129 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership

silverwave
post Feb 13 2010, 11:04 AM

4,082 posts

Interesting thread. I'm looking forward to getting myself and iphone but is there any difference if i buy it overseas? Warranty is one, how about the cost? I'm aiming for 3GS 16GB or 3GS 32GB. smile.gif
frozzbyte
post Feb 13 2010, 01:04 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@silverware
Warranty should be taken into consideration as parts for this phone is quite expensive. Why save few bucks but need to fork out more money later when it's broken (this is where the warranty comes in smile.gif )

As for the price, it's varied on where you plan to get it but mostly will be tied to a contract to the respective country telco (like maxis). Some do sell it contract free at the local phone shops (grey imports etc) but then again you do not know where the phone's from. Which leads to the next point of officially unlock, hardware unlock or software unlock.

Official unlock - Can be use with all sim card. Not lock to just 1 telco (like maxis and singtel)

Hardware unlock - used to be done last time where they modified the chip inside with a sim adapter. (highly not advisable)

Software unlock - can only be use with the intended telco (like AT&T). Any update to the baseband (sumethin like a modem driver) and you'll loose the unlock. If the dev team or geohot did not find any unlock for the baseband, then you'll stuck with an iPod Touch.

Better go with an Official and Unlock phone, just to be safe.
silverwave
post Feb 13 2010, 01:33 PM

4,082 posts

Ok, i'll get it from maxis then. Thanks a lot frozzbyte smile.gif
arturn
post Feb 14 2010, 07:06 PM

1,239 posts

i've just bought an iphone 3gs from a forumer. any idea on hw to check whether the set is maxis o oversea set?

i dun have the warranty card
wilberpang
post Feb 14 2010, 07:22 PM

67 posts

Inside setting. Carrier should written as MAXIS..
tabs
post Feb 14 2010, 10:21 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(wilberpang @ Feb 14 2010, 07:22 PM)
Inside setting. Carrier should written as MAXIS..
er don't give wrong information regrading it.. if i put digi it will show digi as well..

for arturn:
u can check the warranty status through the website.. inside will let u know which country of this iphone belong.. if not still don't understand can ask as well
moc
post Feb 18 2010, 07:09 PM

34 posts

Hi, recently some iphone seller selling 3gs oversea unit like sg, hk... Etc
but mostly Asia country. The seller claim that the phone is buy from
hk apple store , that's y it can claim warranty anywhere in the world with
apple store. In Malaysia the apple office is in BUKIT DAMANSARA.
Seller also claim it can be claim thru apple office if the phone got proplem..it is true?
The unit is from hk.. And it sell cheaper than market price.
I just want to verified, tried to call apple office but nobody answer the phone.

cky6667
post Feb 18 2010, 07:21 PM

^^^seremban boy^^^
998 posts

it cant be claim in malaysia. since malaysia only provide warranty for maxis unit
moc
post Feb 18 2010, 07:25 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(cky6667 @ Feb 18 2010, 07:21 PM)
it cant be claim in malaysia. since malaysia only provide warranty for maxis unit
sure? some of lyn seller sell things at others e-trade web, claiming warranty from apple store.

Ge[N]ez
post Feb 18 2010, 07:39 PM

84 posts

Very sure. Apple here does not cover iphones.
moc
post Feb 18 2010, 07:49 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(GeNez @ Feb 18 2010, 07:39 PM)
Very sure. Apple here does not cover iphones.
ok..then seller must be lying
owikh84
post Feb 18 2010, 07:50 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Even Maxis iPhone warranty covered by Maxis only but not Apple.
x132755
post Feb 18 2010, 07:58 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

CANNOT
duckevo
post Feb 18 2010, 08:42 PM

Yoona-licious
584 posts

it has been explained for a couple of times

there is no international warranty for iPhone

international warranty only applicable for other Apple products EXCEPT IPHONE
Mackiddo
post Feb 18 2010, 10:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

at least a Sg set still not too bad if you stay in JB, also the warranty service in Sg also way better than Msia Maxis.
tabs
post Feb 19 2010, 01:57 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

yup.. more faster then msia maxis bcos normally they send to sg first only send to us to claim warratny
d3vilzzzz
post Feb 19 2010, 05:05 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Just tot i shud mention this;

lotsa ready stock in KLCC's maxis centre ..
nt for the 3g model though biggrin.gif

and i am baffled as to why there are some who would opt for phones which origins are from goodness know where..
if ur worried ..dun bother ... MAXIS is the best tongue.gif

disclaimer: i dun work for MAXIS but since they are offering warranty hehe biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Feb 19 2010, 05:12 PM
CallMeMonkey
post Feb 23 2010, 06:50 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Feb 19 2010, 05:05 PM)
Just tot i shud mention this;

lotsa ready stock in KLCC's maxis centre ..
nt for the 3g model though biggrin.gif

and i am baffled as to why there are some who would opt for phones which origins are from goodness know where..
if ur worried ..dun bother ... MAXIS is the best tongue.gif

disclaimer: i dun work for MAXIS but since they are offering warranty hehe biggrin.gif
cant blame them, they just want to save a few bucks after all tongue.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Feb 24 2010, 12:55 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

i guess so ..
with a MAXIS warranty all u hv to do is to do a restore to make claims biggrin.gif

this of course only applies to those who are worried about their origins of their phones smile.gif
repulse
post Feb 25 2010, 01:00 PM

34 posts

So it's February 2010 and March is just around the corner. I've heard rumors saying that the new IPhone 4G will be released in Jun/July, some say September and those in the official Apple/Mac forum said it won't be out until at least 2011 or 2012 due to AT&T this and that.

But what I'd like to hear are your opinions here from lowyat because I plan to get an IPhone in within 1-2 weeks. So what's it gonna be? Just go for it, or wait for the 4G? Or any other suggestions?

129 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:13 PM