Form 6, advantage and disadvantage

Tangiers
post Nov 26 2008, 08:31 PM

245 posts

TS,

Depends on your ambition. If you just wana get into university, then F6 should be good enough.

If you aim for something higher such as going overseas, applying for scholarships, entering critical courses, then going into F6 is quite risky.

I'll quote Eminem here to summarize the feeling of going into F6:
Look, if you had one shot, or one opportunity
To seize everything you ever wanted-One moment
Would you capture it or just let it slip?

By the time you know the answer to his question, it would have been the best 2 years of your life spent. Or worst 2 years wasted.

That's how I felt near STPM. PHEAR!

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Nov 26 2008, 08:31 PM
Tangiers
post Nov 26 2008, 10:21 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Nov 26 2008, 09:02 PM)
well form 6 is still considered high school.
Isn't Form 6 high school? (Still considered??) hmm.gif
Tangiers
post Dec 5 2008, 04:40 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(CLF @ Dec 4 2008, 08:30 PM)
STPM cert however, is kinda limited to the university within this region, going as far as Aus or NZ.
Huh? If STPM is so limited, how did my classmate (I'm from STPM) go to Cambridge? And one guy from my neighbouring class get Monbukagakusho Scholarship from Japan? STPM is widely recognized in most if not all Commonwealth countries. You don't even need to translate your cert. Elsewhere, you may need to take additional tests but if you're good in STPM, I can hardly see how other tests can give you too much difficulty.

Added on December 5, 2008, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(z1lch @ Nov 28 2008, 09:22 PM)
why say so?
F6 is risky because if you're ambitious, you need to score 4.00 (best possible). And you need to be active in cocurricular activities. Scoring 4.00 is not impossible but it's hard. + active in cocu = even harder. You need luck also when it gets to this level. Have you watched 21? If you want to go to the best schools, it is THAT intense. You need to wow the dean.

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Dec 5 2008, 04:46 PM
Tangiers
post Dec 14 2008, 06:25 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Dec 14 2008, 04:48 PM)
why stuck at your useless hometown when you have the chance to go out and see and experience more?
It's good to experience the outside world. But my hometown is not useless. I'd love to stay one day longer in my hometown. When you leave your hometown, trust me, you'd miss it dearly. To those who will be leaving their hometown, treasure your time there while you still can.
Tangiers
post Dec 16 2008, 01:05 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Dec 15 2008, 11:26 PM)
hmm.. maybe your hometown's a good one.. but for me, my hometown's defferent, man.. my hometown's the place where all the gangsters triumph.. that's why i say my hometown's a useless one..
Yeap, my hometown's best in the world: Malacca (I don't care what everyone else wanna say). thumbup.gif

But yeah, all of us should have ambition and aim for something bigger, go out and experience the world.
Tangiers
post Dec 16 2008, 01:48 AM

245 posts

For Aussie unis, memang need IELTS. Why did u even bother applying with your MUET? They won't look at it. And since u said u got Band 6 for your MUET, I'm very sure you can do very well in IELTS (8.0 or even 8.5 maybe). Just the fees pain. mad.gif

And STPM is widely recognized by Commonwealth countries lah. You don't even need to translate your STPM cert for Aussie unis. They recognize/accept your STPM result slip just as it is. I'm speaking from my personal experience applying to Aussie unis.

And, for those who can only afford STPM and still want to go overseas, don't worry. You can apply to many renowned foreign universities with STPM. Sometimes, you may need to take some additional tests for certain unis. But if you can reach that stage, you shouldn't have much problem already. Only money problem. Your only realistic solution in this case is to secure a scholarship.

Basically, if you take STPM and you score 4.00 with decent cocu, you can go anywhere you want in this world. US need SAT tho. But SAT is kacang compared to STPM. (And you should take SAT in lower 6, not upper 6)

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Dec 16 2008, 01:50 AM
Tangiers
post Dec 16 2008, 04:16 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Dec 16 2008, 11:11 AM)
STPM is not tough lar, most of my time i was just sleeping n fooling around

anyway, its cheap to go Form 6, oni few hundred bucks
its just an asswipe cert when u r done with it anyway, just a passport to go uni
make mummy n daddi much more hepi coz can save up money
anyway, rather ask daddy to buy u a car with that money tat they saved up  tongue.gif
What's your results then?

That's the whole point of taking pre-u right? To get you into uni. What else did you expect?

Yea, daddy and mummy work hard to earn money, son just wanna spend it away happily. I don't know bout your parents, but mine work hard for the money and I'm not going to spend the money as if it's my right. Because it is never my right.
Tangiers
post Dec 18 2008, 01:26 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Latios @ Dec 17 2008, 11:51 PM)
For Arts side, you will got the option to take Seni, Bahasa Malaysia, Sejarah, Geografi, Ekonomi I think. (not really sure as when I was in form 6 these are my options).
Subjects offered will differ by school. You'll be offered to do form 6 in a school selected by the Education Department. You could then try apply for other schools if you want to. In this respect, STPM's practical combination of subjects is rather limited and rigid. Most schools don't offer uncommon subjects due to lack of expertise in that subject or they don't want to risk performing poorly.

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Dec 18 2008, 01:27 AM
Tangiers
post Jan 18 2009, 01:23 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(JustAnotherPeon @ Jan 17 2009, 05:42 PM)
Only smart/hardworking ppl will benefit - good results can enter good public Uni.
Isn't life supposed to be that way? To reward the hardworking. They deserve it; their hard work create their own luck.

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Jan 18 2009, 01:24 AM
Tangiers
post Jan 19 2009, 02:26 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 19 2009, 12:29 AM)
Yes but sometimes this aren't happpening at least after STPM result are out. Some student can get good courses while a smart student get a lesser ones. I got a ex-schoolmate who get Food Science (or something) rather than being a Pharmacist he really wanted to be. Connection IS important (and race).
Yea, I have a former schoolmate (used to come from the neighbouring class) who was in a similar situation.

The Malaysian Government didn't think he's good enough for medic/pharmacy.

But the Japanese Government thought he is good enough to offer him the prestigious Monbukagakusho Scholarship. He'll be going to University of Tokyo now to do medic/pharmacy (not sure which one exactly). And yes, he is THAT good.

My point here is, STPM (not just A-lvl) can get you to almost anywhere you want, if you're good enough.
Tangiers
post Jan 19 2009, 08:22 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(yenyen08 @ Jan 19 2009, 02:40 PM)
well, if you are good enough, eventhough you are not taking form 6,
you might get offered some scholarship as well, in overseas..

advantages of form 6
- one of the way to enter university. mostly everyone respect you for entering u
compare to college (people somehow will look down at you despite what course you taking)
- save $$

disadvantages
- if you did not do well in form 6, say bye bye to the u.
- a waste of time. some people get degree/ some professional qualifications in a shorter period.
Yes, it's always about being better than everyone else. lol

Saving $$$ is always good. Even giant corporations need to save money in a difficult time like this. What's more with average people? And we're not talking about saving $$$ and sacrificing quality. Form 6 is still a good pre-u programme that prepares top students well to go to top unis in the world every year.

And to your last sentence, yea, Form 6's longer duration has some opportunity costs associated with it. But it is still possible to go to most unis in the next academic year (after the academic year of graduation from STPM). For eg, most of the time, it is possible to go for 2009 intake in UK, Singapore, HK, Australia Sem 2 (for certain programmes) after you take your STPM in December 2008. Not sure about US tho. I think it's possible too but application timeline will be pretty tight.

But in my opinion, the benefits of F6 > the costs of studying longer. I'm biased tho cuz I was from F6. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Jan 19 2009, 08:30 PM

0.0219sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:24 AM