Penang's Overclocker Club Official Thread V4

dotatornado
post Aug 5 2009, 10:31 AM

132 posts

Can some 1 help to build up Specification for gaming desktop ?
-around rm3k~3.5k.
-whitout monitor.
-prefer i7 920
-no need too high storage.

please suggest me buy from the comming pc fair(which shop), or not in pc fair(which shop)

dotatornado
post Aug 5 2009, 05:16 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Aug 5 2009, 11:06 AM)
Yeah, it wasn't as merry as it used to be.
Anyways, it'll need some new blood to start making this thread active again.
The Old timers had either keep themself away from LYN due to certain reasons (me), or are busy with their own stuff and don't spend much time here.
It wasn't like this bro, when we had V1 and V2, those were fast moving threads.
But once moved to OC subforum, it seems things slowed down.
Maybe it's because it's more to serious talk here than, talk watever you want back in Price Dealers guide...
i7 920
DFI X58 DK
ATI Radeon 4870/4890
PSU, get something true power in the range of 600w.
Other than that, should be pretty bread and butter stuff already which makes not much of a difference.

Btw, if you need to know which shop to go to, it's either the POC Thread always recommended Precess(Formerly also known as Pristine Wireless), or GZ/Swisspac.
These few shops offers different stuffs at different kind of prices.
Just take some time, go down to BJ and have a spin. Drop by Precess, talk to Jack Kor Kor and see what can he find you.

Omega93, why not consider the Dell S2309w?
(I'm a Dell Monitor Freak!!!)

OK...Some updates...
Active Xtream Price List for PC Fair

http://activextream.com.my/2009/08/05/pc-f...th-august-2009/
Thx 1st , for reply me .

Jack Kor Kor is who, at Bj which shop ?
I'm newb at Desktop , many thing dono ...

and i find about this pc pakage from web:

Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz 4.8GTs
Kingmax 6GB DDR3 1600Mhz (heatsink)
MSI X58 PRO-E Motherboard
WD 500GB HDD SATA2
Samsung DVD Burner SATA
MSI 512MB 9500GT OC graphic
Coolermaster Elite Casing
E-view PSU 500Watt
It cost 3.6k.

Ur spec seen like more advance , will it cost around it or more ? or the list i take from web is too expensive ?
i7 920
DFI X58 DK
ATI Radeon 4870/4890
PSU, get something true power in the range of 600w.

QUOTE(shawnlut @ Aug 5 2009, 04:53 PM)
Guys, wanna go PC Fair together this Saturday ???
drool.gif i can join ? i can join ?
all wear same color shirt ^^ whistling.gif later go to jail.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by dotatornado: Aug 5 2009, 05:22 PM
dotatornado
post Aug 6 2009, 09:02 PM

132 posts

Thx for suggestion.

@.@ i a bit confuse on assu,MSI,gigabyte ......... so many brand ... which 1 is good for GPU ? and i try search many review they din talk about those brand , is that all same ?

and my fren told me ATI is good for AMD , and Nvedia is good for Intel, is it ? he suggest me about 200 series type

This post has been edited by dotatornado: Aug 6 2009, 09:06 PM
dotatornado
post Aug 7 2009, 09:36 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 7 2009, 08:37 AM)
ASUS, Gigabyte, MSI etc are just different company and brand, for GPU there are reference design and custom design PCB, if reference design PCB, any brand is the same, just pick for the best warranty or cheapest, for custom design PCB, go to which one you think is the best (OC'ed, Good Cooling, and other features ).

Is not true, ATI doesnt mean it will run worst on Intel platform, same goes to Nvidia. Its depends on driver and games u played... some game ATI perform better and some nvidia perform better... i guess its all up to the software and game engine to utilize the hardware.
cool thx alot, haha i though diffrence company giving diffrence spec, i'm still newb ..

any web to learn about pc . wanna learn more about it
dotatornado
post Aug 8 2009, 08:01 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 7 2009, 02:50 PM)
anyone going pc fair ? report back anything worth to grab here eh ...  tongue.gif
I go pc fair ask the costumer service where is swiss pac for around 3~4 time, they point me wrong location, the only depend on map. i keep circular the lower lv place can't find it, rclxub.gif waste my time around 1hr + , can't get pc deport also .. at last i give up , just walk any where to find , and i found that the swisspac is on the top floor. mad.gif

All the spec u all suggest 1 over 4k+ cry.gif over too much from my 3.5k ...

now any suggestion ? i should reduce MB or CPU price ...

reduce to Assus P6T SE CF x58 ?
or
reduce to assus 4870 512bit(diffrence around 100 with GTX 260) both big diffrence ? the 1 meno suggest 1 around 850 too over le.. blush.gif

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by dotatornado: Aug 8 2009, 08:02 AM
dotatornado
post Aug 11 2009, 09:40 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 11 2009, 08:45 AM)
sry bro, all acrylic rack on hold... no acrylic sources here in penang... the old batch sold out liao...  sad.gif hope will find it...  notworthy.gif
so u get ur pc ady ?
CPU-i7-920

MB-ASUS P6T SE CF X58/1600FSB/1333DDR3

GPU-SAPPHIRE HD 4870 1G GDDR5 PCI-E QP

RAM-CORSAIR TR3X3GB1333C9 (1GB 1333MHz x 3)

HD-640GB Western Digital 16M - WD6400AAKS

PSU-Acbel 660W true power

Cassing-CM 690

DVD driver-forgot, i ask for cheaper 1.

total 3.64... sweat.gif over bugget .. and can't get what u all suggest ..

How is that ok ? like that ?

thx for suggestion rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by dotatornado: Aug 11 2009, 09:48 AM
dotatornado
post Aug 11 2009, 10:40 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 11 2009, 04:30 PM)
bro.. how much u get hte 3GB kit ddr 3
i get from swiss pac , i make mistake from ram blush.gif , coz i reduce to use kingston 1Gx3 .. rm 235, for Corsir 1Gx3 is rm330

dotatornado
post Aug 17 2009, 10:29 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Aug 16 2009, 01:30 AM)
One happy monkey in the house...  rclxm9.gif Finally got my bigger LCD....

Old stuffs... only new LCD.
Need better wallpaper.
Thanks for recommending this LCD.

P/S: Right after tidying up tongue.gif
drool.gif i hope i got new lcd also ... currently using 15" lcd only ... i got 2 15" lcd(1 is new never open b4 coz no more space) , but my room blush.gif too small ... my table enough for 1 lcd only ..

cry.gif i wanna buy lcd ,but after i buy my pc , already over bugget ... at swiss pac some part keep din have although i already pay out deporsit, some part increase(MB- from support CF to support both CF and SLI), kingstom to corssir..... hard disc from 640G decrease to 500G(diffrence only rm2x , but 140G gone)...

total up my pc 37xx..
but thier survice is still ok..

dotatornado
post Aug 26 2009, 10:39 AM

132 posts

sweat.gif

any basic step for new newb to start the 1st step of overclock ?

just the minnor overclcok ..

1st newb dono where to see the temperature
2nd newb dono what is those fan speed for
3rd newb dono what is the frequancy for
4th newb really dono what is "...." for
5th newb try read some info about board,cpu, but dono what they talk for ..
6th newb know how to enter bios, and but dono what those digit and word for...
7th newb realy to get flame ...

notworthy.gif any small tips ?

dotatornado
post Aug 27 2009, 03:35 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(shawnlut @ Aug 27 2009, 12:17 AM)
With your PSU Icute 430w, overclock is a NO NO situation...
how about 660w ? enough ?

dotatornado
post Aug 27 2009, 04:52 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 27 2009, 03:52 PM)
acbel ipower 660watt is enough... if its chapalang 660w, better dont...
doh.gif but i dono how

drool.gif can u teach me ?
just a minnor oc.
dotatornado
post Aug 28 2009, 09:10 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 27 2009, 05:25 PM)
www.google.com...

long to explain here... search for guide around...  smile.gif
cry.gif search already for few time..

they giving those formula ..

doh.gif dono what is that ...

ok forgot above ..

may i know if i'm using intel cooler is that ok for me to do minnor oc ?2.66 to 3.4 or lower

or can't any suggestion cooler for me(need cheap 1, coz i need minoor oc only) for fun.

and if can roufly explain the table below , i see it i rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by dotatornado: Aug 28 2009, 10:00 AM

0.0211sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:40 PM