NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone

jameslee_84
post Dec 19 2008, 02:53 PM

297 posts

wait a sec, i tot N97 sliding mechanism will tilt it like 30 degrees or something isn't it?
jameslee_84
post Dec 20 2008, 05:03 AM

297 posts

camera is no issue to me le.... i'm resigned to buying N97 di. Even if they remove the cam i would still get it. My E71 cam is crappy enough, but honestly, I only snap it like 3 times to test whether it works when buying time. Other than that, never even use it.
jameslee_84
post Dec 21 2008, 07:39 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Dec 21 2008, 02:14 PM)
heheh, text me when you're looking for new owner for your phone.  tongue.gif
u mean my E71?
jameslee_84
post Dec 21 2008, 09:33 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Dec 21 2008, 09:28 PM)
yeah. E71 is a good phone.  biggrin.gif
saving for N97 now lo. if it is released in mid-2009, then i'll probably sell it in november or december to fund for it lo.
jameslee_84
post Dec 22 2008, 11:32 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Dec 22 2008, 08:04 PM)
i think this N97 will be my next year Christmas gift for myself tongue.gif by that time i think price will stable liao la
same here, plan 1 yr ahead also.
jameslee_84
post Dec 24 2008, 12:53 AM

297 posts

Infrared really kuno-technology di man.... still remember i use to play snakes with my fren's phone using infrared.

hai..... christmas always a bad time, buy new phone, buy new clothes, go holiday, and me & my gf anniversary somemore...... sad.gif
jameslee_84
post Dec 25 2008, 05:05 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(RME-RAnger @ Dec 24 2008, 08:41 AM)
then it is good time for u, anniversary and x'mas gift together... save money  brows.gif
how to save money?!?! I'm getting N97 for myself, and need to get some designer bags for her (as usual) so how to save la bro.... not forgetting dinner yet.... which is tomorrow nite..... die lo....

We guys normally know wat to get for girls, but honestly, I think girls have no idea wat we guys actually want..... past 2 anniversary I got a Esprit jacket and a Topman wallet..... not to say i'm not happy but definitely not the top of my wishlist, this yr dunno wat I will get from her.....

out of topic anyway, anybody know wat other fine-dining restaurant good in PG ar? Wanna bring her somewhere special tomorrow nite....
jameslee_84
post Dec 27 2008, 01:37 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Dec 26 2008, 10:09 PM)
I thought the official retail price of N97 is 550 Euro, which's about RM2500, I don't understand why the price can mark up so much. Maybe AP set can get much cheaper, RM3399 is too much for a phone, I rather use that money to get laptop instead.
normally, ppl in EU can get it with a new line so they don just buy the phone unlike here. So, if they sell it high price there, y would people get it from them if u can get it so much cheaper if u jus extend your phone line contract for another 2 years rite? I have a fren in Aussie who change phone every 1 yr, crazy cos he's got 2 line( the max amount ) and its registered at a gap of 1 yr apart, so every year renew got new phone, darn, he just sold a new Iphone 3G 16Gb to another fren of mine cos he's using it di.

In Malaysia, its different, we don have such deal, so at the end of the day we have no choice but to get it at that price. Thats where AP set comes in to help those who don want to pay so much. And in my opinion, retail price shud be RM3599-3799, since its as high end as Nokia E90 altho it is not a communicator. And I do hope this time around, their ram load limit is good as my E71 can't really take it when I din clear my cache and history.

Added on December 27, 2008, 1:40 am
QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 26 2008, 10:27 PM)
lol funny bro HTC are winmo devices damn cool to use u kno

I own a symbian I find its too simple can't do stuff like remote desktop connection
winmo is a hang-prone os.... really crappy wan. everyone who have tried both all give me the same advantage of symbian os, it hangs less than winmo.

Added on December 27, 2008, 1:42 am
QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Dec 26 2008, 10:37 PM)
For RM3399 I don't think it can stay long when N97 is launched, it might last few days. Good example is 5800, last 2 weeks ago(if I'm not mistaken) I went to Sungai Wang and look for the price of this phone, and got one shop in front of the SW's entrance got the phone at that day, they offered RM2k. And compare with the price now, RM1.5 can get already. To settle down to RM2499 how long will it take? Wait until Xmas next year? whistling.gif
if its available in M'sia in mid-2009, then Christmas will be the rite time to get it. give it 5-6 months and I'm sure price will drop 10%-20% depending on the market here. Just like E71, tho powerful but it drops about 20% in less than 5 months.

This post has been edited by jameslee_84: Dec 27 2008, 01:42 AM
jameslee_84
post Dec 28 2008, 03:46 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 27 2008, 01:45 AM)
Teleco company here suka makan darah of consumer....bukan macam di luar negeri...
can't agree more.... look at the price for u to get a Blackberry Bold here with Maxis. But my uncle working in US with Intel got it for free with his telco..... vmad.gif
jameslee_84
post Jan 1 2009, 05:25 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(Reave @ Jan 1 2009, 11:16 AM)
Is there any chance to get cheap price to buy in bulk? Like, me n 5 of u ordering together? heheh..
Possible, but not so soon also la. The RRP for Malaysian market also dunno yet. It could be lower since the economic recession is getting worse.
jameslee_84
post Jan 3 2009, 04:31 PM

297 posts

Iphone sux, I got like 5 frens around me all using iphone. So nothing outstanding, I love my E71 which is why N97 is my next phone for sure di. Jus hope their touch interface doesn't lose out so much to the iphone. Haven't tried 5800 so dunno how's the touch interface quality of nokia.
jameslee_84
post Jan 9 2009, 10:35 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 9 2009, 05:37 PM)
will open for sale later night in garage.  blush.gif
laaa..... bro, if only i know u will be selling, i ordered a new Samsung F480 Tocco di. Wats your feedback regarding 5800?
jameslee_84
post Jan 17 2009, 12:48 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(keeekeee @ Jan 16 2009, 09:19 PM)
wondering how fast is the N97 compare with PPC. if a rm3000 phone is slower then PPC then probably will stick with PPC  smile.gif

kinda hate those symbian sign for all kinda application  sad.gif  PPC all dun have good camera even 5MP and auto focus. wondering N97 camera like N82 or SE C905 or not.  really want a good pda phone with great camera and fast response tongue.gif  really greedy tongue.gif
i think it will be slower. but the size of both phone and ppc is a cause for concern bro. anyway, i tried and tested 5800 after some positive review from fellow forummer i question. But it is a bad bad innovation by nokia. they have a lot to improve on. the touch ui is so far off from other touch devices mainly dominated by iphone and samsung. their pressure-needed touchscreen is a far far away loser to iphone capacitative touch approach. if they want to sell N97 well and priced at 3k, this is certainly a place to improve on drastically. the new symbian also i find it quite weird and rushed for the market. browser, contacts, and messaging is different. the accelerometer is a good inclusion but nokia seems to fail to make it to good use with their symbian os. i have been a nokia user since day 1 with 3310, 8250, 5610, 6600, 6680, n70, e61i, and now e71. but i decided not to trade e71 for a 5800 due to the serious need of improvement on the phone. i think nokia plan to use it as a test handset and see the market response then they will improve on the N97. I sure hope they do cos i am in love with N97 just hope the price reflect its quality and usage.

This post has been edited by jameslee_84: Jan 17 2009, 12:49 PM
jameslee_84
post Jan 18 2009, 12:24 AM

297 posts

if base on value, ya it is worth it. But even with all these, is it worth having a 5800, nah.... cos paying RM1300 for something like a prototype and laggy and beta-level is kinda wasteful. Cos if u say so, wouldn't having a G900 equally value for its money since it has wifi and touchscreen too. not forgetting too, for that amount, u can get a HTC Touch Viva which is very much better than 5800 since Winmo has been around for god knows how long and HTC is pretty good his few years producing good handsets.
jameslee_84
post Feb 28 2009, 01:22 AM

297 posts

it has definitely been delayed already this N97. Big fan of N97 but keeping tabs on LG KM900 Arena as it will be released soon. N97 could be postponed until next year also. Reason could be becos their focus is on the release of the N86. And besides that, their tocuh UI is really at a preliminary stage. I don think 5800 generate enough feedback for them to improve yet. And also, even the new Symbian also need some refining before they actually ship it out worldwide.
jameslee_84
post Mar 15 2009, 01:19 PM

297 posts

if confirmed in june then i'm keeping tabs on it. Hopefully price not above 3k else going to have to wait even longer for it.
jameslee_84
post Mar 16 2009, 10:09 PM

297 posts

hope so too of cos.....
jameslee_84
post Mar 22 2009, 12:55 AM

297 posts

yea. tot i mention a delay as i read it somewhere but someone complain of my baseless opinion. Take that, already confirm delay di. haha, if we can even see it in 2009, it will be a miracle. My gut feeling, early 2010 it will arrive in our "bolehland".
jameslee_84
post Mar 22 2009, 05:32 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 22 2009, 04:44 PM)
emm, whats so great about this n97 where this year base on the MWC event, there are plenty of better phone (looks / specs) than this n97. later on this n97 will be js like n96, not as popular as n95/n95 8gb
true bro. MWC has certain phones with better specs but if I'm correct, they are still fine tuning the phone. Specs can change until it is finally in production bro. Every phone have their own capabilities. There will never be an ultimate phone as every producer will keep on improving so it will be incorrect to say that.
jameslee_84
post Apr 5 2009, 10:32 AM

297 posts

they have to upgrade everything in order to compete in the market la. LG Arena already has built in 3d chip, so if nokia lags that, they solely depend on loyalty for the sales which i think is not a viable business plan for them la. Even the touchscreen needs massive improvement. Capacitive touchscreen is the standard today really. If nokia still revels in the days of resistive type, they will fall back in the long run la.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2144sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:23 AM