Form 6, advantage and disadvantage

snowy_sharz
post Dec 7 2008, 11:34 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(azazaz @ Dec 5 2008, 05:33 PM)
Hey guys.. I'm going to form 6 next year due to financial issues.
Unfortunately, I know what I wanna study, Architecture. But.. sigh.

Any subjects in form 6 that is relevant or helpful to Architectural studies? Help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
i think physics is a requirement to enter this course in public unis. But if talking about relevancy, no, physics is not helping your course much later. I'm now studying engineering in UPM (currently second year) and my hostel consists of students from the engineering and architecture fields. So i know quite a bit of this course from them smile.gif

From what I heard from my friends, architecture is a more project based course (still got written paper as well but their weighing is not much, just a little portion) where they normally need to draft the design out, build the model up, show it to their lecturers and after getting the approval from the lecturers they will then need to present to a group of lecturers and be prepared to get bombarded by lots of questions. This course requires a more creative side from the students and not to scare you off, i usually spot them staying up almost all night(for a few days) when assignments and presentations are going to due rclxub.gif kesian they always seem busy ohmy.gif

If you're good in drawing, creative, and are ready to sleep only few hours everyday then go for this course. But be careful when selecting your course because in UPM, after you have completed the degree course(3 yrs), you are only able to work as an assistant architect, and to eligible to become an architect yourself, you'll need to futher your studies for another 2 years unsure.gif But in other uni such as UKM, you just need to complete the degree course (not sure how many years though but should be 4 yrs) and can become architect.

Another friend of mine who is now studying Building Tech in USM says that his course is also similar to architecture and a lot of projects and assignments.

Well i guess that's all i want to share. If u have any question, feel free to ask~ I'll try my best to answer smile.gif

and lastly good luck to all out there who are going to opt for f6 path! It isn't as scary as most people say rolleyes.gif

Added on December 7, 2008, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(Danny87 @ Dec 1 2008, 08:27 PM)
i want 2 enter form 6 next year but a dun know how? i took my spm in year 2004.. can i go for public school o private?
i think if you really want to study f6, the only option is to study in private schools or colleges but i'm afraid there's a age limit to sit for stpm. Can't remember well but i think it's somewhere 21-25 yrs old. hmm.gif Maybe i'm wrong though. Good luck to you smile.gif

This post has been edited by snowy_sharz: Dec 7 2008, 11:54 PM
snowy_sharz
post Dec 15 2008, 03:59 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(azazaz @ Dec 13 2008, 11:18 AM)
Thanks snowy_sharz for clearing part of my doubts..

I have tonnes to questions to bombard here actually.. just taking my time to figure them out. lol.

So here's a few. Are there many people taking architecture in your Uni? UPM, that is. Is the competitive level in that field high? Do your friends regret taking or rather, choosing Architecture as their course?

And yes, another one.. what are the chances that I can get to study what I desire, Architecture, In a local Uni, like UPM, USM.. etc. Consider the competitiveness.

Thanks a lot for helping me clearing my dark clouds.  smile.gif
you're welcome nod.gif
From what i know, UPM slashed almost half of the students intake starting 06/07 intake for degree courses coz they want to increase postgraduate intake to boost up their uni ranking. shocking.gif . Other unis i'm not sure.. There are a few types of architecture courses in my uni (pure architecture, industrial design, landscape architecture). For pure architecture course, there are only 40+ students in the course, whereby majority are bumi students. Chinese is around 15-17 ppl, no more than 20. landscape architecture has also around that figure(maybe slightly more), whereas industrial design consists only 2 chinese students, weird huh? <this is for my batch, but the juniors seems more or less of the same numbers>

About the pointer, to be safe, it's better to have 3.5+ or 3.6+ (this is what the majority of the architecture students got in stpm in my batch) in order to apply architecture, but this varies every year, depending on the overall stpm performance. Other uni like ukm may require higher pointer. so the best is to discuss with your caunselling teacher coz he/she will probably have the analysis results of what is the minimum pointer u need to enter for each course and uni. There is also a website (in chinese) 'quanshengweb' i think, it provides the infos of past few years of how many chinese per course, and total students per course, what is the min cgpa, max, and mod. so u can use it as a guideline but not sure whether the site is still working or not or under maintenance lol

about my fren who is studying 'building tech' in usm, his pointer is just 3.0+ but he put that as his first choice, so he got it. and his class is quite big. i think 80+ ppl in that course. wow that's a lot!

some got regret, some enjoying their course very much.. depends on oneself smile.gif

Added on December 15, 2008, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(Latios @ Dec 15 2008, 12:37 PM)
I guess sometimes choose a location that near to hometown will be a good location to study. For some reasons, studying outside might cost a lot and it will be a burden to your family.
For Form 6, the advantage can be:
Local university - mostly 2.0 pointer can get into any of them, but depends on luck too, sometimes.
But for local university, you might got a chance that you are not getting the course that you want (happens a lot and I consider myself as a lucky one because I get the course I want), and saves money as well as easier to find a job with the local UNI cert.

However, you will be wasting your 2 years time if you failed to get a 2.0 pointer or with your Pengajian Am fail. For some reason, Form 6 is quite tough too, so make a careful decision.
Form 6 cert. is not useful for further study at other countries too (I don't know why they only accept A-Level).
ya lo..it's a burden to study far away from hometown especially when the bus fare keeping to hike up and cost of living is kinda high sad.gif
and yes, one more thing, if fail in stpm pengajian am, then no more chance to enter public uni d coz that's the 'must' basic requirement sad.gif
and yes, undeniable, f6 is not easy and kinda tough..

like latios said, sometimes depends on luck also ..
But i know f6 cert is widely recognised, most uni will accept, just that they didn't state it out maybe it's less popular compared to A-level , for example:
pre-university qualification: A-levels, SAM, etc etc and its [/B]equivalent [cool.gif .
so the 'equivalence' here mayb refer to stpm etc whch are not listed out but for this case, we got to contact the college or uni to confirm. smile.gif

This post has been edited by snowy_sharz: Dec 15 2008, 04:29 PM
snowy_sharz
post Dec 15 2008, 05:04 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(macamtakada @ Dec 15 2008, 04:48 PM)
I am still undecided on pursuing accounting or engineering...

Is it better for me to enter Form 6 or CAL or SAM ?

what is the minimum CGPA for applying this 2 courses in Form 6?
does cocurriculum affect the CGPA much? cause I am not active in cocu

is STPM worldly recognised? ^^ I don't think so haha ....
If it is, students will be entering Form 6.

is the subject offered and syllabus similar to CAL?
it is entirely up to u to choose either f6, cal, or sam.. if u have the fund and not willing to study for 2 years then go for cal or sam as the duration of the course is only 1 year.
but if u want to study pubic uni(degree) , the only option is either matrix, f6, or diploma.

To get accounting course in public uni, u need to get 4.0 or near to it. for engineering, if u r looking for electric and electronics or chemical engineering, again, u need almost 4.0 to get into 'established' public unis.. as for evaluation:
stpm = 90%
coco = 10%
stpm is not worldly recognised, but widely recognised.
In form 6, i did A levels past year papers and i would said that the English used is more advanced, more difficult to understand and digest compared to f6's. In terms of difficulty, form 6's questions are tougher. Just my opinion though. The syllabus are similar, however, f6 covers wider scope and need to study more things. Subjects offered are almost the same, except general paper ( the language used lol)

Added on December 15, 2008, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(macamtakada @ Dec 15 2008, 04:48 PM)
So, why do ppl say study form 6 is for Local-U?
i think the term used is not accurate. It should be 'public' uni instead of 'local' uni..

This post has been edited by snowy_sharz: Dec 15 2008, 05:23 PM
snowy_sharz
post Dec 15 2008, 10:45 PM

42 posts

if i'm not mistaken, kukum is now unimap smile.gif
snowy_sharz
post Dec 16 2008, 05:50 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Latios @ Dec 16 2008, 04:59 PM)
Is it, snoopy88? I graduated in year 2006 and my subjects are all Malay (BM, PA, Ekonomi and Sejarah). I think only science subjects (Bio, Chem, Phys, Maths...) are in English...

Try to save some money as you will spend more when you are in UNI.
yupe. For science stream, all subjects were and are in English except Pengjian Am..

0.0138sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:58 PM