5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Penang's Overclocker Club Official Thread V4

TS@meno
post Nov 24 2008, 01:13 PM, updated 13y ago

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

After V1, V2 and V3 for the POC thread, i guess it's time for us to move on to V4.
The past threads had brought most of the Penang active PC enthusiast together and had been proven successful for information sharing.

Guys, let's continue sharing in this new V4...
As usual, there is only 1 rule here...no "spamming"... tongue.gif

Let's begin a new chapter for POC here...
Hopefully, V4 will bring us together for more outings, more events and more information sharing.

P/S: Since the mods had moved this here to the Overclocker's United, i'm hoping that we could have more focus on OC and Technical Information sharing rather than other chats. Hardware price, penang shop infos should be fine though.

This post has been edited by @meno: Nov 27 2008, 09:07 PM
TS@meno
post Nov 24 2008, 01:16 PM

2,386 posts

Reserved...
TS@meno
post Nov 24 2008, 01:17 PM

2,386 posts

Reserved

This post has been edited by @meno: Nov 24 2008, 01:18 PM
TS@meno
post Nov 24 2008, 01:20 PM

2,386 posts

Reserved

Guys, i'm reserving these pages for our past outing informations and events and also a whole new POC Database.
Besides that i'm thinking of compiling a shop list of all Penang PC Shops and their ratings.
Will send out my e-mail address soon to seek for feedback from you guys.
Hopefully this thread will be able to provide more information for everyone moving forward.
TS@meno
post Nov 24 2008, 01:30 PM

2,386 posts

Well, it's been a little silent in here...
To spice it up, i'll suggest that everyone start posting updates about their rigs, a simple photo may do...

TS@meno
post Nov 24 2008, 06:50 PM

2,386 posts

Lolz...we should post a pic of both our rigs side by side on 2 2408WFP...
That'll be uber kewl...
Wait till after exam then i move my rig in...
Think it's time for us to settle the IFX and the TRUE...

Eprince, welcome...
Well, we actually welcome everyone. As long as you're an enthusiast and want to share, here's your place...

This post has been edited by @meno: Nov 24 2008, 06:51 PM
TS@meno
post Nov 25 2008, 06:36 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(sonicscourge @ Nov 25 2008, 04:33 PM)
Wah Cow....Where the heck's everyone?

SPAM
SPAM
SPAM
SPAM!
Nabeh, keep asking me to start V4, now V4 started, everyone missing...
Calling out to CsChun, Powerslide, KC...and everyone, come join the party...

eprince, when u wanna post your pic? Some pics will make this thread hawt...tongue.gif
TS@meno
post Nov 26 2008, 01:00 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(fm_hyudin @ Nov 26 2008, 10:23 AM)
hi there,

i'm from jelutong, penang.nice to see penangites here.may i know where i can get to buy cassing from penang?i mean where should i go if want to see  alot of cassing choices.any help will be greatly appreciated.i'm using a aopen cassing right now with cooler master hyper 212.So, i'm looking for a better cassing for some ventilation almost similar like cm690.I got cm690 already and sold it out cause bcz the usb port is on top.So, its a bit difficult for me.
Well, it all depends on wat kind of casings are you looking for.
If you want something simple and nice and yet not too pricey, i'd recommend you get the entry level Lian Lis.
Those cases have good workmanship, and simple outlook. Not as fancy as the CM690 or Raidmax, but it basically does the job well enough, and they're full aluminium.

The shops around Bukit Jambul Complex should have some Lian Lis.
You might want to try have a look at AdvanceTec which is beside swisspac, or maybe at Precess Technology where they have some Silverstones as well.
Spare around RM300 and you should be able to get a pretty decent Lian Li full alu mid tower case.

Karom, any special POC promotion lately?tongue.gif
TS@meno
post Nov 26 2008, 01:29 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 26 2008, 01:24 PM)
Hi all penang lengchai lenglui...

Anyone planning go PC fair kacau??
Haha, finally i start to see people coming...tongue.gif

PC Fair, haha too bad too close to my exam, even if i do go it'll be for a short while only...sad.gif
TS@meno
post Nov 28 2008, 12:12 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(vamfire @ Nov 26 2008, 02:40 PM)
hello everyone!

Newbie here tongue.gif

I'm from Aloq Staq

Wanna join the party, YAY!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Welcome vamfire.
Mind to post your specs and some pics as well?
TS@meno
post Nov 28 2008, 05:46 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Nov 28 2008, 01:55 AM)
long time no come in  tongue.gif

who wana go pc fair ar? i'll be going hopefully for lawatan sambil bergembira  laugh.gif

my rig pictar again...

Woot...PS back...
And his beloved Stacker!!!
I tot u changed the colour liao?

QUOTE(behbin @ Nov 28 2008, 11:18 AM)
Hey guys first time post.I'm from Sungai Ara,and I just want to know what should I get for a Rm 3000 gaming desktop and where to get them in Penang.Thanks if you can reply............ icon_question.gif
QUOTE(behbin @ Nov 28 2008, 12:23 PM)
Yup.If possible,a laptop recommendation as well?
Hi Behbin...

RM3000 for a gaming desktop...
Well, here's my list of items you can look out for:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400(The least, if budget allows, go for e8500 or e8600)
Gigabyte EP45-DS3/Asus P5Q-Pro
Gainwards Radeon 4850 Golden Sample
2x2GB of ram
WD 640GB HDD
Enermax FMAII 535w

Others you decide and play around with your budget.

About laptop, RM3k is a little hard if you're going for gaming.
But if you want something decent and nice, check out some of those dell offerings below 3k...shd be pretty good bargains...

TS@meno
post Nov 28 2008, 06:43 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(behbin @ Nov 28 2008, 05:57 PM)
Thanks for the recommendations.But could you guys recommend places in Penang to get those parts at a good price?
As usual, Bukit Jambul Complex and One Stop.
The Gainward 4850 GS, u can get it at Precess Technology in BJ, price should be RM680+-.
The other things, you can ask there as well and see if they can offer you something nice.
But if you want the P5Q-Pro, i dun think they carry that, so u might need to get it from Gadget Zone, price should be 520+-.
The Enermax also in GZ.
TS@meno
post Nov 30 2008, 12:47 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(tapirus @ Nov 30 2008, 12:25 AM)
hello guys..long time not posting here...any chance for TT???

p/s: did u all get smoke msg from gaban... :0
What sort of a smoke message?

Well, i was thinking of organising a TT later in December.
Anyone has any special agendas to suggest?

Location as usual will tentatively be Greenlane McD for now...Free refill...tongue.gif
TS@meno
post Nov 30 2008, 04:10 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Nov 30 2008, 01:22 PM)
my trusty samsung 172x lcd died on me after 4 yrs ... sad.gif
i think it's due to the power brick kaput alrdy .... no output voltage at all ...
now have to source for a new lcd ...argghh ...

haih, i had just thought of getting a radeon 4850 ..
so, what's the best i can get for RM550 max ? (sucks ...thats my budget for 4830/4850!!  doh.gif )

is samsung 933bw good? im looking for something with dvi conn if possible
any other candidates? should i wait for pc fair next week?

hey behbin, im from sg ara too man! haha

btw, any of u guys here work in motorola, intel, agilent? just wonder if either of u guys are actually my officemate! ..who knows
i knew lee82gx 'was' ... hehe right lee82gx?
Rm550? Hmm, try to search for those BenQ LCDs...
They are dirt cheap, and the specs seem pretty nice too.

I work in Bwh...Haha, but well, after some time on LYN, i found out that some of the forumers here are actually my colleagues.
Where are you from? Moto?

Btw those who are new here, welcome to POC...Seems our members database is expanding.
Stay tuned guys, i'll start to update the members database and also our past events in the main page after the 9th of Dec.
Having papers until 8th, so won't have time to start compiling and updating...

This post has been edited by @meno: Nov 30 2008, 04:10 PM
TS@meno
post Nov 30 2008, 05:46 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Nov 30 2008, 04:49 PM)
ya lol , then u go for fiday ??
QUOTE(behbin @ Nov 30 2008, 04:50 PM)
Will be waiting right outside before opening,playing my psp.
Bro, you might want to use PM in discussing about this.
Use the thread only when there are multiple parties involved in the arrangement of meeting up like an official TT session.
No hard feelings ya... icon_rolleyes.gif
TS@meno
post Dec 2 2008, 10:01 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 2 2008, 08:31 PM)
TT = Teh Tarik?? correct me if im wrong  laugh.gif
No, it's tarik tali...
Joking lar, it's teh tarik.

Well guys, so anyone can start suggesting a good date for TT?
If we have it on the Christmas weekend, we might be expecting some LYN Guest from outside penang...
Just a hint, he's a old timer in OC, used to be very active but sorta half retired now...
Some says he has only one eye, some says he has a fetish for cat fights...Well all that we know, he's called **********t... tongue.gif

mmohdnor,
Go for the Dell 27" 2709W ultrasharp...That monitor kicks ass... brows.gif
(Mine is still lying in the box, will set it up later after i leave office... tongue.gif )
Btw bro, are you sure that the Samsung 2233sw is a 1920x1080 LCD? I've seen in Compu-zone price list that it's stated as 1650x1080 only...

TS@meno
post Dec 2 2008, 11:34 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Dec 2 2008, 11:09 PM)
@meno,

since you got the 2709wfp, 2408wfp can letgo for me ok? brows.gif

rgds,
albert
You should have contacted me earlier...
Someone already reserved it...
I'll let you know if the buyer pulls out...

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Dec 2 2008, 11:18 PM)
@meno
nah... im not going for more than 22" ... 27" is close to my 32" lcd tv, which i already use for movies
my initial 'plan' was just to replace my recently dead lcd and the replacement was supposed to be a 17" only ...
but with a budget around 550-600 max, i think 19" to 22" is just nice ...

now, who have any internal info about pc fair deals on lcd? tongue.gif
Haha, ya lucky you...
You have a 32"...My 27" will be everything for me, movies, games and browsing...
Maybe might consider switching to a 3008WFP if the price is right...
Btw, i do have a 3007WFP-HC under my custody for a week, so will try that out as well... tongue.gif

To me, 24" is the best size for PC. Not too big yet not too small. But after using 24" for some time, you'd feel like your inner heart telling you, hey, lets go for more...And thats when i ended up getting the 27"...
Btw, 1920x1080 on a 22" screen, won't it be a little small?

metsatsu,
Welcome, wanna post some pics of your rig? brows.gif
Btw, i found my dream rams already...On the way now...

Salim, ur Q9550 so fast arrived d? Mine took quite some time before reaching M'sia...Lucky you in getting an E0...I got a C1 when i ordered mine...Tempted to order another one just for the sake of E0... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by @meno: Dec 2 2008, 11:36 PM
TS@meno
post Dec 3 2008, 07:19 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(sonicscourge @ Dec 3 2008, 12:34 PM)
Huar, berapak hari tak masuk ni har dah banyak reply....

Dang, wanna OC also cannot.... Exams lar....Christmas weekend TT? lemme know k?

Btw @meno, **********t????

Lol...for the name of the forumer, figure out urself lar.
It's so obvious already the hints... laugh.gif

Focus on ur exam lar, forget all OC until after exam...
The TT session, hopefully i get some preliminary responses.
If it's ok then we'll carry on, if not, i might just PM a few who can make it and have a private hanging out session.
Btw, so far haven't seen KC here, anyone informed him about this new thread?
TS@meno
post Dec 6 2008, 04:34 PM

2,386 posts

Thanks for the support.
Well, everyone started as a newbie also...tongue.gif
In the other threads in this subforum, you should be able to find a lot of useful and relevant information in overclocking.
You're also welcomed to post your questions here and we'll see if we could give a pointer or 2.

Btw, i'm studying part time at IPG.

After 5 pages only see ur post here.
You ask for V4, i started V4, and you came in only after so long...tongue.gif

Wei, the I7 one not a bad deal...Anyone actually bought one?

Still sitting in my room beside the 3007wfp...drool.gif...
Waiting for my fren to come over to collect it on christmas week...
But if he backs off, i'll let you know ok.

I was interested in asking that as well.
Btw, rams limiting the OC? Nvm, i have a solution here.
You sponsor your proc, we borrow Albert's mobo and i bring my rams.
Someone else bring a PSU and a small LCD. Then we do an OC gathering and see how far your QX can go...

This post has been edited by @meno: Dec 6 2008, 04:37 PM
TS@meno
post Dec 7 2008, 02:24 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(metsatsu @ Dec 6 2008, 10:13 PM)
that's cool bro. by the way, mind to share what rams are u getting? smile.gif

oh here's a couple of my rig's pic smile.gif
Wow, nice case there...
The Mystique.
Btw, i got myself some Team Xtreem DDR800 CL3...
Haven't tested them, but they are rated to do DDR800 CL3-3-3-8@2.2v-2.35v.
I'm expecting DDR1200 at CL4 but ain't gonna test that until i get my EP45-Extreme back...

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:23 AM