127 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone

toughnut
post Dec 3 2008, 09:38 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 3 2008, 08:32 PM)
Colors available: Black & White

What is your preference?

I will choose a white one. U gonna pay for me, sis? biggrin.gif
SUSsharkteef
post Dec 3 2008, 09:46 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

black is standard color for sloppy ppl like me.
unknowndevices
post Dec 3 2008, 09:54 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 3 2008, 08:32 PM)
Colors available: Black & White

What is your preference?
why you keep on poisoning us with tempting pictures?...do you purposely makes people less focus on TUBE or something else(kidding)?... laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
anyway,good works pana... thumbup.gif
riannvd
post Dec 3 2008, 10:01 PM

46 posts

huaaaaa RM3k+.. when this phone launch? tabung first biggrin.gif
dattebayo
post Dec 3 2008, 10:51 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 3 2008, 04:21 PM)
If the 5800 Tube I fondled a few days back is any indication of the Touchscreen UI, I'm not holding so much hope for this one either. Did you notice that there are no page turns or real-time transitioning between aps, or pages of apps for that matter, in any of the videos? It is because, the UI is still shackled by the S60 OS, and with that effect, still look and function like an S60 device, albeit with a touchscreen interface slapped on top of it. Look when the video shows swiping , it did not simulate real-time swipe, it just immediately "jumps" to the next item in the list, unlike iPhone's actual smooth transitioning effect. The same with apps on S60.

I have the N96 with me, and I believe that the underlying OS will not be any different than what it has now, albeit with a touchscreen interface on top of it. So to call this an iPhone killer, I'd like it to be able to do what the iPhone does and more, and that is smoth multitouching. It is the experience that ushers in the feeling of holding something that feels like it is next-gen, not by topping up humongous internal memory or gaudy panel arranging. If Nokia stuck with S60, the hardware may be next-gen on paper, but the UI is still stuck in the last century, ugly icons and grid lining and all.
Nokia has invested so much in the S60 to make it the ultimate boss in the Symbian foundation. Don't think they will drop that so soon yet. Even if Nokia plan to launch a separate platform specifically for their touch based phones, it still need time for developers to come out with the applications. With the huge pool of apps from S60, retaining the core OS to S60 is wiser.
aruja_69
post Dec 4 2008, 12:21 AM

3,786 posts

To me, i will go for black...white is like for Businesswomen
whoopa
post Dec 4 2008, 07:07 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

too bad .. the interface looks crappy .. i mean in the real vid .. not the promo vid .. the promo vid looks good .. but symbian at 3k ... not worth it la .... most i will pay is 2k++ for this phone ... only thing abt this phone is the huge storage ...
Tookia
post Dec 4 2008, 08:27 AM

290 posts

This N97 really rocks in terms of features and specs. The 32G internal memory makes it almost like a mini computer..only it runs on Symbian OS. 5MP camera is just OK but no Xenon flash? Slot for external memory up to 48G is just fantastic. Betcha price will be over 3K. At that price I'd rather buy a mini laptop like the current Dell model. It's cheaper and runs faster. Size wise it's too thick and too big. But with all the features built into it..can't blame Nokia for making it that way. A competitor for Sony Ericsson Xperia? We'll see. Xperia runs on Windows Mobile..different mode altogether. Wonder if the Symbian OS will lag with that much memory to handle especially if you have a lot of things loaded into the phone?
davidmak
post Dec 4 2008, 09:18 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Dec 4 2008, 08:27 AM)
Slot for external memory up to 48G is just fantastic.
Actually it only means the maximum supported memory capacity is 48GB. The internal memory is 32GB. The maximum capacity the external memory supported is 16GB. So assuming you put in a 16GB micro SDHC card, you will get 48GB total memory (32+16).

This post has been edited by davidmak: Dec 4 2008, 09:19 AM
aruja_69
post Dec 4 2008, 09:43 AM

3,786 posts

8GB, 16GB, 32GB and 48GB..how many stuff does a person want to put in their phone..unlimited music, unlimited movies, unlimited photo...end of the day...it is still a handphone...Human expect miracle with their phone...like taking picture so sharp and nice, listening music from library 10k songs...movies...10 titles etc...end the day videocam, laptop, digital camera tak payah cari kerja lah..it got the ultimate phone around..
ahnien
post Dec 4 2008, 10:19 AM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

looks nice....
TSsnakevenom
post Dec 4 2008, 10:29 AM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

i have a hard time even filling up my N95 8GB and now this 32GB in N97 is just crazy.
aruja_69
post Dec 4 2008, 10:47 AM

3,786 posts

Me too.....more music and video for u to install...hehehehe
davidmak
post Dec 4 2008, 11:17 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 4 2008, 09:43 AM)
Human expect miracle with their phone...like taking picture so sharp and nice, listening music from library 10k songs...movies...10 titles etc...end the day videocam, laptop, digital camera tak payah cari kerja lah..it got the ultimate phone around..
Thats show something. It reveals what a customer wants (in contrast to their needs) out of a mobile phone. It also means more tricks and puffs to put into a mobile phone product. That means more potential customers as you fulfill their wants. Thats what keep the market going. For example, a mobile phone can never replace a digital compact. But customers only want a good enough camera feature, not really the best camera.

We all are no fools. We know what we're getting into. Sometimes, we just need a properly converged device with decent quality/features. We don't carry a digital compact everywhere we go. BUT we do carry our mobile phones everyday. The more you put things into that mobile phone, the better the product will be. So that is the difference.

LaskarCinta
post Dec 4 2008, 11:32 AM

?
1,651 posts

the promo video looks promising.
but the real one is crappy.

just wait how things gonna be on its release. but not putting high hopes on it. btw totally agree with this quote,

If Nokia stuck with S60, the hardware may be next-gen on paper, but the UI is still stuck in the last century, ugly icons and grid lining and all.

in the end, it's the user experience that matters anyway. being higher in specs on the spec list alone wont make a product groundbreaking. there are variety of mobile platforms that are relatively new yet deliver performance and improved user experience. S60 is too old already to be the next 'hip' thing.

or myb Nokia still got some trick hidden up its sleeve. so no choice then, have to wait for the launch of this phone. myb some Android love (which is near impossible), MAEMO (depends on Nokia mood), or myb a totally new version of symbian (mmm...myb not).

oh btw, i predict dozens more countdown timer on Nokia page next year. that's the trend Nokia is heading lately. mmm...

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Dec 4 2008, 11:35 AM
nitsujyuen
post Dec 4 2008, 12:48 PM

572 posts

its sleeky! but if da price tag around 3k++ den I feel its not worth. Maybe need to wait for the price to drop after the launch....which can be quite some time. tongue.gif
unknowndevices
post Dec 4 2008, 12:50 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Dec 4 2008, 08:27 AM)
This N97 really rocks in terms of features and specs. The 32G internal memory makes it almost like a mini computer..only it runs on Symbian OS. 5MP camera is just OK but no Xenon flash? Slot for external memory up to 48G is just fantastic. Betcha price will be over 3K. At that price I'd rather buy a mini laptop like the current Dell model. It's cheaper and runs faster. Size wise it's too thick and too big. But with all the features built into it..can't blame Nokia for making it that way. A competitor for Sony Ericsson Xperia? We'll see. Xperia runs on Windows Mobile..different mode altogether. Wonder if the Symbian OS will lag with that much memory to handle especially if you have a lot of things loaded into the phone?
that's happened to almost all Nokia phones...can't handle many applications in one time or it will hang... doh.gif
i now,can't expect too much from a phone...anyway hope it can be improve in future on different OS (probably) and processor... whistling.gif

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Dec 4 2008, 10:29 AM)
i have a hard time even filling up my N95 8GB  and now this 32GB in N97 is just crazy.
then Nokia need to introduced something new or anything that would make the phone not just for filling musics and videos... rolleyes.gif
RME-RAnger
post Dec 4 2008, 12:54 PM

763 posts

Features OS Symbian OS v9.4, Series 60 rel. 5

New platform?
hypermount
post Dec 4 2008, 01:02 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

I shall wait for it like I waited for N95 to drop to about RM1k then I'll be like trapping in the loop forever.
hanieyf
post Dec 4 2008, 02:04 PM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Dec 4 2008, 01:02 PM)
I shall wait for it like I waited for N95 to drop to about RM1k then I'll be like trapping in the loop forever.
i agreed...at least n95 8gb below rm1200 sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

127 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:24 AM