Stock market V19, Chit chat in the market

aurora97
post Dec 6 2008, 02:07 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

doubt it, but never hurts to hope for a new year and a new start?
aurora97
post Dec 9 2008, 09:04 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

morning everyone splendid week ahead, Opec oil cut should put a small crack (smile) on everyone's face today.
aurora97
post Dec 13 2008, 09:26 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Dec 12 2008, 10:30 PM)
anyone knows why kurasia jumped?
from what i have heard rumours is a share buy back/
aurora97
post Dec 19 2008, 02:38 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

bank negara contemplating on another rate cuts to follow American cut?

any news???
aurora97
post Dec 31 2008, 05:26 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

congratulations to those whom have invested in KLK, share buy back scheme just published in the star.

I believe Cherroy made a killing?

and those whom have invested in Plantation stocks and made nice profits. (i.e. IOI)

the outlook for the months Jan to May for FCPO price should be favourable hopefully pushing through to 1800 above, should expect plantation shares to lead the market.
aurora97
post Dec 31 2008, 10:08 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Dec 31 2008, 05:50 PM)
Just now I was chatting with my clients who had not stock experience before, they talk very loud to advise me that dont buy stock now, because next year will go down, buy in next year !!!! Now I go every where also hear the same thing....So I guess it is time to collect some now.  flex.gif Just my 2 cents.
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 31 2008, 07:58 PM)
DOW THEORY SAYS : Do not buy ( or is to  sell shares ) when everyone is "HOT in the market" , everywhere you go people talking about how easy is to make money from share market. That would be quite close to the peak of the market. So run for your life.
DOW THEORY :-

Primary Bear Market - Stage 3 - Despair

At the top of a primary bull market, hope springs eternal and excess is the order of the day. By the final stage of a bear market, all hope is lost and stocks are frowned upon. Valuations are low, but the selling continues as participants seek to sell no matter what. The news from corporate America is bad, the economic outlook bleak and not a buyer is to be found. The market will continue to decline until all the bad news is fully priced into stocks. Once stocks fully reflect the worst possible outcome, the cycle begins again.
Oh by the way, this all happened a few months back when FCPO plunged below 1400. If your entering right now in to plantation counters than u might have some problem in the long run, unless it can continue its uptrend momentum. It's closing in on 1700 but not there yet.

To bet on plantation is neither safe or sound depends how you look at it, but commodities a definately must buy as one of the counters in your portfolio if ur investing 2-4 yrs ahead before u see any proper return on investment.

btw i believe when Cherroy hinted he bought some KLK, i think he got it at a good price of about 8 look at the price now.

Whether his bluffing or serious anyones guess.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Dec 31 2008, 10:11 PM
aurora97
post Jan 2 2009, 04:17 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

after this rally probably before CNy selling lock stock and barrel ... wash my hands clean

this run is only suitable for those whom have been holding on to their nuts since 5 mths back when the market was like a freakiung yoyo

This post has been edited by aurora97: Jan 2 2009, 04:18 PM
aurora97
post Jan 2 2009, 05:10 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 2 2009, 04:32 PM)
You forget those holding more than 5 months or even 2 months old are still making at least 10%+ ~ 20% loss even after today or tomorrow surge.  smile.gif

Only those manage to get at the bottom (which I considered lucky) are gaining quite good in today mini-rally, it varies from stock to stock, some just gain peanut only.

So even market rise for 20-30 or 50 points, most (including me) are still holding a bunch of earlier bought which still are nursing the loss. Only recent pruchase are making gain.

You need a string of run and continous rally before we can say this market is really good.
have a bad feeling about this yr ...holding on to mostly plantations, will unload all at least somewhere around May 08 at least i can sleep peacefully with all my monies under my pillow..

Cant imagine whats installed this 2 3 4 th quarter
aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 09:31 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

someone has to die in order for others to profit, not suprisingly plantations are gainning due to a spike in oil prices.

Both disputes in the Ukraine over gas prices and also on going incursion in Gaza Strip is fueling the spike.

However, this will be a short war so the moment the war ends people will get burnt.
aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 09:48 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 5 2009, 09:35 AM)
China is building up their Oil reserve, probably buying into Crude CPO.

China for one would not get to be burnt. biggrin.gif
realistically saying, CPO prices are also absurdly flactuating. Expect alot of defaults and rejection on delivery, so dont be suprise if CPO heads southwards suddenly. Thats why I did mention for the month after CNY especially FEB, March, April and May onwards is deficult to predict.

Good thing for now is currently FFB production is at low cycle, there is still some surplus from last year so most likely planters will slowly deplete the storage before going back to normal production phase to prepare for next years recovery (optimistic).

With floods in West Malaysia Especially to look out for is Johor being the 2nd Major producer as well, should hamper CPO supply further which is more good news for Sabah producers.

War in the Middle East.

For the time being it seems all the signs are in favour of CPO.

My forecast for plantation is on track except for and until Feb Mac April and May 08 FCPO prices uncertain will depend on the effect of El Lina (or what the f-ing name u wanna call it)...

Forecast...
Two things to pray for El Lina.
Either too much rain or no rain, this will effectively decrease the yield of CPO significantly with fruits that are high in inpurities i.e. higher cost of production and smaller fruits respectively.

Other fronts would be soya bean crops affected by El Lina to look out for.

supply is not due to kick back into full production till late august/september before we see some recovery in the supply, so should be interesting to look out for.

Ukraine gets a kick in the groin with Gas supply being paid in Market price increasing 4x folds if am not mistake from the current price being charged. This will significantly increase gas prices not only in Ukraine but also throughout the EU a domino effect which could lead to significant jump in oil prices.

aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 10:20 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

this one must be temporary erection.

dont trust the market too much very artificial
aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 10:27 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

CPO Market opens in 5 mins should be interesting if it breaches the 1900 barrier... ?
aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 10:34 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

Common March 09 FCPO show me the money!
aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 10:47 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 5 2009, 10:46 AM)
share mana mana pun boleh beli ~~!!!

now everyone's confidence is back brows.gif
mine holding for the pass 5 mths back, my nerves also about to crack already profit taking...

going to consolidate my funds for the incoming longggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg winter ...
aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 12:01 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

IOI is over-hypedla, what goes up must come down...

IOI has remained pretty bullish throughout Dec to Jan, probably foreign hedge funds are joining the fray again (back to school?). Once they pull the carpet from underneath everything will start crumbling be4 u can say buy!
aurora97
post Jan 5 2009, 12:37 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/middle_east/7810945.stm

European seeks 48 hours truce for humanitarian purposes!

Crude Oil at 47.09

The time is ticking for a truce or a peaceful resolution to this madness!

This post has been edited by aurora97: Jan 5 2009, 12:40 PM
aurora97
post Jan 6 2009, 10:41 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 6 2009, 10:32 AM)
The WCT's cancellation project send market back to reality. Even those already being awarded the project, by no mean, it is 100% will be carrying on. Especially if oil price doesn't go up, which mean less income for the oil producing countries, those highly lucrative and massive project one in those countries, is always got a risk.
I cant believe my eyes WCT Engineering...limit down thats kinda of a first for a company that size?

I use to eye this company alot before the share split anyway... this is really a blow to my confidence of what lies ahead ..

aurora97
post Jan 6 2009, 11:19 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

Construction & property market is starting to get impacted by the global credit crunch, my 2 cents worth... i wonder how this would affect REITS?

On another brighter note...
the thing is WCT may be over-sold once limit down is lifted so this stock is potentially up for speculation as well.

Watch for signs for over-sold maybe a good time to pick up as well for short speculative (Gamble) if anyone has the marbles to go for such risk.

I wouldnt be suprised at all if the afternoon session we continue to see limit down and for the next two days.

On another note, there maybe compensation due to the cancellation of the project so WCT is not at a total lost at all. Depending on what phase the racecourse has already been compeleted monies are already in the pockets of WCT. So dont be too quick to rule out WCT is a total lost.

CPO racing towards 1900 ? should be interesting...

This post has been edited by aurora97: Jan 6 2009, 11:23 AM
aurora97
post Jan 6 2009, 11:38 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

not suprised at all really, CNN/BBC/CNBC/Bloomberg has already been drumming that there has been a severe cut in contruction/property works around the middle east especially UAE. For anyone who has been watching and observing the news and apply it to market logic, should have seen this coming. A sand storm is kicking up in the middle east, the huge Palm Island has already reduced and halted work, will the reclaimed palm island be a massive white elephant that can be seen from space? Looks to me its going to be VERY likely.

In bad times my rule of thumb personally is not to touch any contruction/property related stocks, i think this stocks are like airline stocks highly risky when economy is bad.

Sime/IOI however would be an exception to the rule since their exposures are absorb by other profitable operations.

Same principle applies to Airasia (except Mas ironically)

Proton for obvious reasons i would even consider.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Jan 6 2009, 11:39 AM
aurora97
post Jan 6 2009, 12:53 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

waiting for lower to move in for the kill Axreit loks like the cheapest among the lots of REITS wif the best returns...

i wonder...

My ammo is back to close to 50% level ...

lets see what the market has installed for this Cny ... kekeke

0.0242sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:46 PM