DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Feb 23 2009, 10:50 PM

19 posts

Hi T-Amp Sifus,

Just to share my humble experience with u all.

In Nov 08,I finally decided to take a jump in into hi-fi things (entry level).

Almost "jump out" again when I see the price tag in hifi shop tongue.gif

Nowadays economy demands to be prudent but cannot tahan the poison anymore.

Then set my mission : to built below RM1K hifi setup (cdp+amp+speaker+no brand interconnects&speaker cable).

My friends laugh at me & says it is impossible!!!

And the hunt started :

Early Jan 09- Manage to get CDP Sansui X-310 (NOS) = RM300

Mid Jan 09- Bought PSB Alpha Bookshelf Speaker (used) = RM300
- Speaker Cable + RCA2RCA I/connects = RM60

After countless hours of searching, I found the review of T-Amp in TNT then in LYN forum (this thread). A bit sceptical at first but the price attract me RM60. drool.gif

But shocking.gif chip only aa?

I am no modder or DIYer blush.gif . So for safety purpose tongue.gif I decided to order complete built T-Amp from bro xtorm.

Finally have it on last week wednesday with a price that really fit my tight budget

Results -

1) First impression - Clarity, great vocals & treble, but overall quite harsh, lack of bass (some of my cd are hard rock & metals)

2) After 30 hours running in
- harshness start to dissapear
- very detail in instruments & vocal sounds, start to hear the sound of some instrument that I vr heard b4 biggrin.gif
- no complaints on classical/neo classical movie soundtrack, feels like those chambers orchestra playing infront of me tongue.gif
- the bass on pop & hard rock cds starts to improve.
- As for metal cds have to wait untill finish running in 100 hours but bro xtrom told me should be realistic on 5W blush.gif

anyway I am glad to take "plunge" in this T-Amp. really happy for what i have now. At this moment la.

Wah TA2020 with 25W ? drool.gif

dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Mar 4 2009, 06:16 PM

19 posts

my running in almost reach 50hours tongue.gif

but I am quite curious on this matter hmm.gif

I notice nowadays once i switch on the amp and start play the cd, the first 2 songs normally sounds "flat", means that lack of treble, clarity etc. I am talking even on those acoustic songs

But the third songs onwards, it sound much nicer, more details & so on like what i describe before. Now for some good recordings and especially when volume at 8 or 9 o clock, even the bass are quite solid cool.gif

So the Q's are

a)Is it the amp need some time to warm up once it is switch on ?

b) Does good recording in the cd are important? Most of my imported version cd's (international artiste) sounds really good but the some of the local pressed cd tak ada oomph la ?
dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Mar 5 2009, 09:10 AM

19 posts

kww,

mine pasang siap version (bought complete build from x-torm) tongue.gif

but i remember x-torm told me, he did change something, the black thing (cap is it ?). bro x-torm sorry if i mention it wrong smile.gif

jazzy,

no warm up eh ? maybe i need to to adjust my telinga biggrin.gif

anyway, cannot deny from hour to hour, this amp is getting better & better !!

last night, listen to Shania Twain (sexy voice), Laura Pausini (powerful italian voice), Eric Clapton (guitar master) & Therion (symphonic metal band). me like drool.gif !!

dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Mar 5 2009, 05:59 PM

19 posts

kww,

not sure what cap. maybe need to open then only know smile.gif

overall, i am quite satisfy. nvrmind let me fully run in for 100hours first. then see how it goes.

yc,

ur opinion restore my faith, so no need to to adjust telinga tongue.gif

btw i used sansui cdp also

to mod? i need to start to learn some eletronic & electrical basic first tongue.gif

T-Amp sifus,

me totally zero in diy & mod stuff, so bear with me on stoopid q's blush.gif

a) how does this t-amp work?

b) what is cap & function

c) what is resistor & function

d) things & skills needed to start diy ? sound really stoopid doesnt it blush.gif

ok will start to do some reseacrh on net too.

dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Mar 6 2009, 09:38 AM

19 posts

hi everybody,

manage to find the T-Amp thread v1. I forgot that xtorm had mentioned it to me during cod. blush.gif

a lot of info. not sure can digest or not tongue.gif

anyway, will take my time to read abt it.

thx & happy long weekend !! rclxm9.gif
dylanhaydenshuiyo
post May 23 2009, 08:16 PM

19 posts

ta 2020 going to arrive in mid june? drool.gif

xtorm,

any complete built version for lazy people like me ? blush.gif

btw my t-amp coming to 80hours now..reposition the speaker and the bass improved laugh.gif

dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Jul 8 2009, 04:57 PM

19 posts

Hi everyone,

How's things ?

wah! TT for T-Amp clan la! tongue.gif

by invitation or all can join ? tongue.gif

junchoon,

ur new cdp is it from Sony? Is it SACD player ? Sorry if I am wrong smile.gif
dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Jan 14 2010, 11:14 AM

19 posts

Hi everybody,

its been a while since my last post in this thread..dormant clan member.. tongue.gif

I pm xotrm to include me in ta2020 bulk (complete built unit) last night and waiting for his response. tongue.gif

bun i saw this mkIII version..

can anybody enlighten me on this ?

maybe xtorm (the clan founder) or bro jazzy (the clan ambassador) or anybody tongue.gif ?

dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Jan 14 2010, 04:48 PM

19 posts

bro jazzy,

thx...there's a lot of information there biggrin.gif until I blink.gif

but with all those extra features means it will better compare to stock TA 2020 ?

dylanhaydenshuiyo
post Jan 14 2010, 08:26 PM

19 posts

I changed my mind....

I ordered the TA2020 MKIII complete built unit... rclxm9.gif

jazzy enlightened me ... tongue.gif

xtorm poisoned me... laugh.gif

0.0324sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:19 AM