Underseat 8" Subwoofer, Good o not?
6UE5T
May 19 2016, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(justin_nys @ May 6 2016, 09:34 AM) Why? Don't leave the discussion hanging  I suppose this is not for very picky audiophile but just regular folks who wants to have kick to their stock speakers but on limited budget? QUOTE(Lowyatian @ May 6 2016, 10:00 AM) The reason being....it a waste of money.....tried one b4......in just a few weeks i took it off and get a real sub instead...... Haha...What I really mean is better work on your mid bass 1st....some ppl just doesnt realized that what they really want is actually the mid bass sounds which the underseat sub actually delivering....better get an 8 inches mid bass n drive it kao kao..... It all depends on one's ears, some will say not worth it coz have higher expectation, but for some others good enough. I for one used to use big 12s from top US brands like JL Audio in the back either in free air or in a custom box powered by hundreds of watts of US amps, but now I just use a pair of China 10' underseat powered subs. Sure the under seats will not generate as much kick and as loud as the huge 12s but now I'm quite content already with those cheap underseats, enough to bring just a bit more live and punch to the music without breaking my bank. I guess as I get older my priorities and expectations already shifted as now I don't need to have a system that can shake my whole car!  So in short just have listen yourself first if good enough or not, then only decide.
6UE5T
Nov 8 2016, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(Jerry Yap @ Nov 8 2016, 05:19 PM) Underseat subs... Well... I am using an underseat that is branded (I suppose) and i just installed a ported box subwoofer in myvi for half the price of the underseat sub alone (Exclude install, wiring and workmanship)... To be honest, it worked better, responded better and sounded better than the underseat and is richer in most ways... Now i finally understand why so many ICE sifus keep emphasising on using a boot sub rather than underseats... If you want very good bass in a car, go for the subs that fit in your boot... If you travel a lot and need the boot, then your only option is to fit a pair of underseats to get a solid bass thump Which underseat sub are you using and how much did you buy it? How much also the ported sub? Have you factored in the price of the power amp to drive the ported sub? Because underseat subs usually already come with built in amps, so to compare with big sub boxes, you need to also include the necessary power amps (or compare with built-in powered sub boxes). Of course the main limitation of underseat subs is physics, more exactly space as it only has very limited space to work with and therefore cannot move as much air to generate big bass as regular sub box.
6UE5T
Nov 16 2016, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(Averllen96 @ Nov 16 2016, 04:40 AM) whats the diffrence between underseat sub and active sub?? Underseat subs are subs to be placed under the seats, they mostly also already active type/have built-in power amp. Active sub is sub that includes built-in power amp in the box/casing. It can be may different shapes/designs: underseat, tube, or big box.
6UE5T
Nov 16 2016, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(philip42 @ Nov 15 2016, 09:59 PM) What Underseat Sub Bagus? For Myvi QUOTE(Averllen96 @ Nov 16 2016, 12:45 AM) If cheap can go for mbq 8inch , but the review not so good. Bagus depends on one's expectation given the money spent. I'm also using a pair of MBQ but 10s', bought around rm500 each all installed. I would say it fulfill my needs to just improve the bass sound of std audio but of course it would not match traditional big sub box. My criticism of this thing is the settings of the power amp gain is not good quality, can have high humming distortion on higher gain settings so it was difficult to set up just right.