DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
kww
Apr 19 2010, 05:54 PM
There is still hope. If 2020 can sing like 2024 with the power, it really beat a lot of good amp around. According to a lot of 2020 owner, it really sound good. But I still have no idea what mod they have done on it, the board got many version also: some with SMD, air-cor inductor, without input cap, super cap....
Really need a lot of good reading.
TSxtorm
Apr 19 2010, 08:25 PM
yea...lots of variaties, still i have no idea how they make it wihtout input caps, wihtout the caps it will sound really dynamic, big...
if u wana make it sound more analog, some goodcap will help
anyway, i order a tube buffer pre-amp this round, it will cost roughly rm135 without tube, 12au7, will test it out n see
as for the tp2050, i sitll got no idea where my volume n input should go...control?
This post has been edited by xtorm: Apr 19 2010, 08:27 PM
kww
Apr 19 2010, 09:34 PM
Xtorm, google is your best friend.
Dexsam
Apr 20 2010, 06:03 AM

QUOTE(xtorm @ Apr 19 2010, 08:25 PM) as for the tp2050, i sitll got no idea where my volume n input should go...control? Xtorm, I thought I gave you the TC2000/TP2050 application notes in pdf? I attach again below. If you look at the application notes, the audio inputs should go to pins 23 and 28 of the TC2000 controller chip. And since there are already soldered to the tracks you need to find the tracks to those pins.
Digital_amp_TP2050.pdf ( 298.83k )
Number of downloads: 12
St3vi3_G
Apr 20 2010, 07:28 PM
hey all, the reviews sounds interesting and i am thinking of getting one. where can i find it here in kl/pj??
TSxtorm
Apr 20 2010, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(Dexsam @ Apr 20 2010, 06:03 AM) Xtorm, I thought I gave you the TC2000/TP2050 application notes in pdf? I attach again below. If you look at the application notes, the audio inputs should go to pins 23 and 28 of the TC2000 controller chip. And since there are already soldered to the tracks you need to find the tracks to those pins.
Digital_amp_TP2050.pdf ( 298.83k )
Number of downloads: 12yea bro i edi downloaded  thanks haha...yep, planing to do so edi. need to slowly trave the double sided board  Added on April 20, 2010, 7:35 pmQUOTE(St3vi3_G @ Apr 20 2010, 07:28 PM) hey all, the reviews sounds interesting and i am thinking of getting one. where can i find it here in kl/pj?? im selling the ta2020, ta2020mkIII n ta2024 This post has been edited by xtorm: Apr 20 2010, 07:35 PM
St3vi3_G
Apr 21 2010, 06:01 PM
ugpm bro!
toda6866
Apr 23 2010, 05:09 PM
guys, wanna ask if i change my cap ayam RCA interconnects to Canare cable with Neutrik plugs from my soundcard to Tamp, will it sound better?
now I'm hearing some 'noise' in the background when no music played, I dunno if its the cable or my grounding in Tamp loose? if i touch the Tamp casing, the noise will be louder....
My old interconnects stereo -> RCA has been replaced because I changed my soundcard with RCA outputs so cannot use edi
This post has been edited by toda6866: Apr 23 2010, 05:10 PM
jazzy939
Apr 23 2010, 05:31 PM
toda, Its grounding problem alright.. New interconnects/canare cables+neutrik may/may not make it 'better'. Its very subjective ler.. would not be day and night difference for sure, unless the old stuffs are really 'bad'. If you can hear the difference, good for you!  If not, count your blessing..
toda6866
Apr 25 2010, 11:02 AM
thanks again jazzy for ur advice
i'll check my groundings then hope I dont have to count blessings
jazzy939
Apr 25 2010, 11:37 AM
Keep us posted toda. I know my T-Amp is very silent (background noise that is) in operation.
kww
Apr 25 2010, 01:40 PM
It could be a cold solder or lose connection some where. You can trouble shot by lightly shake the component and cable. If you are not not sure get someone that can help you, don't end up fried something or hurt youself.
toda6866
Apr 27 2010, 11:15 AM
Jazzy, my ta2020 'was' silent in operation before this.
kww, will chekc my solderings i think must b something loose after i plug - unplug those RCA cables
jazzy939
Apr 27 2010, 01:15 PM
The cables can be the culprit at times.. try operating without any input/signal cables connected, then connect one by one..
toda6866
Apr 28 2010, 11:36 AM
ok, the noise was fixed....loose solders
btw, has anyone tried waving a mosquito racket (for zapping mosquitos) near the T-amp?
when I wave pass it, can hear EMI interference like noise (loud ngeeee)... so question is how do I shield the amp from EMI?
jazzy939
Apr 28 2010, 11:53 AM
use metal casing and ground to EARTH..
toda6866
Apr 29 2010, 03:34 PM
u mean ground the casing to earth?
jazzy939
Apr 29 2010, 09:53 PM
Yes. Thats what I did.
TSxtorm
Apr 30 2010, 01:21 AM
toda great tht u got help from the sifu got a call from polaju today, will be picking up the stuff tomorrow morning  cant wait to see the preamp.
jazzy939
Apr 30 2010, 05:30 AM
xtorm, what preamp?