[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership

huiqing88
post Dec 30 2010, 09:07 AM

Wow many stars~ :p
782 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Dec 30 2010, 08:53 AM)
hi, i got fren will back from us soon. i see that iphone there selling cheaper than malaysia.
may i know what different compare to unit sold here?
got international warranty? can repair at apple store?
new to iphone, not so familiar with iphone.
thanks for help.
Not recommend you buy from US.
First, US iPhone is locked set. Which means can only use with local network (AT&T).
To use in Malaysia, you'll need to jailbreak and unlock, which will cause you some trouble.
And, you cannot update the firmware as you wish, as updating will cause the device being LOCKED again (and you need to unlock again).
No international warranty. If you buy at US, you'll have to claim warranty at the country you bought the iPhone, which is US.
Save your trouble, get local set (DiGi or Maxis). smile.gif

And please, read before post. The answer is already given in this very same topic, first page, section
2) The Difference Between Unlocked Vs Locked Units
huiqing88
post Dec 30 2010, 09:40 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Dec 30 2010, 09:11 AM)
thanks bro, duno us is locked set. i see some writing sim free, may i know what is this? same with locked?
thanks...
Sim free means you can use the iPhone with any telco. Like the one sold by our local telco (Maxis & DiGi) is Sim free. You may use any sim card you want. They are official unlocked version.
huiqing88
post Dec 30 2010, 11:16 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Dec 30 2010, 10:21 AM)
that mean sim free is unlocked, locked is not sim free? am i right?

i ask my friend, he say now us got iphone that no need come with any service, is this still same(locked version)

thanks for help.
Yes.
Sim Free = Unlocked Unit
Sim Locked = Locked Unit

I don't know about the iPhone sold in US nowadays, but still recommend you get one from our local telco. Warranty matters. icon_rolleyes.gif
huiqing88
post Dec 30 2010, 03:32 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Dec 30 2010, 01:50 PM)
ok, thanks for your help bro.
will consider take at here.
1 more thing, you recommend 16gb or 32gb now?
if i not take maxis or digi package, juz phone, ok or not? coz i heard my line will charge me coz iphone will connect to internet by itself.
16GB or 32GB is very personal questions. That would depend on how you gonna do with your phone.
For me, I used it for listen music, online, install mini/puzzle games, taking photo (not much).
16GB is far enough (But I'm using 32GB because when I purchase no stock for 16GB)
My usage now is 22.2GB free from total 29.1GB.
You need to think of what kind of thing you want to put in it and estimate it yourself. laugh.gif

Sure you can use iPhone without those plans. Just be careful on your data usage. iOS4+ allows you to completely turn of cellular data.
huiqing88
post Dec 31 2010, 01:47 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Dec 31 2010, 01:11 AM)
so now if i upgrade to ios4 then can turn off the auto online so i wont get any extra charges, right? may i know what the price for iphone 4 only if no plan? i saw many are sg set, i want maxis or digi, so i can plan my budget.
thanks again for your help.
Yes. Turn off cellular data and 3G and you're safe.
If you purchase directly from Maxis, the price is RM2,290 for 16GB and RM2,690 for 32GB. DiGi do not sells outright.
If purchase from garage sales/users/traders etc, the price would more expensive a bit, maybe extra RM50~RM150.
Just make sure they are real Maxis or DiGi sets (with warranty card and serial number are same).

QUOTE(pin10 @ Dec 31 2010, 01:11 AM)
i like to play game, will a game cause many memory in iphone? if yes, then i might need 32gb.
can iphone play movie? like when i boring while on plan or waiting, i can watch movie that i download.
thanks, bro.
Depends on what kind of game you want to play. Some big game like those 3D games will consume more spaces (more than 300MB). While mini/puzzle games may only take up 10~30MB.
iPhone can play movie. But need to convert to iPhone compatible format (mp4).
Or install video player apps such as VLC Player which allows you to play most formats.
huiqing88
post Feb 4 2011, 03:01 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(derekdiong1 @ Feb 3 2011, 07:34 PM)
Can any1 tell me when is the IPhone 5 coming out?? I'm gonna get 1 for my bday ^^
No one can give you answer for this question. Just wait for official announcement.

Added on February 4, 2011, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(dlwl @ Feb 4 2011, 03:01 PM)
guys, i dont know if it's the right place here, but i wanna know, what's the best iphone plan to take now? might be getting a 3gs, so i thought of changing to iphone plan. dont really need iphone 4 for now though. i hope not to exceed RM100 for phone bill every month. please advise.
This is very personal question, it depends on how you use.
And it also depends on several factors: usage, coverage etc.

If you don't need data plan (you have wifi anywhere), you can choose to use any postpaid plan/prepaid just like normal phone.
If you need data plan, either sign up for maxis/digi/celcom data plan (you can't subscribe iphone plan without buying iphone); maxis have better coverage areas but may overcharge you if you exceed the quota; digi provide unlimited usage (no bill shock) but coverage is not as good as maxis. celcom i never use before no comment.

Check their respective websites for more information on data plans.

This post has been edited by huiqing88: Feb 4 2011, 03:10 PM
huiqing88
post Feb 10 2011, 06:25 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(mieeshell @ Feb 7 2011, 06:19 PM)
whoops! my bad. i only call out less than 60mins a month. sorry, typo error.
so yeah, i'm using the hotlink youth club prepaid plan which serves me very well. i use almost rm30 for a month. coz it's very cheap to call out and sms. so for me, i thought of keeping my prepaid plan and buy the iphone without contract. and maxis gives free data for a year when purchase at RRP without contract.

so is it wise to choose like that?
I'm currently on hotlink youthclub with iPhone free 500mb plan. I would say that this suits me best. A reload of RM100 could last me 3 months ~ half year. (I'm also light user, and I don't need data plan actually).

If you're on YouthClub, I suggest you to keep the plan cause its no longer available now.
huiqing88
post Feb 15 2011, 03:07 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(mieeshell @ Feb 14 2011, 07:43 PM)
yes i'm on YouthClub. very happy using it. so i guess, i'll just stay on with this and get a non-contract ip4. can i know which is more worth getting? the 16gb or 32gb? i know many ppl say that its actually up to my usage, but sometime i think that i may regret if 16gb is not enough. but for me the price is already to expensive. therefore, i need recomendations.
Difficult to recommend lar... If now recommend you buy 16GB one later you find not enough you come blame me how laugh.gif
Money wise lar... depends on your budget lor...
For me 16GB is more than enough, I only sync about 1.5GB of songs, 1GB of photos, 4GB of apps and that's all... I don't really play those "big" games on iPhone... the screen too small and the gaming experience still not so satisfying la... LOL laugh.gif and battery drain very fast when playing 3d games = =
So I only play those mini/puzzle games and some useful/utility/daily apps on it... so basically they won't consume too much capacity...

but... I'm using 32GB one... sweat.gif current usage: 21GB available/29.1GB total shocking.gif
huiqing88
post Mar 7 2011, 02:09 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(bardshah92 @ Mar 4 2011, 10:27 PM)

Get it. After 1st month, terminate it. Done.
No need take any plan as you can directly purchase from maxis....
huiqing88
post Mar 16 2011, 01:44 PM

782 posts

Frankly speaking, do you play all those HUGE game on your iPhone all the time? Or you just install them and put there? Maybe open it once a while?

For me I don't install huge games on iPhone. It's still a phone. I rather play games on computer. I only play some mini/puzzle games on iPhone, where each round maybe took 1~3 minutes time to kill some free time.
huiqing88
post Mar 17 2011, 02:11 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(kacakboy @ Mar 16 2011, 06:49 PM)
I plan to put mostly e-books and games, is like what you said. only those short games

Also, i was wondering about the data feee. If i buy it off hand, i have no free data. But I'm in uni most of the time with wifi and also at home, also having wifi. SO i do not need the data plan right?
If only putting ebooks and those mini games and some media files (music, photo, short video), 16GB will be more than enough. FYI, each small games only took 10~40mb of size.

If you have WiFi access all the time, yes you don't need data plan. Unless you really need to be online all the time i.e when traveling, having meals, walking. Like me I also having WiFi at home and at work, so my 500mb/month free data plan only use less than 100mb per month. Of course if you do not sign up data plan, never turn on Cellular data and 3G, or else you'll be shocked. shocking.gif
huiqing88
post Oct 3 2011, 09:44 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(mia_sara @ Oct 3 2011, 05:34 PM)
i'm interested in buying iphone 4
maybe this question is quite silly
if i don't have credit cards, how am i going to buy all those apps?
Debit card also can
I'm using Maybank VISA Debit card FYI.
huiqing88
post Oct 5 2011, 10:13 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(iqa1309 @ Oct 5 2011, 10:07 PM)

I still have one year left on my iPhone 4 2-year contract with Maxis. Does anybody have any idea whether Maxis allow upgrading to iPhone 4S under the existing contract ? I would consider upgrading if the cost is not too prohibitive.

Thank you.
It is not yet available...
Just wait until it reach Malaysia...
And for your question... most probably the answer is yes... since Maxis is providing such contract upgrade previously...
huiqing88
post Oct 7 2011, 08:41 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(jac1876 @ Oct 7 2011, 11:46 AM)
Hi everyone , Im just a student here , a guy selling iphone4 white 16gb new at 800. His coming cod with me tonight . Its it ORI set or copy ? Im not so good in iphone stuff . Hope u guys can give me advise , Thanks =)
Better reject it and don't buy it.
It's too good to be true.
800 for iPhone 4 is way too cheap.
huiqing88
post Oct 8 2011, 06:55 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(Mista Od @ Oct 7 2011, 11:42 PM)
my mp4 just died + bb is not in condition after serving me for a few years.. sad.gif
i actually need a phone to sms + call ..plus i can play with some games + apps with iphone..
is it still worth to buy an iphone 3gs over ipod touch 4g?
any suggestion? blush.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
If it fits your requirements and budget, why not? smile.gif
huiqing88
post Nov 23 2011, 08:16 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(aiinadz @ Nov 23 2011, 07:51 PM)
Is it worth to buy iphone 4 8gb now?
I'm sick of waiting for local iphone 4s.
Plus next year the complete redesign iphone 5 will come out.
Surely I will change to iphone 5 later.
Feel like waste of money if wanna buy expensive iphone 4s just to use until iphone 5 come out.
It's mostly up to your usage & requirements...
If you're planning to get iPhone 5 when it come out, no harm getting yourself an iPhone 4 now
huiqing88
post Nov 9 2012, 02:06 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(sarcasm90 @ Nov 9 2012, 12:30 AM)
Hi guys! Um, not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but here goes.. I'm thinking of buying iPhone 4s, I'm more into social networking than gaming cause I already have an iPad for that, not for listening songs either cause I already have mp3 for that, text/calls/websurfing/emails/occasional camwhoring lol that kind of stuff, okay maybe a game app or two for when I'm bored, so 16gb should be enough, yeah? what do you guys think? This is actually my first time buying an iPhone, so I don't really know anything bout it haha

And uh, how's the network reception thingy for umobile users? Could it be poor? I'm staying mostly around selangor/kl, so that should be fine I guess? Hm. I'm thinking of buying it straight from those premium resellers, but I'm not sure if they still have them, I wanted a black one. I went to garage sales and I do find some sellers selling around or same as RPR but then when people ask for best price they actually got quoted for much higher than that. Weird.

Sorry for such a long post, and if I'm asking in the wrong section, please advice the correct section smile.gif I'd really appreciate any help icon_question.gif
From what you stated in your usage, 16GB should be more than enough.
But who knows? Maybe one day you install more and more games, put more and more multimedia contents (mp3/videos/photos) then space will be limited lor

As for UMobile network reception, no comment since I'm not UMobile user.

If you want to buying it straight, can purchase at Apple Store (MY). Worry-free.

0.0230sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:50 PM