Audiophiles Gathering, everybody welcomed! d more d merrier!

PcWork
post Feb 21 2009, 11:54 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

speaking of audiophile gathering. today several forumers had gathered at my house for a simple gathering. and here's photo to share..

other friends who had snap photo. pls do upload it.. =)

PcWork
post Feb 22 2009, 02:19 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

Gadget List

Headphones/Earphones/IEM
Sennheiser HD650 Modded (SEP90)
Sennheiser HD650 (Akabane)
Sennheiser HD580 (PcWork)
AKG K701 (Sep90)
Philips HP1000 (PcWork)
Beyerdynamic DT990 (Akabane)
Beyerdynamic DT880 600 ohm (Sep90)
Beyerdynamic DT770 DarthBeyer (stormspider)
Audio Technica ATH-W1000 (Akabane)
Alessendro MS2i (Walabies)
Alessendro MS1 Recabled (PcWork)
Koss KSC75 Recabled (PcWork)
B&O A8 (PcWork)
Yuin PK1 (PcWork)
Shure SE530 (Sep90)
Westone UM2 ( Sep90's Brother)
IM716 (PcWork)
IM716 (Akabane)

HeadAmp
The Secret Amp (Walabies & Yuheng)
The Secret Amp Prototype (PcWork)
IQube (Sep90)
Ibasso Boa (PcWork)
Darkvoice 337 (Nicholas_1213)

Source
Ipod 4G Modded (PcWork)
Ipod 5.5G (Sep90)
Zune 30GB (PcWork)
Zune 30GB (Stormspider)
Cowon D2 (Sep90's Brother)

HomeRig
NAD 3020A Modded (PcWork)
Cambridge Audio 540 (Coolerthings)
T-amp Modified (PcWork)
Marantz CD46 (PcWork)
Marantz CD67SE (Coolerthings)
Sonus Faber Concertino Domus (PcWork)
Klipsch Promedia 2.0 Ultra Modded (PcWork)

Cables
Oiyade Cable (Sep90)
XXX Cable ** needs correction (Sep90 Rice Cooker Cable) lol
PcWork DIY Cable (PcWork)
Van Den Hul D102 MKIII with Neutrik Profi (PcWork)
QED XT350 (PcWork)
QED Anniversery Speaker Cable (PcWork)
QED Quenex 4S (PcWork)
and all relative short interconnectes consist of Silver cable, cooper cable, Van den hul cable.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Feb 22 2009, 12:49 PM
PcWork
post Feb 22 2009, 03:34 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

ahem ahem.. i will save up for it one day,
by the way. sep90.do write out ur caps brand and spec pls.
i can't remember it.
=P

PcWork
post Feb 23 2009, 11:53 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

yesterday i play around with the secret amp prototype from walabies again..
hehe it drive my MS1 like hell.. so fun..as compared to Ibasso BOa. it driving power is not even up to 20% of the secret amp.
lol
so lembik the sound when plug to the boa. and doesn't even push the ms1 to an "acceptable" range.
when i put it on the secret.. wow... i think i going to ditch my personal secret amp prototype and get this one. mine just too much of noise.. lol.. while the final one which i not sure what modification they done. is much better than mine 4th generation prototype.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Feb 23 2009, 11:54 AM
PcWork
post Feb 26 2009, 10:36 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Feb 26 2009, 09:30 AM)
Your modded MS-1 pair with the secret amp, it's really superb! I've heard pcwork's recabled ms-1 with the secret amp + the caps, it's like totally another cans.

For me, definitely the secret amp is a good buy.. summore portable..
QUOTE(sep90 @ Feb 26 2009, 10:40 AM)
the modded ms-1 is very different from the stock ms-1
i took the liberty of comparing my hd555 side by side and pairing with my iqube and secret amp
more warm,better mids and not so bright as i thought it will be.... biggrin.gif
bass is much more controlled and highs not so sharp and edging...

it is very good can  thumbup.gif also the same performance as my hd555 but have a bit of recessed mids...and a brighter soundsignature
well i think pcwork and nick heard the ms-1 when pair with caps, they told me like gs-1k....... sweat.gif crazy soundstage and mids is superb good....
some teasers guys and despite wat ppl say bout opticals cable, they have transmission loss but very good ones will reduce the transmission lost to minimum effect and i have tested and compare both in fact....the high end optical gave me more tighter bass,more body and no jitter than bloody rm20 optical cable......that gave me jitters all round the clock, hard time coping with digital signal,  doh.gif  the 1........2 sec pause celaka  sweat.gif and sound like crap in my ears...bloated,digitalized, and very very funny weird signature that i couldnt describe....lifeless i would put it... doh.gif really jialat.....
theng_ye u heard it yeah?? hahaha
pair with secret amp the MS1 almost on par with HD650 with cardas cable.. =P ask nicholas.. hehehe

QUOTE(theng_ye @ Feb 26 2009, 11:02 AM)
huh..u mean tat fella bought the caps??
lol..i wont go KL so soon leh..
i think mostly mid of April...
haha..sure he cannot tahan d liao..

so, u manage to get 1 secret bac to sg?
lol

Added on February 26, 2009, 11:06 am
U tried my modded ms-1? I tot PCwork tell me hvt fully burn-in yet..
need to save for bigger toy leh(aiming ur dv337 lol)..secret amp..hmm..need to reconsider d...
urs one still brand new in box. 0 hour burn in. hahaa

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Feb 26 2009, 12:19 PM)
Aiseh if you want the 332 you should've told me. I sold it off last night to a forumer - flyers.

Now he is aiming to get either hd600 or hd650, if anyone wanna let go, just let me know / directly let him know.

My hd650 and 337 definitely not for sell hehe. My cardas cable will be up for sale very very soon, kena crystal cable poison too much >.<

Well darkvoice 337 is sort of 1 league higher than the 332, and it's dual-mono amp. They do sound similar from 1st listening, both good match for senn's can, but 337 gives an overall improvement compare to 332 - much more impactful, dynamic and wider soundstage. Well didn't try to change the tube yet (as the comparison made is between the stock 337 and 332 with replaced tube), it might yield a better result and squeeze more out of the 337.

Well, regardless how powerful it is, it still fails to drive dt880 600ohm to the fullest.. sad.gif
imho the darkvoice pair with DT880 is seriously lack of somethings. i more prefer modded MS1 than it.. =P

QUOTE(theng_ye @ Feb 26 2009, 02:10 PM)
huh..thanks for your explaination.
I think i wil go for it..
but need to save up 1st..
so exp..wah..u sold so many things d...
aiming for the caps?
looks like the caps is the SUPERSTAR in this gathering..
Sep90 bcome the poison king of the day..lol
the cap indeed poison.. hehe
QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Feb 26 2009, 09:35 PM)
Maybe i wrong thought sep90 ipod is 5.5g. But if you want to gmod i think 5.5g sound is more digital compare with 4g sound. 4g is more analogue.
i think his ipod is indeed 5.5G

PcWork
post Feb 26 2009, 10:44 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

that's what i am using for my MS1 also.
=P
my old old prototype "The Secret" amp is too aggresive and too much noise..
i prefer

New The Secret Amp > Boa > Old Prototype Secret Amp for MS1

Added on February 26, 2009, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(CLF @ Feb 25 2009, 06:05 PM)
oh yea what's the song in the vid? sounds very familiar, faye wong?
QUOTE(DEVICLOT @ Feb 25 2009, 06:10 PM)
王菲 - 我愿意

A very nice song~
it's actually 王菲 -矜持
From faye Wong XRCD 天空

This post has been edited by PcWork: Feb 26 2009, 10:48 PM
PcWork
post Mar 3 2009, 12:57 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(TeOtq @ Mar 3 2009, 08:29 AM)
Pcwork,i think i saw my secret amp there right? tongue.gif
nope
that's mine. yours is in my cabinet.

PcWork
post Mar 5 2009, 01:52 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Mar 5 2009, 12:34 AM)
The secret amp is MINE!!!! Grrrrwwwww,,,
Just a joke...  tongue.gif
yiew... we are talking about the prototype in the transparent casing lah,
want ah? tukar with u loh.

PcWork
post Mar 8 2009, 08:29 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(stormspider @ Mar 8 2009, 02:07 PM)
You can try contacting yuheng but he's quite busy nowadays...
On the other hand you can check with PCWork whether he still has one of the prototypes of The Secret... but then you'll need to go to his place in Serdang...be forewarned...his place is very poisonous also.... biggrin.gif
yeap the unit still with me. =)
yuheng is just too busy until i can't make a time with him to pass him a recabled ksc75 and even the secret amp.

PcWork
post Mar 8 2009, 10:10 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Sieg @ Mar 8 2009, 08:45 PM)
Mine right?? blush.gif Both also recabled?? Or the one with the voice coil prob is dead?? tongue.gif
yalo
the voice coil prob is dead. if i am boring enough after my lab work and not too tired. i will try to fix it. but no gurantee lah.=)
and pls blame yuheng.. i can't seems to meet him until now. lol.

QUOTE(looisc @ Mar 8 2009, 09:57 PM)
i saw a guy selling virgin ksc75. thinking of buying and let PcWork recable. U free to recable bro?
can do. but have to wait a bit lah. about 1-2 weeks.
do pm me for more info if u interested.
PcWork
post Mar 8 2009, 10:38 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

if he really cannot make it. we arrange a time we meet some where at time square or other shopping complex.
=)
PcWork
post Nov 8 2010, 11:15 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

next year around FEB, i will go back to miri for holiday.
wanna have some gathering during that time? at miri?
Fellow mirian!!!!
haha
i can bring lavry back if there's gathering there.

sonus faber can't bring.
haha
don't ask me to bring that.

0.0172sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:50 PM