[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership

ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 04:49 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(sposh @ Oct 28 2010, 12:40 PM)
the blue dot on the camera rumours said only happen to the 32gb.. im not sure the 16gb got any problem with it or not..
but my camera for the 16gb so far got not problem, only abit yellowish tint as what mugenz said.. but will compare to another iphone4 user by this weekend.

below is the image for the camera blue dot problem: source

and this is the yellowish screen faulty: source

for more pictures, you can click on the source.
Your picture only shows a dot of yellowish spot. Mine is WHOLE SCREEN!! doh.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:04 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 28 2010, 04:52 PM)
Please explain more in detail, yellowish or its very dim, dull and "warm" liddat.

Btw.. its not my phone we take it from another website.

I suspect our ip4 also having the same problem with u..

And maxis now refuse responsible over this..  they say its not their fault, warranty cannot claim this..

So its as good as "broad day-light robbery" and selling "DEFECT GOODS" is legal in malaysia
Mine is whole screen yellowish! doh.gif
i just went to maxis centre yesterday. They took picture and send to apple requesting for warranty. i spent 2.7k not to buy a defect device la... rclxub.gif cry.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:11 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 28 2010, 05:08 PM)
Click on the source he gave. There is a picture that shows whole screen in yellow
if u see there's whole screen yellow, then that's my screen too cry.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:14 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 28 2010, 05:12 PM)
So much freaking prob, dah pay money to buy, need go around hunting.. some even need queue as early as 4am in the morning but buying defect items.

but maxis claiming this is not defect (for my case of dimmer display colour)
Its as good as u go buy a white car, but they gave u beige colour car..
or u requested to paint your house in white, they paint it in beige for u . doh.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:21 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2010, 05:17 PM)
What you guys have been facing is pretty common with iPhone 4. iPhone 4 is like Windows Vista , its a failure for Apple. Anyway , just want to add. I've owned a lot of smartphones. Let me share you my experience with my Treo 270. Basically I bought the unit , for some reason the screen died on me and I called up handspring/palm , they arranged me for a 1 to 1 exchange. basically they exchange it with a refurb unit. What I did was , I get a receipt saying that unit was exchanged , I put together in the box. So when I sold it , i told the buyer the unit was replaced by handspring/palm and this is the evidence. In there its stated my old IMEI phone number and the new one . When they replace you should get a receipt or somekind
Whatever Apple is telling you is a piece of lie. For instance the antenna issue and proximity sensor issue (yes I face those issues , but since the phone was give to me by maxis , I didn't bother making a big fuzz out of it). It cannot be solved something by software. Apple may say they fix it with iOS 4.2 , but trust me , they will tweak something so that it appears to be fixed - much like how they fixed the antenna issue with iOS 4.1 !
I don't care how, i want my screen in pure white, not yellow white. cry.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:26 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2010, 05:23 PM)
Yellow White , even my 3G the screen is yellowish , and not as white as my iPod Touch 4. If you google up the situation , you'll find that its not only you but a lot of people do face that problem
So you are good with your yellow screen then?? hmm.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:26 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 28 2010, 05:23 PM)
Hahaha is okay I've seen more than 10 units with yellowish screen  tongue.gif so far only see 3 units with the screen that i consider as perfect
So is your ip4 one of the 3 lucky 1?
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:34 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Oct 28 2010, 05:29 PM)
i dun quite understand the yellowish screen actually.. is it appear and obvious when ur screen is totally white?

and also the dim brightness... not sure how dim is dim.. but mine seems ok though... i can't even put it to max brightness coz its so bright that my eyes pain when i stare too long at it... most of the time i put the brightness at 40% only, to save battery, and to save my eyesight as well...
for example: if you go to settings, the screen suppose to be white. but it's yellowish white( like old paper you've keeped for years) instead of pure white.
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 05:37 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Oct 28 2010, 05:36 PM)
ic... luckily mine is ok... it's pure white and bright.... i got mine from Pavillion MC. All the best to u for a replacement man...
I brought it with my fren. and his was fine. i was yellow!!! damn mth fkr
ivan1128
post Oct 28 2010, 11:39 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(sposh @ Oct 28 2010, 06:49 PM)

Added on October 28, 2010, 6:46 pm
hey hey, saw my previous post the picture?
you got the same problem as mine??
I saw from your picture. It seems that the display unit on the right is more yellowish than yours? or the right one is your phone?? yup. my whole screen is yellow. damn. my fren's ip4 dont even have the problem. and i buy with him 2gether.

Added on October 28, 2010, 11:44 pm
QUOTE(Godlike war @ Oct 28 2010, 06:53 PM)
huaa damnnn!!
but if im not mistaken got few forumer got same problem b4 but they managed to exchanged another new set

but right now bcoz the deman is overwhelming..they no more provide such exchange

worst shitty vmad.gif
Yes. Hardware problem is even serious than software problem. What the heck are they thinking actually? they just simply dun wanna replace a new unit since they have insufficient stocks for now. this is just simply unacceptable. Hardware problems are always the more serious thing compared to software problem. and what the heck, they say they don't provide warranty for hardware problems? Did they even write that in their warranty card? Damn it. such a lame excuse.
UPDATED: print this and show it to the Maxis Centre. they will replace 1 for u. :http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=32533512985&topic=17775
Seems like the issue bcome worse

Added on October 28, 2010, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2010, 08:01 PM)
Oh boy just love how people compare yellowish screen to be fair , I'll compare all three , sure the camera is a normal digital camera under low lighting conditions

Just take a look at the screen and you be the judge. if you compare my ipod touch 1G , the screen is white
Left (my iPhone 3G 16GB , yes the screen is cracked , i know) , centre - my iPod Touch 1G 32GB  and right is my iPhone 4 16GB

As for the colours , well I let you be the judge.
Please just compare it with iPhone 4 and not any other models. thanks

Added on October 28, 2010, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(nles @ Oct 28 2010, 06:56 PM)
The 3 unit I bought during roadshow, week 42 iPhone all having the same issue. I took my friend unit bought last week also same issue.

My gf's unit Week 36 it's okie, that's the 1st batch got it during the launch day.

Once you notice the yellowish screen, you just can't get it off your mind.

If you don't compare you really wont notice it because you thought it suppose to be like that. Some ppl won't even notice it's warm. If you search at google, you will notice even 3gs has this problem previously.

Right now I just kinda live with it, won't effect my usage so what the heck. Just wait and see.
To be frank, my iphone 4 is VERY yellow. even people who plays with my iphone will ask, how come your iphone's screen is kinda yellowish? and my blue spot camera issue is worse than ever, where the middle is blue in color, and the places besides it will have some discoloration. See this: http://s22.photobucket.com/albums/b326/doo...%20Blue%20Spot/ .I'm having exactly the same issue with him/her.

This post has been edited by ivan1128: Oct 28 2010, 11:59 PM
ivan1128
post Oct 29 2010, 10:13 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(tommyfai @ Oct 29 2010, 09:33 AM)
yeahh.. the yellow spots is due the glue problem.. production is too fast for it to dry up.. but it may not dry up completely even the iphone4 is shipped to customer though.. thats why some people have the problem and some don't..
That refers to yellow spots, not the full screen with yellow tint que

Added on October 29, 2010, 10:15 am
QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 29 2010, 09:21 AM)
well.. it has nth to do with comparing the units, i just want my money spent on something that is not defect. The thing that i brought this up here @ registration/buying guide is that to alert others to try the sets with a demo b4 purchasing. Because we wont know it has defects and the only process for u to fix that problem is let Maxis claim the warranty for you which will take 2~3weeks. If your lucky after 2~3weeks the phone comes back with problem solved, but what if the problem still there? another 2~3weeks claim again?. Its so ridiculous that buy the phone for 1month but its all the time send into factory.

Added on October 29, 2010, 9:22 am

The reason why we compared 3gs is that we dont have another ip4.

The 2nd pic is two ip4s. one is ours and the other is from sunway MCs. The picture is abit blur, hard to see.
This weekend i will snap another picture comparing mine and a fren's

Added on October 29, 2010, 9:27 am

I really dont know how to tell the maxis guys that its has a problem.
They claims that its no difference. I showed pavillion Mc and they say no problem after comparing for some time, they finally realize.. but refused 1 to 1 change. We then went upstairs to EPI center to buy a casing, i also ask the staff there to compare.. some say no problem some say its yellowish and the colour is warmer.

The cashier guy from EPI said that its like that, you will never find any units that has the same colour display. He said that if you take 10 ip4 to compare, u still see 10 different colour display, and none will be 100% the same. Well, how well its true? not sure...
That EPI guy is talking crap. 10 different colors for 10 different ip4? that wouldn't have passed the Final Visual Inspection in Foxconn if it's so. Unless they didnt do any QC AT ALL

This post has been edited by ivan1128: Oct 29 2010, 10:22 AM
ivan1128
post Oct 29 2010, 10:44 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 29 2010, 10:36 AM)
I can confirm to that. I've compare 4 iphone 4 side by side before and all 4 of them have different brightness level and different level of yellowish ....
The one with yellow tint is yellow, no matter what it is compared to.
and it will be VERY obvious, if your ip4 is with the yellow tint issue. mayb i'm damn unlucky to have serious discoloration on my ip4 that i can see it clearly without comparing with other white screen. cry.gif

This post has been edited by ivan1128: Oct 29 2010, 10:46 AM
ivan1128
post Oct 29 2010, 10:58 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Oct 29 2010, 10:49 AM)
Yeah i understand how it feels like cause I've seen those with super yellow screen. It is so dark even at full brightness the clarity is not there. Kinda spoil retina display
I think what u see is like mine. That's y they take my unit to claim warranty, as it's getting yellower by day and already start to affect other non-white screen. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 29 2010, 11:29 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 29 2010, 11:23 AM)
=.= who dunno mother = female, but i dont have another ip4 around. But i went 3 places to make comparison,

1. Sunway, slight difference but noticeable that mine was more warm and yellow

2. Pavillion MC, almost the same but in the end the tech guy also agreed.

3. EPI pavillion, two sales personnel 1 say no problem its the same and 1 able to notice.

i can really conclude the sets display colour really differ, maybe slightly or abit noticeable level.  if you say comparing white and old old newspaper difference, even "blind" also know its definitely wrong and defect!
mine is like comparing white with old newspaper. No wonder i can see it's defect. I'm not blind! brows.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 30 2010, 04:10 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Oct 30 2010, 02:26 AM)
Just got another 2 unit of iPhone from Forumer. 1 is Singapore set week 39 production, another 1 is digi set week 41 production. I open and inspect both also got yellowish screen.

So the comparison with my gf's week 36 production ot during maxis launch and my week 42 production got during klcc roadshow.

GF 36 (no yellow) > Mine 42 (yellow) > digi 41/Singapore 39 (even yellow)

My set is the most recent one but not as yellow as the one I just bought, so might be true the screen gets better over usage. Can't really confirm though. Bought total of 6 iPhone only my GF one no yellow problem but camera same got that blue tint issue.
Know what? my friend's screen is nice on the 1st day. after 1 week of usage, it bcum yellow. rclxms.gif
ivan1128
post Oct 30 2010, 04:14 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Oct 30 2010, 09:15 AM)
Ic...
Mine is factory id = 85
Week = 41

Mine one only camera wif blue tint. Display is ok.

Yesterday i compared wif my colleague and his display is red!! And he din realized that os a problem.. Even the white is not purely white when the brightness is set to max..
Mine was ww40. Damn. It's damn yellow!
ivan1128
post Oct 31 2010, 12:30 AM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(' or 1=1 -- @ Oct 30 2010, 11:18 AM)
Wah! looks like there won't be any white iPhone. The white iPhone has been roved from the online apple store yawn.gif
I'm afraid that's not true. Please refer to this: http://www.gsmarena.com/white_iphone_4_nea...p-news-2027.php
ivan1128
post Oct 31 2010, 12:26 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Oct 31 2010, 05:28 AM)
Saying that I have not read enough about this issue is a blatant blasphemy. I was the first few to report this issue here in lowyat.net. I have read through so many other forums and I have yet to see a true white background shot with no splotch. Can you show me one to prove me wrong.

Like I have said previously, a picture is worth more than a thousand words. Just take a photo n post it here. Yeah I will take it as I am unlucky. So do you mind showing us your 'lucky' camera shot? If you can't, please stop rubbing salt into people's wound by asking people to go through all the trouble getting a replacement that will most certainly have the splotching issue plus perhaps some other issues or worse still, travelling the whole way to MC only to be shown the door. That is not one bit a helpful/constructive post btw.
Yup. I went to a lot of places to test their ip4 display uniits. even though the screens are not yellowish, all of the display units do have this blue spot issue
ivan1128
post Nov 3 2010, 10:02 PM

1,118 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Nov 3 2010, 12:44 PM)
You are sure with this?

I got 2 friends who used for more than 1 month + the screen had no improvement at all.. They couldn't stand it and sold the phone off.
My screen bcum yellower with time. who says will dissappear ? doh.gif

0.0483sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:49 PM