Wesley Methodist School, To be Schools of Excellence

iSean
post Apr 11 2017, 06:43 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(atisha @ Apr 10 2017, 02:17 PM)
when do they introduce International syllabus? I only know it as a private secondary school previously. Any recent review of the school with the current principal?
It has a lot of branches.
And affiliated with MCKL with their A-Level programs.

But to be honest, international syllabus is nothing, when your child can self study your own or attend tuition classes for it.
Better save a few bucks and let the child to do tuition instead.

In terms of syllabus, Cambridge O-Level/IGCSE < SPM for Sciences, Maths wise, IGCSE/O-Level > SPM.
But SPM is slowly improving and emphasizing on KBAT/HOTS for STEM subjects.

But with compulsory subjects like Sejarah and Moral in SPM, still quite "meh" only. But new syllabus like Computing are being added into the new SPM Syllabus along with a few foreign languages.

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 11 2017, 06:44 PM
iSean
post Apr 12 2017, 05:47 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(atisha @ Apr 12 2017, 05:07 PM)
what is KBAT/HOTS
IGCSE/O-Level > SPM  mega_shok.gif
what are the new foreign languages added to SPM?
Despite what you think, SPM's memorize to pass "Paper 3" is quite useful for A-level Science Paper 3 and Paper 5.
With some proper training from Titration skills and using other lab apparatus they are set for A-Level Paper 3.

Cambridge O-Level ok abit but Cambridge IGCSE is a joke. Trust me, especially to those who did (Alternative to Practical) Written Practicals.
Those Cambridge IGCSE people who went to Science Stream in A-Levels struggled a lot.
Even with A*s is like a great leap from SPM to STPM.

EdExcel IGCSE let's not mention about them sweat.gif Most of them very blur when they came to my college

I need to tutor my friends Physics, and Chemistry tons of times, especially in Planning Experiment and Practical Skills. rclxub.gif
Even borrow my SPM References to let them learn how to properly write procedures for Paper 5.

Anyhow, the new Language subjects added are as follows:

Not sure will be added to all schools based on Teachers availability to teach or what.
Also will there be an alternative easier "learners" version of the Language.

https://www.facebook.com/163762123712752/ph...?type=3&theater
iSean
post Apr 21 2017, 12:59 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(atisha @ Apr 21 2017, 12:44 PM)
Thanks mate! I wonder how the foreign language works and why they don't introduce it at Secondary One. Anyway, I prefer my kid to learn in English rather than Bahasa medium. Now, even an oldie like me when I think of spelling klorofil, I would remember bahasa spelling rather than chlorophyill. What more other scientific words.
They are changing syllabus to KSSM now. You know our MOE with their circulars very slow doh.gif
Most of these language are already here.
iSean
post Apr 26 2017, 06:55 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(atisha @ Apr 26 2017, 01:16 PM)
What is KSSM? Now secondary schools already taught in English or in the process to? I can wait if they are changing... my kid still has long way to go before hitting secondary..
KBSM -> English Syllabus for Maths and Science
KSSM -> Malay Syllabus for Maths and Science

Do note now is the transition period where the kids choose between BM/BI or Campur medium.
PS. KSSM is now the new syllabus already rolled out for Tingkatan 1.

Your kid in Primary now for Primary 1 will be using KSSR, while > Primary 2-6 still using KBSR.

0.0126sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:57 AM