Property Value, Going up or down?
TStgeoklin
Dec 4 2008, 05:48 PM, updated 18y ago
Any reputable estate agent or valuers here? I am a little confused as lots of developers are saying cost of materials are rising, so prices of properties are going up. Lots of people also complaining properties prices are rising but yet I was just informed by a never heard of valuer that property prices are going to fall. So what's the real world situation out there? Anyone care to comment? Thks
RME-RAnger
Dec 4 2008, 07:25 PM
but i heard from others said the property value will going down due to our world economy condition now, demand of the new property will drop as well
ttwangsa
Dec 4 2008, 08:59 PM
yeah. i think down down down.
TStgeoklin
Dec 5 2008, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(ttwangsa @ Dec 4 2008, 08:59 PM) yeah. i think down down down. So I guess now is not a good time to buy property then, right?
aaronpang
Dec 5 2008, 10:24 AM
Since property price is in a slump now is a good time the cash rich to search for bargains... at the very least prices seem stagnated Just be wary of newly launched developments as it could stall or become abandoned during tough times IMHO
RME-RAnger
Dec 5 2008, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Dec 5 2008, 07:51 AM) So I guess now is not a good time to buy property then, right? if u have extra money, can consider to get a investment on the commercial property and get profit when world's economy grow up, it might takes few years time...
Pai
Dec 5 2008, 10:40 AM
At the right price, anytime is a good time to buy
RME-RAnger
Dec 5 2008, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(Pai @ Dec 5 2008, 10:40 AM) At the right price, anytime is a good time to buy  because of the economy down time, some of the people not able to pay their property loan, then they might let go their property below market rate in order lelong by bank. then it is good time to consider for investment
Pai
Dec 5 2008, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(RME-RAnger @ Dec 5 2008, 11:29 AM) because of the economy down time, some of the people not able to pay their property loan, then they might let go their property below market rate in order lelong by bank. then it is good time to consider for investment  therefore, why not buy a property today at recession price? Truth to be told, buying a property during bad times is a lot tougher than buying properties during good times.
mjjj
Dec 5 2008, 03:47 PM
some ppl preceive economy recession is a bad time for buying a house but the fact is no..during economy is bad or slump is a good time instead for ppl who has cash in hand to buy a property dun tell me u buy today sell on the next day and wait for the economy to recover den here goes ur profit and oh yeah the value of property will still go down it doesnt recover but ofcoz there goes pros and cons about buying property in tough times like now but u will face alot of hassle through when getting ur loan approve
RME-RAnger
Dec 5 2008, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(mjjj @ Dec 5 2008, 03:47 PM) some ppl preceive economy recession is a bad time for buying a house but the fact is no..during economy is bad or slump is a good time instead for ppl who has cash in hand to buy a property dun tell me u buy today sell on the next day and wait for the economy to recover den here goes ur profit and oh yeah the value of property will still go down it doesnt recover but ofcoz there goes pros and cons about buying property in tough times like now but u will face alot of hassle through when getting ur loan approve if let said someone got extra money for investment now, loan is not a problem for them due to their financial background, just my 2 cents!
Pai
Dec 5 2008, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(mjjj @ Dec 5 2008, 03:47 PM) u will face alot of hassle through when getting ur loan approve Precisely my point Even if you could get your loan approved, you might end up forking up 30% just for d/payment and get lousy interest rates, UNLESS your income is really solid and backed with plenty of reserve cash( >100k or more)
dvng
Dec 5 2008, 10:03 PM

i dun think > 100k is enough..Property prices is still on the high side at the moment, considering some countries in Europe is down by at least 30%.
Clareen
Dec 6 2008, 04:55 AM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Dec 5 2008, 07:51 AM) So I guess now is not a good time to buy property then, right? For me since the property price go down so now is the right time to buy property because the owner will not hold the price until so tight so you can nego more.
ronaldoo
Dec 6 2008, 01:15 PM
get commercial property. at least gain 35 % ,sometimes 100 % depending on demand
RME-RAnger
Dec 6 2008, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(ronaldoo @ Dec 6 2008, 01:15 PM) get commercial property. at least gain 35 % ,sometimes 100 % depending on demand yeah, commercial normally better return than residential investment
Pai
Dec 6 2008, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(ronaldoo @ Dec 6 2008, 01:15 PM) get commercial property. at least gain 35 % ,sometimes 100 % depending on demand this is too general. Just be mindful that commercial properties requires substancial holding power, and more sensitive to economic downturns
DannyOP
Dec 7 2008, 07:07 PM
that's right. During economic downturn u will see many companies closing down and might face with vacant units. If you notice the Star there are many commercial property on auction below the market price.. some original RM300k now going for RM100k.. so u can't be too general. If you bought it at RM300k.. now u'd be crying if u can't hold your property. However at RM100k u may consider buying if u can hold on till recovery.
This post has been edited by DannyOP: Dec 8 2008, 02:19 AM
ronaldoo
Dec 8 2008, 10:36 AM
holding power is a must. i hav few friends are lawyers. one of them purchase commercial shop lot at 600 k before completion. after completion he sold his at 1.2 mill.
cmk96
Dec 8 2008, 04:34 PM
generally...the price will go down...but don't expect the price to be down 30% like in europe... we are not in recession yet.... most people still have their job...no big layoff...no mega bailout.
This post has been edited by cmk96: Dec 8 2008, 04:34 PM
andy_lhc
Dec 8 2008, 07:37 PM
I dont think personally the prices will go down due to the cost of raw materials...no doubt the demand will subside considerably and the supply is higher than the demand but the developers wouldnt want to incur losses of newly developed properties... what they may do is supply new apartments/condos/houses with "additional furnitures/airconds/cabinets" at "no extra cost..."  or if they lots of money, they may just hold on to it til the market gets better....(which is unlikely)
DannyOP
Dec 9 2008, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(cmk96 @ Dec 8 2008, 04:34 PM) generally...the price will go down...but don't expect the price to be down 30% like in europe... we are not in recession yet.... most people still have their job...no big layoff...no mega bailout. We are actually in recession, just that the govt does not publish it does not mean we are not in recession. Just look at the loan defaults and property auction we have everyday. All of them are selling below market rate. Very soon (I expect next year) even non-auction properties also have to follow suit to lower down their prices or face zero sales with the current oversupply especially for high end, though they may come up with other incentives instead of directly lowering price (that affects the value), eg. free aircond, furniture, legal fees, holiday, car etc etc Next year we are in danger of facing worldwide deflation ie. instead of prices going up, prices are going down. This is already happening in a few countries. This post has been edited by DannyOP: Dec 9 2008, 01:15 PM
blasto
Dec 9 2008, 06:42 PM
Up or down not a problem, Question is weather the people can afford or not ? Our currency is getting weaker & weaker. Many foreign people with strong currency will invest. It's like buying peanuts to them. Buying the right location always secure the value - That's is what Investment means. Look at Singapore / Hong Kong or Japan for example. Soon Malaysia will be like that, when every thing like food & daily expenses rises up & money value is so small. BigMac will be RM20, a LH condo 1000 sq will be RM300k. You decide then.
shakiraa
Dec 23 2008, 10:24 PM
stupid malaysia government, should publish the actual # so we can prepare for the worst!