NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone

irenic
post Jun 10 2009, 12:43 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

act they set the cpu running speed in the firmware. let say the arm11 cpu might act run at 600mhz. they might set in the first firmware at 300mhz and after sometime they manage to figure out how to enhance batteries life more while still allowing the cpu to run faster. so they will set in the firmware the cpu speed to maybe 400mhz..

it's possible and a common thing.
irenic
post Jun 10 2009, 05:56 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 10 2009, 01:02 PM)
disagree with your comment..like that Microsoft also can set the processor speed lor..its a hardware programming thing  blush.gif
QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Jun 10 2009, 01:27 PM)
Even in the 5800, the CPU, some sort of Freescale something, supports up to 532Mhz, just the firmware/OS limits it to 369..

Btw, 600 cannot la, since max clock is 532...

Check out pdadb.com for more info
i am speechless.

@ shaun,

i gave an example. i dunno what nokia use for their phone, since i'm an Omnia + iphone 3g user.. but have a look at this site: http://www.arm.com/products/CPUs/ARM1176.html

this arm processor is capable up to 620mhz.

@ g88,

of coz microsoft can set the processor speed if microsoft built it's own pc. which means the hardware inside is fixed, the os is fixed and most importantly, they control the bios of the pc.

that's what happens with handphone. Nokia designed the phone using fixed hardware and os. the firmware or rom etc also provided by nokia. they can adjust the speed of the processor to ensure balance between performance and batter life by the coding in the firmware.

every hardware hat its limits, but do u think ur pc is running at the highest speed? how u increase it? overclocking. using what? bios, windows based software. rite? so what's the different duh.

0.0381sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:43 PM