Quad core on Windows XP, possible?, abit blurred.

TSyOuNg$tEr
post Dec 10 2008, 04:16 PM, updated 18y ago

728 posts

Just wondering,
If I were to get a quad core processor(AMD Phenom X4), is it possible for it to run on Windows XP?or it will just detect it as a single core?
I will need to get the windows XP 64bit edition right?or i need to install Windows Vista to fully utilize the 4 cores?

thanks , peace.
k!nex
post Dec 10 2008, 04:21 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(yOuNg$tEr @ Dec 10 2008, 04:16 PM)
Just wondering,
If I were to get a quad core processor(AMD Phenom X4), is it possible for it to run on Windows XP?or it will just detect it as a single core?
I will need to get the windows XP 64bit edition right?or i need to install Windows Vista to fully utilize the 4 cores?

thanks , peace.
it will detect as a quad core.dun worry. vista or xp same only.u dun need 64 bit xp to use ur quad core.u only need 64 bit when u're hving more than 3.5gb ram.utilise all the 4 cores or not depend on applications.

proof here:

This post has been edited by k!nex: Dec 10 2008, 04:38 PM
fuzore
post Dec 10 2008, 04:28 PM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

Just wondering,

thanks , peace.
Bro any OS will detect ur proc all 4 cores as for ram its a different story....

astria
post Dec 10 2008, 05:54 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

if i remember correctly, XP supports 32 cores...
seeseng
post Dec 10 2008, 06:01 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

XP can detect all the cores. Just need some hotfix and software to let XP utilize more cores.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=60416

This post has been edited by seeseng: Dec 10 2008, 06:04 PM
1024kbps
post Dec 10 2008, 06:18 PM

李素裳
6,015 posts

Multicore is possible on both xp Home and pro edition,
but not MultiCPU, MultiCPU only available on Pro edition.
evit
post Dec 10 2008, 08:05 PM

147 posts

it can detect all the 4 cores but it just use some (maybe only 2 of them), am i correct?since what i understand many of software today don't use all the 4 cores especially games.only a few games use 4 cores.
asellus
post Dec 10 2008, 08:46 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(evit @ Dec 10 2008, 08:05 PM)
it can detect all the 4 cores but it just use some (maybe only 2 of them), am i correct?since what i understand many of software today don't use all the 4 cores especially games.only a few games use 4 cores.
Well, that's the fault of the applications, not Windows XP which is still good enough to use 4 cores effectively.
phunkydude
post Dec 10 2008, 09:01 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Dec 10 2008, 06:01 PM)
XP can detect all the cores. Just need some hotfix and software to let XP utilize more cores.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=60416
afff..` didn't knew intel cpu also need hotfix on winxp. tongue.gif
what bout sp3? , can sp3 update the hotfix too?
TechnoDude94
post Dec 11 2008, 01:27 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Your Windows XP will detect your processors properly. The question is, are the software /drivers that you use optimized for quad-core processing?
TSyOuNg$tEr
post Dec 11 2008, 10:12 AM

728 posts

hmm...so to let XP detect and utilize all 4 cores..
i will need to install windows XP Pro and get the hotfix?
or it will just depend on the applications?
ericpires
post Dec 11 2008, 10:54 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

But not all the programs or games fully utilize the 4 cores...smile.gif
SUSrainy~days
post Dec 11 2008, 11:03 AM

296 posts

Win XP Pro SP3 here...

Q9550 running smooth
phunkydude
post Dec 11 2008, 01:50 PM

2,403 posts

For winXP to detect, Yes.
but by default being optimized on supporting multiple cores, certainly No.

On top of the application/software/driver, you need an OS that optimized to support multiple cores 1st.
winXP previously on SP2 requires the additional hotfix w/ registry tweak & boot loader switch.

As for winXP sp3, it's said to be integrated with the hotfix.
but i just noticed my registry & boot loader are without the required tweak/switch.
so, even if sp3 does integrates the hotfix, there's still the need of manually tweaking the registry and adding the boot loader switch.
or, does it even includes the hotfix at the 1st place? (just couldn't find a reliable source to confirm that.)

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 11 2008, 01:27 AM)
Your Windows XP will detect your processors properly. The question is, are the software /drivers that you use optimized for quad-core processing?
TechnoDude94
post Dec 11 2008, 07:09 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Dec 11 2008, 01:50 PM)
For winXP to detect, Yes.
but by default being optimized on supporting multiple cores, certainly No.

On top of the application/software/driver, you need an OS that optimized to support multiple cores 1st.
winXP previously on SP2 requires the additional hotfix w/ registry tweak & boot loader switch.

As for winXP sp3, it's said to be integrated with the hotfix.
but i just noticed my registry & boot loader are without the required tweak/switch.
so, even if sp3 does integrates the hotfix, there's still the need of manually tweaking the registry and adding the boot loader switch.
or, does it even includes the hotfix at the 1st place? (just couldn't find a reliable source to confirm that.)
I'm not sure whether SP2 has the hotfix included because I'm using a slipstreamed version of XP Pro with SP3 32-Bit. sweat.gif
evit
post Dec 11 2008, 11:45 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 11 2008, 07:09 PM)
I'm not sure whether SP2 has the hotfix included because I'm using a slipstreamed version of XP Pro with SP3 32-Bit. sweat.gif
that make me wonder.how about window vista 32 bit or 64 bit?are they sure will have it?
TechnoDude94
post Dec 12 2008, 02:18 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(evit @ Dec 11 2008, 11:45 PM)
that make me wonder.how about window vista 32 bit or 64 bit?are they sure will have it?
Not sure about plain old Vista 32/64 (Bit) but I'm sure that Vista SP1 (32/64 Bit) has the hotfixes included.
evit
post Dec 12 2008, 03:05 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 12 2008, 02:18 AM)
Not sure about plain old Vista 32/64 (Bit) but I'm sure that Vista SP1 (32/64 Bit) has the hotfixes included.
oic
seeseng
post Dec 15 2008, 02:28 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

Confirmed SP3 has the hotfix integrated. When trying to install the hotfix on SP3 a message pop up said already included.
unknownsubject
post Dec 16 2008, 10:55 PM

form blazing sword...
895 posts

just install sp3 and you should have no problems.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 17 2008, 01:24 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Dec 10 2008, 04:21 PM)
it will detect as a quad core.dun worry. vista or xp same only.u dun need 64 bit xp to use ur quad core.u only need 64 bit when u're hving more than 3.5gb ram.utilise all the 4 cores or not depend on applications.

proof here:

Sorry for this late question but it's regarding the screenshot. How come your still using SP2, time to update to SP3 unless your using *ahem* version of Windows. brows.gif
Derrick Cherry
post Dec 17 2008, 03:28 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Dec 11 2008, 10:54 AM)
But not all the programs or games fully utilize the 4 cores...smile.gif
You can always personally "assign" one or more of the core to certain task/process that you wan.
dylanchan1688
post Dec 17 2008, 09:41 AM

PuLu™
125 posts

quad core sure can work on xp....
cassplayer
post Dec 17 2008, 09:54 AM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

QUOTE(dylanchan1688 @ Dec 17 2008, 09:41 AM)
quad core sure can work on xp....
yes of course it can work.... but does it make a GREAT pair?
DeVGF
post Dec 17 2008, 03:14 PM

291 posts

hmmmm.. it should work fine.. but if u have a quad-core, getting vista would be a better choice. XP cannot utilize 4 cores as well as vista.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 17 2008, 04:02 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(DeVGF @ Dec 17 2008, 03:14 PM)
hmmmm.. it should work fine.. but if u have a quad-core, getting vista would be a better choice. XP cannot utilize 4 cores as well as vista.
I beg to differ. Vista and XP can both utilize quad-cores properly. XP requires a hotfix which is included in SP3. Just my 2 cents. icon_rolleyes.gif
salimbest83
post Dec 18 2008, 12:17 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,645 posts

im using XP SP3..but 32bit ..
my 4GB ram just detected around 3GB only..
still holding back from upgrading to 64bit coz heard its got lots of problem..especially XP 64bit...
TechnoDude94
post Dec 18 2008, 05:19 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Dec 18 2008, 12:17 PM)
im using XP SP3..but 32bit ..
my 4GB ram just detected around 3GB only..
still holding back from upgrading to 64bit coz heard its got lots of problem..especially XP 64bit...
I though SP3 can detect but cannot utilize 4GB?
latias93
post Dec 18 2008, 11:29 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

Yes it is possible! Quad-core FTW!
convivencia
post Dec 19 2008, 08:53 AM

idiot
2,675 posts

Just wondering,

thanks , peace.
I have a friend. He got a server that comes with 4 quad-core CPUs.

He runs XP Pro on it.

All the 16 cores are recognized. No problem.
DeVGF
post Dec 19 2008, 03:04 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Dec 19 2008, 08:53 AM)

He runs XP Pro on it.

Recoginized, but not utilized... its different.. for 4 quad-core CPUs.. you use Windows Server instead of Xp
convivencia
post Dec 19 2008, 03:42 PM

idiot
2,675 posts

QUOTE(evit @ Dec 10 2008, 08:05 PM)
Not if the software is multi-core aware.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 19 2008, 09:30 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Dec 19 2008, 08:53 AM)

He runs XP Pro on it.

4X Quad-core processors? blink.gif Mind to share his location of the server, I'd really like to go and view to drool over it if there's even such a thing. Btw, there's no dumb fu*k in this world that'll run 4X Quad-core processors. He'll be running Intel Xeon, duh. doh.gif And like you said, "all 16 cores are recognized" but not necessarily utilized. tongue.gif
KKW
post Dec 20 2008, 11:15 AM

2,954 posts

no problem... using window xp in core 2 quad..
i use xp in Q9400... no problem at all and running smooth
convivencia
post Dec 20 2008, 11:41 AM

idiot
2,675 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 19 2008, 09:30 PM)
4X Quad-core processors? blink.gif Mind to share his location of the server, I'd really like to go and view to drool over it if there's even such a thing. Btw, there's no dumb fu*k in this world that'll run 4X Quad-core processors. He'll be running Intel Xeon, duh. doh.gif And like you said, "all 16 cores are recognized" but not necessarily utilized. tongue.gif
He is in the geological service, analyzing multiple terabytes of data files to locate oil underground.

And yes, the quad core he uses is the quad core we all use.

I asked him why not using xeon, he just smiled. Don't ask me why, that guy just smiled.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 20 2008, 12:41 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Dec 20 2008, 11:41 AM)
He is in the geological service, analyzing multiple terabytes of data files to locate oil underground.

And yes, the quad core he uses is the quad core we all use.

I asked him why not using xeon, he just smiled. Don't ask me why, that guy just smiled.
Post deleted due to my ignorance. rolleyes.gif sweat.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoDude94: Dec 22 2008, 02:50 AM
blacksp
post Dec 20 2008, 03:21 PM

30 posts

amd also have dual core driver for xp,
4core i not sure...
convivencia
post Dec 20 2008, 07:31 PM

idiot
2,675 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 20 2008, 12:41 PM)
Like I said, because he smiled he's a dumb-fu*k. doh.gif Honestly speaking, I haven't heard of any motherboards in this be it desktop/consumer/server motherboards that support 4X Processors (Quad-core).
Those are not called "mother"board.

They are known as "server"board, and they support up to 256GB of memory, and up to 16 pieces of quad core cpu, on each board !
astria
post Dec 20 2008, 10:49 PM

22,158 posts

dude... i do have seen pics of workstation mobos for 4 AMD Opteron (Shanghai) quad cores, with 2 DIMMs for each CPU...

but runnin XP on such a rig really make me scratch head... as 1) XP is not even with multi core CPU in mind, and 2) there are Server 2k3, Server 2k8 and Vista to choose from which all have much better optimization for multi-core...

not to mention there's Nvidia CUDA to run the jobs more efficiently... like a 8800GTX can outperform a Core 2 Quad when crunching the same data... or better still, Tesla...
DeVGF
post Dec 21 2008, 04:56 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 20 2008, 12:41 PM)
Like I said, because he smiled he's a dumb-fu*k. doh.gif Honestly speaking, I haven't heard of any motherboards in this be it desktop/consumer/server motherboards that support 4X Processors (Quad-core).
It exists and it isn't a joke ... Ultra hi-end servers use this kind of motherboards, 4 physical quadcores and 32gb of ram.. these are used for rendering and storage for classified and very important data. My uncle told me about this before and i also had the exact same expression.. i was like why would anyone need sooo much processing power for a computer??

This post has been edited by DeVGF: Dec 21 2008, 04:56 PM
jasonkwk
post Dec 21 2008, 07:26 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

serverboard support multi-CPU,but people dun use it to run window XP normaly.
1024kbps
post Dec 21 2008, 09:55 PM

李素裳
6,015 posts

a screenshot for prove that windoze xp support up to 32 cores/cpus
TechnoDude94
post Dec 22 2008, 02:51 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Dec 20 2008, 07:31 PM)
Those are not called "mother"board.

They are known as "server"board, and they support up to 256GB of memory, and up to 16 pieces of quad core cpu, on each board !
I didn't know they're called serverboards. ohmy.gif

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 20 2008, 10:49 PM)
dude... i do have seen pics of workstation mobos for 4 AMD Opteron (Shanghai) quad cores, with 2 DIMMs for each CPU...

but runnin XP on such a rig really make me scratch head... as 1) XP is not even with multi core CPU in mind, and 2) there are Server 2k3, Server 2k8 and Vista to choose from which all have much better optimization for multi-core...

not to mention there's Nvidia CUDA to run the jobs more efficiently... like a 8800GTX can outperform a Core 2 Quad when crunching the same data... or better still, Tesla...
Don't forget, graphics card can only crunch graphic DATA. tongue.gif

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Dec 21 2008, 09:55 PM)
a screenshot for prove that windoze xp support up to 32 cores/cpus
I stun-cawk! rclxub.gif
Jerry1988
post Dec 22 2008, 10:58 AM

97 posts

I use quad core to run XP...No problem at all..so smooth...
convivencia
post Dec 22 2008, 12:02 PM

idiot
2,675 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Dec 21 2008, 07:26 PM)
serverboard support multi-CPU,but people dun use it to run window XP normaly.
It's true that in "normal" circumstance like what my friend's situation, people don't use XP.

I think I gonna ask him why he uses XP.

If he gives me that stupid smile again I think I'm going to kick him silly. smile.gif
astria
post Dec 22 2008, 01:26 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 22 2008, 02:51 AM)

Don't forget, graphics card can only crunch graphic DATA. tongue.gif

bro... do read up abt stream computer and CUDA (Nvidia) and CAL (ATi)

u can now use graphic card to provide acceleration for non-3D apps... HD video is one of them... trans-coding videos also (1 hr HD video can be trans-coded in 30-45mins with HD 4850/9600GT, instead of a few hours by Core 2 Duo)

Folding @ Home is another research project where u can use graphic card to crunch numbers instead of CPU...

the use of GPU is not limited to graphic nowadays... as long as u ve the right program (eg C), u can run it with GPU...
TechnoDude94
post Dec 22 2008, 06:09 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 22 2008, 01:26 PM)
bro... do read up abt stream computer and CUDA (Nvidia) and CAL (ATi)

u can now use graphic card to provide acceleration for non-3D apps... HD video is one of them... trans-coding videos also (1 hr HD video can be trans-coded in 30-45mins with HD 4850/9600GT, instead of a few hours by Core 2 Duo)

Folding @ Home is another research project where u can use graphic card to crunch numbers instead of CPU...

the use of GPU is not limited to graphic nowadays... as long as u ve the right program (eg C), u can run it with GPU...
Okay, gonna needa' buy a Dummy-book already. sweat.gif Btw, when you say right program, is C++ counted? blush.gif
astria
post Dec 22 2008, 11:50 PM

22,158 posts

it's C an another language which i forgot the name...

definetely not C++ though...
syazwanreno
post Dec 22 2008, 11:53 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

Just wondering,

thanks , peace.
OMG shocking.gif

i loled hard laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
ac_N1
post Dec 23 2008, 12:10 AM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

Your windows Xp will still detect it as quad core. But bear in mind that the performance wont differ much compared to dual core as Windows XP is not multi threaded nod.gif
hussam_o_r
post Dec 23 2008, 12:15 AM

NOT IN MALAYSIA ANYMORE
517 posts

xp is so old
TechnoDude94
post Dec 23 2008, 02:07 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Dec 22 2008, 11:53 PM)
OMG  shocking.gif

i loled hard  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Dude, some people are here to learn. No point in laughing @ peoples mistakes over the internet. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(hussam_o_r @ Dec 23 2008, 12:15 AM)
xp is so old
Even though XP is old. It's still usable right (even though I won't recommend it). laugh.gif
convivencia
post Dec 23 2008, 08:13 AM

idiot
2,675 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Dec 23 2008, 12:10 AM)
Your windows Xp will still detect it as quad core. But bear in mind that the performance wont differ much compared to dual core as Windows XP is not multi threaded  nod.gif
Huh?

XP is not multi-threaded???

Where got?
syazwanreno
post Dec 23 2008, 09:33 AM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 23 2008, 02:07 AM)
Dude, some people are here to learn. No point in laughing @ peoples mistakes over the internet. shakehead.gif
Even though XP is old. It's still usable right (even though I won't recommend it). laugh.gif
ok, sry.... sweat.gif

pls forgive me.... icon_rolleyes.gif
astria
post Dec 23 2008, 02:11 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Dec 23 2008, 08:13 AM)
Huh?

XP is not multi-threaded???

Where got?
it is multi-threaded... but do bear in mind that XP was not written with multi-threading in mind...
TechnoDude94
post Dec 23 2008, 04:47 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Dec 23 2008, 09:33 AM)
ok, sry....
pls forgive me....
It's okay, it's alright, everything gonna be just fine. cool.gif

This post has been edited by TechnoDude94: Dec 23 2008, 04:47 PM

0.0256sec    1.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:30 AM