GaMinG HeadseT Club, GameRz Lai!

mADmAN
post Dec 5 2008, 05:51 PM

10,530 posts

my headphones used for gaming

in the office - Beyerdynamic DT990 + Firestone Audio Cute Battery II Headamp + Fubar II USB DAC... this is mainly for music and movies... but i also use it for some gaming in the office to release stress biggrin.gif

my main gaming headphone.... Audio Technica A500. awesome cans with WIIIIIIDDEEE soundstage and awesome sound positioning. i can know exactly where the enemy is when i hear their footsteps thumbup.gif this is connected to an Audigy 2 ZS and without amp. pic is with the cans and stock pleather pads.... the A500 pleather pads has now been replaced with pure leather pads... the leather pads actually helped in improving the bass of the headphones and helped to give more body to the sound... if one day im itchy ill do the Blue-Tak mod to the headphones...

@mois
u should check out head-fi for the Blue Tak mod oso man.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 5 2008, 05:54 PM
mADmAN
post Dec 5 2008, 06:05 PM

10,530 posts

if u use it for gaming why not???

heck the 2 headphones i posted are audiophile headphones man laugh.gif

so im sure ur Senn can be posted as well tongue.gif

its just a matter of what u use... not necessarily how its marketed/ labelled
mADmAN
post Dec 5 2008, 06:18 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Dec 5 2008, 06:17 PM)
Would the audio quality difference between gaming headsets and audiophile headsets be noticeable? I noticed that AT has some 'phones priced similar to gaming headphones, and i can do without the built-in mic. I'd prefer something that makes games sound good, not optimized for footsteps and gunshots or stuff like that.
audiohpile headphones would smack gaming headphones in any aspect.. be it gaming, footsteps, music etc etc...
mADmAN
post Jun 11 2009, 11:30 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(rosihan @ May 16 2009, 12:47 AM)
woooo
how bout speaker?
2.1 not gud enuf do i need 5 or mayb 7 ch speaker?  shocking.gif
BTW its gaming headset thread  sweat.gif
i play FPS alot (mainly COD4 and UT3)

ive used 5.1 speakers and my Audio Technica A500 headphones for them...

i get better positioning with the headphones...

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 16 2009, 11:58 PM)
Haha.. ATH A900 is far far far far far far more superior than barracuda la in terms of sound quality..  brows.gif  Who cares bout the lights..? laugh.gif
better sound quality only meh???

its better in EVERY way compared to that fragile piece of crap razer is conning people with...

@sniper69
i see ur siggy....u wanna sell ur A900 already ah??? why man?
mADmAN
post Jun 11 2009, 07:07 PM

10,530 posts

i changed the pads on my A500 to the leather earpads of the A1000

if u use the velour pads it might change ur sound signature....even the leather pads changed the sound signature on my A500...
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2009, 12:52 AM

10,530 posts

mostly its similar with only subtle differences....

but most noticeable difference was the bass was stronger and tighter...

bought it at about RM100 from bluetin.com....a fellow forumer went to singapore and helped me buy them while he was there.

take note...that ur still gonna sweat with the leather pads...typical of closed headphones.
mADmAN
post Jun 15 2009, 09:11 PM

10,530 posts

if PC350 is overkill for gaming then i wonder what my DT990 is laugh.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 16 2009, 11:07 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(espada90 @ Jun 16 2009, 05:56 AM)
can i ask some opinions?

my brother wans to get a new gaming headphone, his budget is >300
any idea? he wans a headphone tat conceal ears...
plz recommend me some
is that less than 300 or more than 300??? i get confused with the symbols people use here...

to me <300 is less than 300 and >300 is greater than 300.... thats coz my SPSS syntax uses it that way wink.gif

if more than 300 then Audio Technica A500 for about RM 400 from walabies...if less than 300 than the Audio Technica M30 for about RM220 from akabane.

the AudioTechnica ATH Pro5 V as suggested by kerryking should be a good one oso
mADmAN
post Jun 16 2009, 09:16 PM

10,530 posts

my recommendations for the Audio Technica still remains...

Audio Technicas are known to have really wide soundstage and excellent sound positioning
mADmAN
post Jun 17 2009, 12:28 AM

10,530 posts

nope....im in market research biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 18 2009, 09:24 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Jun 18 2009, 09:10 PM)
And where will i be able to find Audio Technica products around the Selangor area? I live at Subang and i'm not a fan of online purchases, i'd rather go to a shop to check it out.
nowhere...

even if u do find...the prices will most likely be double of the prices u get here on LYN. just like the shop in wangsa maju or something like that

anyway...u can get from walabies... his partner, yuheng stays in sunway. so order from yuheng or walabies and COD with yuheng in sunway.

you may or may not be able to audition them...that depends on whether or not yuheng has a test unit on hand.

best bet is of course to drop yuheng or walabies a PM
mADmAN
post Jun 18 2009, 09:31 PM

10,530 posts

of course la...no soundstage....go change man tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 21 2009, 01:52 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(espada90 @ Jun 21 2009, 08:56 AM)
guys i wanna ask if anyone in LYN is selling headphone stands?
PM Yuheng or walabies...

i got mine from their supplier...

mADmAN
post Jun 21 2009, 02:31 PM

10,530 posts

dunno if they even still have it or not oso...they used to have a music note headphone stand too...but also dunno if they still have it

else u can DIY ur own... can check out some of the DIY stands HERE

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jun 21 2009, 02:32 PM
mADmAN
post Jun 22 2009, 12:33 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jun 21 2009, 11:02 PM)
Ace meimei reporting in rclxms.gif
Guys,i'm n00b in headset thinggy....
RM300 +- 10% can get myself what good headset for gaming and music?
Audio Technica M30 from akabane
mADmAN
post Jun 22 2009, 11:01 AM

10,530 posts

u mean if THIS ONE??

i kinda doubt it...its a DJ headphone and DJ headphones tend to be more bassy... though im not too sure about soundstage and positioning.

the M30 i mentioned is a monitoring headphone.so accuracy and details should be the emphasis of the monitoring headphones...
mADmAN
post Jun 22 2009, 04:47 PM

10,530 posts

dont bother with the porta pro....especially for gaming. no soundstage.

also, some say its very bassy.
mADmAN
post Jun 26 2009, 11:12 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 26 2009, 05:54 AM)
Just got back my a900. IF change the ori pad to some leather one will be better?
my A500 after changing to the A1000 leather pads had more body to the sound. bass was a lil tighter and punchier oso.

but difference is minimal. some people might not even notice.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jun 26 2009, 09:14 AM)
@madman

how to choose between ATH AD700 and BD DT440?
best u could do is read reviews....and judge for urself from there.

and try to audition them if u cant. but if cannot then u have to purchase based on blind faith tongue.gif

or ask at the audiophile section or in head-fi.org. mebbe some owners can give u feedback
mADmAN
post Jul 30 2009, 01:00 AM

10,530 posts

ur asking about an audio product....this is simple basic logic. common sense.

so ask urself...which is better...

a company specializing in gaming mouses (which has a reputation of bad QC and build quality) or a a company specializing in audio and is highly regarded among audio enthusiasts?
mADmAN
post Aug 6 2009, 05:53 PM

10,530 posts

it should be comfortable... the design is almost the same as the AKG K701

0.0245sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:56 PM