[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership

TripleH
post Dec 23 2008, 02:42 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(v von dutch @ Dec 23 2008, 02:20 PM)
jeez! can somebody help me out here!
i'm new to this forum, god damnit i dunno how to begin.
anyhoo, i would like to purchase an iPhone 3g (16gb).
how can i find out more about it?
whats the market price at the mo?
i need answers! damn santa for not being able to give me an iPhone nor fitting into my chimney!
rclxub.gif
Search in LYN garagesale. There's a few selling.
TripleH
post Dec 23 2008, 05:04 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(slumberus @ Dec 23 2008, 04:51 PM)
Hi, got a question:

Would the impending s/w unlock of the 3G iPhone be affected by future firmware updates? meaning you can't update your phone?

thx!
Yes..most surely it will. Lock 3G iPhone will sure be a headache when comes to firmware upgrades la. Every firmware updates will render the phone lock if the baseband is altered/upgraded. So yes, you can't update your firmware even tho you want itso badly. You'll always be backwards..while those who have the official unlock units will enjoy the sweetness of the firmware upgrades leh.

Even with the upcoming unlock patch on the 31/12, only firmware 2.0.0 to 2.1 will have the opportunity to unlock. Imagine how long it takes to have a firmware 2.2 unlock..we never know. Then..think about the next firmware and the next..oh my..you're in for a bad ride.

Official unlock 3G iPhones can update firmware anytime thumbup.gif thumbup.gif when is available and trouble free. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by TripleH: Dec 23 2008, 05:14 PM
TripleH
post Dec 24 2008, 11:15 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Dec 24 2008, 10:41 AM)
one question here...i read on how to get iphone from singtel...means we have to ask someone to subcribe... but my question is...after subscribe the plan from singtel...the phone is locked to Singtel simcard only?
or it's unlocked?
Dude, phones from S'pore are sold unlock. Why not you just buy for sellers in garagesale and make sure they provide you a receipt v the phone.
TripleH
post Dec 25 2008, 01:25 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(djnerv @ Dec 25 2008, 10:12 AM)
Hi.. Actually i dont really understand with 'after new year' thing.

So..can anyone let me know whether i should get the 3g iphone in u.s now (i can only buy before new year because im going back on 30th december) and update it after new year when im back in Malaysia?
read this

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/880115

0.0429sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:57 AM