6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Games Super Street Fighter II The HD Remix (PS3), The community is growing !!

rawfish
post Jan 6 2009, 11:03 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Jan 6 2009, 10:30 AM)
Haha... pls la... u put me so high up, i can touch the airplanes already la...
Sure, PM me.. tongue.gif I can also ask u sum stuff too... hehe

Added on January 6, 2009, 10:36 amI am thinking of getting it via Amazoo +vPOST cuz I can save RM100 if I do that as compared to getting it PA+UPS
Let's see. Amazon's at $79.99. My PA shipping weight via Fedex is 1.16kg so for vPOST it should amount to base amount S$23.54 + (S$12.16 * 1.2kg) = S$38.14. If apply PalPal/HSBC 10% discount it's S$34.33.

If you use Prime for 1-day quickie at $3.99, the total cost: $83.98 + S$34.33 => RM302.33 + RM85.83 = RM388.16 (CC+forex conversion @ 3.6% and 2.5% respectively)

Following the forex of 3.6% for the USD, it's RM376.92 (PA) vs RM388.16 (Amazon). Even if you go for 2-day free Prime shipping it's RM373.80.

PA should faster as if I'm not wrong vPOST ships once every Friday. Hope I got my maths correct biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jan 6 2009, 11:06 AM
rawfish
post Jan 7 2009, 10:52 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(ravemaster @ Jan 7 2009, 07:39 AM)
hi guys, planning to buy this game, but thenagain, not too sure to get it either tongue.gif do you guys recommend it? does it still retain the arcade feel?thanks
I felt SFHD was the best $15 I've spent. It's not a port, but a new SF game in the series (as per Capcom) as it offers gameplay rebalancing and a few other tweaks (e.g. new moves for some chars). Personally, the OST is as expected (i still prefer the classic music!) but the bump to HD animated graphics is impressive. It is truly a work of art and I was pleased with it on my HDTV. The rich colours are pleasing to the eye and no too striking to be an eyesore. Widescreen support is a marvel as well, and you can always switch back to 4:3.

Solo-play is worthwhile on its own, and the endings were revamped with new dialogue and graphics. You can have your own combo-mania session in the training mode, and if you're hardcore enough you will find the hitbox option useful. If this is turned on, for every normal/special move you will see the square area the executed move extends to. A similar hitbox area is also shown for the other character when blocking that move.

What really shines is its online play. This is what the fighting game community has been dreaming of, 5 years ago. When this game first came out, my local matches were lagless and I could even play with the Americans and Australians with decent frameskip. With more players around and recently this 2-3weeks, due to Streamyx's problems local games faced plenty of disconnections and lag. Another thing is, online play is ridden with bugs e.g. cannot see life bar, sudden crashes/disconnections, etc. Hope the next confirmed PSN update fixes all this.

If I were you, I'd give the online play a chance - especially once Streamyx reverts back to its old-but-still-sucky self. Again, local matches are lagless, but not with the Americans. Potentially, once this is released over the JP/SG/HK PSNs, we can hopefully join in regional matches too. Do consider the launch of SFIV this Feb 17 (Japan) & Feb 20 (North America) as well, as myself and presumably others here as well will jump into this next-gen release if the netcode offers similar lag-free gameplay, but with casual play on SFHD once in a while to relive old school memories.

Overall, it does offer a very arcade feel minus walking to the token counter to change coins, bangku (chair), sticky dirt on buttons (resulting from sweaty hands) and smokey atmosphere. If you're into queues, join a friendly match with up to 6 players in the same lobby and wait for your turn, as the winner stays for the next round. This is definitely one for keeps, if you DO really like the gameplay of the original SSF2T and have patience with unexpected downtime of your ISP.

Added on January 7, 2009, 10:57 am
QUOTE(comeundon3 @ Jan 7 2009, 10:24 AM)
dunno wat to do.....stupid streamyx...play 1 game dc once rofl really kns connection haha sry fir my bad connection mike

Added on January 7, 2009, 10:25 amand victor tooo....really hard to connect wif u
I could not even create a game yesterday and kept getting logged out of the PSN!!! Imagine, to even open your PM takes 1 minute! This morning before leaving for work, Streamyx was dead doh.gif

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jan 7 2009, 10:57 AM
rawfish
post Jan 7 2009, 11:44 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(ravemaster @ Jan 7 2009, 11:01 AM)
ok, that was a very long, interesting and poisoning review i ever read. thanks rawfish!! i really need that hehehe tongue.gif ok i will buy it later today. hope the download size is not that big tho. will join u guys for a session or two later smile.gif
It's a <400MB download but bear in mind if you're on Streamyx and international links are still down - you won't get to enjoy it today, worst - this week. Potong-stim la.
rawfish
post Jan 7 2009, 12:36 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 7 2009, 12:26 PM)
It's 302 MB to be exact, i still have the pkg file in my laptop just in case i need to reinstall for what ever reason ... it will be too long the way to download again haha

and i concur "its the best $15 spend in 2008"

rawfish, yesterday games was actually pretty smooth and lagless apart from the DC u faced ...

whatwhat, no worries lar ... i understand .. its not your fault ... but nice game, its still so hard to defend from your fei long, too strong too fast ...
I guess you didn't feel the lag, funny how I did on my side. And in all our matches the frames were skipping so bad until disconnected. Bad to worse these 2 weeks for me. Hope Streamyx is at least UP when I reach home today.
rawfish
post Jan 7 2009, 01:44 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 7 2009, 01:04 PM)
ya man, i didn't felt the lag ... this is interesting, we are fighting each other and me no see lag and you see lag ... something is not right man ... hahha

or maybe cuz me playing in 4:3 mode so the lag is there but less obvious cuz the figure is smaller ????
It's just like when we're at the lobby, u see me enter then exit from YOUR side... but on MY side I'm waiting for the game to begin. I think it's desync - or timeout with no response.

Settings do not affect gameplay as you know, it depends on what commands your PS3 receive from mine, to execute. I can have the classic soundtrack and view in 16:9 and you can have your own too. EDIT: Oh silly me, I get what you mean - I have no clue on this. But it's purely cowdung lag from Streamyx, and nothing to do with resolutions/screen aspect ratios!
rawfish
post Jan 7 2009, 06:48 PM

30 posts

I'm using the Rockfire USB converter. Don't think it's retailing here anymore.

I guess victor's converter is better cause his Balrog can't stop raping my health bar whistling.gif
rawfish
post Jan 8 2009, 09:10 AM

30 posts

Yesterday Streamyx was still dead. Geez.

QUOTE(ravemaster @ Jan 7 2009, 06:52 PM)
eh? the rockfire can USB converter can use with ps2 one? i bought it last year from ALL-IT lowyat plaza. if then i can use my old ps2 hori stick (the green army colored) to play rite?
Yup. But you need to reconfigure the controls, and since XMB button is non-existent you have to rely on the DS3/SixAxis at times. Response is lagless though... but direct PS2->USB wires are better but harder to find.
rawfish
post Jan 8 2009, 05:50 PM

30 posts

Since my connection was down last night I was on training mode, putting extremely RANDOM characters (Balrog, Fei Long, T.Hawk, Ken, Akuma whistling.gif ) as CPU punchbags.

I tried an interesting combo with DeeJay... see if you combo experts can dish it out consistently. It will look like this:

jump MK (crossup), D+LP, D+LP, MP, Super

It's actually executed like this:

j.MK (crossup)> charge DB immediately, land D+LP, D+LP, (after the punch comes out) pull stick F, B+MP, F+any K

1) the 2nd D+LP cannot come out too fast after the 1st one, otherwise cannot charge in time
2) also while executing the 2nd D+LP, you need to tap & release it quick, or tap & HOLD - so the fireball won't come out by accident
3) if you face a big-sized CPU, you can use x3 D+LP
4) for the MP > Super motion, as with any Super combos you need to piano tap (slide fingers) fast. I used my middle finger for MP, and index finger for LK

Try it!!!! Once you get the hang of it it's really easy. Something to try during ISP connection problems smile.gif
rawfish
post Jan 8 2009, 07:42 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 8 2009, 06:58 PM)
heheh .. somehow, me thinks your punching bag characters doesn't look so RANDOM at all whistling.gif

i find it difficult to pull a special out in a combo in this game ... probably i'm bad at doing cancelling sad.gif can do it at times in training but, still not confident enough to put it to use in real fight sad.gif
ravemaster, i've just added you ... if you wanna try a local fight .. just turn on your ps3 now tongue.gif
It's hard now, Mike - because of the frame skipping. Complex moves can be performed only in tight frame windows. It's not advisable to attempt flashy or complex combos in a real fight or you're super confident - play to KILL! bruce.gif
rawfish
post Jan 12 2009, 10:38 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 12 2009, 10:23 AM)
nakata101, you have met 3 of the 4 heavenly king of lyn street fighters heheheh the other 1 king that you have to meet is whatwhatinmybutt, his fei long is master of destruction !!!
LOL. please lar Mike - you elevate me too high. Plenty of Heavenly Kings here in this thread. And also Where's-My-Lifebar Demons From Hell like yourself biggrin.gif
rawfish
post Jan 14 2009, 12:45 PM

30 posts

Been busy with work and my garage sale, guys. Too tired to play but I don't think anyone will miss me or my random characters. If you're curious, Gen/Yun/Makoto are my main SF characters but too bad they're not in this game biggrin.gif

To those who still haven't got the sticks, do consider the Mad Catz FightPads. They're less expensive, wireless (PS3 only), and allow you to do hurricane kick -> raging demon while upside down on a sofa, or running on a threadmill too. I'm attracted to its 6-button layout and 'pick-me-up-and-play' simplicity. Let's wait for the local retailers to bring it in to get a real feel if possible (but it's packed in a sealed plastic packing). Sticks are priced higher so do choose wisely before making any purchases - it's a very personal thing.

rawfish
post Jan 16 2009, 05:58 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(fruitler @ Jan 16 2009, 05:39 PM)
in SSF2HD, what is most scary?? is blanka control by MIKE... strong... must be very rajin to improve my vega...
Scary? I think it's very SCARY when:

• mike has a full SUPER bar with Akuma
• victorlaw with balrog... throughout the whole round
• whatwhatinmybutt with feilong when timer is near to 0... he needs just 1 combo

For online matches I find it hard to escape gief/thawk's 360... even when i block standing up I cannot jump or do reversal move.

But still... i love the online play and keep on coming back for more!
rawfish
post Jan 19 2009, 05:50 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 19 2009, 05:35 PM)
fully agree with you victor !!

i hate sagat and sim !!!!!

sagat with his super fast fireball and quick recovery to uppercut !! and his juggling tiger knee !!!

sim with his super range throw and normals and also his flame as displayed by you, thats very very annoying !!!! hahahha

i used to play sim last time during sf2 days but very long liao never touch him ... maybe need to start practice him a bit also ...

what i'm doing now is like to play more characters to know what are their weaknesses and also pro's so that can hopefully can counter it tongue.gif

during the process, i find that some characters like gief are really really fun to use ... feel nice when can land that SPD !!!

victor, when wanna teach me more about grappling fighters such as gief and hawk ???
Sagat's nerfed.. as in his Tiger Shots take longer to recover. Jumping LK doesn't cross-up (it's now MK), and stand LK doesn't combo after the 2nd hit (only after 1st) now. His tiger knee juggles are fun but damage is not too great. But his super feels better now, can even knock down even if hit once. Don't get me wrong - I believe he can still hold a tight fireball game, just that he's not exciting to use anymore.

I saw Victor's Sim in action... and I think if mastered properly... got potential to be better than his Balrog biggrin.gif
rawfish
post Jan 20 2009, 11:22 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(victorlaw @ Jan 20 2009, 12:28 AM)
I do that too.. if i cant beat certain char i normally learn them.. from there i would be able to guess its strengths n weakness.

hehe sim is a good char... but its just that his only goal is to zone the opp out. It gets abit boring after awhile..
Once u learnt gief, hawk is just a walk in the park. I learnt using hawk in HD remix. Couldnt use him last time because u need very fast hands to spin his spd. now with the new motion its way way easier.
The previous version of sagat is totally broken. this new sagat is make him a less boring char. No more throwing tigers non stop. Funky looking tiger knee x 3. Sim is nice kinda fun.. but i still suck in zoning out the opp. But then again i seem some really agressive sim in youtube displayed by the japanese players.. goods stuff.
.... BUT throwing tigers non-stop makes him exciting what... *tiger* *tiger* *tiger* *tiger* *tiger* *tiger* *tiger* *tiger UPPERCUT* LOL
- to each his own, bro smile.gif

Yeah, T.hawk's such a mean ol' baddie to fight against now. Previously you need to execute the 360 quickly coz his jump gets off the ground faster than gief. So is your main char Balrog now, or with Thawk/gief/bison?

rawfish
post Jan 20 2009, 11:53 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 20 2009, 11:41 AM)
He don't main Boxer now bro, cuz if he do that theres not much fight tongue.gif i think his hawk is going there as well, damn hard to fight also

for bison, i think yours is more dangerous heheh
I love his cheapness, and as a non-fireball character he can control quite a lot of space. Startup Devil's Reverse (chrg.D, U+P) has invincibility frames (but not against jump-ins) which he can get out of fireball traps better now. But I find it hardest to fight against victor's or your gief when cornered.

I had some really good games with Neobita and Theonejin after your TV got pwned by the Mrs hehe smile.gif
I'm off to service my car now. If you want the $12 off $100 PA coupon PM me smile.gif

rawfish
post Jan 21 2009, 12:22 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(victorlaw @ Jan 20 2009, 01:22 PM)
My bison cannot pakai la... Im fascinated by how one can charge very fast ala Yuuvega. Every moves that comes out is a combo. Thawk is just a char i picked up cause he is now gief with a dragonpunch. hehehe
Yes, I heard of the legendary Yuuvega as well. Bloody good at corner cross ups as well (e.g. slide after throw). Top players do charge partitioning like slapping plain butter on toast.

I think charge partitioning will be useful in SF4. Activate Focus Attack (FA), then dash cancel fwd (FADC)... normal melee attack then special/super/hyper

Example: Bison holds mp+mk for FA while charging back, releases at level 3, opponent bites it and crumples (dizzies), DASH forward while retaining partial charge, melee, charge timer full -> unleash hyper

Um... sorry for the jargons - my mindset halfway getting into the game already smile.gif

To those who don't know, just sharing... charge partitioning is splitting a charge while executing other moves (punch, kick, dash/walk) then releasing it. It will be something like Guile's walking Flash Kick (2-seconds needed). Charge down for only 1 sec, before the 2 second count is fulfilled, walk forward, then hit down to complete the other second, then up+k. The key point to remember is to NOT charge for too long the first time.

Urr... sorry if this doesn't make sense... I think others can explain better smile.gif
rawfish
post Jan 21 2009, 12:51 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(victorlaw @ Jan 21 2009, 11:36 AM)
damn u seem like u hv been playing sf4 for sometime now. Im still zero knowledge when it comes to that game.

I remb the charge partitioning in Sf3s for Urien aint easy to do. Very strict timing. Maybe this time around its easier. nah... guess not biggrin.gif
Me? No-lah. Still jakun when it comes to this game. Just been noticing the gameplay vids all over the web - and observed how this Bison dashed and combo to Ultra.

Unlike SFIII: 3rd Strike, SF4 is more to tactics and mindgames - and importantly MORE accessible to ALL types of SF-fans, NEW and veterans alike. Just like SFHD/SSF2T. In SF3:3S, luck is also an unfair (imho) factor e.g. when guessed correctly you can parry then punish with a devastating combo (Yun/Makoto/Urien). The game reward those with technical skills as in parrying, combo-execution, kara-throws and charge partitioning for trap setups. Not newbie-friendly and chases away the classic SF2-series fans.

Btw sorry for going off-topic. I really enjoyed my 1-on-1 fireball session with Guile vs Mike's Ken last night on SFHD. Each hit counted and had to be earned. I'm sure both characters executed like 100+ sonicbooms and hadoukens altogether biggrin.gif

rawfish
post Jan 23 2009, 09:57 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jan 23 2009, 04:49 PM)
of course, you will see me in SFIV also ...

not sure if there are any region locking or not for online play ... but most probably will buy R1 cuz of CE (CE is R1 only right ??)..
I think CAPCOM will definitely have cross-region online play, as an effort to bridge US and Japanese players. They seem to be providing plenty of fan-service these days, evident in SFHD smile.gif

And DLC should be region-specific. One of the reasons to get the R1 alone since there may be specific content not found in other regions. To begin with, you will have 5 exclusive DLC costumes as part of the CE's bonus. And yes, the CE is R1-only.

P.S. I read that the DLC is CE-only hence it won't be available freely to those who wish to pay for the DLC. Don't have the direct link to the NeoGAF / Shoryuken forums I follow almost daily...
rawfish
post Jan 25 2009, 02:28 PM

30 posts

The next generation.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jan 26 2009, 05:25 AM
rawfish
post Jan 29 2009, 01:55 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(logic-one @ Jan 28 2009, 01:08 PM)
anybody here want to buy hrap3:SA ? the one with metal faceplate? i got 3 units in japan

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...80&p=23290824&#
Hi, good luck with your sale. Are you a joystick collector as well e.g. are you getting one for your own use? Just curious seeing someone buying a rare item which would usually interest the most hardcore of fans.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0395sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:43 AM