Trade overseas share, US, UK, HK

htt
post Feb 5 2009, 01:04 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 4 2009, 08:39 AM)
If you are holding Malaysia citizenship and you are NOT a permanent resident of US (or working as temporary worker in US or reside more than 180 days in US), if you have profits of the US stocks, you are NOT subject to capital gains. However, if the stocks that you owned have dividends and if you collect cash from US companies, those are subject to 30% tax by US govt.

Also, I think Malaysia will also tax you when you bring home your profits become those are considered income and is subject to income tax. (ahem..there are ways to do this under the radar.. but that's out of topic for now.  whistling.gif  )
Foreign source income should not attract Malaysia tax.

Added on February 5, 2009, 1:07 pm
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Feb 5 2009, 12:32 PM)
I opened a trading account in Singapore with Phillip Capital.
Can trade US, Spore, HK, Tokyo pun boleh.

Live quite some more. I don't know if there are any brokers in Msia that provides live quotes for foreign stock exchange.
In Singapore almost every brokerage have that facility.
But the price real time (NYSE & NASDAQ)? Most are delayed 15 minutes or so. hmm.gif If so, I should activate my account back tongue.gif

This post has been edited by htt: Feb 5 2009, 01:08 PM
htt
post Feb 5 2009, 10:50 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 5 2009, 09:55 PM)
I am not clear on this either.. I think if you bring in a large sum of money (eg. >1million).. I'm sure
it will attract the Inland Revenue dept because banks maybe required to report those types of transaction due
to anti-money laundering laws.
I think so long if you can prove the income is legal & not taxable, there shouldn't be much problem. tongue.gif
htt
post Feb 6 2009, 09:23 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Feb 6 2009, 09:17 AM)
Trust that LHDN will want a piece of that money that you are bring in.
They'll find a way or excuse the tax the crap out of you. X^D
Haha... common folks like us always have that kind of perception, I really don't know how we came to this? They suppose to be an ethical organization working for government tongue.gif
But their reputation only slightly better than loan shark to me tongue.gif

0.0667sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:17 PM