone will notice that Sungei Wang / Lowyat got a lot of phone stalls are placed several iPhone 4 for sell, and some even come with Maxis Warranty Card. Here are several question I need to know:

1 - Is it possible that they placed their stock there for a very long period? Maybe half or even one year?
2 - Is their warranty same with Maxis Center one?
3 - If same, then when will the warranty be activated? From the day they got the iPhone? when I bought it? Or when I register/activate the Phone?
4 - Is it probably that their phone are non-genuine iPhone? Or they unboxed to change something in the box or even phone it self??

Or is there any other issue on it?
I just wanna know only, not saying any bad on those phone stall, because I want to buy an iPhone 4 32GB without contract or plan but it is impossible to find one in the market now. And sure I worry about the warranty with it.
1. Yes possible
2. If is a Maxis / Digi set then at the end of the day you will need to bring the phone back to the respective telco for warranty claim.
3. I believe the warranty starts from the day of purchase from Maxis/Digi.
4. Very unlikely if it is sealed properly. Check for the Maxis / Digi warranty card.

Basically those shops either bought those sets from oversea or from Maxis/Digi itself and sell it with a more PREMIUM price. All you need to know is check where is the set from. Safest is to buy those from Maxis/Digi but warranty is a concern the phone might be sitting on the shelf for 2 -3 months.

This post has been edited by selinix: Mar 29 2011, 07:30 PM
selinix
post Jul 5 2011, 03:54 PM

7,343 posts

TS next time please check the phone on the spot. I think that is a little too "innocent" to ask is it your mistake. It is clearly a big mistake that you are buying such an expensive phone and not doing any checking to make sure it is working fine. You said is a gift for a friend and I think that makes it even more important for you to check the phone just in case you give something defective to a friend as a gift.

I've purchase the iphone 4 black from maxis when they first launch and back then they don't have this procedure that requires you to sign a document that confirms you have check the phone is working fine and has receive it compare to now. I've encounter a slight dent on one of the iphone 4 black i purchased and on the spot they change to a new unit for me.
selinix
post Jul 5 2011, 07:20 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 5 2011, 04:35 PM)
i have purchase gifts from apple tat cost way more than iphone 4, neither did i open it on the spot
heck, i dun remember i have this habit of doing tat
i prefer to devirginalise my goods at my own sweet home or time

so i dun return the phone to ATR? just send it to maxis center? lets hope tomolo i dun get on the news for running amok in maxis center
As I know even in macshop the staff will open it up for you and power up to make sure everything is running before the customer carry the item home because it is your right to check the item on the spot and refuse to accept it if is defective. Well unless for your case, you request not to check which I think you will need to bear the risk of not getting a new replacement unit on the spot.

As for your iphone with a valid maxis service card you can drop by in any maxis service center and request for a replacement unit. The downside of it is the replacement unit you are getting will not be a new unit but a refurbished set.

0.0399sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:24 AM